129 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Travel Bangkok V2

shadowcaster
post Mar 27 2010, 05:49 AM

566 posts

anyone know where to buy cheap and good quality suits in BKK?
vermins
post Mar 27 2010, 05:58 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Mar 27 2010, 05:49 AM)
anyone know where to buy cheap and good quality suits in BKK?
There are many tailors around the city. You'll find quite a few at MBK. Mostly middle eastern tailors though. The last time I did mine there was bout 200USD for 2 sets of suits including pants.

Takes a day only too. Though I told them to spend a bit more time then to rush it tongue.gif
TSstimix
post Mar 27 2010, 07:23 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

OK tnx at last someone wth the detail. Really forgotten how i paid liao haha...OK putting this on 1st pg.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Mar 27 2010, 03:45 AM)
I'll clarify if it helps. You don't pay 50B to the "airport authority" - you pay it to the cab driver at the end of the journey, above-and-over what the meter shows. e.g. if meter shows 230B, you pay 280B at the end. If you "curi" a taxi on the departures level as taxis drop off bonafide departing pax, then you don't pay this.
Also it is very common to round up to the next 10B if you and the driver have no change.

Tolls, as you pass them or not depending on where you go, can be 25, 45, 15 etc as to tollway/expressway circles Bangkok. The 25B and 45B tolls refer to 2 common tolls if you are going to Sukumvit/Silom/River areas. You hand cash to the driver, who hands it to the tollbooth clerk who hands the change/receipt back to the driver, who hands it back to you. Great way for you to break your 1000B notes into small change so you can pay the taxi fare at the end. You also have the option of not taking tollways, and a lot of people do this if they are traveling very early in the morning (4-5am) or very late at night - it doesn't slow you down too much to  take surface streets.

DarkNite
post Mar 27 2010, 10:21 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 27 2010, 07:23 AM)
OK tnx at last someone wth the detail. Really forgotten how i paid liao haha...OK putting this on 1st pg.. biggrin.gif
How about moving it to front page of this thread as FAQ?
TSstimix
post Mar 27 2010, 11:00 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

hmnnn I tot already done liao?
jayelleenelial
post Mar 27 2010, 09:17 PM

153 posts

I'm not going already coz my dad said got bomb blast. sad.gif I expected this to happen.
Fatz_Cat
post Mar 27 2010, 09:27 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(jayelleenelial @ Mar 27 2010, 09:17 PM)
I'm not going already coz my dad said got bomb blast. sad.gif I expected this to happen.
oh my...that is too bad...hope nothing happen when i go there
DarkNite
post Mar 28 2010, 07:43 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Fatz_Cat @ Mar 27 2010, 09:27 PM)
oh my...that is too bad...hope nothing happen when i go there
Here read this.
http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/Bomb-Explode...nt-t350843.html
Check that forum again before you go.
shadowcaster
post Mar 29 2010, 03:55 AM

566 posts

i just hope that nothing major happens like closing of the airport or something
Makakeke
post Mar 29 2010, 09:57 AM

310 posts

Hi guys, my friends and I are planning to stay here, is it a good location (as in near to entertainment, food, shopping?)

http://www.naturalville.com/location.html
http://maps.google.com.my/maps?client=safa...BD4KGkQW93oioBQ

This post has been edited by Makakeke: Mar 29 2010, 09:58 AM
tatsuyachiba
post Mar 29 2010, 11:21 AM

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Mar 29 2010, 09:57 AM)
Hi guys, my friends and I are planning to stay here, is it a good location (as in near to entertainment, food, shopping?)
Good location. Walking distance to Erawan shrine. You're 1-2 BTS stops from either Nana or Siam Sq.
Other hotels near here would be Centrepoint Wireless and the Marriott Service Apartments.

andrewlim8
post Mar 30 2010, 01:52 PM

29 posts

just came back from BKK, nothing unusual...........as normal.....peaceful.
kuados
post Mar 30 2010, 02:35 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(DrezzUp @ Mar 23 2010, 11:04 PM)
Yup,tis is to claim VAT at the airport. Applicable if you are buying goods from the mall like Central, Robinson or at any shop says can claim VAT.U Must purchase a certain amount. So if u shop in one place, combine all receipts ,go to customer service and they will ask u to fill up some form. With that form only u can claim at the airport. But first you must let the custom officer verifiy and you can claim at the special counter at the departure hall shopping area ( after stamping yr passport )

Added on March 23, 2010, 11:14 pmWonder anyone stay in this hotel before http://residence-hotel.com/locat.html ? Any comments? Or anyone of u wanna try if u planning to go to BKK soon .

Planning to go mid of tis year . Been staying at my regular hotel.Just want some changes . Location & room looks ok n the price looks ok too.Near BTS and also the shopping area.To book thru another web from China.Check tis out http://residence-hotel.com/locat.html . Direct rate for the standard room does not come with B'fast.
Anyone stay at residence hotel before?
zoakies
post Mar 30 2010, 03:01 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(andrewlim8 @ Mar 30 2010, 01:52 PM)
just came back from BKK, nothing unusual...........as normal.....peaceful.
As expected la....what going to happen right? i think the media are just over cooked the story nia...
DrezzUp
post Mar 30 2010, 04:39 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Mar 29 2010, 10:57 AM)

http://maps.google.com.my/maps?client=safa...BD4KGkQW93oioBQ
Location wise not bad.And there many food stalls around this area.Near BTS.shouldnt be a problem to travel around. And Gaysorn Plaza is nearby where it is near the Erawan Shine.

If Lumpini is nearby then it should near the Suam Lum nite market. Another place for shopping. Price wise is on a high end.
bartbarb
post Mar 30 2010, 11:22 PM

393 posts

Hi All, i'm going to Bkk next month, will be staying over Sukhumvit area.

Which place is recommended to visit?
cherlynIN
post Apr 2 2010, 12:51 AM

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Mar 29 2010, 11:21 AM)
Good location. Walking distance to Erawan shrine. You're 1-2 BTS stops from either Nana or Siam Sq.
Other hotels near here would be Centrepoint Wireless and the Marriott Service Apartments.
really ? herm really wish can go there once more, but 100% sure safe ? no riot ?
andrewlim8
post Apr 2 2010, 10:56 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Zippee @ Mar 26 2010, 02:29 PM)
Just got back from Bangkok yesterday. Thank goodness I didnt cancel my trip due to the political situation, didnt even experience any riots etc biggrin.gif
Oh yeah, also took a ticketed cab from airport to Pratunam=3200 baht only.
Overall awesome trip!!!  thumbup.gif
i took taxi from airport to Pratunam too but ONLY 200baht (average)

Added on April 2, 2010, 11:01 am
QUOTE(Fatz_Cat @ Mar 26 2010, 05:12 PM)
wow..that is cheap....where u get the cab??...from the chit counter?
huh.....320baht is considered cheap?? u must be very rich or.........hahahah

i never pay more than 300 baht(total 8 times) for taxi to Pratunam even included Toll n heavy traffic jam........

last week when i came back from BKK, from Pratunam to airport, early morning not using highway, only costed me 178baht.(so far the cheapest)

This post has been edited by andrewlim8: Apr 2 2010, 11:19 AM
AngelLingLing
post Apr 2 2010, 11:16 AM

31 posts

anyone been to dream world? how much is it far from prantum mall?
andrewlim8
post Apr 2 2010, 11:44 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(DrezzUp @ Mar 25 2010, 01:52 PM)
There r 2 services is either BTS (Skytrain) or MRTA underground train in BKK city. within d vicinity of pratunam no BTS or MRTA. D nearest SIAM or Chidlom BTS station. From tis station take a ride to Asoke station then change to MRTA Sukhumvit to take you Kamphaeng Phet.U exit from tis station it is already the JJ mkt.
from Pratunam to Chatucak, take taxi only around 80baht, will u still take BTS n then need to change to Mrt in order to reach Chatucak? unless u r alone, if not i dun see any point not to take taxi. unless u really want to save 2-3 ringgits for the journey.

normally i will go to JJ at 10am(thai) from Pratunam, dun worry no traffic jam at all (as i already went there for 7-8 times).

for the past 8 times in BKK, i also stayed in Pratunam, so all of u can ask me the average taxi fare to certain locations, i will tell u all my average taxi fare.

p/s: dun mislead other when u r not very familiar with the situation, especially teaching ppl using those stupid way.........no offence....hehehe

This post has been edited by andrewlim8: Apr 2 2010, 11:52 AM

129 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0205sec    1.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:13 PM