104 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

dirtrun
post Jan 6 2010, 05:44 PM

3,136 posts

I wrote a rvw (peasants one la) sumtime back on multiple sub usage ..

Here's de excerpt :

I was priviliged to check a really awesome HT here in Sg..

1. Room is a typical 4m by 2.5m hdb .. fully treated wif auralex sound absorbin foam n other foams froom bass traps to corner traps to ceilin foam n side wall, front wall, side windows n even de door to de room all has sum form of foam treatment .. windows were pasted up n floor length curtains were in use.. in all a fully dead n lite controlled room..

2. Marantz dlp 1080p proj - I dont know de model but it cost S$14k

4. Stewart grey screen -84inch

5. Denon pre/pro A1 plus pwr amps

6. Pioneer 989 dvdp

7. Pioneer lx51bdp

8. Miller n Kreistel 7.0 ( I didnt catch de models but de fronts were biggish bkshlves n rears/surr were combo strgt firin n bipole MKs)

9. SvS pb ultra 13 X 2

10. SvS pc + or ultra X 2 ( I didnt get de model but it was cylinders)

11. SvS pb 12+/2 X 2

12. M & K own thx sub..
Read/Pics from tis link : M&K SPKRS

13. Ancillaries oso included branded cbls from hdmi to spkr cbls.. oso in use is a parametric eq ( it was a behringers but now its sumtin else.. model - elemental design..)

Now de experience :

Demoes were :

1. Spiderman 3 - sandman scene; fight wif green goblin scene; final fight scene wif sandman n green goblin
2. Kung fu panda - Po first learns he is de dragon warrior ; tai lungs escape ; final fight scene between Po n Tai lung
3. Animatrix - de whole flick
4. Walk Hard - even music had sum really decent bass
5. Happy Feet ( his is a R A japan version which has dolby true hd, dunno if it really makes a diff as compared to de US versions of dd5.1 - accordin to de owner, not much.. cos he had both..)- Leopard seal scene; storm scene ; killer whale scene n final scene where de helos fly over to mumbles tribe..
6. Shoot em up - Paul Giammatti gettin a call from his wife scene - when de car does a U turn - de bass is fantastic..
7. Unbreakable - start scene where Willis was flirtin wif de sports editor gal, train passes wif solid whoooff
Music bds - Celine Dion s las vegas performance is oso fantastic sonically as well as amazin pics n sum ordinary red bk cds tat were surprisingly very surround like feel for only a 2.1 source but bear in mind its gud for only de sweet spot n if u move a ft off dat spot imagin is lost..
There were sum more demo films but offhand tis is wat I remember..

Opinions

At de end of de 2hr session my ears were ringin as it was reference lvls tat were used n detail is amazing.. bass surprisingly is not overpowerin - in fact I didnt know he had 7 subs until de end of de session - I did know he had multiple subs but no idea it was 7..

If I were to dare offer an opinion is tat de MK's were a tad bright for my likin but owner did say tat for clear detailed sound , brightness is a neccesity .. tat is wat de director intended u to here..

Conclusion

If u had S$100k, tis is wat u should get plus lots n lots of diy n trial n error.. Images n sonics were top notch n really there isnt anythin more u can ask for..

Now to go back to my own one would be hard..

Sighss
Dirtrun
TShtkaki
post Jan 6 2010, 05:56 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

hmm.... must be 'koma' or the grand master of Sub in Spore. Can't recall his name.
geforce1999
post Jan 6 2010, 07:43 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Jason Yeo IIRC.
dirtrun
post Jan 6 2010, 08:47 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Jan 6 2010, 07:43 PM)
Jason Yeo IIRC.
tongue.gif

He is .. apparently changin to sealed subs now..
In fact a few of them hv .. uhm how do u say 'outgrown' from svs..

D
ar188
post Jan 6 2010, 09:24 PM

9,206 posts

so SVS not good enuf for him now?? hmm..
geforce1999
post Jan 6 2010, 10:22 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jan 6 2010, 08:47 PM)
tongue.gif

D
I almost got his PB13 Ultra tongue.gif

Added on January 6, 2010, 10:24 pmAnd you didn't inform me when you were in town mad.gif

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Jan 6 2010, 10:24 PM
TShtkaki
post Jan 6 2010, 10:25 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

IIRC, they are jumping ship to higher end sub; Seaton subs. Sap sap sui for them.

Btw, when is ur turn to change your system?
jchong
post Jan 7 2010, 09:48 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jan 6 2010, 08:47 PM)
tongue.gif

D
Upgraditis fever! smile.gif
dirtrun
post Jan 7 2010, 12:26 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2010, 09:24 PM)

I wouldnt say tat .. cos he is not changin all his subs.. I tink he wants a half n half situation wif sealed n ported 'feel' together..

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Jan 6 2010, 10:22 PM)
I almost got his PB13 Ultra tongue.gif

Added on January 6, 2010, 10:24 pmAnd you didn't inform me when you were in town  mad.gif
I tink he was lettin go a Pb12U..

No.. wasnt in Sg .. jus reprised my ol rvw..

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 6 2010, 10:25 PM)
IIRC, they are jumping ship to higher end sub; Seaton subs. Sap sap sui for them.

Btw, when is ur turn to change your system?

Yes ..

Seems tat way..

Myself no money for upgrds la.. 09 not tat great a year where personal economics are concerned .. hopefully 2010 would be better..

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 7 2010, 09:48 AM)
Upgraditis fever! smile.gif
Got money + itchy hands = slowly depletin wallet

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
D
the jazzman
post Jan 7 2010, 08:31 PM

284 posts

sifus.. need some comment on this..

Klipsch KSW-10 10-Inch 225 Watt Subwoofer (Black)

Technical Details

* A single powerful bass reflex subwoofer
* Equipped with 10"down-firing fiber composite cone woofer
* Built-in discrete MOSFET amplifier
* Power handling: 55 watts of continuous power (225 watts of dynamic power) Export voltage: 230 VAC 50/60Hz
* Frequency response: 29Hz - 120Hz ¿ 3dB
Product Description
Amazon.com Product Description
Complete a powerful home theater system with the deep, driving bass of the Klipsch KSW-10 powered subwoofer--perfect for combing with high-performance Klipsch Synergy Series surround sound configurations. It couples a 10-inch driver to the floor for optimal performance. This subwoofer's high-output, down-firing design "grips" the air and fills a room with low frequency energy that's heard and felt with undetectable distortion. The built-in discrete MOSFET amplifier and 10-inch fiber-composite woofer are as efficient as they are reliable. It provides 55 watts of FTC-rated continuous power, and it has a dynamic power rating of 275 watts. (Dynamic power indicates the actual power this amplifier will deliver to the woofer under normal operating conditions.)

The woofer is composed of a Santoprene rubber surround with a fiber composite cone which enables Klipsch subwoofers to deliver on their promise of extended bass response and maximum reliability. This subwoofer accepts LFE, line-level, and speaker level inputs, making it easy to add to the Quintet Microsystem, the Synergy System 6, or any other Klipsch inspired arrangement. The KSW-10's jet ash veneer vinyl finish creates a deceivingly subtle exterior for its earthshaking sound capabilities.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0009CDYF...c_hashrec_03_01
TShtkaki
post Jan 7 2010, 11:09 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2010, 09:24 PM)
Boss, read posting no #47 :

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1264488/+40

jazzman, for the price of the KSW-10, nothing much to complain. Bass is quite good but ran out of steam at about 40Hz. It is not really loud but still does the job well. A tad boomy
the jazzman
post Jan 8 2010, 12:11 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 7 2010, 11:09 PM)
Boss, read posting no #47 :

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1264488/+40

jazzman, for the price of the KSW-10, nothing much to complain. Bass is quite good but ran out of steam at about 40Hz. It is not really loud but still does the job well. A tad boomy
tks for the comment.. not really loud sound good.. afraid mother in law later kapak my sub if the house suddenly shake.. huhu
ar188
post Jan 8 2010, 12:17 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(the jazzman @ Jan 8 2010, 12:11 AM)
tks for the comment.. not really loud sound good.. afraid mother in law later kapak my sub if the house suddenly shake.. huhu
http://www.bicamerica.com/showpage.php?bra...ype=8&spkrID=84

since no problem with weight.. you should get this.. biggrin.gif good feedback from forums.. got BASH amp also..
jchong
post Jan 8 2010, 07:32 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(the jazzman @ Jan 8 2010, 12:11 AM)
Thankfully loudness is something you can control using the volume knob. But if you can't play loud, then also no point getting a very powerful sub.
dirtrun
post Jan 8 2010, 05:23 PM

3,136 posts

Yup,

If limited to playin in low dB's then having a good sub is not unlike hving an expensive flower stand..

D
Skylinestar
post Jan 8 2010, 10:26 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

anyone here tested the velodyne impact 10? how's it?
i notice there are some subwoofers which their drivers are not floor-firing type aka front firing. is there are reason for that? any advantage or disadvantage?

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jan 8 2010, 10:53 PM
mys_terious
post Jan 10 2010, 01:28 AM

882 posts

Not sure if any1 has posted this link but if u r planning to get the device to improve your bass this is a must read.. it tells u when u need a svs and when do u need aan antimode 8033 http://www.avforums.com/forums/subwoofers-...1053227-eq.html
the jazzman
post Jan 10 2010, 09:16 PM

284 posts

sifus... am planning to buy yamaha sub at HN.. forgot what model but 10". wanna know what different of getting the front firing n downfiring. both at same price rm1290
arremie
post Jan 10 2010, 09:32 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

bro at that price SW-150 will tapau those yammy easily.
the jazzman
post Jan 10 2010, 09:40 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 10 2010, 09:32 PM)
bro at that price SW-150 will tapau those yammy easily.
where can get SW-150 with cc 0% interest intalment plan?? smile.gif

104 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:16 PM