Paint, buy where?

enriquelee
post Jun 23 2016, 10:42 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(darrenlfw87 @ Jun 23 2016, 03:25 AM)
Hi ppl,

My ID told me my existing house does not need sealers or undercoat for the interior walls coz the existing paint is good enough. Is that true?
Yes, you can skip sealer or undercoat if the existing paint is still in good condition.
darrenlfw87
post Jun 23 2016, 01:39 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Jun 23 2016, 10:42 AM)
Yes, you can skip sealer or undercoat if the existing paint is still in good condition.
Thanks!
darrenlfw87
post Jun 24 2016, 06:19 AM

144 posts

anyone use nippon water repellent solution before?
Ryannate
post Jun 25 2016, 11:54 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(darrenlfw87 @ Jun 23 2016, 03:41 AM)
which paint has good bonding and hiding character? my ID told me i dun need to undercoat the existing wall paint. So i think i better buy a good final finish wall paint. but dunno which brand
If the existing finishing is good, then you may skip the undercoat or sealer. Do making sure that the existing finishing not to thick in thickness. If so, when you apply new finishing paint it may cause peeling.

For iron or wood surface, best method is sand first n remove exiting paint unless previously was using water base paint.

Which brand would you think of? Or did your ID recommended any to u?
darrenlfw87
post Jun 27 2016, 03:18 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(Ryannate @ Jun 25 2016, 11:54 PM)
If the existing finishing is good, then you may skip the undercoat or sealer. Do making sure that the existing finishing not to thick in thickness. If so, when you apply new finishing paint it may cause peeling.

For iron or wood surface, best method is sand first n remove exiting paint unless previously was using water base paint.

Which brand would you think of? Or did your ID recommended any to u?
okies thanks!!! I bought jotun
Petre
post Aug 1 2016, 09:08 AM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

will be moving into a rented house soon, some of the interior walls are not too desirable aka dirty, plan to repaint it but have limited budget

can anyone suggest what i should get? i think will just paint it white
spreeeee
post Aug 1 2016, 09:14 AM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Aug 1 2016, 09:08 AM)
will be moving into a rented house soon, some of the interior walls are not too desirable aka dirty, plan to repaint it but have limited budget

well.. start off with paint shop surrounding your area, their prices could be competitive among the others (no point driving far to get cheaper paint - the $ u saved could only be contra-off with your petrol/toll/time). set-up your mind what u need/do, rather than few trips round.. yah, white is the safest color biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by spreeeee: Aug 1 2016, 09:15 AM
ozak
post Aug 1 2016, 11:17 AM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Aug 1 2016, 09:08 AM)

Why don't ask the owner do it before move in ?

Take it or leave it ?
ck2chan
post Aug 2 2016, 12:35 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 1 2016, 11:17 AM)

Take it or leave it ?
If the owner stingy, he will factor that into the rental like my old landlord. devil.gif
henshin80
post Aug 2 2016, 11:29 AM

39 posts

my contractor suggest use Nippon Easy wash for interior wall. is this good paint type to use?

what are other comparable brand?

ozak
post Aug 2 2016, 12:13 PM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(henshin80 @ Aug 2 2016, 11:29 AM)
my contractor suggest use Nippon Easy wash for interior wall. is this good paint type to use?

what are other comparable brand?
What kind of finishing you looking for?

It is comparison to the ICI pearl glo.

A semi gloss paint.
henshin80
post Aug 2 2016, 12:35 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 2 2016, 12:13 PM)
What kind of finishing you looking for?

It is comparison to the ICI pearl glo.

A semi gloss paint.
is it mid range or low range in term of price?
aiming for matte finish
ozak
post Aug 2 2016, 01:29 PM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(henshin80 @ Aug 2 2016, 12:35 PM)
is it mid range or low range in term of price?
aiming for matte finish
It is not low range.

It does not give matt finish.
peri peri
post Aug 3 2016, 05:07 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

QUOTE(darrenlfw87 @ Jun 23 2016, 03:25 AM)
Hi ppl,

My ID told me my existing house does not need sealers or undercoat for the interior walls coz the existing paint is good enough. Is that true?
too many layer of finished coat can caused paint peeling of in future. Make sure you get the right paint for it.
Petre
post Aug 4 2016, 05:01 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 1 2016, 11:17 AM)

Take it or leave it ?
QUOTE(ck2chan @ Aug 2 2016, 12:35 AM)
If the owner stingy, he will factor that into the rental like my old landlord.  devil.gif
landlord super stingy, so i decided to paint myself

what is a affordable brand/model? i just need to repaint the interior wall with white, safe for children is a must

tqvm sifus smile.gif
ozak
post Aug 4 2016, 05:08 PM

17,022 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Aug 4 2016, 05:01 PM)

what is a affordable brand/model? i just need to repaint the interior wall with white, safe for children is a must

tqvm sifus smile.gif
Nippon, jotun and dulux. This are the main brand.

The normal interior white is good enough. It is safe for people. Nowaday paint is lead free.
ck2chan
post Aug 5 2016, 12:23 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Aug 4 2016, 05:01 PM)

tqvm sifus smile.gif
http://www.nipponpaint.com.my/virusguard

http://www.nipponpaint.com.my/products/top...ur-less-AirCare

Odourless 5L should be enough for small area.

http://mrpaintshop.com.my/Contact-Us.php
peri peri
post Aug 5 2016, 10:14 AM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

most paint are safe unless u talk about allegic
nobody83
post Aug 5 2016, 02:50 PM

123 posts

For those wall patched up after hacking, should apply sealer b4 wallpaper or new paint?
hondaracer
post Aug 6 2016, 02:16 AM

1,616 posts

QUOTE(hondaracer @ Sep 15 2015, 09:18 AM)
Hi all,

I need painting service for condo, 2383 sqft. Kitchen n toilets fully tiled.

(1) interior walls,
(2) Grills for 2 balcony and 1 main front firerated door,
(3) ceiling
(4) door - 8 doors (excl front main door)
(5) skim coat interior walls (no need for toilets n kitchens as tileup to ceiling). Some walls that will be boarded up as wardrobe so no need.
(6) 5-6 colors for rooms incl living and dining room

Need primer/sealant and 2 coats of paint.

Pls quote labor and materials excl paint.
i got quotation at RM 3K for labour.

65 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0238sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:34 AM