134 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Bottom

The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v3,, Best University in Malaysia so Far

yu_wang
post Nov 5 2010, 03:05 PM

144 posts

Correct me if I'm wrong, but if you haven't authenticated your laptop via Bradford then you still can't surf using a Linux OS.

Fortunately the Bradford authentication thing seems to be a one-off procedure, so I recommend you just do it. Once it's done you can uninstall it, disable its services and delete the custom Windows Update settings from your registry. You'll have regular (and AFAIK Bradford-free) internet access using both Windows and Linux, at least until next year.
DJFoo000
post Nov 5 2010, 08:05 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

The first time I used the SA building WiFi was a day before registration. I just connected and it didn't ask for any login information.

Few days after registration I tried to log into OWA but it kept showing me some weird website, and failed to bring me to the OWA page. Other pages loaded OK. Then i decided to delete the connection and reconnect. This time there was no way I could connect to the wifi. It said connected, but I couldn't reach the login page.

Went to IS. A guy came and diagnose. Found out it was my DNS (i used OpenDNS). He cleared it and I was able to install Bradford and proceed with using WiFi, complete with login page this time.

So... You might want to input both the following in your DNS address:

It might not work already, but still if you want to try something, this might be it.

Of coz if it screws wit anything dun come to me coz I dunno how to fix it myself. How using DNS servers will screw wit things, i dunno, but you know, just a disclaimer.

@yu_wang, you sure it won't prompt for Bradford Agent's presence after you've uninstalled it? Coz I'm not comfortable with the presense of some 'agent' looking over my shoulder...

Anyway, I've heard we get to learn foreign languages like Spanish and French on-campus. But so far the classes I've seen are Korean and Japanese offered by the respective societies. Where do I go to get info about the Spanish lessons? I heard they are conducted by the university?

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Nov 5 2010, 10:36 PM
Upsilon
post Nov 9 2010, 10:48 PM

518 posts

kinda new in nottingham (just registered on monday), just wondering what's with all the station 1 balloon @ the admin building?
tanjinjack
post Nov 9 2010, 11:14 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 5 2010, 08:05 PM)
The first time I used the SA building WiFi was a day before registration. I just connected and it didn't ask for any login information.

Few days after registration I tried to log into OWA but it kept showing me some weird website, and failed to bring me to the OWA page. Other pages loaded OK. Then i decided to delete the connection and reconnect. This time there was no way I could connect to the wifi. It said connected, but I couldn't reach the login page.

Went to IS. A guy came and diagnose. Found out it was my DNS (i used OpenDNS). He cleared it and I was able to install Bradford and proceed with using WiFi, complete with login page this time.

So... You might want to input both the following in your DNS address:

It might not work already, but still if you want to try something, this might be it.

Of coz if it screws wit anything dun come to me coz I dunno how to fix it myself. How using DNS servers will screw wit things, i dunno, but you know, just a disclaimer.

@yu_wang, you sure it won't prompt for Bradford Agent's presence after you've uninstalled it? Coz I'm not comfortable with the presense of some 'agent' looking over my shoulder...
Anyway, I've heard we get to learn foreign languages like Spanish and French on-campus. But so far the classes I've seen are Korean and Japanese offered by the respective societies. Where do I go to get info about the Spanish lessons? I heard they are conducted by the university?
Oh... DNS.. Direct Numerical Simulation...
LOL..
Too much of CFD!!
SGSuser
post Nov 12 2010, 05:34 PM

In your way
2,448 posts

I've problem connecting to UNMC wireless with my mobile, so the only way to solve it is to go to the IS office right?
tanjinjack
post Nov 12 2010, 05:43 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Nov 12 2010, 05:34 PM)
I've problem connecting to UNMC wireless with my mobile, so the only way to solve it is to go to the IS office right?
Is it that you are prompted to register? I recalled that I blindly register and end up being able to surf internet. My friend did it in a mess as well. You might consider just proceed blindly to see how far you can go. Oh, I did the registration thing like... 1 year plus ago though.
eXPeri3nc3
post Nov 12 2010, 06:19 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Nov 12 2010, 05:43 PM)
Is it that you are prompted to register? I recalled that I blindly register and end up being able to surf internet. My friend did it in a mess as well. You might consider just proceed blindly to see how far you can go. Oh, I did the registration thing like... 1 year plus ago though.
As far as I recall a year ago I didn't register and still using fine lol
stpmmaths
post Nov 13 2010, 09:01 AM

438 posts

Is it possible to access U drive off-campus?
DJFoo000
post Nov 13 2010, 10:37 AM

3,000 posts

^ As far as I know, it's impossible. The closest is webct, but that depends on whether the lecturer got upload stuff to it or not.
eXPeri3nc3
post Nov 13 2010, 11:11 AM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(stpmmaths @ Nov 13 2010, 09:01 AM)
Is it possible to access U drive off-campus?
Yes if you're graduating. Lol.

They allow remote desktop to the drive, if you're graduating.

If you're not, then it's a firm no.
mackioes
post Nov 13 2010, 12:01 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Nov 9 2010, 11:48 PM)
kinda new in nottingham (just registered on monday), just wondering what's with all the station 1 balloon @ the admin building?
I think they are doing renovation for this station 1 cafe to be build there... Anyway i really hope they do !! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
stpmmaths
post Nov 13 2010, 12:37 PM

438 posts

My friend told me about this Remoteapp. Click on the Remote Files Access then key in your username and password(username should be in this form: nottingham\username). Then you will be able to access H/U drives.

Ps: Use IE as it required ActiveX.

But there is no what so ever info about this RemoteApp. Not even in our nottingham webpage. I'm wondering how my friend know it hmm.gif
entryman
post Nov 13 2010, 12:49 PM

2,179 posts

The link was distributed I think earlier this year in the form of email. During then, the email said that it's still in testing stage.
DJFoo000
post Nov 13 2010, 12:55 PM

3,000 posts

EDIT: lol didn't read instructions properly...

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Nov 13 2010, 12:56 PM
SGSuser
post Nov 13 2010, 05:04 PM

In your way
2,448 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Nov 12 2010, 05:43 PM)
registering in the IS office right? wanted to go there but always hesitated laugh.gif
tanjinjack
post Nov 13 2010, 05:33 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Nov 13 2010, 05:04 PM)
registering in the IS office right? wanted to go there but always hesitated  laugh.gif
What I mean is just the online registration, filling up some forms redirected when you try to get online.
SGSuser
post Nov 13 2010, 05:39 PM

In your way
2,448 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Nov 13 2010, 05:33 PM)
What I mean is just the online registration, filling up some forms redirected when you try to get online.
but sometimes I cant even connect to the wifi let alone get connected then opening the browser..
mackioes
post Nov 14 2010, 07:37 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Nov 13 2010, 06:39 PM)
but sometimes I cant even connect to the wifi let alone get connected then opening the browser..
You should be able to connect to UNMC network without any WPA/WEP security key. However, when u open your browser you will see UNMC start page.... Follow the instruction and wait for like 10 mins.... the next time you connect, just login and wala ! INTERNET !! ^^ Linux and mac PC do not need to install bradford agent... if you can't connect to UNMC network (not internet).... its probably your pc. Hope it helps! smile.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
SGSuser
post Nov 15 2010, 11:32 PM

In your way
2,448 posts

QUOTE(mackioes @ Nov 14 2010, 07:37 PM)
You should be able to connect to UNMC network without any WPA/WEP security key. However, when u open your browser you will see UNMC start page.... Follow the instruction and wait for like 10 mins.... the next time you connect, just login and wala ! INTERNET !! ^^ Linux and mac PC do not need to install bradford agent... if you can't connect to UNMC network (not internet).... its probably your pc. Hope it helps! smile.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
have no problems with pc actually, i meant my phone..sometimes can connect but most of the time can't
tanjinjack
post Nov 16 2010, 01:45 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ Nov 15 2010, 11:32 PM)
have no problems with pc actually, i meant my phone..sometimes can connect but most of the time can't
Did you detect the 'unmc' network? There are some 'dead' spots in the campus where you are bound not to have internet access.

134 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:25 AM