51 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Streamyx Streamyx "BLOCKBUSTER DEALS", Update 25/3/10: 2Mb RM130, 4Mb RM140

jalan2
post Apr 8 2010, 01:32 AM

Just to share my experience:

I applied to upgrade from RM88 1.0 mbs streamyx to BB 4MB package last Monday 5th April. Previously, the 4Mb not available in my area (Hulu Kelang/Ampang) for many years... but suddenly its available when i asked on Monday.... lucky me! maybe somebody in my area cancelled his line or moved to different area!

today (i.e. 48 hours later) the technician came to my house to check & install the WIFI modem (he wanted to make appointment for NEXT week but i said i'm going overseas so please please please come today can!?!?!). Such a nice guy he came later in evening.... even then I was afraid he would tell me after testing that he cannot get good signal, but yeyy, his eqm showed i can recieve steady 3.5mbs speed......

You can guess how good i feel, after waiting for so many years to get this 4mb line!!

After reading the posts on this forum, i asked if he can cap me at 5mb instead of 4mb, but he said he already tested some of my neighbors & they can't get 4mbs, only upto 1 or 2, so maybe i am on the borderline of the 4km radius from exchange... so he said if 5mb cap my line would be very unstable so better stick to 4mb which he tested looks quite stable. OKlah, i trust his advice & leave it at that.

the 4mb is supposed to be activated in 24 hours, so i keep my fingers crossed & hope everything works tomorrow.

i will update you all if there's anyone interested?

BTW, currently i pay 88+26 per month, sometimes come up to $120-$130 (depends on phone charges).... so now if i just pay extra $20 (i.e. from $120 to $140 becos no need to pay $26 monthly rental + free calls to other TM numbers) & increase my speed +300%.... well that sounds like a GREAT DEAL to me! I just hope the 4mb has no problems & REALLY kicks-in tomorrow, ha ha ha.

I enquired at TM when UNIFY will come to my area.... he said the newspapers say end of this year, but in reality maybe 2012 becos right now many areas in Ampang still cannot get streamyx 4mb after so many years.... wah, 2012 too far away for me..... so i go ahead with the streamyx lah.

I've learnt so many things from this forum.... thank you my friends.............
mfa333
post Apr 8 2010, 02:20 AM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(jalan2 @ Apr 8 2010, 01:32 AM)

I applied to upgrade from RM88 1.0 mbs streamyx to BB 4MB package last Monday 5th April. Previously, the 4Mb not available in my area (Hulu Kelang/Ampang) for many years... but suddenly its available when i asked on Monday.... lucky me! maybe somebody in my area cancelled his line or moved to different area!

today (i.e. 48 hours later) the technician came to my house to check & install the WIFI modem (he wanted to make appointment for NEXT week but i said i'm going overseas so please please please come today can!?!?!). Such a nice guy he came later in evening.... even then I was afraid he would tell me after testing that he cannot get good signal, but yeyy, his eqm showed i can recieve steady 3.5mbs speed......

You can guess how good i feel, after waiting for so many years to get this 4mb line!!

After reading the posts on this forum, i asked if he can cap me at 5mb instead of 4mb, but he said he already tested some of my neighbors & they can't get 4mbs, only upto 1 or 2, so maybe i am on the borderline of the 4km radius from exchange... so he said if 5mb cap my line would be very unstable so better stick to 4mb which he tested looks quite stable. OKlah, i trust his advice & leave it at that.

the 4mb is supposed to be activated in 24 hours, so i keep my fingers crossed & hope everything works tomorrow.

i will update you all if there's anyone interested?

BTW, currently i pay 88+26 per month, sometimes come up to $120-$130 (depends on phone charges).... so now if i just pay extra $20 (i.e. from $120 to $140 becos no need to pay $26 monthly rental + free calls to other TM numbers) & increase my speed +300%.... well that sounds like a GREAT DEAL to me! I just hope the 4mb has no problems & REALLY kicks-in tomorrow, ha ha ha.

I enquired at TM when UNIFY will come to my area.... he said the newspapers say end of this year, but in reality maybe 2012 becos right now many areas in Ampang still cannot get streamyx 4mb after so many years.... wah, 2012 too far away for me..... so i go ahead with the streamyx lah.

I've learnt so many things from this forum.... thank you my friends.............
nice.. why don't you ask him to cap 5mbps, do a trial run for few days 1st, and then if not stable just revert back to 4mbps cap.. If he is a nice guy, treat him a coffee or something for his work.. tongue.gif
kerol123
post Apr 8 2010, 05:27 AM

51 posts

my 1mbps package

This post has been edited by kerol123: Apr 8 2010, 05:28 AM
Heihachi777
post Apr 8 2010, 05:35 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(kerol123 @ Apr 8 2010, 05:27 AM)
my 1mbps package

That is nice thumbup.gif Can we demand for higher bandwidth capping if the current one only managed to achieve 85% of subscription speed ? how to do that? file a complain? THX
wztech
post Apr 8 2010, 09:57 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(jalan2 @ Apr 8 2010, 01:32 AM)

wah...same area as me....i also uograded to 4mbps thumbup.gif ... thumbup.gif but tmpoint told me that 4mbps is not available sad.gif ..but the technician that came to my house said that 4mbps is available... sweat.gif sweat.gif
jalan2
post Apr 8 2010, 10:01 AM

thanks for the great suggestion, mfa333. Yes, i will try that.......

Added on April 8, 2010, 10:09 amhi wztech, if i knew of your experience earlier, surely i would have got a technician to test my line despite TMpoint said cannot get 4mb.... wasted all those years trusting TMpoint, ha ha ha....

but having said that, this is actually the best time to get becos only $140 +wifi modem + free calls.... i was even willing to pay $268 those days, but they said no line... so TM lost some income from me lah...

btw, what sort of speeds are you really getting? Did you manage to get them to increase to 5mb cap? Thx.........

This post has been edited by jalan2: Apr 8 2010, 10:09 AM
wztech
post Apr 8 2010, 11:47 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(jalan2 @ Apr 8 2010, 10:01 AM)
thanks for the great suggestion, mfa333. Yes, i will try that.......

Added on April 8, 2010, 10:09 amhi wztech, if i knew of your experience earlier, surely i would have got a technician to test my line despite TMpoint said cannot get 4mb.... wasted all those years trusting TMpoint, ha ha ha....

but having said that, this is actually the best time to get becos only $140 +wifi modem + free calls.... i was even willing to pay $268 those days, but they said no line... so TM lost some income from me lah...

btw, what sort of speeds are you really getting? Did you manage to get them to increase to 5mb cap? Thx.........
my line was capped at 5mbps even though i didnt told them to do so...lucky me i guess...and managed to get 500++kbps with direct download....

This post has been edited by wztech: Apr 8 2010, 11:47 AM
nonname
post Apr 8 2010, 04:08 PM

QUOTE(wztech @ Apr 8 2010, 11:47 AM)
my line was capped at 5mbps even though i didnt told them to do so...lucky me i guess...and managed to get 500++kbps with direct download....
Wow, you're really lucky. I wish I had those speed.
MonsterJ9
post Apr 8 2010, 04:18 PM

244 posts

Upgrading from 1mbps to 4mbps is free or any charge?
ycs
post Apr 8 2010, 04:52 PM

4,225 posts

QUOTE(MonsterJ9 @ Apr 8 2010, 04:18 PM)
Upgrading from 1mbps to 4mbps is free or any charge?
its rm140 per month, where free 4M?? doh.gif only no installation charges, etc.
MonsterJ9
post Apr 8 2010, 05:00 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Apr 8 2010, 04:52 PM)
its rm140 per month, where free 4M?? doh.gif  only no installation charges, etc.
i mean upgrading got charges or not...lol
HeartMePlz
post Apr 8 2010, 05:02 PM

180 posts

no charges
azrinarizz
post Apr 8 2010, 05:02 PM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

Today I called streamyx and the lady Wan really pissed me off vmad.gif
I just asked here a simple question " Kak, area saya ada 4mb tak".
She put me on hold, talk to her technician and stuff and came back 20 minutes saying she " DON'T KNOW"
I was like WTF..you ask me to wait for 20 minutes and you don't know
Then she ask me to go to streamyx website to check which I have been doing for quite sometime and only my row doesn't have it
Then I talked to the team leader laugh.gif
Name Luqman. After talking he explained nicely and I decided to let it go
He said my area doesn't have 4mb while my neighbors, the row in front of me and behind me has it
He also mentioned that maybe my area hasn't got any fiber optics
I told him they installed 2 months ago and so what happen? Download prawn for their own use?
Wasted my 30 minutes to answer a simple pre school question doh.gif doh.gif

Tomorrow I am going to TM point to make noise again tongue.gif
Wait until 10 years also I don't know when will the 4mb come to my row. My neighbor is happily using his 4mb sweat.gif
wztech
post Apr 8 2010, 05:17 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Apr 8 2010, 05:02 PM)
Today I called streamyx and the lady Wan really pissed me off  vmad.gif

u're so polite....... biggrin.gif
azbro
post Apr 8 2010, 09:44 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(wztech @ Apr 8 2010, 09:57 AM)
wah...same area as me....i also uograded to 4mbps thumbup.gif ... thumbup.gif but tmpoint told me that 4mbps is not available  ..but the technician that came to my house said that 4mbps is available... sweat.gif 
QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Apr 8 2010, 05:02 PM)
Today I called streamyx and the lady Wan really pissed me off  vmad.gif
She put me on hold, talk to her technician and stuff and came back 20 minutes saying she " DON'T KNOW"
I was like WTF..you ask me to wait for 20 minutes and you don't know
Then she ask me to go to streamyx website to check which I have been doing for quite sometime and only my row doesn't have it
Then I talked to the team leader  laugh.gif
Name Luqman. After talking he explained nicely and I decided to let it go
He said my area doesn't have 4mb while my neighbors, the row in front of me and behind me has it
He also mentioned that maybe my area hasn't got any fiber optics
I told him they installed 2 months ago and so what happen? Download prawn for their own use?
Wasted my 30 minutes to answer a simple pre school question  doh.gif

Tomorrow I am going to TM point to make noise again tongue.gif
Wait until 10 years also I don't know when will the 4mb come to my row. My neighbor is happily using his 4mb
I stay in JB and also kena the same thing...trouble is, the same tech/contractor that told me there is 4mb at my area after a few months say the opposite. doh.gif

I went to TMpoint countless times but got cut out from this same lazy contractor. vmad.gif
I'm sure you guys know one time go to TM takes a hour for number to be called.

Here is what you need to do, follow this steps and hope that within a month you'll get it.

First: Make sure your area has 4mb line...by asking neighbors or check the modem attenuation or something like that.
The reseller you are about to contact also can help you check it out.
Next: Force a registration for a 4Mb line...once you force it, you will be entering a new zone...its called TM 2nd level...forget abt the 1st level TM staff that only barks, looks good but no action.
In order to force it you have to contact a reseller like ahcheap. I'm sure there are many other resellers in Lowyat forums too.
Lastly: Once registered, your pening it not over...you need the dslam (at the roadside or taman) to be configured (usually using a jumper wire) by a TM technician. Not that lazy contractor.
This simple last step is easy ...go to the TMpoint and complain that your 4mb is still not configured..they will put you to a TM task force make sure you get the 4Mb line and will call you up everyday until you are satisfied with the configurations....no need to go through that stupid lazy contractor cause its now a 2nd level TM technician responsibility.

Simple..just follow my steps...but make sure you do have 4Mb line at your area first blush.gif

But just to let you know...now I'm using 4mb line, it ain't sweet either...hahahaha

This post has been edited by azbro: Apr 8 2010, 09:50 PM
mitodna
post Apr 9 2010, 02:15 AM

14,039 posts

anyone know anything about Streamyx HotSpot, it seems like it is activated with BlockBuster Deals. Is it free to use HotSpot if it is activated? Many thanks.
mits27
post Apr 9 2010, 08:18 AM

62 posts

But I don't undertsand why by subscribing the blockbuster 4mpbs will also waive out the RM26 rental fee, I though we only get the free call to all TM fixed line within Malaysia???

Now, I have home phone and pay RM26 for the TM fixed line and I don't suscbribe streamyx for my home internet nod.gif
dopp
post Apr 9 2010, 08:25 AM

1,733 posts

I'm paying $140 for my 2mb combo, went to tmpoint and ask them whether I'm getting new cheaper rate or not..
She said in order to get new rate, i have to change package and extra bind 1 year cotnract..
KAHAK
post Apr 9 2010, 08:53 AM

181 posts

i wanna ask about the block buster deal

if i have 1 MB at home and want to get 2 MB line they say we wont have to pay for the RM10 telephone bil right? and get free dect phone? right?

currentlly my bil average 130-140 per month (RM110 1 MB+called made on the month of the bil) so my question is what will happen to my bil then? still they will charge me the RM10 rent+5% service tax?? haiya help me !!
jalan2
post Apr 9 2010, 09:28 AM

sorry to ask this stupid question: how do you include the graphics into your message/posting, like the "speed-test" results that i always see.... do I cut&paste or put it as attachment, or how?

sorry again........

51 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:11 AM