25 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Acer Aspire 5740G-524G50 New! Rm 2999. Worth it?, Core i5-520M, 512MB HD 5470, 4GB, 500GB.

the100308
post Mar 2 2010, 05:18 PM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(coolredz @ Mar 2 2010, 05:09 PM)
hahas... have you tried any game yet? how about their performance?
Well yeap..
For need for speed shift, its kinda lag, even with medium setting, donou why..
Need for speed undercover ok, somehow will lag oso..
Devil May Cry ok, with all high setting still can reach 30 - 40 fps
IronMan, ok, but I hate the game..
coolredz
post Mar 2 2010, 05:44 PM

144 posts

hmmm,i wonder 5470 can run what game well lol tongue.gif
astria
post Mar 2 2010, 08:13 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(coolredz @ Mar 2 2010, 05:44 PM)
hmmm,i wonder 5470 can run what game well lol tongue.gif
Solitaire perhaps??? laugh.gif

jokes aside, HD5400 series is a total disappointment if u ask me... it's spec is basically the same as HD4500, with the exception of GDDR5 support on HD5470...

honestly speaking, it's more of a deterioration rather than improvement...

This post has been edited by astria: Mar 2 2010, 08:14 PM
BeastX
post Mar 2 2010, 08:39 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 2 2010, 08:13 PM)

jokes aside, HD5400 series is a total disappointment if u ask me... it's spec is basically the same as HD4500, with the exception of GDDR5 support on HD5470...

Power saving and Eyefinity... 3d gaming be damned...
coolredz
post Mar 2 2010, 10:58 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 2 2010, 08:13 PM)

hahas.. wrong la bro! minesweeper tongue.gif
just joking.. that's why... from other forums that i searched, most of them saying the same thing too.. they said HD5470 is on par with HD4570..
i really wish there'll be a better gc on 5740G.. i just love physx effect lol.. get one with high performance range nvidia card biggrin.gif
no offence for ATI user.. just a suggestion icon_rolleyes.gif
i still prefer HD5600series if possible rclxm9.gif
astria
post Mar 3 2010, 05:24 AM

22,158 posts

well, i guess AMD can't really raise the spec of the entry cards...

else those using HD3600 can throw away their laptop already... laugh.gif
oec88
post Mar 3 2010, 05:34 AM

385 posts

Before you buy this laptop, you should know that the graphic will not give you full pleasure in gaming like having high FPS in game or support high end game. Bear in mind, 5470 is a entry or low end card. If you would like to have good gaming performance like I said above, get 5650 above, 5770 would be better. If there's 5800 series, then it will be even better.

There goes the same with GeForce series, you should do research more before you buy. Like now I'm having this laptop, compare to my desktop I use 1280x1024 with 75Hz screen refresh rate on my Call of Duty 4, I have 125FPS all the time in the multiplayer game, the graphic card is GeForce 8800GT, is consider as high end card in GeForce 8000 series, of course there are other high end card such as 8800 Ultra or 8800GTX. While for my laptop, although 5470 has new technology and it's the latest card, I only able to get 125FPS at all time in 640x480 resolution.

So, think about it. Do not expect good gaming experience on this laptop, this is just a bargain for those who need a high performance laptop and just so-so in gaming.
Eugene91
post Mar 3 2010, 08:17 AM

6,109 posts

If you expect gaming laptop at High settings prepare RM4k above biggrin.gif
oec88
post Mar 3 2010, 09:15 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Mar 3 2010, 08:17 AM)
If you expect gaming laptop at High settings prepare RM4k above biggrin.gif
Yeah right, at least get to know what graphic card is mid end or high end performance. Of course high end is better and it will cost at higher price.
coolredz
post Mar 3 2010, 09:24 AM

144 posts

hahas... not so rich to go more than 4k for a notebook biggrin.gif
a higher end card is enough for me.. not too high end card though.. tongue.gif
Eugene91
post Mar 3 2010, 09:28 AM

6,109 posts

Poison you with this la..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l6Ssqvy7SYU
coolredz
post Mar 3 2010, 10:21 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Mar 3 2010, 09:28 AM)
Lols! I ate antidote before I watch the video.. Muahahaha biggrin.gif
Alienware spec is very nice.. But over my budget already smile.gif
miahahaha
post Mar 3 2010, 10:31 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

QUOTE(coolredz @ Mar 3 2010, 10:21 AM)
Lols! I ate antidote before I watch the video.. Muahahaha  biggrin.gif
Alienware spec is very nice.. But over my budget already  smile.gif
Well, can always go for the middle-range gaming laptop with mid-range GPU nod.gif...just like BenQ S42 & S57 and also like Asus K40Ab/K50Ab and so on smile.gif
coolredz
post Mar 3 2010, 11:00 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Mar 3 2010, 10:31 AM)
Well, can always go for the middle-range gaming laptop with mid-range GPU nod.gif...just like BenQ S42 & S57 and also like Asus K40Ab/K50Ab and so on smile.gif
Haha.. Still can afford something like acer 5740G biggrin.gif
I prefer Intel notebook than AMD.. AMD processor always hotter than Intel hehes..
astria
post Mar 3 2010, 12:03 PM

22,158 posts

well, S57 comes with HD4650 for around rm3k... nod.gif
coolredz
post Mar 3 2010, 12:37 PM

144 posts

the graphic card is good according to notebookcheck chart.. ranked 49.. even HD5470 is ranked at 93rd.. quite tempting tongue.gif

This post has been edited by coolredz: Mar 3 2010, 09:24 PM
aregip
post Mar 6 2010, 02:02 AM

164 posts

guys..!! do you think that this laptop come out with free dos...?
Beouwulf
post Mar 6 2010, 09:07 AM

Laptop or Notebook ?
1,035 posts

It won't, Acer won't release dedicated gpu models without any OS.
BeastX
post Mar 6 2010, 10:24 AM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

Blame MS tight hold on licensing forcing their "tax" on most computer manufacturers..
coolredz
post Mar 6 2010, 10:36 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Mar 6 2010, 10:24 AM)
Blame MS tight hold on licensing forcing their "tax" on most computer manufacturers..
thumbup.gif

25 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:05 PM