Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 10:36 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Nufag @ Jan 11 2011, 02:52 AM)
hm. a bit weird that the student accommodation dont state anything bout external isp. because from what i know, most student accommodations force you to subscribe external isp's for internet. lol maybe u should email them to ask if its possible
urbanest is a new student accommodation opening in February only. wifi and internet is inclusive in the rent already. each tenant is given 1 GB internet allowance and you can pay to top up. smile.gif so i dun think it's possible to get my own land line tho.. sad.gif
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 11:12 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Nufag @ Jan 11 2011, 10:48 AM)
lol thats disappointing. i can use 1gb in a day  tongue.gif
you're making me so jealous.... o.o care to share a bit on ur experience with internet in australia? is it fast? how much roughly? i think i have to get a place with new friends to get a land line right?

Added on January 11, 2011, 11:15 amANYONE GOING TO ADELAIDE AND LOOKING FOR A ROOM MATE??? PLEASE LET ME KNOW!!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zeke'stah: Jan 11 2011, 11:15 AM
Shooterz
post Jan 11 2011, 11:38 AM

abcdefaiz
2,538 posts

done with the visa , thanks for those who had helped me before laugh.gif

Brisbane , I'm coming tongue.gif
immabee
post Jan 11 2011, 12:13 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(RyukA @ Jan 11 2011, 01:40 AM)
Call-up. Ask for extension of Offer-date.
Give your reasons, say for a fair judgment/comparison to make academic decision.
they will most likely give you few more days.
If they dont, write in (email),
and say how you are disappointed that such case happen, beg for some sympathy.
You SHOULD get it. wink.gif
Wow. Good one. Unfortunately, I've sent all documents for acceptance of offer. I think I'll try to get them to extend the payment dates instead. Geez... Other offers are coming only by 13 or 14. But thanks for your advice. I'll try to put this trick on my 2nd offer. cool.gif
C-Note
post Jan 11 2011, 01:33 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Hey guys,

What are the degrees that the immigration recognizes as eligible for application for PR in Aussie?

I have a brother who is already a PR holder who has been working there for 2 years and wishes to convert to a citizen. Let's say I graduate as a dentist/mechanical engineer, do i stand a chance for the application?
windz93
post Jan 11 2011, 01:36 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Shooterz @ Jan 11 2011, 11:38 AM)
done with the visa , thanks for those who had helped me before laugh.gif

Brisbane , I'm coming tongue.gif
Cool! You've got the visa already? That's fast! Mine's still not out..online health clinic messed up, and there's now a delay.

Added on January 11, 2011, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(C-Note @ Jan 11 2011, 01:33 PM)
Hey guys,

What are the degrees that the immigration recognizes as eligible for application for PR in Aussie?

I have a brother who is already a PR holder who has been working there for 2 years and wishes to convert to a citizen. Let's say I graduate as a dentist/mechanical engineer, do i stand a chance for the application?
Since your brother is already a PR, he should have all the information you need. Note that migration policies change all the time, they may need profession A today, but may no longer need this profession in a few years. For current demand, check out the immigration website. Google a little, am sure you will find some useful info. Unless one of us is a migration agent, I doubt we will be able to provide latest updated migration policy info.

This post has been edited by windz93: Jan 11 2011, 01:41 PM
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 02:23 PM

306 posts

anyone knows roughly how much the food prices are in ADELAIDE?? is it costly? i gym so i need protein...alot.. was considering buying beef and cookin it at home. just wonderin how much it'd cost roughly. im sure the cost would be different from sydney. pls advice.
SRLee
post Jan 11 2011, 02:54 PM

437 posts

Hi everyone.

I finished SPM in 2010 and now I don't know where I'm heading.

I need some guidance and help.

Here's my situation. I want to study medicine (MBBS), what are the important things I should know?

My parents want me to study in Australia as my father is a MBBS graduate from UNSW and I was born in Australia.

However, I want to study locally (any recommendations? I'm thinking IMU) as it is, in my opinion, cheaper and easier to go back home. It also feels "at home" in Malaysia.

So with my circumstances, which route should I take?

Study in Australia or in Malaysia?

Thanks!

-Shaun

P.S I was born in Australia and right now I have an Australia Declaratory Visa. I don't know if this information helps, I'm just adding it here in case it does.
Shooterz
post Jan 11 2011, 03:15 PM

abcdefaiz
2,538 posts

QUOTE(windz93 @ Jan 11 2011, 01:36 PM)
Cool! You've got the visa already? That's fast! Mine's still not out..online health clinic messed up, and there's now a delay.

Added on January 11, 2011, 1:41 pm

Since your brother is already a PR, he should have all the information you need. Note that migration policies change all the time, they may need profession A today, but may no longer need this profession in a few years. For current demand, check out the immigration website. Google a little, am sure you will find some useful info. Unless one of us is a migration agent, I doubt we will be able to provide latest updated migration policy info.
yeah got mine on the day i did the medical checkup .. went home and check online , visa granted smile.gif

so you will be heading to which part of Australia ?
podrunner
post Jan 11 2011, 03:38 PM

2,214 posts

Edit

This post has been edited by podrunner: Jan 11 2011, 03:40 PM
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 04:11 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(SRLee @ Jan 11 2011, 02:54 PM)
Hi everyone.

I finished SPM in 2010 and now I don't know where I'm heading.

I need some guidance and help.

Here's my situation. I want to study medicine (MBBS), what are the important things I should know?

My parents want me to study in Australia as my father is a MBBS graduate from UNSW and I was born in Australia.

However, I want to study locally (any recommendations? I'm thinking IMU) as it is, in my opinion, cheaper and easier to go back home. It also feels "at home" in Malaysia.

So with my circumstances, which route should I take?

Study in Australia or in Malaysia?

Thanks!

-Shaun

P.S I was born in Australia and right now I have an Australia Declaratory Visa. I don't know if this information helps, I'm just adding it here in case it does.
in choice of both, i suggest Australia, if your parents can support , which im sure shouldn't be a problem since your dad's a doctor. reason? i feel, yes...u still get an MBBS here, cheaper and easier to go back home, however, u won't have that experience of experiencing a new environment, learning new cultures, adapting, and all. i'm a single child with a single mom. my dad passed away, however mom insists i go aussie. i'm kinda for it now. i'm leaving in 28 days time. lol... they won't quite look at the paper u hold ...more of the experience u have, how u present urself, ur maturity level. smile.gif it speaks alot of u if u go overseas and do well. biggrin.gif once in a lifetime experience like that can't be bought brah... wink.gif
windz93
post Jan 11 2011, 04:24 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Shooterz @ Jan 11 2011, 03:15 PM)
yeah got mine on the day i did the medical checkup .. went home and check online , visa granted  smile.gif

so you will be heading to which part of Australia ?
Am heading to Melbourne, year 12. Am going to ask college to ring up to enquire about my visa, since I can't call from here.
limeuu
post Jan 11 2011, 04:49 PM

12,290 posts

if one has australian residency rights, then one is considered a 'home' student.....

in which case, it is VERY VERY difficult to get admitted into med school.....half the med schools are now graduate entry.......and it is now very competitive to get into undergraduate entry med school........getting an ATAR>99 with high umat scores would be helpful, but still no guarantee.....

it is slightly easier to get in as an international student, but lately, it has become just as difficult as home student, due to limited places for foreign students and the popularity.......

it is premature to talk about this, as you have not even done a pre-u.......and general advice......for good med schools, they choose you, not the other way round.....ie, you go where you have offers....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 11 2011, 04:53 PM
SRLee
post Jan 11 2011, 05:29 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(zeke'stah @ Jan 11 2011, 04:11 PM)
in choice of both, i suggest Australia, if your parents can support , which im sure shouldn't be a problem since your dad's a doctor.  reason?  i feel, yes...u still get an MBBS here, cheaper and easier to go back home, however, u won't have that experience of experiencing a new environment, learning new cultures, adapting, and all. i'm a single child with a single mom. my dad passed away, however mom insists i go aussie. i'm kinda for it now. i'm leaving in 28 days time. lol...  they won't quite look at the paper u hold ...more of the experience u have, how u present urself, ur maturity level. smile.gif  it speaks alot of u if u go overseas and do well.  biggrin.gif    once in a lifetime experience like that can't be bought brah...  wink.gif
Hey zeke'stah,

Because studying in Australia comes with an extremely high price tag, I feel it unnecessary to experience a new environment and/or new cultures just to get the MBBS since when everyone comes out to work (opening a clinic like my father), the place where the doctor graduated doesn't matter at all.

And actually, doctors aren't rich. Doctors just get to live a comfortable life unlike businessmen who ARE the real rich. My plan is actually to study medicine and at the same time, be an entrepreneur. In fact, I never planned to be a long-term doctor. I just want it to be kind of like a "safety net" for life while I build businesses.

Regarding the once-in-a-lifetime experience, I feel it can be obtained once I become successful in life. I can still get the experience at age 50, whereas the cost associated to get the MBBS from Australia isn't worth it in my opinion. Net income doesn't increase anyway.

-Shaun

P.S I'm sorry for your loss.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 11 2011, 04:49 PM)
if one has australian residency rights, then one is considered a 'home' student.....

in which case, it is VERY VERY difficult to get admitted into med school.....half the med schools are now graduate entry.......and it is now very competitive to get into undergraduate entry med school........getting an ATAR>99 with high umat scores would be helpful, but still no guarantee.....

it is slightly easier to get in as an international student, but lately, it has become just as difficult as home student, due to limited places for foreign students and the popularity.......

it is premature to talk about this, as you have not even done a pre-u.......and general advice......for good med schools, they choose you, not the other way round.....ie, you go where you have offers....
Hey limeuu,

Actually, I AM an Australian citizen. I have the rights to go to Australia and just create an Australian passport. If I do that, I lose my Malaysian citizenship which I value highly. I have until age 22 to decide which citizenship I want.

And yes, from what I've heard, it's very difficult to be admitted into Australian med-schools. Previously, I thought I could just decide which university I want to go and just go. Now that I've been exposed to some information, it's becoming clear that good med-schools CHOOSE the students.

Now what med-schools in Malaysia/Australia are good med-schools?

-Shaun
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 06:03 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(SRLee @ Jan 11 2011, 05:29 PM)
Hey zeke'stah,

Because studying in Australia comes with an extremely high price tag, I feel it unnecessary to experience a new environment and/or new cultures just to get the MBBS since when everyone comes out to work (opening a clinic like my father), the place where the doctor graduated doesn't matter at all.

And actually, doctors aren't rich. Doctors just get to live a comfortable life unlike businessmen who ARE the real rich. My plan is actually to study medicine and at the same time, be an entrepreneur. In fact, I never planned to be a long-term doctor. I just want it to be kind of like a "safety net" for life while I build businesses.

Regarding the once-in-a-lifetime experience, I feel it can be obtained once I become successful in life. I can still get the experience at age 50, whereas the cost associated to get the MBBS from Australia isn't worth it in my opinion. Net income doesn't increase anyway.

-Shaun

P.S I'm sorry for your loss.
Hey limeuu,

Actually, I AM an Australian citizen. I have the rights to go to Australia and just create an Australian passport. If I do that, I lose my Malaysian citizenship which I value highly. I have until age 22 to decide which citizenship I want.

And yes, from what I've heard, it's very difficult to be admitted into Australian med-schools. Previously, I thought I could just decide which university I want to go and just go. Now that I've been exposed to some information, it's becoming clear that good med-schools CHOOSE the students.

Now what med-schools in Malaysia/Australia are good med-schools?

-Shaun
ah it's alright man... smile.gif haha..awesome.. i wish u all the best!!
zstan
post Jan 11 2011, 06:14 PM

15,856 posts

hmm the flood situation seems pretty bad now. anybody here affected? =/
windz93
post Jan 11 2011, 06:16 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 11 2011, 06:14 PM)
hmm the flood situation seems pretty bad now. anybody here affected? =/
oh, where is your location? it's flooding in parts of Malaysia AND Australia..!
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 06:17 PM

306 posts

it always floods in Malaysia... xD
zstan
post Jan 11 2011, 06:22 PM

15,856 posts

lol i am at selangor.

anybody from queensland? is UQ affected? hmm.gif