Nikon D90 v5

faiz92
post Jan 9 2010, 04:38 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Jan 9 2010, 04:27 PM)
D90 owner,
try to shoot RAW and JPEG and did u notice that RAW picture is much much much sharper~! try to shoot same thing, using tripod with same setting. smile.gif

Added on January 9, 2010, 4:34 pm
using lightroom also can create almost like HDR one bro smile.gif

using photomatix also can with the 3 bracketing picture
photoshop i dont know
yeap. but RAW size is hugeee laugh.gif laugh.gif
And not to forget, upload your picture in good hosting. smile.gif
Isepunye
post Jan 9 2010, 04:57 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(faiz92 @ Jan 9 2010, 04:38 PM)
yeap. but RAW size is hugeee laugh.gif  laugh.gif
And not to forget, upload your picture in good hosting. smile.gif
hahah flickr. my house internet got problem uploading flickrr last time. damn slow la....
faiz92
post Jan 9 2010, 05:51 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Jan 9 2010, 04:57 PM)
hahah flickr. my house internet got problem uploading flickrr last time. damn slow la....
memang like that one lahh. i rather wait longer to have super awesome pics. tongue.gif
anyone going to Nikon center today? biggrin.gif
noobie1
post Jan 9 2010, 07:12 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Jan 9 2010, 04:27 PM)
D90 owner,
try to shoot RAW and JPEG and did u notice that RAW picture is much much much sharper~! try to shoot same thing, using tripod with same setting. smile.gif

Added on January 9, 2010, 4:34 pm
using lightroom also can create almost like HDR one bro smile.gif

using photomatix also can with the 3 bracketing picture
photoshop i dont know
ok..thanks for the info...
about the raw...hmmm...what u mean by much much sharper??

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 9 2010, 04:38 PM)
D90 owners can try this,

Shoot Jpeg + RAW.

Then convert the RAW to Jpeg using CaptureNX/ViewNX. You'll notice differences smile.gif.
plain raw st8 convert?? or need edit something??
dvlzplayground
post Jan 9 2010, 07:24 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

isnt JPEG theoretically sharper than RAW? since got in-camera sharpening ;p dunno lah

4 me the best advantage of RAW is WB...when adjust WB in PP very accurate, compared to JPEGs. 2nd is exposure. so i only shoot RAW when it's very dark or i cant decide which WB setting looks better hehe

but most of the time JPEG 4 me. save space
celciuz
post Jan 9 2010, 08:37 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jan 9 2010, 07:12 PM)
ok..thanks for the info...
about the raw...hmmm...what u mean by much much sharper??
plain raw st8 convert?? or need edit something??
If you were to convert from RAW to JPEG using Nikon CaptureNX or ViewNX, the picture control settings will be intact. Thus, all the sharpening, color, d-lighting and etc will be applied.

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 9 2010, 07:24 PM)
isnt JPEG theoretically sharper than RAW? since got in-camera sharpening ;p dunno lah

4 me the best advantage of RAW is WB...when adjust WB in PP very accurate, compared to JPEGs. 2nd is exposure. so i only shoot RAW when it's very dark or i cant decide which WB setting looks better hehe

If you use CaptureNX/ViewNX, sharpening from camera settings would be applied too.
noobie1
post Jan 9 2010, 09:04 PM

2,538 posts

ok..will try it when i got the time...XD
shmu80
post Jan 9 2010, 10:14 PM

15 posts

PM me the price for
50mm F1.8
still have warranty?
filter?
zackskate666
post Jan 9 2010, 10:23 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(faiz92 @ Jan 9 2010, 05:51 PM)
memang like that one lahh. i rather wait longer to have super awesome pics. tongue.gif
anyone going to Nikon center today? biggrin.gif
yeah..i go today to nikon centre..today show theme is cheong sam..damn,didnt bring an stool to get higher ground..apart from that,my sb600 fail me today..not enough lighting.i think its time for sb-900 to replace the sb-600..anybody else went there??

Added on January 9, 2010, 10:28 pmtoday manage to test few lens on my d200 & gf d90 body..10.5 fish eye,105mm f2,12-24 f4 and also the new 70-200mmvrII..demn,the focusing speed is very2 fast compare to my tammy..1 click teros lock seyh...

This post has been edited by zackskate666: Jan 9 2010, 10:28 PM
HiroBoroi
post Jan 9 2010, 10:32 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 9 2010, 07:24 PM)

What is the advantage of doing that? hmm.gif
fisherman10
post Jan 9 2010, 10:40 PM

1,372 posts

raw can keep details up to almost 5 stops if i'm not wrong. i read that somewhere before.

what i think he'll do is, shoot it underexposed so that can use a faster shutter, then later only boost exposure from computer.
RAW also allows u to control noise better.
noobie1
post Jan 9 2010, 10:42 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(shmu80 @ Jan 9 2010, 10:14 PM)
PM me the price for
50mm F1.8
still have warranty?
filter?
err...what u trying to do here???
HiroBoroi
post Jan 9 2010, 10:59 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 9 2010, 10:40 PM)
raw can keep details up to almost 5 stops if i'm not wrong. i read that somewhere before.

what i think he'll do is, shoot it underexposed so that can use a faster shutter, then later only boost exposure from computer.
RAW also allows u to control noise better.
5 stops? shocking.gif That can't be right. shakehead.gif Perhaps you can provide the link. hmm.gif
fisherman10
post Jan 9 2010, 11:15 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Jan 9 2010, 10:59 PM)
5 stops?  shocking.gif That can't be right.  shakehead.gif Perhaps you can provide the link.  hmm.gif
probably it wont look as good as if u snapped it at the correct exposure, but the amount of detail retained is a lot more compared to jpeg. very much more dynamic range retained. = more chances of a spoiled shot to be saved.

see this - http://photodoto.com/raw-vs-jpg-correcting...rover-exposure/ 3 stops over n under comparison.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qSB2jP7Awbc

jsc_tidus
post Jan 9 2010, 11:20 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Jan 9 2010, 10:32 PM)
What is the advantage of doing that?  hmm.gif
i wanna know too.. maybe got VR tech inside RAW shooting.. ehehehhe doh.gif
noobie1
post Jan 9 2010, 11:38 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 9 2010, 11:15 PM)
probably it wont look as good as if u snapped it at the correct exposure, but the amount of detail retained is a lot more compared to jpeg. very much more dynamic range retained. = more chances of a spoiled shot to be saved.

see this  - http://photodoto.com/raw-vs-jpg-correcting...rover-exposure/ 3 stops over n under comparison.

er..that youtube make me more confuse...=.= coz the people owaz change the pic and i dont know which is raw and which is jpeg...
HiroBoroi
post Jan 9 2010, 11:42 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 9 2010, 11:15 PM)

see this  - http://photodoto.com/raw-vs-jpg-correcting...rover-exposure/ 3 stops over n under comparison.

Thank you for the link. The youtube video ... very enlightening. shocking.gif
fisherman10
post Jan 9 2010, 11:46 PM

1,372 posts

basically the utube vid shows that a lot more details are retained in raw even in the clipped areas.
noobie1
post Jan 10 2010, 12:01 AM

2,538 posts

so from now on shoot raw or jpeg or raw+jpeg better?? i am confuse now hmm.gif
i am lazy type people...tongue.gif

This post has been edited by noobie1: Jan 10 2010, 12:02 AM
fisherman10
post Jan 10 2010, 12:03 AM

1,372 posts

if u're not sure den better stay with jpeg. until u're really sure of what is raw, what it can do and what can u do with what it can do, then only snap raw.

126 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0336sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:11 PM