Paint, buy where?

Eng_Tat
post Dec 16 2009, 09:21 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 15 2009, 10:26 PM)
bro, all ur color quite strong. house got look dark? got photo to share ah biggrin.gif
i try to look for it:P now got no camera with me.
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 16 2009, 10:39 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 15 2009, 09:55 PM)

Matt Odourless - RM135
Mid Sheen Satin Glo - RM100
odourless 5litre RCP is RM 180.00 you can push the dealer down to as low as Rm 140

odourless white price is cheaper...

but I would not recommend odourless as it is only to unodour the smell.. which normal paint need to unodour few weeks...

so, you pay more for the time save... not long term effect

Added on December 16, 2009, 10:41 am
QUOTE(trdcelica @ Dec 16 2009, 12:03 AM)
Eh, bro..Satin Glo 100 bucks ah? W/Bond also cheaper than that wor in Ipoh..
satin glo RCP is RM 136.00 for 5 litres.... price can go as low las RM 110.... or maybe lower...

weatherbond cost about RM 390.00 for 20 litres....

P/S I reserve some percent of profit for dealer.... and the price that I quote that is lowest are sometime deemed as project price...

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Dec 16 2009, 10:41 AM
cybersim2
post Dec 16 2009, 12:00 PM

503 posts

Dear all sifu, if my area roughly needed around 6lit of paint, i need to buy one 5lit and one 1lit paint rite. So is it advisable to mix the 2 can of paints first b4 i start painting or i can start wif the 1lit can first, then 5lit next ? I worry the paint color wont match tongue.gif
TSChester
post Dec 16 2009, 12:05 PM

2,380 posts

Hm, the reason i choose Odourless is not because of its Odourless, but due to its color only available in Odourless range..
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 16 2009, 05:30 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 16 2009, 01:05 PM)
Hm, the reason i choose Odourless is not because of its Odourless, but due to its color only available in Odourless range..
yeap... to be frank, it is also quite hard to clean it...

when back home with my hand dirty, my wife scold me and ask me to wash.. take me ages to clean it with shampoo doh.gif
trdcelica
post Dec 16 2009, 10:57 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Dec 16 2009, 11:39 AM)
odourless 5litre RCP is RM 180.00 you can push the dealer down to as low as Rm 140

odourless white price is cheaper...

but I would not recommend odourless as it is only to unodour the smell.. which normal paint need to unodour few weeks...

so, you pay more for the time save... not long term effect

Added on December 16, 2009, 10:41 am
satin glo RCP is RM 136.00 for 5 litres.... price can go as low las RM 110.... or maybe lower...

weatherbond cost about RM 390.00 for 20 litres....

P/S I reserve some percent of profit for dealer.... and the price that I quote that is lowest are sometime deemed as project price...
20L of course project la..difference of around 30-40%
why satin glo so mahal d..pearl glo selling for RM9x only..

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Dec 16 2009, 01:00 PM)
Dear all sifu, if my area roughly needed around 6lit of paint, i need to buy one 5lit and one 1lit paint rite. So is it advisable to mix the 2 can of paints first b4 i start painting or i can start wif the 1lit can first, then 5lit next ? I worry the paint color wont match tongue.gif
Yes..it is advisable to mix the two cans of paint together to avoid having two colors..

QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 16 2009, 01:05 PM)
I'm afraid you've got it wrong...colors can be mixed with a multicolor tinting machine with whatever paint in your mind except for those emulsion paint..light colors can be mixed with cheap emulsion paint also..

Let's say you want the color OW2 31A, and the color is only available in the Odourlite section of the catalogue..You can always opt to mix the color with Satin Glo or Vinilex or Weatherbond, Gloss 9000 and so on..
If that shop have more than one machine, they can mix with other brand also provided that shop knows HOW TO mix with other brand..

TSChester
post Dec 17 2009, 07:27 AM

2,380 posts

hi trdcelica, tks for the advise. yes you are right, went to ACE hardware ystday. however they do not have ready color. only mix when cust want to buy. somehow i wanted to buy those ready factory-made. is there such thing?

im afraid if i buy not enough, they have to mix again. when mix again the color might be diff already..
keemajujaya
post Dec 17 2009, 10:30 AM

QUOTE(trdcelica @ Dec 16 2009, 10:57 PM)
20L of course project la..difference of around 30-40%
why satin glo so mahal d..pearl glo selling for RM9x only..

satin glo features.....

1) washable
2) anti fungus
3) non lead added
asiatrader98
post Dec 17 2009, 11:19 AM

1,485 posts

likely or not, less than 2 weeks....to re-paint my whole new 2.5 sty hse (subsale) only one chinese experience painter....anyone can give the advise for this issue? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Dec 17 2009, 11:20 AM
keemajujaya
post Dec 17 2009, 01:42 PM

QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 17 2009, 07:27 AM)

im afraid if i buy not enough, they have to mix again. when mix again the color might be diff already..
definately... minimum 3-5% hue difference
TSChester
post Dec 17 2009, 03:15 PM

2,380 posts

is there ready made nippon paint or all also shop mix themself?
keemajujaya
post Dec 17 2009, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 17 2009, 03:15 PM)
is there ready made nippon paint or all also shop mix themself?
the main objectives of colour creation or machine mix concept is to lessen dealer`s budget not to stock full range...

imagine this...

one can cost RM 50.00 for dealer

and 20 colour for one range.... and he would to stock 3 range of 60 can...

for colour creation, it solve this problem with only need to stock base....

so, it depends on the dealer if he opt for colour creation or not...

else, the ready made is pre mix at factory

there`s definately slight difference in hue

This post has been edited by keemajujaya: Dec 17 2009, 04:02 PM
trdcelica
post Dec 18 2009, 10:48 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 17 2009, 08:27 AM)
hi trdcelica, tks for the advise. yes you are right, went to ACE hardware ystday. however they do not have ready color. only mix when cust want to buy. somehow i wanted to buy those ready factory-made. is there such thing?

Yes, for certain brand, they still have paint directly mixed from their factory. Jotun Paint for example, they do not have ready-made..
If you mix from the shop and return to the shop to buy another can of paint, the colour will be same as long as it's not too long..
eg. if you buy a can of green colour paint today and return to the shop to further purchase another can of the same colour, you won't get two different colours given the shop mentioned is using the same batch of base and the same can of tinter inside the canister of the machine..

QUOTE(keemajujaya @ Dec 17 2009, 11:30 AM)
satin glo features.....

1) washable
2) anti fungus
3) non lead added
pardon me, are you saying that ICI Dulux Pearl Glo or Jotun Majestic Pearl Silk do not have features that you mentioned above?
I do not hope to offend you but those features that you mentioned can easily be found in any premium paint.

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Dec 17 2009, 12:19 PM)
likely or not, less than 2 weeks....to re-paint my whole new 2.5 sty hse (subsale) only one chinese experience painter....anyone can give the advise for this issue? hmm.gif
It still depends on the painter. Some experienced painters can paint very fast but some experienced painters can take a long time to paint due to their level of satisfaction(The results on the wall).

This post has been edited by trdcelica: Dec 18 2009, 10:49 PM
TSChester
post Dec 19 2009, 12:36 PM

2,380 posts

Bought Nippon Spotless,

5 tong for interior wall
1 tong for feature wall
1 big tong of Maxilite for ceiling.
Spotless is RM105/tong, they mix for me. Ready stock is cheaper but color less choice.
Maxilite, RM62

Im told i bought too many tongs for my 1000sq apartment? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Chester: Dec 19 2009, 12:36 PM
Awakened_Angel
post Dec 19 2009, 10:36 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 19 2009, 01:36 PM)
Spotless is RM105/tong, they mix for me. Ready stock is cheaper but color less choice.

do you know that dealer yield less margin for ready stock compared to machine mixed?

Added on December 20, 2009, 12:16 pm
QUOTE(trdcelica @ Dec 18 2009, 11:48 PM)

pardon me, are you saying that ICI Dulux Pearl Glo or Jotun Majestic Pearl Silk do not have features that you mentioned above?
I do not hope to offend you but those features that you mentioned can easily be found in any premium paint.

it is an range to range comparison in Nippon paint which you asked smile.gif

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Dec 20 2009, 12:16 PM
trdcelica
post Dec 20 2009, 12:46 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Dec 19 2009, 11:36 PM)
it is an range to range comparison in Nippon paint which you asked  smile.gif
But I stated why Satin Glo is so expensive while Pearl Glo is selling at around RM9x...
Maybe you missed that...
cybersim2
post Dec 22 2009, 09:33 PM

503 posts

Jotun Majestic got the color that I want that Jotun Strax dont have. I prefer Jotun Strax bcoz it is cheaper. Can I ask the shop to mix the color for me using Jotun Strax ?
TSChester
post Dec 22 2009, 09:40 PM

2,380 posts

cybersim2., i think can. thats the use of color creation machine. but expect color that u need to mix instead of those ready made to be slightly more expensive..
trdcelica
post Dec 23 2009, 12:00 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Dec 22 2009, 10:33 PM)
Jotun Majestic got the color that I want that Jotun Strax dont have. I prefer Jotun Strax bcoz it is cheaper. Can I ask the shop to mix the color for me using Jotun Strax ?
Yes..

QUOTE(Chester @ Dec 22 2009, 10:40 PM)
cybersim2., i think can. thats the use of color creation machine. but expect color that u need to mix instead of those ready made to be slightly more expensive..
FYI, for Jotun, there's no more ready-made 5Ltr paint with colors...Even the standard colors you find on the catalog have to be mixed with the multicolor machine and price depends on the color...
TSChester
post Dec 23 2009, 08:45 AM

2,380 posts

ahh..trdcelica u're really familiar with paint! ha! hey say i want to paint my 1100sq apartment, 6 tongs of 5L paint enough?

65 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:51 AM