News Official TM High Speed Broadband (HSBB) Thread V2, TM HSBB Launching Live Now !

dr3nchippo
post Feb 18 2010, 12:42 AM

Trial speed as advertised by TM is 20Mbps, even from the 1st day of installation I was able to hit 18-19Mbps on local sites..

Kuala Lumpur MY rclxms.gif

International speed is a bit slow though, and the high ping is definately not gonna help with online gaming. Hopefully TM fixes this when it rolls out HSBB to the public.

New York NY

Los Angeles CA

Tokyo JP

London GB

I got my trial "invitation letter" delivered to me personally by a TM staff. 2 days later they called to set up and appointment for installation. Installation, in my case, took them 2 days to complete. The 1st day they installed the hardware stuff (Fiber modem, BTU and router), the 2nd day the pulled the fiber optic wire from the telephone pole to the house and did some wiring to the house.

Actually the installation shouldn't take that long, it all depends on the layout of the house AND/OR whether or not any extra wiring is needed. It's actually a pretty straight forward process..

To those that waiting for their installation, these are some of the things that u should expect to be included

1. fiberHOME Modem (Fiber Optic Modem)

2. Dlink DIR-615 Wireless N Router (or as TM calls them RESIDENTIAL GATEWAY)

This is not the exact one, the one TM provides is white and orange, with TM branding.. Also on the front is a USB port.. Not sure on the functionality of it, maybe the Dlink SharePort functionality.

3. Aztech Cordless Phone (plugs into the fiberHOME Modem)

Aztech E210-P2

4. A goodybag (Some instruction manuals, brochure, limited edition Bunkface CD and Headphone

pengiranijam
post Feb 18 2010, 12:49 AM

1,568 posts

QUOTE(dr3nchippo @ Feb 18 2010, 12:42 AM)

Thanks for sharing the info. But the international ping still bad, the speed not even reach 10Mb/sec, thats is not good for a fiber optic network.
developer
post Feb 18 2010, 12:51 AM

285 posts

i think tm is trying to take care about local network first before proceeding to take care about international link. well if the routing to tm is bad or problematic, the international link would be slower right?

Added on February 18, 2010, 12:52 amerm try to do a speedtest at sg server.

This post has been edited by developer: Feb 18 2010, 12:52 AM
botack
post Feb 18 2010, 01:18 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(dr3nchippo @ Feb 18 2010, 12:08 AM)
did u get the iptv with ur trial as well?? im suppose to get mine next month...
nope,mine will be next month also..

wodenus
post Feb 18 2010, 01:42 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(developer @ Feb 18 2010, 12:51 AM)
i think tm is trying to take care about local network first before proceeding to take care about international link. well if the routing to tm is bad or problematic, the international link would be slower right?

Not really.. have to do a pingtest to be sure. Hye can you guys do a ping test at pingtest.net? then we can see what the connection quality is really like smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Feb 18 2010, 01:43 AM
aik457
post Feb 18 2010, 04:21 AM

181 posts

is there any minimum subscription period like we to have on our regular internet/streamyx plan? how much does it charge?
rajulkabir
post Feb 18 2010, 06:50 AM

1,428 posts

I wonder if the D-Link router is a requirement, or if it can be put in a closet in favor of our own equipment. It's not something I would want on my network.
azwan92
post Feb 18 2010, 07:57 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(dr3nchippo @ Feb 17 2010, 09:56 PM)
i got a letter HAND DELIVERED to my house by TM staff.. the letter says congrats on being chosen to have a FREE trial of the service for a few months time.. u dont really have to do anything once u got the letter, just wait for TM staff to call u.. in my case it was 2 days after i got the letter... installation was approx 1 week after the call..
goodluck! btw, u sure it's 1997?? if im not mistaken, streamyx was rolled out in 2000...
Dunno about that but it was dial up.
SUSsoundsyst64
post Feb 18 2010, 08:03 AM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

QUOTE(pengiranijam @ Feb 18 2010, 12:29 AM)
Its already V2, congrats.

But no good news for East Malaysia yet... but there's already some company enjoy fiber optics already.
we can live without it even it'll reach Kuching in 2014 or 2020. biggrin.gif In fact, I'm happy with my 1mbps.
What we want to see is overall performance (stability + speed offers + price). And I'm waiting for at least a few negative comments HSBB users smile.gif
MX510
post Feb 18 2010, 09:02 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,032 posts

Now everyone can host their website on their PC since plenty of bandwidth to play with technology almost similar like leased line
post Feb 18 2010, 09:04 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 18 2010, 09:02 AM)
Now everyone can host their website on their PC since plenty of bandwidth to play with technology almost similar like leased line
you're making one assumption.

If that speed and most importantly, the connection, are consistent.
sg999
post Feb 18 2010, 10:19 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(dr3nchippo @ Feb 17 2010, 10:30 PM)
hehehe.. im a beta tester myself... i think tm is on schedule in deploying HSBB.. my area is scheduled for Q3 2010, but got my trial line install 2 weeks ago... tongue.gif
where your area?
botack
post Feb 18 2010, 10:32 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(aik457 @ Feb 18 2010, 04:21 AM)
is there any minimum subscription period like we to have on our regular internet/streamyx plan? how much does it charge?
1 year of subscription..the charges is still unofficial..

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Feb 18 2010, 06:50 AM)
I wonder if the D-Link router is a requirement, or if it can be put in a closet in favor of our own equipment. It's not something I would want on my network.
i think its a requirement..

edthrax
post Feb 18 2010, 11:04 AM

829 posts

TM guys doing installation at my house rite now.. nice free gift..

eimzic
post Feb 18 2010, 11:11 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(edthrax @ Feb 18 2010, 11:04 AM)
TM guys doing installation at my house rite now.. nice free gift..
snap some pictures will u ? tongue.gif
edthrax
post Feb 18 2010, 11:16 AM

829 posts

the dude's doing the registration for the items rite now..will try to snap few pics.. basically its the fibre modem,D-Link DIR-615 Wireless N router, and a DECT cordless phone. The guy said its all free.. huhu
azwan92
post Feb 18 2010, 11:23 AM

358 posts

Can my Belkin Wireless N support fiber optic? or need their special modem?
dr3nchippo
post Feb 18 2010, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(wodenus @ Feb 18 2010, 01:42 AM)
Not really.. have to do a pingtest to be sure. Hye can you guys do a ping test at pingtest.net? then we can see what the connection quality is really like smile.gif
pingtest.net results.. obviously the test to kl server is very good.. tests to other servers shows relatively high ping... with 0% packet loss and almost no jitter all TM have to do is deal with the high ping time.. and they're all set!!

Kuala Lumpur MY

Tokyo JP

Los Angeles CA

New York NY

Manchester UK

QUOTE(sg999 @ Feb 18 2010, 10:19 AM)
where your area?
section 19 pj.. near tropicana city mall..

QUOTE(edthrax @ Feb 18 2010, 11:16 AM)
the dude's doing the registration for the items rite now..will try to snap few pics.. basically its the fibre modem,D-Link DIR-615 Wireless N router, and a DECT cordless phone. The guy said its all free.. huhu
yup all free... btw dun gatal2 and go hard reset the router.. all settings will be wiped out!! if u need help configuring the router pm me..

QUOTE(azwan92 @ Feb 18 2010, 11:23 AM)
Can my Belkin Wireless N support fiber optic? or need their special modem?
the fiber optic cable will terminate to the fiber modem.. the router & DECT phone connects to the modem... not sure about ur router though, if im not mistaken tm is using vlan in the router for troubleshooting purposes...
besides the router provided is not that bad, heck its even free...

azwan92
post Feb 18 2010, 01:32 PM

358 posts

Oh ok, thanks for the info, as long as the service is good. I have the same ping to USA with my 1Mbps. I seek for a lower ping after the 'real' upgrade.

This post has been edited by azwan92: Feb 18 2010, 01:34 PM
pengiranijam
post Feb 18 2010, 02:22 PM

1,568 posts

QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Feb 18 2010, 08:03 AM)
we can live without it even it'll reach Kuching in 2014 or 2020. biggrin.gif In fact, I'm happy with my 1mbps.
What we want to see is overall performance (stability + speed offers + price). And I'm waiting for at least a few negative comments HSBB users smile.gif
Yes, means having HSBB around is not solving the performance that were issued long time ago. I haven't seen that people talk about HSBB IPV6. Anyone have this info...?

QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 18 2010, 09:02 AM)
Don't forget most of us are using dynamic IP Address. It is almost stability and reliability lies behind the HSBB project.

122 Pages < 1 2 3 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:09 AM