121 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V1, Everything about iPad

Edoras
post Jan 29 2010, 06:09 PM

1,134 posts

iPad can probably make 3G VOIP call .. See this --> http://www.telecoms.com/17644/ipad-is-real...thout-the-phone

I don't care what people say, I will still go out and buy this iPad (I admit that I am an Apple fanboy ..haha).

I think this iPad is meant for users to who thirsts for knowledge and likes to read/browse and yet wants to be totally mobile.
I can't have the good experience of reading long documents via my iPhone/iPod... And i can't have total mobility and ease of reading with my Macbook Pro.
I have tons of PDF files and Docs which I wanted to read but don't have the flexible device to read.
With iPad... it will solve my problem...

This post has been edited by Edoras: Jan 29 2010, 06:10 PM
Mackiddo
post Jan 29 2010, 06:16 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jan 29 2010, 04:44 PM)
can we please stop comparing netbooks to iPads smile.gif ... the simple fact is that Steve & co can't find a way to do a Mac netbook... but maybe the iPad is a step in that direction...
As Steve ever mentioned, they just don't know how to make a CHEAP netbook smile.gif ... which is a good thing.

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/08/10..._cheap_pcs.html

Asked whether users will be likely to see a cheaper computer from Apple, Jobs answered, "I think what we want to do is deliver an increasing level of value to these customers."

"There are some customers which we chose not to serve," he added. "We don't know how to make a $500 computer that's not a piece of junk, and our DNA will not let us ship that. But we can continue to deliver greater and greater value to those customers that we choose to serve. And there's a lot of them."

"We've seen great success by focusing on certain segments of the market and not trying to be everything to everybody. So I think you can expect us to stick with that winning strategy and continue to try to add more and more value to those products in those customer bases we choose to serve."

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jan 29 2010, 06:30 PM
[]-mojo-sirap-[]
post Jan 29 2010, 06:17 PM

399 posts

well..for me iPad is a good and sexy digital picture frame !!
u can show photos and make it like an album..haha ;p
still thinking whether its good for presentation in class = replacing the old fashioned flash card ;p

anyone agree with me ?
Mackiddo
post Jan 29 2010, 06:22 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Jan 29 2010, 04:58 PM)
i hope any of the complaint brothers here dun ever buy iPad.. Imagine every where got peoples holding iPad..haha

I just bored to see every 10 ppl on the street... almost 3 ppl is holding iphone. And it holds me whether to get my iphone or not. Too alot of ppl holding the same gadget.

That is so true. What's the novelty of it when every tom, d*** and harry is holding one. Apple make a right decision in keeping the price at a premium level and maintaining a high quality standard.

Added on January 29, 2010, 6:25 pm
QUOTE(-mojo-sirap- @ Jan 29 2010, 06:17 PM)
well..for me iPad is a good and sexy digital picture frame !!
u can show photos and make it like an album..haha ;p
still thinking whether its good for presentation in class = replacing the old fashioned flash card ;p

anyone agree with me ?
come to think of it, it does make a sexy digital picture frame rclxm9.gif ... probably should get another non 3G, wifi only to put at home on top of the 3G one which I'm sure i'll carry around.

Added on January 29, 2010, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(tplus1 @ Jan 29 2010, 10:45 AM)
Ok... u guys faster go and buy it... when i in LRT saw any guys playing with its Ipad, i will just grab it and run..... so big..... so easy to snatch man.....

if u wanna tie it to urself.. then it is different story bro..
LOL ... nice one ... only in Malaysia i guess.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jan 29 2010, 06:34 PM
Edoras
post Jan 29 2010, 06:34 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 29 2010, 06:22 PM)
That is so true. What's the novelty of it when every tom, d*** and harry is holding one. Apple make a right decision in keeping the price at a premium level and maintaining a high quality standard.
Very true! How kewl when only a few of us carry that iPads... tongue.gif

xaw5126
post Jan 29 2010, 06:55 PM

3,488 posts

please go read this first.

http://cruftbox.com/blog/archives/001592.html#001592
stringfellow
post Jan 29 2010, 07:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jan 29 2010, 06:55 PM)
Yup, and the comment following that post, perfectly summarize what I feel about it:-

This is a false choice.

Saying that your not buying a car because it doesn't get 100mpg, with a 400hp engine, and features a built in ipod with 500tb storage is silly.

Equally as silly - saying that you just test drove a BMW 3series and because it drives amazingly well, people should/will buy one.

Did Apple create a better tablet computing experience? Absolutely. Was there really an empty niche between ipod-touch and laptop (apart from the price gap)? Debatable. Will actually using the device guarantee that you'll change your mind and buy one? Nope.

ipad to iphone ... apples to oranges. The iphone solved the problem of having a smartphone that actually could browse the Internet without driving the user mental. And it does this quite well while supporting apps and music. Where there was a clear need for the iphone, the ipad is attempting to create a new market and solve a problem that I'm not sure even exists.

In the words of some who attended the event and fondled the device: "This is great, but what am I going to use it for that I can't already do?"

Quite apropos I may say so myself.

Another good response:-

There is no doubt in my mind that the iPad is a hell of a piece of kit. 5 years ago, most people confined the idea of a 1cm-thick, wirlessly-connected computer to the realms of science fiction -- and now you can own one for relatively cheap.

And a really good rebuttal to this article regarding the "wants" and "needs" for this device:-

http://www.russellbeattie.com/blog/what-we...pad-not-an-ipad
That's really nifty. What I can't wrap my head around is... who is it *for*?

I can answer this with every other product Apple has produced, almost without thinking. MacBook? People who need a computer they can take with them. MacBook Pro? People who need a more-powerful computer they can lug around. iPhone? Anybody who would want a pocket-sized device that always has an internet connection (which includes just about anyone under 35). iPod Touch? People who want most of the iPhone features, but don't care about 3G or phone calls (also a lot of people).

I got all of this pretty much immediately as products were announced. But the iPad? It's not portable enough to have as an "always with me" Internet device. It's not big enough to use for the kind of work I'd use a laptop or netbook for (writing, design work, etc.) -- and I can't run my Mac apps on it anyway. It's a pretty, but expensive and not very usable eBook reader (LCD type displays suck in bright light - if you can't read by a window, in the park, etc., what's the point?).

So if you buy an iPad, you still need a phone; you still need some kind of music device unless you always carry a bag big enough for a book; and you probably still need a laptop if you currently need one. So, if I have those things, why wouldn't I just own an iPhone and a laptop? What does the iPad get me?

... confused.

And the rebuttal for this article, regarding the "wants" and "needs" for the iPad:-

http://www.russellbeattie.com/blog/what-we...pad-not-an-ipad

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 29 2010, 07:29 PM
Only_Human
post Jan 29 2010, 07:31 PM

439 posts

Can anyone guess around how much IPAD will sell in Malaysia or Singapore ~
If Singapore cheap , i will call someone help me bring to Malaysia ~

only scare the price will increase crazy
the cheapest one is 499USD but sell in Malaysia or Singapore maybe become 799USD or something ~

with 799USD can buy LAPTOP already = =
xaw5126
post Jan 29 2010, 07:37 PM

3,488 posts

@Only_Human
that's never happened... the main reason its expensive to buy iPods here in Malaysia is the luxury tax.

still need to wait for the pejabat kastam to review it, then for SIRIM to approve it... so estimate 70 / 80 days for the WiFi version... additional 30 days for the 3G version... don't forget this is still version 1.0 ...
if it can do what you need, get it.
for me, I will get an iMac for home use, and get this for those times when I want to show a video or a bunch of photos to some buddies at a cafe or home.

I like what John Gruber has to say (www.daringfireball.net) ...
its like the first automatic transmission cars. once you have an auto... you don't think about the clutch or gearbox.

like that, the iPad makes the 'computer' part disappear... go read first...

This post has been edited by xaw5126: Jan 29 2010, 07:38 PM
Only_Human
post Jan 29 2010, 07:56 PM

439 posts

Just now i compare the Ipod Touch Price form Apple Official Website

Ipod Touch (US)
8GB $199
32GB $299
64GB $399

Ipod Touch (Singapore)
8GB S$308
32GB S$468
64GB S$628

Ipod Touch (Malaysia)
8GB RM 779.00
32GB RM 1,199.00
64GB RM 1,599.00

why Malaysia rental price more cheap than Singapore ?
i think Singapore price should be low than Malaysia right ?

Sorry for noob , i havent been buying Apple product before ~
darkskies
post Jan 29 2010, 07:56 PM

2,336 posts

I love the ipod.They getting smaller and smaller and smaller.
I've got the smaller smaller with the tinny tinny little one.
Look there it is, the ipod Invisiblow~
stringfellow
post Jan 29 2010, 07:58 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The functionality of a computer is what makes an Apple tablet enticing, not wrapping a closed system of the iPod Touch/iPhone onto a larger screen. The finesse of such apps approaching Apple's own iWork suite will take a while to make the user forget they're using a larger screen iPod Touch and make this somewhat mirrors a portable computer experience.
xaw5126
post Jan 29 2010, 08:12 PM

3,488 posts

@ Only_Human
I don't know how you calculate...
its RM 747 in Singapore ...

@stringfellow
as usual, Apple is showing off that if the iPad SDK is used 100%, then the device becomes more useful.
did you read the 2 posts by John Gruber @ daringfireball.net ? you of all people would get what he's talking about.
fyire
post Jan 29 2010, 08:19 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(Only_Human @ Jan 29 2010, 07:56 PM)
Just now i compare the Ipod Touch Price form Apple Official Website

Ipod Touch (US)
8GB $199
32GB $299
64GB $399

Ipod Touch (Singapore)
8GB S$308
32GB S$468
64GB S$628

Ipod Touch (Malaysia)
8GB RM 779.00
32GB RM 1,199.00
64GB RM 1,599.00

why Malaysia rental price more cheap than Singapore ?
i think Singapore price should be low than Malaysia right ?

Sorry for noob , i havent been buying Apple product before ~
rental price or purchase price?

on the price in SG vs MY, you can say that in a way, its also due to how low our currency has fallen
stringfellow
post Jan 29 2010, 08:34 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jan 29 2010, 08:12 PM)
@ Only_Human

@stringfellow
as usual, Apple is showing off that if the iPad SDK is used 100%, then the device becomes more useful.
did you read the 2 posts by John Gruber @ daringfireball.net ? you of all people would get what he's talking about.
I've read his article about simplifying mobile computing. I would agree to a certain extent because on some device that demands this, it is prudent to have it in place. Allowing open environment to such devices will only tax it to such extent that it will render the device useless or erratically unstable. Case in point: shoving Linux into an iPod or jailbreaking the current iPod Touch/iPhone.

On the other end of the spectrum, MacBooks and the likes are relatively open to tinkering and modifications because of the nature of the activities performed on them. They are versatile creatures and to become that, you need the architecture to be open. These devices are also relatively powerful, enough to withstand any serious modifications that may or may not slow it down.

Now, I believe that almost every rabid Apple fanatics waiting for Apple's unicorn, the tablet, wanted it to be powerful enough to operate within the realm of the Macbook, in terms of power and tinkering as well. What did Steve dropped on our laps? A big iPod Touch. You can imagine the utter disappointment.

Again, all this goes back to the point I've iterated before: Apple is stubborn, they do it their way. I had firsthand experience with that the last time I waited for the MBP unibody refresh, expecting BD as CTO. Instead I get a "bag of hurt" from Steve.

Until the development of apps on the iPad improves to the point that Im convinced that they are truly the satisfactory mobile counterpart of their big brothers on the Mac OS X, the iPad will remain, in my opinion, a Frankenstein of an iPod Touch.
xaw5126
post Jan 29 2010, 08:36 PM

3,488 posts

sure... we have our opinions. after seeing what the iPad can do *live and in person* ... I will make my judgement.
Only_Human
post Jan 29 2010, 08:44 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jan 29 2010, 08:12 PM)
@ Only_Human

@stringfellow
Sorry my fault doh.gif
Singapore price i use USD => MRY sweat.gif
That why .................. hahahahahaha doh.gif

QUOTE(fyire @ Jan 29 2010, 08:19 PM)
rental price or purchase price?

on the price in SG vs MY, you can say that in a way, its also due to how low our currency has fallen
i think is purchase price ~
stringfellow
post Jan 29 2010, 08:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I agree. My own opinion may change when I get to fondle it in person, but by the virtue of what's currently available as applications for the iPad, the image of a bigger iPod Touch is too eeriely similar and hard to shake off. After all, a portable device is what you feed it.
nawzi
post Jan 29 2010, 08:58 PM

156 posts

People purchase iPad in coming month just driven by hype only.
Lets wait until the iPad is really benefit into our tech life. So far only
one or two features really entice me, the rest Apple still need to do
a lot of things on so called "iPhone OS 3.2"
Hopefully in WWDC 2010 they (Apple) will do something better on iPad OS.
Voxe
post Jan 29 2010, 09:29 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

What's the point of this device that is not supposed to be a laptop which has little advantages over a laptop?

Better portability? No, a laptop is 3 inches bigger and you still need a case for iPad.

Better apps? Ha, it has a stripped down apps compared to a laptop. There's no flash and multitasking.

Lower price point? Netbooks demolishes that.

This post has been edited by Voxe: Jan 29 2010, 09:31 PM

121 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:01 AM