184 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V3, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

dvlzplayground
post Feb 7 2010, 09:42 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i agree with andrew9292

the thing is, the subject of which entry-level SLR to get (so that's d3000, 1000d, d5000, 500d, 450d, a550 n so on) has been asked to many times, so over time people get tired of answering it.

im proposing a pinned thread for introduction to DSLR for beginners. explain whats the difference among brands, importance of lenses, etc. maybe i can contribute a bit for nikon, but im stil a beginner myself n dont know much abt other brands

on the other hand, Destro89 and andrew9292, u can juz go read the past posts at the Wanna buy new camera thread. a lot of people asked the same questions already. they may not be much, but the general consensus is probably like this:

for a budget of 3k, get a 2k camera (that'd be nikon d3000 or canon 1000D), then spend the rest on a fast lens and a cheap flashgun. if u want video, then get d5000 or 500d, n start saving up for flash n lens cuz both are important.

to decide between nikon or canon, juz try both at a shop n see which one u like. dun let the salesperson influence u cuz some prefer this brand some prefer another. another good idea is to get the brand most of ur friends use. that way easier for u to learn abt the camera, borrow lens, etc

sorry i cant comment much for sony, pentax etc

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Feb 7 2010, 09:44 AM
ReeNz
post Feb 7 2010, 10:12 AM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

if u want a benchmark maybe u can refer here..this benchmark only applied to RAW though..

http://www.dxomark.com/index.php/eng/DxOMa...Camera-rankings
Murder_Shall_Not
post Feb 7 2010, 10:20 AM

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: Below RM2000
Your Location: Kota Kinabalu
Preferable brand : Canon Or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Concert/Gigs/Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : Canon EOS 500D, Canon EOS 1000D, Nikon D3000
Any specific features u want? : Footage & Extra Accesories

Added on February 7, 2010, 12:15 pm
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR.
Budget: Below RM2000.
Your Location: Kota Kinabalu.
Preferable brand : Canon Or Nikon.
Type of photography u want to do : Gigs, Concert &Portrait.
Any specific models in mind? : Canon EOS 500D, Canon EOS 1000D & Nikon D3000.
Any specific features u want? : Footage & Extra Accesories.

Added on February 7, 2010, 12:17 pmType of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR.
Budget: Below RM2000.
Your Location: Kota Kinabalu.
Preferable brand : Canon Or Nikon.
Type of photography u want to do : Gigs, Concert &Portrait.
Any specific models in mind? : Canon EOS 500D, Canon EOS 1000D & Nikon D3000.
Any specific features u want? : Footage & Extra Accesories.

This post has been edited by Murder_Shall_Not: Feb 7 2010, 12:17 PM
! Love Money
post Feb 7 2010, 06:16 PM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(squee2much @ Feb 6 2010, 11:54 PM)
thanks ! Love Money for the advice.i think i'm gonna go with lumix fs12.
the reviews sounds good and i'm just gonna use it for normal stuff anyway.
so dont think wide angle is a really big deal.
welcome... smile.gif

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Feb 7 2010, 02:43 AM)
wqat diff between 1000d & 450d? 450d is older than 1000d right? quite confuse...

btw 500d need 3k?
canon model line up as below:
flagship model: 1D
entry FF: 5D
highend APS-C: 7D
semi pro APS-C: (two digit)D, eg. 40D and 50D
entry level APS-C: (three digit)D, eg. 400D, 450D and 500D
strip down entry level APS-C: (four digit)D, eg. 1000D

so as u mentioned the difference between 1000D and 450D is that the 1000D is the strip down version of 450D,
500D is the replacement of 450D
infact for me, nikon model line up is even more confuse for me rclxub.gif

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Feb 7 2010, 08:27 AM)
Hi tumpang thread, gonna get a DSLR soon, just wanna ask based on Picture Quality (sharpness, iso noise etc) which is better?

Canon 1000D, 30D, 450D, EOS 500D

If you have experience with Nikon D3000, how does it compare to the Canon models above? ...

What i am looking for is actually something versatile, sharp & vibrant shots, something that can take good night shots as i think if it can take good night shots, it surely can take good daylight shots, please correct me if i'm wrong on that, and yes i am a night person >< and of course later i will pair it will better lenses.

p.s Sorry, I had to ask here, the useless pinned thread the moderators point us to is not getting enough response, in fact almost every pinned thread in LYN wont get as much response as a new/existing thread, and after years they still dont seem to realize that
i dun know how to explain but pic sharpness is based on lens, not body...
but noise control wise many claim that nikon produce cleaner image maybe due to its less density sensor...
anyway it is subjective to ask such question, every brand has its own fans base...
kaeru_83
post Feb 7 2010, 11:32 PM

81 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: Below RM2000
Your Location: Sibu
Preferable brand : Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Concert/Gigs/Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D3000
Any specific features u want? : Footage & Extra Accesories

need some specific Place to buy... preferable + the Lens is less than 2k...
pls do guide me... kind'a new to DSLR Cameras
samlee860407
post Feb 8 2010, 08:20 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Feb 7 2010, 02:43 AM)
wqat diff between 1000d & 450d? 450d is older than 1000d right? quite confuse...

btw 500d need 3k?
500D is abit shy of RM3k

around 2.8k to 2.9k
danimaa
post Feb 8 2010, 09:34 AM

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR +lens
Budget: RM3000
Your Location: East Coast
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Potrait / Landscape
Any specific models in mind? : 450D , 500D

Newbie here..which advance between both Nikon D40 and Canon 400D..
anson18
post Feb 8 2010, 10:40 AM

55 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : semipro camera
Budget : RM1500+-
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : panasonic or Nikon
Any specific models in mind? : LX3,fz35 and P90

which is better?Pls help..coz i wanna buy camera in this week. sweat.gif
orangetangerine83
post Feb 8 2010, 01:43 PM

21 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories: DSLR
Budget: RM3000
Your Location: PJ/KL
Preferable brand: Sony
Type of photography u want to do: Pro-sumer
Any specific models in mind?: A550
Any specific features u want?: none

Suggest me ~~, TQ smile.gif
yogi1992
post Feb 8 2010, 02:16 PM

140 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Canon 50mm f1.4 USM
Budget: The best price i can get from shop/Do you sell it.
Your Location: Cheras, KL
Preferable brand : Canon/Sigma
Any specific models in mind? : Sigma Lens 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM or Canon 50mm f1.4 USM

Any Shop can get good price? Around Bukit Bintang area?

This post has been edited by yogi1992: Feb 8 2010, 02:17 PM
fakey
post Feb 8 2010, 04:35 PM

i saw a quite good camera, not sure whether to buy it or not
just for the purpose of traveling icon_rolleyes.gif

it is the latest camera from sony, dsc-w380
please help me to decide rclxub.gif

Thanks in advance
TheWandererX
post Feb 8 2010, 04:41 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 7 2010, 09:42 AM)
i agree with andrew9292

the thing is, the subject of which entry-level SLR to get (so that's d3000, 1000d, d5000, 500d, 450d, a550 n so on) has been asked to many times, so over time people get tired of answering it.

im proposing a pinned thread for introduction to DSLR for beginners. explain whats the difference among brands, importance of lenses, etc. maybe i can contribute a bit for nikon, but im stil a beginner myself n dont know much abt other brands

on the other hand, Destro89 and andrew9292, u can juz go read the past posts at the Wanna buy new camera thread. a lot of people asked the same questions already. they may not be much, but the general consensus is probably like this:

for a budget of 3k, get a 2k camera (that'd be nikon d3000 or canon 1000D), then spend the rest on a fast lens and a cheap flashgun. if u want video, then get d5000 or 500d, n start saving up for flash n lens cuz both are important.

to decide between nikon or canon, juz try both at a shop n see which one u like. dun let the salesperson influence u cuz some prefer this brand some prefer another. another good idea is to get the brand most of ur friends use. that way easier for u to learn abt the camera, borrow lens, etc

sorry i cant comment much for sony, pentax etc
Ditto. I suggest we do so. And just to add, I really dislike brand wars in here. Occasionally one or two dimwits step in here, and start mouthing off at our recommendation. Hello, we're offering our help here? Most of us have experience with other cameras and know which is best, and if it's Nikon and/or Canon, is there anything to fight about? All those talk about 'fanboying' in this thread... I think a global, dedicated post would be good.

Anyone up for it? I would do it.

QUOTE(anson18 @ Feb 8 2010, 10:40 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : semipro camera
Budget : RM1500+-
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : panasonic or Nikon
Any specific models in mind? : LX3,fz35 and P90

which is better?Pls help..coz i wanna buy camera in this week. sweat.gif
Why not bump up your budget a tiny bit, and get the Canon Powershot S90/G11? These two are really good cameras, compared to the latter. The LX-3 is good, but it's a bit backward already. It's been in the market for some time. If you really need the zoom then go for the FZ35 unless you're able to push your budget up to get a Canon Powershot SX. P90 is really horrible. Contrary to what Nikon produces in their DSLRs the PnS cameras are not up to par at all.

QUOTE(yogi1992 @ Feb 8 2010, 02:16 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Canon 50mm f1.4 USM
Budget: The best price i can get from shop/Do you sell it.
Your Location:   Cheras, KL
Preferable brand :  Canon/Sigma
Any specific models in mind? :  Sigma Lens 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM or Canon 50mm f1.4 USM

Any Shop can get good price? Around Bukit Bintang area?
I'm not so sure about Bukit Bintang, or where to get, I don't go out much. As for lens choice, I'd suggest you stick with the Canon's own 50 1.4. It's much better. Unless you're looking for a budget 70-200 2.8 or 17-50 2.8, I personally wouldn't really consider any 3rd party lens, put the special lenses aside (fisheye, macro etc).
yogi1992
post Feb 8 2010, 05:52 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 8 2010, 12:41 AM)
Ditto. I suggest we do so. And just to add, I really dislike brand wars in here. Occasionally one or two dimwits step in here, and start mouthing off at our recommendation. Hello, we're offering our help here? Most of us have experience with other cameras and know which is best, and if it's Nikon and/or Canon, is there anything to fight about? All those talk about 'fanboying' in this thread... I think a global, dedicated post would be good.

Anyone up for it? I would do it.
Why not bump up your budget a tiny bit, and get the Canon Powershot S90/G11? These two are really good cameras, compared to the latter. The LX-3 is good, but it's a bit backward already. It's been in the market for some time. If you really need the zoom then go for the FZ35 unless you're able to push your budget up to get a Canon Powershot SX. P90 is really horrible. Contrary to what Nikon produces in their DSLRs the PnS cameras are not up to par at all.
I'm not so sure about Bukit Bintang, or where to get, I don't go out much. As for lens choice, I'd suggest you stick with the Canon's own 50 1.4. It's much better. Unless you're looking for a budget 70-200 2.8 or 17-50 2.8, I personally wouldn't really consider any 3rd party lens, put the special lenses aside (fisheye, macro etc).
thanks. Where do you buy ur lens?
anson18
post Feb 8 2010, 06:38 PM

55 posts

thanks TheWandererX for the reply.
Ya i knew LX3 is quite backward already but since the price is still high,From majority view and image quality, LX3 or FZ35 better?
TheWandererX
post Feb 8 2010, 06:56 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(fakey @ Feb 8 2010, 04:35 PM)
i saw a quite good camera, not sure whether to buy it or not
just for the purpose of traveling  icon_rolleyes.gif

it is the latest camera from sony, dsc-w380
please help me to decide  rclxub.gif

Thanks in advance
I'd like to know your budget and your needs. A casual snapshot camera or a superzoom?

QUOTE(yogi1992 @ Feb 8 2010, 05:52 PM)
thanks. Where do you buy ur lens?
I get mine from DigitalsMania/YL. Two of the reputable sellers in KL. I don't know of many though.

QUOTE(anson18 @ Feb 8 2010, 06:38 PM)
Ya i knew LX3 is quite backward already but since the price is still high,From majority view and image quality, LX3 or FZ35 better?
I'd say the LX3 due to its bigger sensor. The FZ35 is targeted towards the superzoom category, whilst the LX3 is targeted at the pixel-peeping crowds. I find it weird that the price wouldn't drop although it's been out in the market for a while now.
Harrylbr
post Feb 8 2010, 07:39 PM

79 posts

need to know canon 50mm and nissin di622 cheaper price are how much?where to buy is better?
yogi1992
post Feb 8 2010, 08:41 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 8 2010, 02:56 AM)
I get mine from DigitalsMania/YL. Two of the reputable sellers in KL. I don't know of many though.
where is the place?
dvlzplayground
post Feb 8 2010, 08:48 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(anson18 @ Feb 8 2010, 06:38 PM)
price still high because demand still high tongue.gif

image quality LX3 wins for the bigger sensor. if u dun mind the size, i think fz35 is more suitable to most people...zoom comes in handy at times
mastering89
post Feb 8 2010, 08:50 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

Hi my cousing planning to buy 2nd / used dslr and saw an olympus e520 twinlens kit for rm1800 and all other stuff...

juz to know e520 is if compared to sony, nikon and canon models are which model equivalent. and is the price rm1800 good??
TheWandererX
post Feb 8 2010, 08:55 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(yogi1992 @ Feb 8 2010, 08:41 PM)
where is the place?
Pudu Plaza.

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 8 2010, 08:48 PM)
price still high because demand still high tongue.gif

image quality LX3 wins for the bigger sensor. if u dun mind the size, i think fz35 is more suitable to most people...zoom comes in handy at times
Haha, agreed. Oh well, even with the measly zoom it still is a hit. Expect to see the Powershot S90 overtake though. It is quite much better.

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Feb 8 2010, 08:50 PM)
Hi my cousing planning to buy 2nd / used dslr and saw an olympus e520 twinlens kit for rm1800 and all other stuff...

juz to know e520 is if compared to sony, nikon and canon models are which model equivalent. and is the price rm1800 good??
Canon EOS 1000D, Nikon D3000 and practically, almost all of the Sony a2xx/3xx models. The price is mediocre... and I can tell you the image quality is mediocre too. It's safe to say even Sony's entry-level outdoes the E-520.

184 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:05 AM