=-:~ TOSHIBA Club ~:-= V2, Leading Innovation >>>

maxereno
post Jan 16 2011, 08:41 AM

151 posts

thanks guys for the fast replys.

@[PF]T.J. : So this L645 isn't that bad (which is something cool) but which is better, the blue one or the colours ? I know that only the processor is diffrent but does it worth to pay the few more hundereds for the blue ?
Also, I am not sure about Acer since most people and forums tell a lot about their not that good quality and such even though the specs are enormous but I have no experience with Acer. So what do you think ? I need a lifetime laptop (reliable) and I think that Toshiba isn't that bad with making relibable ones.
Asus vs Toshiba : let's say that I want to take the L645-1126, isn't it better since it has better specs and about the same price ?! Or Asus better than Toshiba ? Also why did describe the L645 as ' not bad pick' while you described the Asus as ' very good laptop' ?
Um, which is better 64 or 32 ?

@just_king : I am not rushing if there is something new coming to the stores but are they going to rock ? Um, how much are they going to cost since my budget is about 2.5 ~ and something ?

Umm, now which is better ? Ati or Nvidia ?

I hate buying a laptop. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by maxereno: Jan 16 2011, 05:33 PM
just_kiing
post Jan 16 2011, 09:34 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(maxereno @ Jan 16 2011, 08:41 AM)

@[PF]T.J. : So this L645 isn't that bad (which is something cool) but which is better, the blue one or the colours ? I know that only the processor is diffrent but does it worth to pay the few more hundereds for the blue ?
Also, I am not sure about Acer since most people and forums tell a lot about their not that good quality and such even though the specs are enormous but I had no experience with Acer. I need a lifetime laptop (reliable) and I that Toshiba isn't that bad with making relibable ones.
Asus vs Toshiba : let's say that I want to take the L645-1126, isn't it better since it has better specs and about the same price ?! Or Asus better than Toshiba ? Also why did describe the L645 as ' not bad pick' while you described the Asus as ' very good laptop' ?

@just_king :  I am not rushing if there is something new coming to the stores but are they going to rock ? Um, how much are they going to cost since my budget is about 2.5 ~ and something ?

You should choose 64bit if you use more than 3 gb of ram (4 or above) unless you got very old software or driver.
I only used nvidia card so can't comment on ati card. However, as far as I can remember, many pc games got show the slogan "Nvidia The Way It's Meant To Be Played", only Supreme Commander 2 show "AMD The Future Is Fusion" (edited).
My Qosmio F60 Nvidia GT 330m graphic card is downclocked by Toshiba, so it is performing less than what it should be (a multimedia/gaming laptop with downclocked graphic card). Better check your L645 first.
You can read "notebookcheck" review for the new specs stuff but I can't comment on the price la.

This post has been edited by just_kiing: Jan 16 2011, 11:48 PM
Yamaji
post Jan 16 2011, 02:55 PM

18 posts

Hi all i need a laptop spec for gaming & entertainment .
my budget is 2.2k or 2.5k thank you.
[PF] T.J.
post Jan 16 2011, 06:16 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Yamaji @ Jan 16 2011, 02:55 PM)
Hi all i need a laptop spec for gaming & entertainment .
my budget is 2.2k or 2.5k thank you.
Try Toshiba Satellite L645-1123/1124/1125 (different colors) nod.gif
i5-460M + Ati 5650~

Added on January 16, 2011, 6:19 pm
QUOTE(just_kiing @ Jan 16 2011, 09:34 AM)
You should choose 64bit if you use more than 3 gb of ram (4 or above) unless you got very old software or driver.
I only used nvidia card so can't comment on ati card. However, as far as I can remember, many pc games got show the slogan "Nvidia The Way It's Meant To Be Played", only Supreme Commander 2 show Ati logo.
My Qosmio F60 Nvidia GT 330m graphic card is downclocked by Toshiba, so it is performing less than what it should be (a multimedia/gaming laptop with downclocked graphic card). Better check your L645 first.
You can read "notebookcheck" review for the new specs stuff but I can't comment on the price la.
I don't think the Qosmio F60's GT330M is downclocked.. I thought only Sony's ones are downclocked hmm.gif
Yeah, its advisable to convert to 64-bits for L645. Since L645s don't have multimedia buttons, there's noneed to worry about the drivers not working haha laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 16 2011, 06:19 PM
Shooterz
post Jan 16 2011, 06:24 PM

abcdefaiz
2,538 posts

sounds like everyone suggest the L645 , might go and take a look in LYP later .. laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jan 16 2011, 06:26 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(maxereno @ Jan 16 2011, 08:41 AM)

Also, I am not sure about Acer since most people and forums tell a lot about their not that good quality and such even though the specs are enormous but I have no experience with Acer. So what do you think ? I need a lifetime laptop (reliable) and I think that Toshiba isn't that bad with making relibable ones.

@just_king :  I am not rushing if there is something new coming to the stores but are they going to rock ? Um, how much are they going to cost since my budget is about 2.5 ~ and something ?

I hate buying a laptop. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
The blue one has a better processor compared to the rest of the L645. Gaming performances will be more or less the same since the GPU is exactly the same. it depends on whether you need the additional processing power and better color/design onot lo haha laugh.gif
Acer laptops has improved tremendously.... but they don't look very appealing to me haha
The L645-1126 and Asus U41JF are more or less 2 different category laptops. The U41Jf emphasizes more on power, battery life and portability. It can last longer with its 8-cell battery plus Nvidia Optimus. Not sure whether the L645 has switchable graphics or not.... if not then the battery life will be approximately 3 hours (significantly lower) only...
Both model has their pros and cons I would say... The Toshiba is really glossy (gets dirty really easily), whereas the Asus U41Jf is flimsy (to save weight)... so in the end it depends on what you really want lo....
Can wait for SB also nod.gif

Added on January 16, 2011, 6:33 pm
QUOTE(Shooterz @ Jan 16 2011, 06:24 PM)
sounds like everyone suggest the L645 , might go and take a look in LYP later .. laugh.gif
Well, its Toshiba's most powerful budget 14 incher at the moment nod.gif
If you are more interested in the features rather than the performance, then can take a look at the Satellite M645
Irfan2397 managed to get his for 3k... i5-460M+GT330M... with additional features like backlit keyboard, dust/fingerprint resistant design, chiclet keyboard (finally!), sleep-and-music, ambient light sensor, harman/kardon speakers etc. laugh.gif

But all in all, if you're not in a rush, might as well wait for more SB-equipped laptops then only decide nod.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 16 2011, 06:33 PM
Luke1989
post Jan 16 2011, 10:29 PM

28 posts

Hi guys, was just wondering if you could help me out with something.

I'm a Malaysian living in Melbourne and was thinking of getting a new laptop while I head back to KL for the CNY holidays. Was reading up online on some laptops and the Toshiba Portege R705 has some pretty nice reviews with pretty decent specs and an affordable price as well.

Anyone know if I can get it at Lowyat or anywhere else in Malaysia?

Otherwise, any other recommendations? I'm looking for something in the 13-inch screen category and would prefer something reasonably lightweight with decent specs. And no, I don't want a Mac, for my own reasons tongue.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jan 16 2011, 11:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Luke1989 @ Jan 16 2011, 10:29 PM)
Hi guys, was just wondering if you could help me out with something.

I'm a Malaysian living in Melbourne and was thinking of getting a new laptop while I head back to KL for the CNY holidays. Was reading up online on some laptops and the Toshiba Portege R705 has some pretty nice reviews with pretty decent specs and an affordable price as well.

Anyone know if I can get it at Lowyat or anywhere else in Malaysia?

Otherwise, any other recommendations? I'm looking for something in the 13-inch screen category and would prefer something reasonably lightweight with decent specs. And no, I don't want a Mac, for my own reasons tongue.gif
In Malaysia its called the Toshiba Portege R700 laugh.gif
Yeah, they seemed really impressive based on reviews~ The specs are really decent for a light-weight, powerful business laptop. Its not really affordable la haha... unless you compare the R700 to other impressive business laptops like Fujitsus nod.gif

Lowyat plaza would be the best place to go and find the Portege R700. Just remember that the latest ones are equipped with i5 [R700-1003U/2027U](old ones use i3), and the latest Portege R700 comes in 2 colors instead of 1 (blue and black)...
Since you are based abroad then the R700 promotion might come in handy for you. Priced at RM4099 (you'll probably be able to get cheaper by around RM100 after bargaining), promotion includes free 2nd and 3rd year international warranty (worth a whopping RM790) and also free Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (worth RM299) icon_rolleyes.gif

You can consider Asus U36Jc as well. i5-480+G310M@RM3099... its more powerful and cheaper than the Toshiba (i5-460M+Intel GMA HD) and it also comes with 2 years international warranty. But it doesn't have an optical drive, and its probably weaker in terms of built and craftsmanship. There's probably something from Sony as well... but the specs will be lower than the R700...
just_kiing
post Jan 16 2011, 11:52 PM

28 posts

(I don't think the Qosmio F60's GT330M is downclocked.. I thought only Sony's ones are downclocked hmm.gif
Yeah, its advisable to convert to 64-bits for L645. Since L645s don't have multimedia buttons, there's noneed to worry about the drivers not working haha laugh.gif)

Using GPU-Z, it is lower clock speed than the factory default clock. The benchmark also lower compare to other laptop if not mistaken. Try ask Eguy to confirm.

Can check this too, http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.22437.0.html
Can see the core speed and memory speed lower than other laptops with the same graphic card.

This post has been edited by just_kiing: Jan 17 2011, 12:43 AM
Luke1989
post Jan 17 2011, 08:52 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 17 2011, 02:24 AM)
In Malaysia its called the Toshiba Portege R700  laugh.gif
Yeah, they seemed really impressive based on reviews~ The specs are really decent for a light-weight, powerful business laptop. Its not really affordable la haha... unless you compare the R700 to other impressive business laptops like Fujitsus  nod.gif

Lowyat plaza would be the best place to go and find the Portege R700. Just remember that the latest ones are equipped with i5 [R700-1003U/2027U](old ones use i3), and the latest Portege R700 comes in 2 colors instead of 1 (blue and black)...
Since you are based abroad then the R700 promotion might come in handy for you. Priced at RM4099 (you'll probably be able to get cheaper by around RM100 after bargaining), promotion includes free 2nd and 3rd year international warranty (worth a whopping RM790) and also free Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (worth RM299)  icon_rolleyes.gif

You can consider Asus U36Jc as well. i5-480+G310M@RM3099... its more powerful and cheaper than the Toshiba (i5-460M+Intel GMA HD) and it also comes with 2 years international warranty. But it doesn't have an optical drive, and its probably weaker in terms of built and craftsmanship. There's probably something from Sony as well... but the specs will be lower than the R700...
Hmmm thanks a lot for the info, definitely helpful! Haha well my budget is around RM4K so I guess its still ok for me.

Was just thinking whether or not to go with the new Sandybridge laptops since they will all be coming out soon anyway. Might as well get the best available right? tongue.gif Kinda leaning towards the Asus N53SN now since its rumoured to be coming out in the next two weeks.
maxereno
post Jan 17 2011, 09:40 PM

151 posts

I am douple confused now.
Toshiba l645-1126 after asking some shop assistants wasn't adviced to be taken because the additional processor speed isn't that much, will I am not sure about this, what do you guys think about this ?

@[PF]T.J : Um, pardon me but I didn't understand about what you had mentioned in post #965 about concerning 64 bit, now what is wrong with L645 with 64 ?
About the blue in gaming - err, pardon me again but honstely I still didn't get it in this point too- now the blue is better in gaming and other task or they are the same ?!
About how much is the Asus you have mentioned ? Looks awesome !
Btw, is l645 GPU downclocked ?

About the new coming spec I was told that they may get late till June or something, also since the new specs will be super new and with some with my budget, do you think waiting will worth for me ?

[PF] T.J.
post Jan 18 2011, 03:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(just_kiing @ Jan 16 2011, 11:52 PM)
(I don't think the Qosmio F60's GT330M is downclocked.. I thought only Sony's ones are downclocked  hmm.gif
Yeah, its advisable to convert to 64-bits for L645. Since L645s don't have multimedia buttons, there's noneed to worry about the drivers not working haha  laugh.gif)
Using GPU-Z, it is lower clock speed than the factory default clock. The benchmark also lower compare to other laptop if not mistaken. Try ask Eguy to confirm.

Can check this too, http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.22437.0.html
Can see the core speed and memory speed lower than other laptops with the same graphic card.
Hmmm hmm.gif
I wonder why notebookcheck's review on the Qosmio F60 never mentioned anything about the GPU being downclocked....
Well, I don't think the performance differences is big enough to notice... shouldn't be a problem there nod.gif

Added on January 18, 2011, 3:14 pm
QUOTE(Luke1989 @ Jan 17 2011, 08:52 AM)
Hmmm thanks a lot for the info, definitely helpful! Haha well my budget is around RM4K so I guess its still ok for me.

Was just thinking whether or not to go with the new Sandybridge laptops since they will all be coming out soon anyway. Might as well get the best available right? tongue.gif Kinda leaning towards the Asus N53SN now since its rumoured to be coming out in the next two weeks.
Err.... I guess in the end it really depends on what you want lo..
The Portege R700 and Asus N53SN are very different laptops. One for portability, the other one for power nod.gif
If you are always on the go, then perhaps the A53SN ain't that suitable for you. I've used a Qosmio F60 (15.6 inch) before and I really don't like carrying it around because its just too big (weight shouldn't be too much of a problem for most guys hehe)... Moreover the N53SN is even heavier than most standard 15.6inchers.... so need to consider seriously before buying (don't repeat my mistake)... But when it comes to gaming and graphic intensive work, the A53SN will undoubtedly shine because of the Sandy Bridge processor + a dedicate GPU~

The R700, imho, would be most suitable for businessman who always have to attend conferences, meetings and so on... or perhaps even for students who can afford it.... other than that, I don't see why one would have an R700 (there's plenty of alternatives out there) nod.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 18 2011, 03:16 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Jan 18 2011, 03:34 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(maxereno @ Jan 17 2011, 09:40 PM)
I am douple confused now.
Toshiba l645-1126 after asking some shop assistants wasn't adviced to be taken because the additional processor speed isn't that much, will I am not sure about this, what do you guys think about this ?

@[PF]T.J : Um, pardon me but I didn't understand about what you had mentioned in post #965 about concerning 64 bit, now what is wrong with L645 with 64 ?
About the blue in gaming - err, pardon me again but honstely I still didn't get it in this point too- now the blue is better in gaming and other task or they are the same ?!
About how much is the Asus you have mentioned ? Looks awesome !
Btw, is l645 GPU downclocked ?

About the new coming spec I was told that they may get late till  June or something, also since the new specs will be super new and with some with my budget, do you think waiting will worth for me ?
Well, the shop guys are probably correct, the performance difference ain't very significant. Please refer below (obtained from http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Proces...t.2436.0.html):

32-bit Windows 7 only allows you to use up to 4GB (based on websites but most of the time the usable RAM never exceeds 3 [usually 2.98 or something] of your RAM; 64-bit systems can support more, where Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) can support up to 16GB RAM nod.gif
In short, running on 32-bit OS for your Toshiba will mean that you're wasting 1GB RAM of the 4GB RAM you're using....
A very "smart and innovative" move by Toshiba... this 32-bit/64-bit option has gave many Toshiba laptops many problems doh.gif doh.gif

Both L645 (normal) and (blue) have the same GPU, so gaming performance will be more or less the same...
I don't think the GPU is downclocked... need for sources on this matter....

U41JF is priced at 3k and lower...

Coming specs as in Toshiba units or?
A few brands (at this juncture) had already introduced laptops equipped with SB i.e. Asus, Acer, HP, Alienware etc. Acer's 5750G (with SB) is around RM2.8k as well... nod.gif

Whether to wait or not depends on the urgency of you getting a new laptop lo... If not in a hurry, then why not wait? laugh.gif
tropicalsunshine
post Jan 18 2011, 05:20 PM

Hi, I'm new to this forum but have found it very useful smile.gif

Would anyone care to share your opinions on the Toshiba Satellite L645-1112X? I'm quite interested in it but not sure since not much opinion i can find on internet about it.

My budget is <2.5K.
14" pref
Usage: Mostly for work (Word, Powerpt), studies, surfing, FB with possible learning photo editing in future. I also like music. Used to have a Compaq v3000 (Altec Lansing sound was ok, but 'scratchy' after few years of loud movie watching, died with white screen TT)

Is Toshiba at this price a good investment (lasting a few years at least). Lappie must survive "cho lo" treatment. Reliable after sales service in your experience? Also, not sure I understand the posts about problems with being able to switch from 32 to 64 bits for Windows. tongue.gif

tor tor zi kao!
TQ! smile.gif
just_kiing
post Jan 18 2011, 07:59 PM

28 posts

From notebookcheck, compare the Core/Memory.

This post has been edited by just_kiing: Jan 18 2011, 08:02 PM

[PF] T.J.
post Jan 18 2011, 08:39 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(just_kiing @ Jan 18 2011, 07:59 PM)
From notebookcheck, compare the Core/Memory.
Thanks for the link notworthy.gif
But I doubt the gaming performance difference will be tangible though hmm.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 18 2011, 08:42 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Jan 18 2011, 08:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tropicalsunshine @ Jan 18 2011, 05:20 PM)
Hi, I'm new to this forum but have found it very useful smile.gif

Would anyone care to share your opinions on the Toshiba Satellite L645-1112X? I'm quite interested in it but not sure since not much opinion i can find on internet about it.

My budget is <2.5K.
14" pref
Usage: Mostly for work (Word, Powerpt), studies, surfing, FB with possible learning photo editing in future. I also like music. Used to have a Compaq v3000 (Altec Lansing sound was ok, but 'scratchy' after few years of loud movie watching, died with white screen TT)

Is Toshiba at this price a good investment (lasting a few years at least). Lappie must survive "cho lo" treatment. Reliable after sales service in your experience? Also, not sure I understand the posts about problems with being able to switch from 32 to 64 bits for Windows. tongue.gif

tor tor zi kao!
TQ! smile.gif
Hihi, welcome welcome
The Toshiba L645-1112X [i3-370M+ATI5470] is currently priced at RM2299 (can probably get cheaper by around RM100), for that budget you can get the Acer 3820/4820TG which offers way better performance (both CPU and GPU)...
Anyway, if you still want to stick to Toshiba, as mentioned in the previous sessions, the Satellite L645-1123/24/25 (different colors) [i5-460m+ATi5650@~RM2699] would be a better choice The performance of these Toshiba Satellite are equivalent to that of Acer's 3820/4820TG due to the same GPU used.. Due to the availability of GPU switching technology in the 3820/4820TG, their battery lives are quite long. Not very sure whether the L645 has GPU switching or not [probably not]...
The speakers from Toshiba laptops are usually better/louder than average ones... but still don't expect too much from them haha, better get a good pair of external speakers for your audiophilic needs

Toshiba laptops are very reliable one, no problems there... If you can tolerate the glossiness then everything will be fine And the keyboards may need getting-used to hehe, but once you get the hang of it, typing can be really accurate and fast
Based on my experiences, Teledynamics (they service Toshiba laptops in Malaysia) staffs had been very helpful, friendly and professional (not to mention many lenglois in Teledynamics Shah Alam )... But do take note that like other brands, repairs may take up to 2 month's time (if the laptop does break down hehe ) depending on availability of parts~

All Toshiba laptops (sold in Malaysia) has the 32-bit/64-bit OS option, you get to choose which one you want to use on the 1st time you start up the new laptop... Basically by using 64-bit W7 only you can fully utilized the RAM (usually 4GB for most ppl) The problem is that most of the time sellers tend to boot 32-bit OS for customers because the booting time is significantly shorter than that of 64-bits... Hope you can understand haha

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 18 2011, 08:43 PM
tropicalsunshine
post Jan 18 2011, 09:41 PM

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 18 2011, 08:42 PM)
Hihi, welcome welcome  
The Toshiba L645-1112X [i3-370M+ATI5470] is currently priced at RM2299 (can probably get cheaper by around RM100), for that budget you can get the Acer 3820/4820TG which offers way better performance (both CPU and GPU)...
Anyway, if you still want to stick to Toshiba, as mentioned in the previous sessions, the Satellite L645-1123/24/25 (different colors) [i5-460m+ATi5650@~RM2699] would be a better choice   The performance of these Toshiba Satellite are equivalent to that of Acer's 3820/4820TG due to the same GPU used.. Due to the availability of GPU switching technology in the 3820/4820TG, their battery lives are quite long. Not very sure whether the L645 has GPU switching or not [probably not]...
The speakers from Toshiba laptops are usually better/louder than average ones... but still don't expect too much from them haha, better get a good pair of external speakers for your audiophilic needs  

Toshiba laptops are very reliable one, no problems there... If you can tolerate the glossiness then everything will be fine   And the keyboards may need getting-used to hehe, but once you get the hang of it, typing can be really accurate and fast  
Based on my experiences, Teledynamics (they service Toshiba laptops in Malaysia) staffs had been very helpful, friendly and professional (not to mention many lenglois in Teledynamics Shah Alam   )... But do take note that like other brands, repairs may take up to 2 month's time (if the laptop does break down hehe   ) depending on availability of parts~

All Toshiba laptops (sold in Malaysia) has the 32-bit/64-bit OS option, you get to choose which one you want to use on the 1st time you start up the new laptop... Basically by using 64-bit W7 only you can fully utilized the RAM (usually 4GB for most ppl)   The problem is that most of the time sellers tend to boot 32-bit OS for customers because the booting time is significantly shorter than that of 64-bits... Hope you can understand haha
Thank you thank you sir! smile.gif

Good points you made about the Toshiba Satellites. ya, i saw the L645-1123/24/25 (nice colors! but yes, the keyboard's too glossy! haha but the sales guy said can put the protector so less slippery.)

Will check about the GPU switching. tongue.gif

Wah, Shah Alam a bit far for me leh. Ok, understand a little about the 32-64 bit. tongue.gif

Meanwhile, will still continue to check out the Acer 3820 also - good specs also - err, but Acer should be reliable too, right? Not many friends I know recommend Acer laptop. tongue.gif hehe, but budget and reliability a concern leh.

Still considering, but thanks again for your valuable input! smile.gif

This post has been edited by tropicalsunshine: Jan 18 2011, 09:45 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Jan 18 2011, 10:22 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tropicalsunshine @ Jan 18 2011, 09:41 PM)
Thank you thank you sir! smile.gif

Good points you made about the Toshiba Satellites. ya, i saw the L645-1123/24/25 (nice colors! but yes, the keyboard's too glossy! haha but the sales guy said can put the protector so less slippery.)

Will check about the GPU switching. tongue.gif

Wah, Shah Alam a bit far for me leh. Ok, understand a little about the 32-64 bit. tongue.gif

Meanwhile, will still continue to check out the Acer 3820 also - good specs also - err, but Acer should be reliable too, right? Not many friends I know recommend Acer laptop. tongue.gif hehe, but budget and reliability a concern leh.

Still considering, but thanks again for your valuable input! smile.gif
Hmm... the keyboard buttons ain't slippery la, glossy only haha... they tend to accumulate dust, smudges etc. need to clean frequently lo nod.gif

Yeah, do let us know whether GPU switching is available or not~

There's also another Teledynamics branch at the highest floor of Lowyat plaza (opened from Monday to Sunday). The one in Shah Alam only opened during office hours.

Do take note that Acer 3820TG is a 13 incher and does not have an optical drive. Acer laptops have improved alot recently, not sure about the service though, I think its still not that good hmm.gif Many a times whether a laptop lasts or not depends on how the user takes care of it and also a little bit of luck since its an electronic device nod.gif

If you're not in a hurry, you can always wait and see if there's any SB laptops which appeals to your tastes nod.gif Even if there's none, the introduction of SB will inevitably cause a reduction in the prices of the older (Nehalem equipped) laptops nod.gif

Happy choosing yo~
Luke1989
post Jan 19 2011, 09:30 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 18 2011, 06:09 PM)
Hmmm  hmm.gif
I wonder why notebookcheck's review on the Qosmio F60 never mentioned anything about the GPU being downclocked....
Well, I don't think the performance differences is big enough to notice... shouldn't be a problem there  nod.gif

Added on January 18, 2011, 3:14 pm

Err.... I guess in the end it really depends on what you want lo..
The Portege R700 and Asus N53SN are very different laptops. One for portability, the other one for power  nod.gif
If you are always on the go, then perhaps the A53SN ain't that suitable for you. I've used a Qosmio F60 (15.6 inch) before and I really don't like carrying it around because its just too big (weight shouldn't be too much of a problem for most guys hehe)... Moreover the N53SN is even heavier than most standard 15.6inchers.... so need to consider seriously before buying (don't repeat my mistake)... But when it comes to gaming and graphic intensive work, the A53SN will undoubtedly shine because of the Sandy Bridge processor + a dedicate GPU~

The R700, imho, would be most suitable for businessman who always have to attend conferences, meetings and so on... or perhaps even for students who can afford it.... other than that, I don't see why one would have an R700 (there's plenty of alternatives out there) nod.gif
yeah I know. At the start I was only reading reviews online so I was going for the Toshiba. But now after thinking for a bit I've decided I don't really need a laptop that is so portable and will settle for a laptop serving as a desktop. Hence I'm more inclined towards the Asus N53SN now, and also possibly looking at Dells XPS 15 if the Asus doesn't come out by the time I'm back in Malaysia. Another factor is definitely the international warranty as I will be going back to Australia after CNY to continue working and get my PR.

Was looking at the other newer SB laptops but ruled out the Acer 5750G as I don't really like the build plus theres reliability issues. The new HP dv6 also looks good but apparently the older models have heating issues and really haven't heard from anyone whos tested it so far.

But yeah thanks so much for the input really appreciate it smile.gif

111 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:34 AM