129 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Nexus One LYN Official Review & Testing, Our very own testing playground on N1 :)

phua1985
post Jan 31 2010, 10:17 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Jan 31 2010, 08:51 PM)
WHAT? WinMO on Android phone? Seriously, please tell me that you meant "running Android on WinMo device" instead!!

Added on January 31, 2010, 8:52 pmbahathir, I get 3.2Mbps over Wifi with FTP server tongue.gif
I saw a link....they install android on a winmo htc hd 2 ......and they canm choose between winmo and android during boot up....
bahathir
post Jan 31 2010, 10:47 PM

1,200 posts

I think it is 'Possible' to insall WinMo in N1, if the WinMo has all the needed drivers.
phua1985
post Jan 31 2010, 11:18 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Jan 31 2010, 10:47 PM)
I think it is 'Possible' to insall WinMo in N1, if the WinMo has all the needed drivers.
by the way ....the smoothness of touch screen compare to Iphone 3gs still kinda of chunky is it becos of nexus one hardware or android?
bahathir
post Feb 1 2010, 12:16 AM

1,200 posts

Yup,the same feeling from my friends too. Here is my assumptions.

Touch screen resolution: N1:atleast 800x480 vs iPhone 480x320
N1 has to process 2.5 more pixels than iphones

But, I already get used to it, so not a big issues.

Side notes:
This is how the Snapdragon CPU changes it's CPU speed. In my test shows the live wallpaper will escalate the CPU frequency to the Max, (1Ghz) most of the time especially the "Water' live wallpaper. But the good news is, the cpu freq will be lowered to 245MHz when it is in standby. smile.gif The Nexus live wallpaper is not bad at all. The cpu speed stays 245 MHz, unless we touch it many times. smile.gif But, I prefers solid black static wallpaper.

$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/stats/trans_table

Sample result

CODE

From  :    To
        :    245000    384000    460800    499200    576000    614400    652800    691200    768000    806400    844800    998400
  245000:         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0       488
  384000:       121         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0        42
  460800:        54        27         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0        32
  499200:        27        13        15         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0        24
  576000:        34        22        11        25         0         0         0         0         0         0         0        49
  614400:        49         6         5         7        23         0         0         0         0         0         0        31
  652800:        29         6         5         6        24        13         0         0         0         0         0        42
  691200:         8         3         3         2        13        11        21         0         0         0         0        23
  768000:        22         8         5         2        14        18        23        18         0         0         0        57
  806400:        10         3         4         1         5         4         8        11        33         0         0        42
  844800:         6         1         3         1         2         3         7         7        18         5         0        32
  998400:       129        74        62        35        60        72        66        48       115       116        85         0

Another one is time_in_state, which shows how long (in micro second) the CPU was in that particular cpu speed.

$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/stats/time_in_state
CODE

245000 493919
384000 3022
460800 1892
499200 1356
576000 1431
614400 5971
652800 3187
691200 582
768000 2019
806400 1577
844800 913
998400 19362

This post has been edited by bahathir: Feb 1 2010, 12:35 AM
phua1985
post Feb 1 2010, 12:31 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Feb 1 2010, 12:16 AM)
Yup,the same feeling from my friends too. Here is my assumptions.

Touch screen resolution: N1:atleast 800x480 vs iPhone 480x320
N1 has to process 2.5 more pixels than iphones

But, I already get used to it, so not a big issues.
Side notes:
This is how the Snapdragon CPU changes it's CPU speed. In my test shows the live wallpaper will escalate the CPU frequency to the Max, (1Ghz) most of the time... So, to save power, I recommends to use static wall paper... In my case, I use only SOLID BLACK wall paper.

$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/stats/trans_table

Sample result

CODE

From  :    To
        :    245000    384000    460800    499200    576000    614400    652800    691200    768000    806400    844800    998400
  245000:         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0       488
  384000:       121         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0        42
  460800:        54        27         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0        32
  499200:        27        13        15         0         0         0         0         0         0         0         0        24
  576000:        34        22        11        25         0         0         0         0         0         0         0        49
  614400:        49         6         5         7        23         0         0         0         0         0         0        31
  652800:        29         6         5         6        24        13         0         0         0         0         0        42
  691200:         8         3         3         2        13        11        21         0         0         0         0        23
  768000:        22         8         5         2        14        18        23        18         0         0         0        57
  806400:        10         3         4         1         5         4         8        11        33         0         0        42
  844800:         6         1         3         1         2         3         7         7        18         5         0        32
  998400:       129        74        62        35        60        72        66        48       115       116        85         0

Another one is time_in_state, which shows how long (in micro second) the CPU was in that particular cpu speed.

$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/stats/time_in_state   
CODE

245000 493919
384000 3022
460800 1892
499200 1356
576000 1431
614400 5971
652800 3187
691200 582
768000 2019
806400 1577
844800 913
998400 19362

Which means the touch screen get chunky on nexus one is because of the hardware?
bahathir
post Feb 1 2010, 12:52 AM

1,200 posts

I am not sure whether the drastic CPU freq changes contribute to the clunkiness, which I found not too serious.

I also did tests with the touchscreen accuracy, and response. I am using 'Simply Draw' apps (muti touch simple drawing apps), Google;s SDK dev;s Pointer Locations app, and Multi touch test apps, and I am quite satisfied with it.

There many few factors which might affecting the touch accuracy
1) Finger : Yeah... our fingers need to be clean and not greasy.
2) Screen : Same as above smile.gif I found that the screen is a bit 'sticky' clean, so, sometime, it is not as smooth as silk. Might be a matte screen protector can give much silky smooth touch.

Added on February 1, 2010, 12:56 amAlso, make sure your palm did not touch the edge of the screen. It might cause errors in registering touches.

This post has been edited by bahathir: Feb 1 2010, 12:56 AM
phua1985
post Feb 1 2010, 01:14 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Feb 1 2010, 12:52 AM)
I am not sure whether the drastic CPU freq changes contribute to the clunkiness, which I found not too serious.

I also did tests with the touchscreen accuracy, and response. I am using 'Simply Draw' apps (muti touch simple drawing apps),  Google;s SDK dev;s Pointer Locations app, and Multi touch test apps, and I am quite satisfied with it.

There many few factors which might affecting the touch accuracy
1) Finger : Yeah... our fingers need to be clean and not greasy.
2) Screen : Same as above smile.gif I found that the screen is a bit 'sticky' clean, so, sometime, it is not as smooth as silk. Might be a matte screen protector can give much silky smooth touch.

Added on February 1, 2010, 12:56 amAlso, make sure your palm did not touch the edge of the screen. It might cause errors in registering touches.
thats lot of info.....are you working for some telco company or something.....u seem very knowledgeble on all this stuff....

From what you mention above seem like the problem is from android....they need to fine tune further for touch screen?
bahathir
post Feb 1 2010, 01:58 AM

1,200 posts

No lah. I just an enthusiast who loves hardware and software. Most of the infos are available in the net. Just neeed some efforts and little luck. : )

This post has been edited by bahathir: Feb 1 2010, 02:19 AM
TSshahz
post Feb 1 2010, 03:12 AM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

While those info are very useful, it is also important to know that the ROM has a very big role in how the phone functions. That is why there are custom ROMs. The default ROMs are quite badly developed so these modders alter them to make it faster and smoother. I rooted my N1, flashed CM, updated CPU freq and my phone already functions better than iPhone smile.gif There are lots of stuff coming in future. For example, the compcache apparently will not be needed anymore soon as there is a different way to manage it.
SUSLYW
post Feb 1 2010, 08:03 AM

197 posts

Eh, I want to clarify here ah, I alittle blu blur, n1 can support class6 Kingston? And does it have a radio?
HaN18
post Feb 1 2010, 11:16 AM

553 posts

Actually what is rooted phone? Jail break? Will it make. My n1 faster? What is the. Pro and con?
TSshahz
post Feb 1 2010, 11:25 AM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

QUOTE(LYW @ Feb 1 2010, 08:03 AM)
Eh, I want to clarify here ah, I alittle blu blur, n1 can support class6 Kingston? And does it have a radio?
Of course it does support class 6. In fact, its recommended to get class 6 for optimum performance smile.gif I am planning to order my class 6 card form US this time around. Kinda don't trust our local products. You never know the integrity. The last thing I want is lose my precious data smile.gif And yes, it does have a "radio" if you know which radio i'm referring to..LOL..If you're referring to FM transmitter, it has the transmitter, but its deactivated..Awaiting someone to unlock it soon smile.gif

QUOTE(HaN18 @ Feb 1 2010, 11:16 AM)
Actually what is rooted phone? Jail break? Will it make. My n1 faster? What is the. Pro and con?
Yeah..something like that..Jail break is on iPhone and its illegal to do so..Root is to get super user permission on your phone giving you total control on what you can do with the phone..Root does not have anything to do with the N1 speed..But once you root, you can install a custom ROM which can speed up your N1..
Pros - Endless possibilities, Super user permission, recovery system in case you screw up the phone..lol
Cons - Warranty void (until you lock back the phone), also you can turn into a zombie if you don't root your phone..lol.. j/k..Thats the only con of not rooting..
HaN18
post Feb 1 2010, 11:43 AM

553 posts

Oh okay thanks for the reply hmmm
.. to install a custom rom we need to buy and install it to boots up? Kinda risky if anything happen hahaha.. awww!! The speaker for n one kinda sucks LOL! And is there any tethering function for n1?
bahathir
post Feb 1 2010, 12:18 PM

1,200 posts

In Android, 'ROM' is just a software which being flashed into the device's ROM.

Currently, I am using Azilink (apps from Market), which can do the USB tethering. The process is not straight forward, but, still fun to do it. smile.gif

Speaker : Mmm.... it just OK. Better than my Nokia E52.
HaN18
post Feb 1 2010, 01:04 PM

553 posts

Hmmmm I can't find the application for tethering in market..
bonanno
post Feb 1 2010, 01:05 PM

466 posts

Shahz..when will u order the memory from US?
bahathir
post Feb 1 2010, 02:15 PM

1,200 posts

Oopss... Sorry, you can get azilink here smile.gif

http://code.google.com/p/azilink/
phua1985
post Feb 1 2010, 02:51 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Feb 1 2010, 03:12 AM)
While those info are very useful, it is also important to know that the ROM has a very big role in how the phone functions. That is why there are custom ROMs. The default ROMs are quite badly developed so these modders alter them to make it faster and smoother. I rooted my N1, flashed CM, updated CPU freq and my phone already functions better than iPhone smile.gif There are lots of stuff coming in future. For example, the compcache apparently will not be needed anymore soon as there is a different way to manage it.
What is flashed CM?....

This post has been edited by phua1985: Feb 1 2010, 02:53 PM
HaN18
post Feb 1 2010, 02:56 PM

553 posts

Oh hahaha thanks by the way anyone of you knew who sell. Screen protector??
phua1985
post Feb 1 2010, 02:57 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Feb 1 2010, 11:25 AM)
Of course it does support class 6. In fact, its recommended to get class 6 for optimum performance smile.gif I am planning to order my class 6 card form US this time around. Kinda don't trust our local products. You never know the integrity. The last thing I want is lose my precious data smile.gif And yes, it does have a "radio" if you know which radio i'm referring to..LOL..If you're referring to FM transmitter, it has the transmitter, but its deactivated..Awaiting someone to unlock it soon smile.gif
Yeah..something like that..Jail break is on iPhone and its illegal to do so..Root is to get super user permission on your phone giving you total control on what you can do with the phone..Root does not have anything to do with the N1 speed..But once you root, you can install a custom ROM which can speed up your N1..
Pros - Endless possibilities, Super user permission, recovery system in case you screw up the phone..lol
Cons - Warranty void (until you lock back the phone), also you can turn into a zombie if you don't root your phone..lol.. j/k..Thats the only con of not rooting..
You can have recovery system ??? so cool!!

129 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:59 AM