US stock discussion v2

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 21 2010, 12:37 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(motolola @ Jan 20 2010, 10:12 PM)
wah this cramer is unbelievable ph34r.gif

In September 28, 2009, Cramer told subscribers to buy CIT. One month later the company went bankrupt.

In this speech, Cramer recommended 10 stocks and went on to say "I wouldn't own any other stocks in the year 2000". By 2009, all of the mentioned companies have either gone out of business, have been taken over by competitors or trade at fractions of their 2000 stock price.

etc etc

Market professionals consider Cramer one of the most reliable contrarian indicators in the business. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  laugh.gif

thanks for the humor sulifeisgreat
at least now forumers hav some idea on the stock to buy or short, anyone can link us to cramer picks drool.gif
buy the dip time? but i plan to reduce my riding stock holdings to a minimum within tis 2 months or maybe cut loss laugh.gif
so no buying for me & wil retake a look again around march2010 rolleyes.gif guess klse lyn wil hav excitement tomolo

Stocks’ Losses Accelerate

11:15 a.m. Update: The major indexes' losses grew in late-morning trade Wednesday, as a rising dollar weighed on commodities prices. The market also was struggling with spotty bank earnings and concerns over slowing Chinese bank lending.

The S&P 500 slid 1.6%, the Dow 1.4%, the Nasdaq 1.8% and the NYSE composite 2%. Volume swelled across the board. It rose 7% on the NYSE and 23% on the Nasdaq compared with the same period Tuesday.

Jaguar Mining (JAG) skidded 7% in four times its typical turnover. The gold exploration and production company slashed through its 50-day moving average after reporting a fourth-quarter profit that fell short of Wall Street views.

Inergy (NRGY) slid 3% in heavy trade. The propane distributor priced an offering of 5 million shares of common stock at $36.25 a share.

On the upside, Cree (CREE) rocketed 16% in gigantic volume. The maker of power switches, RF devices and other electronics reported fiscal second-quarter earnings of 38 cents a share, blowing past estimates of 30 cents. Cree's stock reached its highest point since September 2000.

Market Tumbles In Early Trade

10:15 a.m. Update: Stocks opened sharply lower Wednesday, on mixed earnings results from banks and growing concern over China's plans to curb bank lending. The S&P 500 slid 0.9%, the Dow 1.1%, the Nasdaq 1% and the NYSE composite 1.5%.

Volume swelled across the board. It rose 4% on the NYSE and 31% on the Nasdaq compared to the same period Tuesday.

China Automotive Systems (CAAS) fell 3% in heavy volume. The Chinese auto parts maker sits 23% off its Jan. 11 peak. The stock has found support above its 50-day moving average.

Hi-Tech Pharmacal (HITK) tumbled 6% in brisk trade. The drug maker has also staged a sharp pullback to near its 50-day line.

On the upside, Aegean Marine Petroleum (ANW) rose 2% in huge turnover. The supplier of refined marine fuel gapped down at Wednesday's market open after announcing a public offering of 3.9 million shares of common stock. But the stock quickly rebounded into the black

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 21 2010, 08:08 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(AnonyNite @ Jan 21 2010, 06:39 AM)
yeah, everyone should go for BRKB, it'll go up right after split. XD
tis one I oso buy la as a gift for cucu, so no benefit to me laugh.gif
anyone bought the dip? here is a swing trade for gambling consideration wink.gif

sgg is doing fine drool.gif new high again

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 22 2010, 12:35 AM

1,121 posts

smell fear in the board, someone say to be greeedy when others fear laugh.gif
bye.gif moneyflies.gif caas (b:20.51 cut:18.79), hitk (b:28.75 cut:23.76), ks (b:9.67 cut:9.03), gol (b:14.48 cut:13.78), cgjgj (b:7.1 cut:4.4)
lari huh.gif gci (b: 14.41 s:15.85), tlvt (b:37.87 s:39.57), clf (b:45.07 s:46.66), sgg (b:77.96 s:81.97)
remaining watchlist@gambling position with bought prices: bont 10.41, hog 25.83, heat 15.53, vnr 21.02

anyone bought the dip? well, feel gatal, so I decide to buy fxp 9.3 & uup 23.2 rolleyes.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 22 2010, 12:51 AM

1,121 posts

dun u jus luv it? all red, so 'hong', wonder wat happens top klse tomolo?
with int rate low, expect buy the dip still in play - otherwise, its time for us to meet the dip which never recover laugh.gif
any idea has obama spoken? wat did he say? should be really interesting cool2.gif still too early too short gua drool.gif

Banks Lead Growing Morning Losses

11:15 a.m. Update: The major indexes' losses accelerated in late-morning action Thursday, with President Obama poised to announce the government's plan for tougher regulation of U.S. banks.

The S&P 500 fell 1.1%, the Dow 1.3%, the Nasdaq 0.6% and the NYSE composite 1.2%.

Volume turned higher across the board. It rose 10% on the NYSE and 17% on the Nasdaq compared with the same period Wednesday.

The Philadelphia Federal Reserve Bank said its business activity index slipped to 15.2 from 22.5 in December, a bigger decline than the one predicted by economists.

The Conference Board's index of U.S. leading indicators rose 1.1%, topping the 0.7% uptick pegged by economists.

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 22 2010, 01:04 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Jan 22 2010, 12:59 AM)
I think he says it well. Profit for hedge fund, private firm lending is a NO NO. Help small businesses. Reduce the Fees, reduce C.cards fees. In fact, it is a good move for retail market.

"The proposal would limit banks' ability to engage in high-risk trades. Restrictions would be placed on proprietary trading by commercial banks to separate those institutions from investment banks"
really? tat means need to upgrade my screen monitor as it is showing index red color? if the markets luv it, should be green gua rclxub.gif
any website links? all i hear so far all r proposal & nothing yet from the horses mouth
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 22 2010, 01:10 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Jan 22 2010, 01:07 AM)
i heard on CNBC live.

it was short, less than 7 minutes. Visit CNBC website.

Luv it, but the effect will be not immediate ma. From -228 to now -188 speaks by itself. Dow/SP/NYSE dragged down by banks. BAC, WFC, GS, JPM all down.
icic, means buy the dip scenario still in play brows.gif long players should stil be safe rolleyes.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 22 2010, 08:18 AM

1,121 posts

can our counterparts over in klse & s'pore lyn forum short stocks or buy puts? sweat.gif
of coz, they can short futures, but it should hav factor in the longkang measurement since no arbitrage rolleyes.gif
unless the dead cat bounce in time for them to profit or involuntary long term investor teori again rclxub.gif
bought tyd 48.74 & good luck those just bought banking group stocks nod.gif

Stocks Tumble On Obama’s Bank Proposal

5:15 p.m. Update: President Obama's call for tighter restrictions on banks sent the market reeling Thursday.

Obama proposed more stringent rules on risk-taking and trading that could hurt banks' profits. JPMorgan Chase (JPM) shed 7%, while Bank of America (BAC) and Citigroup © gave up 6% each. Goldman Sachs (GS) lost 4%, even though it reported quarterly earnings well above views.

The NYSE composite and Dow dropped 2.1% and 2%, respectively. Both undercut their 50-day moving averages. Meanwhile, the S&P 500 fell 1.9%, closing just above its 50-day line. The Nasdaq lost 1.1%.

All but the S&P 500 are now down for the year.

Turnover surged on both exchanges, giving all the major indexes another distribution day.

Chinese stocks were hit hard after China reported big gains in its GDP growth and inflation. These data added to concerns that the central bank, which has already started to tighten its monetary policy, has more work to do.

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 22 2010, 07:34 PM

1,121 posts

bedtime stories for usa lyn readers yawn.gif in case market tidur later, when we expecting excitement shakehead.gif eg. bolehland at 1300

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 23 2010, 05:35 AM

1,121 posts

did u all see tat? ain't obama great, the master in mega sales rclxms.gif maybe time for klse & s'pore pasar to get the hint wink.gif
for those of u who hav not met a dip which never recover, maybe time for u to meet one blink.gif
heard before the teori of bear jump out window doh.gif wonder wil there be rebound nex week? or panic sellers rule rclxub.gif
trigger my cut loss bye.gif moneyflies.gif heat (b: cut:13.50), hog (b: cut:23.59) oh well, u all know wat to do nex ya... nod.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 23 2010, 05:55 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 23 2010, 05:41 AM)
Closing update

Dow 10172.98 -216.90 -2.67%
Nasdaq 2205.29 -60.41 -2.21%
S&P 500 1091.76 -24.72 -2.16%

G' morning.. I guess it may not be too good this weekend.  sad.gif

Just take 3 days to shave out 500+ points and 5%.

Thanks to Obama, half of my portfolio in red now.  doh.gif

We're testing support at this time, if we get another leg down next week.. the trap door will open.  nod.gif
Also, as protection, I've bought some puts. Better be paying for some premium than be sorry later.
at least tell ur gang wat 'put' u bought la wink.gif ur gang follow u buy the dip, so optimistic, suspek now they in confusion mode rolleyes.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 23 2010, 07:28 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 23 2010, 06:26 AM)
I got followers? laugh.gif

Anyway, I'm projecting worst case scenario if we dive below 10K or S&P 1080 from here.
Therefore, I bought some Feb puts of VTI 54, TCK 33 and XPP 60.

I don't expect we will break below S&P 1080 but the way the market sentiment is going, you never know.  sweat.gif

Oh..btw, I'm hoping Obama now can shut up.  mad.gif
they dun call u doomcake for nothing, any doom & gloom, u wil go to klse lyn & giv them a scare + wake them up from bull dream cool2.gif
dunno abt ur followers, but I have lighten up my gambling stock holding positions & those etf just bought, r for scared sheeps to hide in laugh.gif
anyone knows when date ben is to be confirm? guess is he wil be confirm rolleyes.gif coz there is no other better successor... haha

Short Week Yields Big Losses

5:15 p.m. Update: U.S. stocks fell hard Friday as bank worries persisted. A delay in confirming Ben Bernanke for a second term as Fed chairman also weighed on sentiment.

The Nasdaq dived 2.7%, hurt by semiconductors and a number of high-profile issues. Citigroup downgraded seven chip gear makers. The Philadelphia semiconductor index swooned 5.3% and sliced its 50-day moving average.

Meanwhile, the S&P 500 dropped 2.2%. It turned lower for the year and sliced its 50-day moving average. The Dow and NYSE composite lost 2.1% and 2%, respectively.

Volume fell across the board. But trade was above average on both exchanges. Friday's sell-off changed the outlook to market in correction.

For the week, the NYSE composite dumped 4.4%, Dow 4.1%, S&P 500 3.9% and the Nasdaq shed 3.6%.

Existing-home sales will also be out Monday.
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 23 2010, 07:49 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 23 2010, 07:38 AM)
Personally, I've learned my own lessons from the last bear call.
I was too bearish last time, eventho I managed to score few. My timing was off and I did missed some opportunities. tongue.gif

This week, I learned another one.  NEVER ignore Obama and his plans.  doh.gif

He's not Bush. He is serious when he said he's going to punish the banks for their past mistakes.  mad.gif
they voted for hope & change
we must profit from it cool2.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 23 2010, 09:54 AM

1,121 posts

for now, I rather eat popcorn & watch the usa, klse & s'pore show brows.gif
for me, feels is a bit too late to short now & awaiting stabilization... before shorting flex.gif
understand there r obama luvers around, so no offense ya for my 'uploads' on ur luver rolleyes.gif

if u ride up for profit since last year, u mus learn how to keep ur profit & try dun ride it down to longkang, anyway, wateva it is, best stick to ur own plan whistling.gif
who knows? maybe tis is jus a minor earthquake shakeout & sunny times will be back sooner or later laugh.gif

http://www.democraticunderground.com//disc...&mesg_id=143863

http://conservativedatingsite.com/blog/201...f-barack-obama/

http://www.marketoracle.co.uk/Article16672.html

below r uploads to lighten up ur day, since obama lighting up ur bank ac shocking.gif

I love to watch this video of the Obama Putin so called “power breakfast”. The body language of Obama and Putin are very interesting. It is fun to watch the feckless Obama try to stay “in command” of the breakfast. You will see Obama trying to exert control with an “um” before he is even completely sat down. You will notice Putin examining a roll, then rejecting it while Obama drones on about... Well, nothing. You will see Obama repeatedly try to gain control with body language, nasal rejection, holding his hand up. You will see the Russians in a very relaxed way just sort of ignoring him.

America’s image is better, no doubt, but uncertainty and procrastination prevail. One major international political leader recently put it well: “Not only does the leadership of this region not think that Obama is strong enough to confront his enemies; they aren’t sure he is strong enough to support his friends.” The administration seems “hopelessly naive,” according to one Arab foreign minister, and unable to face the full truth about Islamic terrorism.

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 23 2010, 02:59 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Jan 23 2010, 08:33 AM)

What do you mean by a dip that never recover?

ooops... it was suppose to mean, a dip which would take its own sweet time to recover, provided no bankruptcy laugh.gif (ie. no momo for roket fuel)
I hav no experience from dot com era, as not from tat era, but lots of stories & similarity available for reading, if u take time to do it nod.gif
eg. as below, siri has become an OTC (pink sheet), means no momo play there, only ikan bilis gamble there rolleyes.gif

http://finance.yahoo.com/q/ta?s=SIRI&t=my&...m50,m200&a=v&c=

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 25 2010, 03:32 PM

1,121 posts

is china much better than usa? usa has past its prime & no longer influential? only time will tell wink.gif
when can we see an active thread for china / hk shares in lyn forum? unless there exiss one in mandarin rclxub.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 25 2010, 05:20 PM

1,121 posts

haha... non excitement day yawn.gif
since most of my position has been lighten, just monitoring from sidelines with popcorns cool2.gif
seems tonite usa will see (below a sample for any who did a quick short sweat.gif)

http://www.my10000dollars.com/shortsqueeze-com/

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 25 2010, 11:18 PM

1,121 posts

I also bought buffet stock, but its for my cucu sad.gif forever timeframe
anyone bought or was caught in the 3 day slide hmm.gif or waiting further correction?

tis rebound / short squeeze not up to expectation, expected +100, VERY dissapointed vmad.gif
if market has factor in ben getting the votes, china rate rise insignificant, obama not getting votes to pass measures & etc
sumting else is providing a stumbling roadblock, at the moment can't figure out yet & not much news out there either rclxub.gif
wat is happening rolleyes.gif can't pinpoint yet but time to refill my popcorn as gonna yawn.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 26 2010, 08:30 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Jan 26 2010, 07:39 AM)
DOW gains 23 points last night.

I think big boss is holding the price so that they can get out of the market.

All data shows US market will dip..

C has dropped to 3.23... I set cut off above 3.00.
y so pessimitic? just bought buffet stock since everything looks rosy, since someone says enjoy the party rclxub.gif
usa quiet could be due to FOMC meeting, pasar awaiting their 'statement' which comes along with continue low int rate policy
but since usa does not affect the world, no worries, must continue be optimistic & buy more to support asia pacific markets cool2.gif
sgg hits another new high & I am not riding it cry.gif maybe reenter

http://money.cnn.com/news/economy/

The Baltic Dry Index reflects how much shippers are able to charge to handle bulk dry cargo such as grains, raw sugar, iron ore, bauxite, and coal. If the order book to deliver new bulk carriers is higher than the demand for shipping, the Dry Index will fall. Shipowners will anchor their ship in roadsteads like Singapore. If the demand is down, it means countries like China aren’t going to be importing raw material like iron ore, coal and grains. It means the prices of basic commodties will fall. We already see oil refineries going off line for lack of demand. Since the transportation sector is the largest user of petroleum, it means trucks, planes, ships, railroads are carrying less tonnage. World trade is slowing down.

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 26 2010, 11:36 PM

1,121 posts

apasal tak pergi tidur sekalian? sudah lewat, nanti tak boleh bangun awal pagi, untuk pergi sekolah esok laugh.gif
feels yawn.gif coz the fomc results announce on wednesday only, nothing to see here, move along, go & tuck into ur blanket & hav a nice sleep nod.gif
exit vnr (b:21.02 s:23.34) rclxm9.gif in tis kind of pasar environment
when can short ewm / ews? await a rebound hmm.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 27 2010, 08:10 AM

1,121 posts

u all had a nice tidur? no waste time monitor since market no movement, later see whether later fomc result affect market or not
initially it may, but dunno move where, since should be in line with expectations, many hours later, then can see index true / fake colors nod.gif

1) Berkshire will replace BNSF in S&P stock indexes
S&P: Buffettt's Berkshire Hathaway to replace BNSF in stock indexes after buying the railroad

On Tuesday January 26, 2010, 6:02 pm
OMAHA, Neb. (AP) -- Standard & Poor's will add Warren Buffett's Berkshire Hathaway Inc. to its S&P 100 and S&P 500 indexes after Berkshire acquires Burlington Northern Santa Fe.

S&P announced the stock index changes Tuesday. Buffett's company will replace BNSF in both indexes after shareholders approve Berkshire's acquisition of the railroad company next month.

Berkshire shareholders agreed to split the company's Class B stock 50-for-1 last week, and that move gave Buffett's company enough liquidity to meet S&P's criteria.

Standard & Poor's spokesman David Guarino says Berkshire, based in Omaha, Neb., is a good fit in the indexes because the company represents the U.S. economy and stock market well.

Berkshire shares jumped 7.5 percent to $73.08 in after-hours trading.

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Berkshire-wi...3&asset=&ccode=

2) dog jones is a psychological index, the 30 company does not represent broad industries & etc. where is ur personal stand? old artikel below

http://www.financialsense.com/Market/wood/2005/1118.html

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0544sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:34 AM