QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Mar 24 2010, 09:34 AM)
Thanks. You bet I will
Hobbies The Bright Side V3, Malaysian Flashaholic Community!
Mar 24 2010, 10:35 AM
5 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: KCH |
Mar 24 2010, 12:24 PM
337 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Subang Jaya |
Nice test on that Quark. But the lens cracked (not that I expect it not to). I would say that it has compromised waterproofness now and not really passed the test 100%. Still, for it to still work considered pass =D
Still want something like a Ra. Now that is a tough light. Hah! Lightjunk, that is a beautiful light. If I had $$, I'll take it off you without thinking, heh~ |
Mar 24 2010, 01:50 PM
602 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Everywhere and Nowhere |
Rookie, you said that the Quark line uses a 'soft' type of Al.
Is this true? Researching on types of Al now. |
Mar 24 2010, 02:39 PM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(strinq @ Mar 24 2010, 01:50 PM) Rookie, you said that the Quark line uses a 'soft' type of Al. Maybe he meant based from experience.Is this true? Because from my experience, a 1ft drop from my Quark AA R2 resulted in anodized chips and small dents on the tailcap, it looks bad. Heh, but my Quark Mini 123 had an accidental fling direct to the tiled floor and bounced few meters away and suffered no harm, weird huh. Maybe this is the real T-6061 grade. |
Mar 24 2010, 02:42 PM
Very interesting.
Just read up and the 6061 aluminium used by 4sevens is actually one of the most common Al around. And the 'aircraft' grade that they advertised is actually just homemade aircraft grade, not like the really high grade used for commercial stuff so it actually isn't a high grade Al. Probably the same for other manufacturers as well. Surefire on the other hand uses aerospace grade Al. Much more expensive. Interesting difference. |
Mar 24 2010, 02:55 PM
160 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
strinq, relatively speaking, yes. when comparing to Olight, Fenix, NiteCore, and others.
i'm not sure what type of "aircraft-grade aluminum" each is machined from (i think i read somewhere Quark is T-6061), but from 1st-hand experience, the Quarks are softer. It's strange that some RM25 low cost china LED light is more resilient to abuse than any of the above mentioned brands. (Note: not gonna to compare to SureFire here, they are in different league EDIT: here's a link to some common Al grades: GENERAL ALUMINUM INFORMATION This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Mar 24 2010, 02:59 PM |
Mar 24 2010, 03:03 PM
The T-6061 spec is mentioned in their website
Even some light parts are different, my TA21 tailcap is tofu like the Quark. Just drop few cm away to tiled floor and the anondized chipped, but the light is heavy. The head area has gone thru some nasty drops and seems to be holding up better even with some chips. Added on March 24, 2010, 3:07 pm QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Mar 24 2010, 02:55 PM) here's a link to some common Al grades: GENERAL ALUMINUM INFORMATION hey thanks for the info, cool This post has been edited by pseudoblue: Mar 24 2010, 03:07 PM |
Mar 24 2010, 03:49 PM
In addition to these discussion, some JetBeam lights are impact-resistant according to US MIL-STD-810F (which means only to cover related impact tests but not the entire scope).
An interesting read from the wiki page = http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MIL-STD-810 "MIL-STD-810 is a flexible standard that allows commercial suppliers to tailor the test methods to fit the end-user's application. Suppliers can and some do take significant latitude with how they test their products, as well as how they report the test results. As a result, claims of "compliance with MIL-STD-810" can be misleading. Users who require rugged products should verify the test methods (i) against which compliance is claimed; (ii) to which parameter limits were actually tested; and (iii) whether the testing was done internally or externally by an independent testing facility." |
Mar 25 2010, 01:41 PM
Ooo, it's been quiet here... need some noise hehe
Let me do free promo for GW2U As we know GW2U's business is expanding and recently had a price adjustment on all their Fenix products. Making the quality product line more affordable this time. If you're looking for a Fenix light or more, this is the time! In addition to their product list, the XPGs have landed in their store. These updated products are the TK11, PD30, LD10, and more. Do check out their website or visit their store for all the cool offerings. The TK11 XPG R4 seems to have a very nice tint, instead of resulting in more green, it is leaning towards more yellow, like a neutral tint but white. This little sucker is a thrower indeed. The HL20 headlamp also has a tint leaning towards more 'yellow' and has a very smooth beam. Using an OP and XPE R2, this is a rare offering from Fenix to have a beam that smooth. The UI is similar like the MC10 or TK40, uses 1x AA. The build quality however is not exactly top notch but it appears to be durable. Those who wants a headlamp can do so at an affordable price One of the significant improvements besides just an LED upgrade is the anodized threads on the PD and LD series. I mentioned this before in v2 when the clip and knurling design appeared on those series. Absolute smoothness on those threads. With some of your best grease or krytox, this will change your battery changing experience forever |
Mar 25 2010, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Mar 25 2010, 01:41 PM) The TK11 XPG R4 seems to have a very nice tint, instead of resulting in more green, it is leaning towards more yellow, like a neutral tint but white. This little sucker is a thrower indeed. I think you meant TK11 XP-G R5. right? LD10, LD20, PD30 are using R4 tho...EDIT: your EagleTac P20C2 MKII is still brighter... wonder why they don't drive these XP-G harder since it can be driver at 1.5A and it's within the "safety-bound" of primary CR123A and RCR123. This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Mar 25 2010, 03:27 PM |
Mar 25 2010, 04:18 PM
Hi all, lemme add what I know about these stuff. Came from long time ago during my bike time.
6061, 7075 is simply the alloy composition of the aluminum. It has absolutely no impact on the perceived quality. T5, T6, etc refers to the artificial aging these alloys go thru. Don't ask me what it does. 6061 is softer that 7075 but also easier to machine/form/weld. All these alloys can be claimed as "aircraft aluminum" simply because the aviation industry uses it. Again, it has no impact on the quality at all. That's all I know, haha lol. The new Fenix are nice! Hehe. Smooth beam! But donut holed. Not sure if it's a real donut hole or just a perceived one like the Quark Turbo. We'll find out when I bring my camera there hehe. =D A weird thing about the new D series. The LD and PD heads are interchangeable but the tailcaps are not! very weird... Hmm.. |
Mar 25 2010, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Mar 25 2010, 03:23 PM) I think you meant TK11 XP-G R5. right? LD10, LD20, PD30 are using R4 tho... Yeah oops, its R5. EDIT: your EagleTac P20C2 MKII is still brighter... wonder why they don't drive these XP-G harder since it can be driver at 1.5A and it's within the "safety-bound" of primary CR123A and RCR123. The LED's electrical current capabilities can take up to 1.5A, but i think max junction heat is still 150 deg, probably need better heatsinking still as it will generate more heat quicker right? Which reminds me that Maelstrom G500 could be doing that much? QUOTE(polkiuj @ Mar 25 2010, 04:18 PM) The new Fenix are nice! Hehe. Smooth beam! But donut holed. Not sure if it's a real donut hole or just a perceived one like the Quark Turbo. We'll find out when I bring my camera there hehe. =D There's no actual donut hole, but it seemed to have a faded effect at the center... like the perceived Quark Turbo you mentioned |
Mar 26 2010, 06:42 AM
Mar 26 2010, 10:23 AM
Yeahoo!
Mar 26 2010, 12:48 PM
Earth hour! = Flashlight hour!
But the 6061 is only used in homemade aircraft. Not the commercial ones which need better Al. The 7075 is of higher quality actually based on the link given by rookiedaddy. Haha, 6061 is the cheapest Al available. So let's not be conned by the 'aircraft grade' term, makes u think its like super good heheh. But it's of course still good enough lah for flashlights. Wonder what the other manufacturers use. |
Mar 26 2010, 03:00 PM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Saratoga, CA |
I believe the thrunite catapult is made of 7075-- tough! dropped the thing and it barely dented.
doesn't 6061 conduct heat better than 7075, though? |
Mar 26 2010, 03:14 PM
Wow, the thrunite is that tough huh. Looking at the size and weight, im surprised it is just barely dented...
Mar 26 2010, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(strinq @ Mar 26 2010, 12:48 PM) Earth hour! = Flashlight hour! That is not correct, as far as I know.But the 6061 is only used in homemade aircraft. Not the commercial ones which need better Al. The 7075 is of higher quality actually based on the link given by rookiedaddy. Haha, 6061 is the cheapest Al available. So let's not be conned by the 'aircraft grade' term, makes u think its like super good heheh. But it's of course still good enough lah for flashlights. Wonder what the other manufacturers use. I'm pretty sure 6061 is used in commercial aircrafts as well. 7075 is not of higher quality. Just higher strength. 6061 is not the cheapest aluminum alloy available either. It just just the cheapest heat treatable alloy. That makes a lot of difference. 6061 is more than enough for flashlight bodies. For example, in mountain bikes, 7075 is usually used on cheaper, very simple frames. The more complicated frames with triple butting, hydroforming, weird shapes and bending stays are usually made of 6061-T6 aluminum. Remember: Aluminum alloy's quality is in the process that the alloy had been through. The type of alloy is usually chosen for easier workability. |
Mar 26 2010, 06:12 PM
6 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Mar 26 2010, 07:17 PM