Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

hihihehe
post May 20 2010, 11:27 AM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ May 20 2010, 01:00 PM)
Because it is offering pretty good deals like how TPG did 3 years ago.
Unfortunately, most of the ADSL2 ports for TPG are long gone...
hmm
not really good deal if you want to compare tpg 130GB for $50 with internode $60 for 60GB..
but the reason i go for internode because the only available port in my exchange(n of course bigpond), dun have peak/off peak usage like tpg which consist of 65GB on peak and another half at off peak(2am-8am i guess), good review on internode,etc..
i guess many students go for tpg
KVReninem
post May 20 2010, 12:38 PM

IX
5,369 posts

Travellers to be searched for porn

nimloth32
post May 20 2010, 01:00 PM

284 posts

for those who intended to stay in australia after studying, please refer to below..

New SOL list

Seems that a lot of occupations had been removed..anyway, hope that it will be helpful to you guys to make further plans..

utopian86
post May 20 2010, 01:08 PM

1,239 posts

Does anyone knows how much does the panel doctor charge for medical check up? (in kl)
hihihehe
post May 20 2010, 01:12 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(utopian86 @ May 20 2010, 03:08 PM)
Does anyone knows how much does the panel doctor charge for medical check up? (in kl)
around RM120-300?
depends on clinic/hospital
utopian86
post May 20 2010, 01:20 PM

1,239 posts

Medical Clinic
Horeb Service
Level 17 Menara Ambank
No.8 Jalan Yap Kwan Seng
50450 Kuala Lumpur

Medical and Radiology Clinic
Tung Shin Hospital
Outpatient Department
102 Jalan Pudu
55100 Kuala Lumpur

I'm planning to go either one of these. But i'm not sure which is cheaper.
If i go Horeb Service, i'm not sure they have X-ray or not.
Anyone been there?
Please advise.thanks
mangoman
post May 20 2010, 01:21 PM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 20 2010, 03:38 PM)

Luckily I always keep my "stock" in external HDD. smile.gif thumbup.gif

Added on May 20, 2010, 1:22 pm
QUOTE(utopian86 @ May 20 2010, 04:20 PM)
Medical Clinic
Horeb Service
Level 17 Menara Ambank
No.8 Jalan Yap Kwan Seng
50450 Kuala Lumpur

Medical and Radiology Clinic
Tung Shin Hospital
Outpatient Department
102 Jalan Pudu
55100 Kuala Lumpur
I'm planning to go either one of these. But i'm not sure which is cheaper.
If i go Horeb Service, i'm not sure they have X-ray or not.
Anyone been there?
Please advise.thanks
I went to the one in Menara Ambank 4yrs ago, can't really remember how much did it cost but it was pretty fast actually. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mangoman: May 20 2010, 01:22 PM
hazwan
post May 20 2010, 02:18 PM

43 posts

utopian86,

i would suggest going to the clinic at Menara Ambank. They could do the checkup (including xray) and email it straight to the Australian Embassy. Other places (i asked Kumpulan Medic in Subang) would have the results posted, which could take sometime.

And i think i only paid rm110 including xray. i'm not quite sure of the exact amount but i'm very sure its not more than Rm150
StarGhazzer
post May 20 2010, 04:43 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 20 2010, 12:38 PM)

Crazy fellas... go and tangkap those who are stabbing international students or hoon drivers ler...
If you tick "yes" will you end up in the "goods to declare" line? Food kena check, and now they want to switch on every laptop/mobile phone/camera/ext HD? as if the queue at the airport is not long enough...

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 20 2010, 11:27 AM)
hmm
not really good deal if you want to compare tpg 130GB for $50 with internode $60 for 60GB..
but the reason i go for internode because the only available port in my exchange(n of course bigpond), dun have peak/off peak usage like tpg which consist of 65GB on peak and another half at off peak(2am-8am i guess), good review on internode,etc..
i guess many students go for tpg
3 years ago tpg was only offering 12GB for 49.90/month... Internode's offer isn't too bad to be honest. And the lack of available ports for TPG especially in CBD area are causing people to opt for other ISPs.
flora
post May 20 2010, 06:15 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(tsm @ May 19 2010, 04:08 PM)
Try to verify again from Australian high commission. Are you sure you click the column for the country correctly?
Yeap, I am pretty sure that I have click the column for the country correctly. I actually got a checklist from the Australian High Commission saying need to provide evidence of adequate funds. But they said the reverse in their www.immi.gov.au website. rclxub.gif
ostangel
post May 20 2010, 06:19 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(flora @ May 20 2010, 06:15 PM)
Yeap, I am pretty sure that I have click the column for the country correctly. I actually got a checklist from the Australian High Commission saying need to provide evidence of adequate funds. But they said the reverse in their www.immi.gov.au website. rclxub.gif
Yes, I believe that is their new policy now. I remember reading about it when I was applying for my visa last year. I think they just started it this year. It is on the immigration website. You need to check properly.
s373n
post May 21 2010, 12:47 AM

▂▃▅▆ ♫ ♬ ♪ ⓢ③⑦③ⓝ
785 posts

anyone know roughly the cost of dental check-up? signed up with HBF sweat.gif
lovelysky7
post May 21 2010, 11:42 PM

85 posts

how about medicine, what is the approximate total cost in Australia unis? btw, how many years does it take to do medicine?
hihihehe
post May 22 2010, 11:21 AM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(lovelysky7 @ May 22 2010, 01:42 AM)
how about medicine, what is the approximate total cost in Australia unis? btw, how many years does it take to do medicine?
y dont u check it at the university website?
there is lor mote accurate info than we provide
TShaya
post May 23 2010, 03:36 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(lovelysky7 @ May 21 2010, 11:42 PM)
1) You can't enter any Australian university with a AIMST foundation. You can try, in the same way one can try squeezing water out of rocks to solve water shortages in many parts of Australia.

2) If you have to ask, chances are you haven't done your homework enough. All universities publish adequate information on the medical program. Not very becoming of a degree student to be, never mind being a doctor.

3) Even if you manage to get sponsorship for any Australian program, few, if any, universities will accept a "AIMST foundation". (The quote marks are not there for decoration)

4) Most Australian medical schools are largely graduate entry these days. So to answer "how many years does it take to do medicine", one has to ask, what prior qualifications do you have?

5) I'm not being harsh. If I don't do this, limeuu will come in and do it anyway. Limeuu is right through: we have no lack of people in the Education Essentials sub-forum who are of questionable mind wanting to be a doctor. Why, I will never know. The ROI of being a doctor is terrible.

YapKJ
post May 23 2010, 10:39 PM

39 posts

Just some questions here.Is it better to study Actuarial Science or Engineering in Australia?And which is the top University suggested to go for these two courses?
Hikari0307
post May 23 2010, 10:49 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(YapKJ @ May 23 2010, 10:39 PM)
Just some questions here.Is it better to study Actuarial Science or Engineering in Australia?And which is the top University suggested to go for these two courses?
Define: better

those courses you can go to any Group of 8 Uni is find or for Actuarial Macquarie is a really good University as well.

lovelysky7
post May 23 2010, 10:58 PM

85 posts

wow geez..thanks haya for not being "harsh", you're sarcastic though
but yeah, thanks for the infos you provided, really informative, since you emphasized the "AIMST Foundation"
YapKJ
post May 23 2010, 11:39 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ May 23 2010, 10:49 PM)
Define: better

those courses you can go to any Group of 8 Uni is find or for Actuarial Macquarie is a really good University as well.
Trying to mean the quality produced in these two course. Which one has a higher quality come to other countries like UK and US. My friends telling me that UK good for engineering and US good for actuarial science. Any idea about Australia?

And,do you know how many papers are exempted from IAA in each university?
Hikari0307
post May 23 2010, 11:47 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(YapKJ @ May 23 2010, 11:39 PM)
Trying to mean the quality produced in these two course. Which one has a higher quality come to other countries like UK and US. My friends telling me that UK good for engineering and US good for actuarial science. Any idea about Australia?

And,do you know how many papers are exempted from IAA in each university?
Generalizing by Country is not such a good Idea.You got to be University specific. There are really good Universities and bad Universities in each country and this also would depend on how you measure quality.If you want to go by ranking the Group of 8 Universities in Australia is ranked pretty high some higher than a lot of Universities in the UK and US.
Depends on what type of recognition your looking for and so on.Research centered Universities,technical Universities etc. That's why I asked to define better as using such a term is way to general.

you should check the IAA website or the University's website if you want to know more on that ^^"

141 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:46 PM