-= Naza-Kia Forte =- <Club> V3, Leaves You Speechless

StarGhazzer
post Feb 4 2010, 01:33 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Feb 3 2010, 11:33 PM)
I've tested the 308THP b4, yes it's amazing, 240Nm @ 1400, pickup is powerful like crazy.

But as i've mentioned b4, it's for youngsters and not suitable as family car. Few years down the road wifey need to sit at back when pregnant. 308's backseat is not really that comfy hehe.

Anyway looking for family car now and Forte just fit in nicely at it's price point.

And i m a crazy driver, the more powerful the car is the more crazier i get. Used to drive a 20 yr old Toyota starlet and always floor the accelerator. Crazy shit, now old liao canot take it anymore hehe. Very dangerous. tongue.gif

Looking at the statistic above I m sure i m gonna love this 2.0 Forte.

I fell in love with Mazda 3 when i first test drove it. It was very responsive and torque is good. To think on paper Forte is 'better' than Mazda 3, really can't wait to drive it hehehe biggrin.gif

Avante's troque seems high oso but i can't remember how 'powerful' it is. I can only remember how noisy the engine was, same as altis 1.8, what a letdown, when gear kicking back, the sound of engive rev / drag was same as my 1.5 wira aeroback.

After reading the list again, i've test driven all the cars except for vios and forte 2.0 and adding mazda 3 1.6 to the list biggrin.gif
Just a head's up from a 2.0 Forte driver biggrin.gif Torque numbers are just for show... it's not very frequent that you rev beyond 4K rpm to attain the max Nm.

The numbers may seem good on paper, but the 4 speed auto is the main factor that's limiting the performance of the ThetaII. In automatic mode, the 2.0 Forte does not seem to be able to smoke anyone on the roads; in fact the 1.8 Civic "feels" faster. The gearbox upshifts too early from 2nd to 3rd gear the moment the tacho hits 2k rpm, resulting in a torque dip at low speed (approx 50kmh).

There's two ways to solve this - (1) push the lever to shift-tronic mode and control your gears manually (2) ECU tweak as mentioned in some foreign forums.

The 3 feels more nimble and zippy on the roads, but the main downside to the Mazda is the interior cabin space. The rear is horrendously narrow and feels claustrophobic when seating 3 adults. Material quality is also a letdown (although the Forte too also has some poor plastics).

Forget about the Avante/Elantra. Old and unrefined. If you're looking for a Hyundai you're better off with the i30, although its pricing in Malaysia is somewhat unattractive.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Feb 4 2010, 01:34 PM
JoLee
post Feb 4 2010, 01:42 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Feb 4 2010, 01:33 PM)
Just a head's up from a 2.0 Forte driver biggrin.gif Torque numbers are just for show... it's not very frequent that you rev beyond 4K rpm to attain the max Nm.

The numbers may seem good on paper, but the 4 speed auto is the main factor that's limiting the performance of the ThetaII. In automatic mode, the 2.0 Forte does not seem to be able to smoke anyone on the roads; in fact the 1.8 Civic "feels" faster. The gearbox upshifts too early from 2nd to 3rd gear the moment the tacho hits 2k rpm, resulting in a torque dip at low speed (approx 50kmh).

There's two ways to solve this - (1) push the lever to shift-tronic mode and control your gears manually (2) ECU tweak as mentioned in some foreign forums.

The 3 feels more nimble and zippy on the roads, but the main downside to the Mazda is the interior cabin space. The rear is horrendously narrow and feels claustrophobic when seating 3 adults. Material quality is also a letdown (although the Forte too also has some poor plastics).

Forget about the Avante/Elantra. Old and unrefined. If you're looking for a Hyundai you're better off with the i30, although its pricing in Malaysia is somewhat unattractive.
Thanks bro for the heads up. A lot of us don't even get to test drive the car. Is the pickup way better than the Avante? The reason why I asked is because the avante felt really sluggish and as you say the noise is very harsh when revving the engine. At the moment I downgrade to 1.6sx but I doubt I can get the car before CNY.

So implicitly I am asking is there a feel of power difference between the 2.0 Forte and 1.6?

The I30 was quite good as well as it is more refined than the Avante.

This post has been edited by JoLee: Feb 4 2010, 01:46 PM
toytoy
post Feb 4 2010, 01:47 PM

875 posts

Hi all, Sorry i need to ask this question again, 1.6SX FC compare to 2.0SX, which one wud be better? Had a mindset that 2.0 always have higher FC but SA told me coz same weight of the car, more hp, more powerful = lower FC?
bbear
post Feb 4 2010, 01:48 PM

57 posts

StarGhazzer,

You are right, the Max numbers do not really meant much unless we are controlling the shifting. A more refine graphs to look at where the normal usage RPM range together with the gear shifting program, car's overall weight and other factors do contribute to the end result. I remember I don't quite like the curve shape of the Forte as the Max is at a tip like mount Everest. So far, the Torque curve that I am in loves with is the 308 Turbo and secondly the Sylphy when it couples with the CVVT box.

This post has been edited by bbear: Feb 4 2010, 01:49 PM
iluvena
post Feb 4 2010, 01:49 PM

425 posts

for those remember fong01, this fella really got NBTD.
he got problem with forte meh? make a mess under KM discussion.. hahaha

http://www.facebook.com/FongHorizont

straight away i notice he's the same Fong01. the CBU/CKD guy that love dugong so much. haha
toytoy
post Feb 4 2010, 01:52 PM

875 posts

why toyota is refer as dugong ar?
phelix
post Feb 4 2010, 01:53 PM

Nexusan
924 posts

QUOTE(andreslck @ Feb 4 2010, 11:00 AM)
cmd@naza.com.my;
jaeyun@kia.co.kr;
mjc@kia.co.kr;
yeon@kia.co.kr;
cmd@naza.com.my;

Some one in the cari forum write to the Kia HQ and result is the regional sales manager return call and settle the car with him.
Anyone want to try? Perhaps one representor and we drop in our name...If still no news today, cny drive forte dream is gone. FYI, all the big trucks movement will stopped next wednesday. Meaning no more forte ship to u if still at stockyard :-)
QUOTE(bbear @ Feb 4 2010, 11:12 AM)
Hmm.. Maybe I shall write to them telling how they loose my business. By CC to cmd@naza.com.my.. this going to make NAZA shakes their legs.
will it be a good move to write letter to Kia HQ?
1) the delay issue is really because of Naza? or the G?
2) if Kia really thinks that Naza holding too many brand.. and now they turn to new distributor which price might not as good as AP king can provide.

but after that will it benefits us? hike of price with better management VS low price with poor delivery timeline..

QUOTE(x5m5 @ Feb 4 2010, 11:35 AM)
Just talked to the staff in the branch, the HQ still has not allocate the cars, even the branch manager is piss off with them.
I can trust this manager when I booked my car at the beginning of Jan, he sincerely said that the delivery only before CNY. I think now he's under tremendous pressure to keep his promises to the customers.
Blame only the Naza mannagement and those SA who over promised just want to get sale.
I am keeping my finger cross that the car can be deliver before CNY.
Don't worry, enjoy the CNY first, then the Forte.
again no point to blame anyone before we can find out the real fact behind the story.

QUOTE(miet @ Feb 4 2010, 12:14 PM)
Yeah, civic 2.0 has the vtec power (exclude 1.8 civic).
My colleague's 2.0 old sonata push to the limit is 220km/h while civic from behind can easily overtake him with ease.
I think that civic 2.0 was at 250km/h...
Nevertheless, who cares? I buy forte 2.0 not for racing, I want the feel of power but not racing.. icon_rolleyes.gif
It's good to opt for 407 if within budget, cause 407 will only be replaced by 508 somewhere in 2011.
the newly launched 408 in china is C segment car...the look not bad eeither.

enjoy the pics of 408:-
http://paultan.org/2010/01/26/peugeot-408-...08-based-sedan/
civic 2.0 for over 250km/h is too much la bro...
i doubt they can do 250km/h unless type R different story.

QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Feb 4 2010, 12:46 PM)
good... so we can organize group buy then  rclxms.gif
yeah.. i'm thinking that too...
let's start now..

K&N 33-2380 Air Filter Bulk Order.
Approximate price is either RM240 - RM250 depends on which seller.

1) Phelix
2) Jimmy.Soo
3) andreslck
4) yhlee12
5) kennyphan
6)

who else??

Added on February 4, 2010, 1:54 pm
QUOTE(toytoy @ Feb 4 2010, 01:52 PM)
dugong not equal to toyota
but new Vios = Dugong because it looks like one..
muahaha

This post has been edited by phelix: Feb 4 2010, 01:54 PM
uputra81
post Feb 4 2010, 01:56 PM

287 posts

bcoz toyota vios looks like one.
jojolcy7
post Feb 4 2010, 02:00 PM

QUOTE(phelix @ Feb 4 2010, 01:53 PM)

K&N 33-2380 Air Filter Bulk Order.
Approximate price is either RM240 - RM250 depends on which seller.

1) Phelix
2) Jimmy.Soo
3) andreslck
4) yhlee12
5) kennyphan
6) jojolcy7

StarGhazzer
post Feb 4 2010, 02:07 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(JoLee @ Feb 4 2010, 01:42 PM)
Thanks bro for the heads up. A lot of us don't even get to test drive the car. Is the pickup way better than the Avante? The reason why I asked is because the avante felt really sluggish and as you say the noise is very harsh when revving the engine. At the moment I downgrade to 1.6sx but I doubt I can get the car before CNY.

So implicitly I am asking is there a feel of power difference between the 2.0 Forte and 1.6?

The I30 was quite good as well as it is more refined than the Avante.
Can't comment on the 1.6 Forte... No experience with that.
I've never tested the Avante but I did check out the i30 which has the same 2.0 Beta engine. It's not a bad engine to be honest, but it's much less refined and you can feel the strain when you step on the gas hard. Another annoying thing about the Avante is the rather ugly looking centre console which looks like a washing machine control panel, but of course aesthetics is subjective.

i30 is an underrated (overpriced) car in Southeast Asia. It's very well build, drives rather superbly, and has won COTY in its segment in Australia for 2 consecutive years. Had Kia not released the Forte I would have bought the i30 instead. The reason why I chose the Forte is because of the newer , more powerful ThetaII and a quieter interior. i30's BetaII tends to roar too loudly for my liking.

If you're looking for space and comfort the Latio is actually a good choice. Interior is HUGE, especially rear leg room; and the seat cushions feels more meaty than the Forte/i30. Don't expect an exciting drive as the car rolls a lot during corners due to its narrow width but tall height; yet the engine (1.8 here, I have no experience with the 1.6) is a very smooth operator. The worst thing about it? The steering... No weight at all. Some would love it but it gives the feeling of driving an arcade machine.

QUOTE(bbear @ Feb 4 2010, 01:48 PM)
StarGhazzer,

You are right, the Max numbers do not really meant much unless we are controlling the shifting. A more refine graphs to look at where the normal usage RPM range together with the gear shifting program, car's overall weight and other factors do contribute to the end result. I remember I don't quite like the curve shape of the Forte as the Max is at a tip like mount Everest. So far, the Torque curve that I am in loves with is the 308 Turbo and secondly the Sylphy when it couples with the CVVT box.
Can't compare the torque with the 308 turbo tongue.gif After all, it has a turbocharger.
Slyphy is too dated like the Avante and the uncle design can be a turnoff for some people. And seriously drum brakes?

QUOTE(iluvena @ Feb 4 2010, 01:49 PM)
for those remember fong01, this fella really got NBTD.
he got problem with forte meh? make a mess under KM discussion.. hahaha

http://www.facebook.com/FongHorizont

straight away i notice he's the same Fong01. the CBU/CKD guy that love dugong so much. haha
Don't bother about him. He can love his Vios as much as he wants... We love our Fortes and that's all that matters.

The bulbous nose.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Feb 4 2010, 02:12 PM
miet
post Feb 4 2010, 02:10 PM

Agree with u. Btw what is ECU tweak?
Yes, go for the i series if you're looking for Hyundai. i10,i20,i30 or even i40(coming soon).
Too bad i30 doesn't have sedan version. wonder why.
hatchback? for me, no no... cool2.gif

Added on February 4, 2010, 2:15 pm
QUOTE(phelix @ Feb 4 2010, 01:53 PM)
civic 2.0 for over 250km/h is too much la bro...
i doubt they can do 250km/h unless type R different story.
I doubt that too..It's just crazy. I just copy my colleague's words. haha

This post has been edited by miet: Feb 4 2010, 02:15 PM
StarGhazzer
post Feb 4 2010, 02:18 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(miet @ Feb 4 2010, 02:10 PM)
Yes, go for the i series if you're looking for Hyundai. i10,i20,i30 or even i40(coming soon).
i30 sedan would look really gawky... imagine a VW golf sedan sweat.gif UGH.
The i30's best angle to view at would be the rear 3/4. Front looks a bit tame but it's still pretty good.

Not really sure about the technicalities of ECU tweak, but simplistically speaking it's just a remap of the engine's and gearbox's computer controls. Maybe reprogramming it so that the auto tranny upshifts at a higher rpm.

When I use the shift-tronic I usually upshift at around 2.2-2.3K rpm... rarely would I go past 2.5K unless overtaking at high speeds. Petrol mahal lah...
JoLee
post Feb 4 2010, 02:18 PM

99 posts

Agree with you. My wife would scream if I get the I30 as no boot space. I just spoke to the Hyundai salesman and honestly compared to NAZA SA I really pity them as they have the drive to sell cars. The SA in Naza never bothered to follow-up on sales.
bbear
post Feb 4 2010, 02:20 PM

57 posts

Added on February 4, 2010, 2:15 pm
I doubt that too..It's just crazy. I just copy my colleague's words. haha
Miet,

You can look at this Local Tuner.. they are doing ECU Profile mapping. Cerato 1.6 is in the List. : http://dktuning.com/index.htm

miet
post Feb 4 2010, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Feb 4 2010, 02:07 PM)
The worst thing about it? The steering... No weight at all. Some would love it but it gives the feeling of driving an arcade machine.
You talking bout Latio? Then what bout Forte 2.0 with MDPS ? Does it has the light feeling as well?

Added on February 4, 2010, 2:25 pm
QUOTE(bbear @ Feb 4 2010, 02:20 PM)
Miet,

You can look at this Local Tuner.. they are doing ECU Profile mapping. Cerato 1.6 is in the List. : http://dktuning.com/index.htm
Oh..Thanks very much. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by miet: Feb 4 2010, 02:25 PM
phelix
post Feb 4 2010, 02:25 PM

Nexusan
924 posts

QUOTE(bbear @ Feb 4 2010, 02:20 PM)
Miet,

the cerato 1.6 in their list should referring to spectra le bro.
bbear
post Feb 4 2010, 02:26 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(phelix @ Feb 4 2010, 02:25 PM)
the cerato 1.6 in their list should referring to spectra le bro.
Didn't know that tongue.gif
kiaforteclub
post Feb 4 2010, 02:40 PM

ECU remapping 2 types - direct reflash & rechip
1. rechip u need to remove ecu and void warranty cause u have to soilder another chip onboard good for trackies
2. reflash if ecu in not locked but make sure done on dyno rather than some quick reflash map. good for normal drives & lower fc. bad if u go back to SC and complain problems they may auto reset your ecu if they have the unit at that sc and your $$$$ kaput! happened to VW golf owners....

Drop-in Filter
I'm trying to source compatibles other than K&N for option.

Steering
our 1.6 is using hydraulic so the weighted feel is there but 2.0 comes with electric steering which is true like playing video game but the wife/gf will luv it. good thing is engine more power & lower fc.

Autobox
in auto mode its mapped to give best fc. the reason for triptronic so u can get your pwr when u need it. i droved the 2.0 and its closer to civic 2.0 than lancer 2.0 cause of lancer's cvt gearbox (yucks). pwr is good response is good way better than our 1.6. (sigh! wish i had 2.0 instead)

izputra
post Feb 4 2010, 02:41 PM

146 posts

Who want this job : http://my.jobstreet.com/jobs/2010/1/n/10/969425.htm?fr=J

Be our insider cum spy tongue.gif
kiaforteclub
post Feb 4 2010, 02:43 PM

QUOTE(izputra @ Feb 4 2010, 02:41 PM)
Who want this job : http://my.jobstreet.com/jobs/2010/1/n/10/969425.htm?fr=J

Be our insider cum spy tongue.gif
branch manager not high enuf for insider info ler its a salesman position higher abit only! u need PA or Sexitary sitting in the board meeting & dealings with Gov dept position is best.......

147 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.0322sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:42 AM