8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Don't you think TM is too much ?, Fight for our rights !

TSfabianz03
post Dec 27 2009, 12:54 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(pengiranijam @ Dec 27 2009, 11:57 AM)
Humph, but still P1 still suffering to their customer... snails and high pings... doh.gif

Try view youtube video like http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTxFRapOHIM still buffering?
Can't test today, because today is a 'off day' for throttling.
Chyan
post Dec 27 2009, 04:32 PM

4,224 posts

HMMM. hmm.gif

same arse 35kb/s doh.gif
Maybe they auto-trotting ==
visioncored
post Dec 27 2009, 04:53 PM

61 posts

Hope one day i see millions of Malaysian protest against tmnut. brows.gif
pengiranijam
post Dec 27 2009, 05:32 PM

1,568 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Dec 27 2009, 12:54 PM)
Can't test today, because today is a 'off day' for throttling.
Try by next week or during peak time. I tried this morning till evening, no buffer at all.

SUSautoman5891
post Dec 27 2009, 08:08 PM

laugh.gif I received a letter about the Super Upgrade Deal which TM Net said is introduced to encourage existing Streamyx customers to upgrade their packages to a higher speed. Yeah right...........

Even if upgrade until 4mbps but youtube is throttled to 20kBps. This is a scam.

pengiranijam
post Dec 28 2009, 01:03 AM

1,568 posts

QUOTE(automan5891 @ Dec 27 2009, 08:08 PM)
laugh.gif I received a letter about the Super Upgrade Deal which TM Net said is introduced to encourage existing Streamyx customers to upgrade their packages to a higher speed. Yeah right...........

Even if upgrade until 4mbps but youtube is throttled to 20kBps. This is a scam.
Are you sure you just receive the email...? That was definitely another scam tactics to make people rush for another 24month contract... doh.gif

SUSautoman5891
post Dec 28 2009, 01:39 AM

QUOTE(pengiranijam @ Dec 28 2009, 01:03 AM)
Are you sure you just receive the email...? That was definitely another scam tactics to make people rush for another 24month contract... doh.gif
Not e-mail but paper letter.
pengiranijam
post Dec 28 2009, 01:42 AM

1,568 posts

QUOTE(automan5891 @ Dec 28 2009, 01:39 AM)
Not e-mail but paper letter.
What, thats really late bro, another scam tactics... Super duper late offer... doh.gif

No offense la TM Net... doh.gif shocking.gif shakehead.gif

mylinear
post Dec 28 2009, 02:38 AM

974 posts

Looks like automan5891's speed for TM snail mail was also throttled down...

SUSautoman5891
post Dec 28 2009, 02:56 AM

QUOTE(pengiranijam @ Dec 28 2009, 01:42 AM)
What, thats really late bro, another scam tactics... Super duper late offer... doh.gif

No offense la TM Net... doh.gif  shocking.gif  shakehead.gif
Not offer letter but about the complaint I made to MCMC about the Super Upgrade Deal.
Fantasia
post Dec 28 2009, 11:56 AM

5,494 posts

i seriously cant stand it anymore but i still cant do anything... no matter how worse tmnut is, it's still the best in malaysia, ARGH
SUSaltimi
post Dec 28 2009, 12:07 PM

2,173 posts

Youtube working just fine........ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif ....great job TM thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Fantasia
post Dec 28 2009, 12:11 PM

5,494 posts

gratz... but still slow for me argh do u guy know any other broadband service near PJS10??

This post has been edited by Fantasia: Dec 28 2009, 12:11 PM
SUSaltimi
post Dec 28 2009, 12:12 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Dec 28 2009, 12:11 PM)
gratz... but still slow for me argh do u guy know any other broadband service near PJS10??
P1 wimax?.......great ISP thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
pengiranijam
post Dec 28 2009, 12:14 PM

1,568 posts

QUOTE(automan5891 @ Dec 28 2009, 02:56 AM)
Not offer letter but about the complaint I made to MCMC about the Super Upgrade Deal.
"I received a letter about the Super Upgrade Deal which TM Net said is introduced to encourage existing Streamyx customers to upgrade their packages to a higher speed. Yeah right..........." - Its offer letter lah

Anyway, anyone have made youtube complain to CFM with good reason...?? And got replied...?

Fantasia
post Dec 28 2009, 12:29 PM

5,494 posts

QUOTE(altimi @ Dec 28 2009, 12:12 PM)
P1 wimax?.......great ISP  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
other than P1, still got what else?
TSfabianz03
post Dec 28 2009, 02:07 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Dec 28 2009, 12:29 PM)
other than P1, still got what else?
Jaring used to be good.
mylinear
post Dec 28 2009, 07:05 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Dec 26 2009, 04:40 PM)
But YouTube is TOTALLY legal to use.
How can they throttle our connection to YouTube ? The only problem we have now is we do not have enough proof to state that TM is actually throttling connections to YouTube.
This is my testing to show what happens. I have checked on this many times over many days and the results are reproduceable.

Last test I did was today around 3.30pm.

Step #1
Two files are uploaded to a local web server.
First file is v10.zip.
Second file is v10.flv.
Both are 10MB in size. .
v10.zip is NOT a real zip file.
v10.flv is NOT a real video file.
Both are the exact same text file with different filenames.
Running MD5 check on each file produces the same checksum string indicating the contents of both files are exactly the same.

Note #1
Using a local server eliminates any international connection or congestion issues.
Using the same text file eliminates any filtering based on actual file contents such as zip or video file header identifiers.

Step #2
Using IE7 browser, each file is downloaded using http method (direct download).
Each file is downloaded one at a time.
No other downloads are running at the same time.
No download managers etc are running at the same time.
No proxy server is being used.
A 1Mbps Streamyx connection is used.
A 1Mbps Jaring connection is used for comparison.

Note #2
Using direct download eliminates any other factors that may influence the results.
Using a Jaring connection as comparison eliminates any problem with the local webserver.

Results
v10.zip download rate is approx 100KB/s using Streamyx.
v10.flv download rate is approx 25KB/s using Streamyx.
v10.zip download rate is approx 105KB/s using Jaring.
v10.flv download rate is approx 105KB/s using Jaring.

So its only with the Streamyx connection where there is a difference in the file download speeds. The downloading can be repeated again but the results are the same.

Step #3
v10.zip and v10.flv are downloaded using a FTP program using streamyx.

Note #3
Using FTP and getting normal speeds eliminates any connection or congestion problems with either ISP networks or the webserver hosting the files.

Result:
All FTP downloads are at approx 105-110KB/s irrespective of file extension.

Comparison testing:

Step #4
Video files (.flv) hosted on a local server are streamed using HTTP progressive download method using a embedded flash player. These video also do not play smoothly using the Streamyx connection due to the constant play/stop/buffering cycle. However, the videos play smootly using the Jaring connection.

Note #4
This eliminates that it is only YouTube video being throttled. The same slow down also affects other video streaming.

Conclusion:
Nothing to do with YouTube network or servers.
Nothing to do with Streamyx users side.
Nothing to do with local network connection or congestion.
Nothing to do with international network connection or congestion.
Nothing to do with DNS or routing etc.

So, TM is throttling http download and video streaming speeds for .flv file extension?

Remarks:

1. There are times where the v10.flv can be downloaded at full speed of approx 100KB/s like the v10.zip file. It is dificult to determine exactly when and under what conditions this can happen. At that time, YouTube video seems to stream smoothly as wel.
Perhaps at those times the throttling is removed or there is some sort of random throttling going on.

2. An additional quick test similar to listed above using a v10.swf file also downloads at approx 25KB/s. So .swf are also being throttled.

3. Using a proxy, the videos stream smootly, again pointing to throttling on TM side for direct Streamyx connections.

4. The low rate at which the throttling is set to is not acceptable as you can hardly watch videos with constant pauses for buffering every few seconds. At the very least, the rate of throttling has to be increased to maybe 40-50KB/s (not sure exactly) for smooth playback.

5. If TM is using file extension to do throttling, this is not a good method at all. It is not only YouTube that streams videos. There are regular websites that may have videos too to promote their own product and services. These will be affected too.

Can others comment on the above? Is there another explanation? What else apart from throttling can cause such a result?

TSfabianz03
post Dec 28 2009, 07:24 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Dec 28 2009, 07:05 PM)

5. If TM is using file extension to do throttling, this is not a good method at all. It is not only YouTube that streams videos. There are regular websites that may have videos too to promote their own product and services. These will be affected too.
Can others comment on the above? Is there another explanation? What else apart from throttling can cause such a result?
First of all I would like to thank you for spending your time on this. I really appreciate your work.
Well, if we put throttling aside, the problem maybe bad routing. And currently the AAG cable is down.

Lastly I will keep your work for future refference.
liquidsny
post Dec 28 2009, 07:32 PM

589 posts

i do admit youtube is really slow to access but when u guys complaint over rapidshare/mu few month ago, i didn't have problem with it i mean my download was fine providing that i look fr the right ip. in youtube case, mayb they do capped it due to cases such as namewee videos... n bullying cases that keeps popping up on every flash video site

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:39 AM