Did u guy apply primer or sealer before u paint ? Izit necessary ?
How to patch up crack or nail hole ?
Paint, buy where?
Dec 2 2009, 04:31 PM
503 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: CatCity |
Did u guy apply primer or sealer before u paint ? Izit necessary ?
How to patch up crack or nail hole ? |
Dec 3 2009, 08:43 AM
Wat if my new house oredi been painted white paint but I wan to paint other colour. The original paint is of poor quality type.. dusty n chaulky.
Need sealer or primer first ? |
Dec 6 2009, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(trdcelica @ Dec 6 2009, 01:36 AM) It is good that they painted it with cheap emulsion paint. For a new house, the dampness of the wall is still there and it'll taken around 24 months to dry up completely. The dampness cannot be seen using your bare eyes and you can only know that if the wall is damp with a device called protimeter. The reason why I said it is good is because the cheap emulsion paint has a lot of powder as you said it is chalky. And the damp wall can be dried up faster when you applied emulsion paint on it. For the powder to be absorbed. Wow ! Very detail explaination. Thank you. You must be a profesional painter. Some people who might have a little knowledge about paint would suggest you to apply sealer, be it the solvent-based sealer or the water-based sealer. Like what blasto said above about the ACE Hardware. They hired sales person who are not so familiar with paints and they might just know which color is nice and which one isn't. People who knows about paint(with experience) will know that what I said above is right. However, you might still opt for the premium matt emulsion(Pentalite for Dulux, Strax for Jotun and etc.) which has less gum than premium shining interior paint(Pearl Glo, Satin Silk, Majestic Pearl Silk). If you apply those shining paint, then you wall will most likely have something like water mark or damp mark due to its dampness. This is because the gum blocks the wall from being dried up. The same goes to sealer. If you apply sealer, the wall most likely won't dried up so fast or dry up later than usual. Ok, if you want to change the colors, the cheap emulsion still have plenty of colors for you to choose. If you want expensive paint, like what I mentioned above, you can still opt for the premium matt finishes. My recommendation, Cheap paint: - JOTUN Jotaplast - KCC Koreton Plus - Pacific Newlite - Sissons Masonry Expensive Paint - JOTUN Strax Matt - KCC Koreton Ezy Clean - Sissons Super Siscolux Try not to choose ICI Dulux for it is overpriced and the quality has gone down since a few years ago. And also try not to choose Nippon Paint for their quality is even worse than ICI Dulux and what I can say is the one of the worst paint is Nippon Paint. Sorry for if I offenced some of you. Feel free to ask me more. 1. May I know among the cheap paint u recommend, which one is the best ? I heard Jotun got a machine where we can mix the color. 2. Do I need to mix the paint with water? Someone told me 1 part of water to 10 part of paint. How to measure ah ? 3. 5 liter paint can cover how many sqrft of wall ? 4. Any recommended masking tape that wont peel of the paint ? |
Dec 7 2009, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(blasto @ Dec 7 2009, 12:26 AM) what a sunday .... some pictures for all... Y do u keep ur thing inside fridge ? so far this is my favrouite roller (recycle but performance best) got for rm5 each. The green (2nd color) 1st coat. this is how i keep my tools. jk Wat do u mean by recycle roller ? I tot every roller can be wash and use to paint different color of paint ? Am i rite ? This post has been edited by cybersim2: Dec 7 2009, 09:44 PM |
Dec 8 2009, 09:07 AM
My house door oredi been painted dark chocolate paint but the workmanship very poor. Think to repaint the door.
Do I need to sand/scrap off the old paint ? What type I paint do I need to buy ? I think the original paint is oil based glossy paint. I heard spraying is better but wat tool do I need ? |
Dec 9 2009, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(blasto @ Dec 8 2009, 04:27 PM) my workmanship lagi teruk... I think the door quality is poor, surface very rough. They haven't clean the door yet, full of cement stain/dusk. I oso headache now.. duno how to clean all the thing. your door overlapping paint or uneven paint or dripping paint ? can you update us with a picture of the door ? (i think with picture, pros here can advise better) spraying... you need a very powerfull compressor... the paint is very thick. |
Dec 13 2009, 10:12 PM
Normally ppl choose a wall as a theme wall. But Inot sure which wall to choose. For master bedroom izit the wall behind the bed and for living room izit the wall behind the TV cabinet ? Any idea which color to paint the theme wall if most of my furniture bed is chocolote color ? FYI, all my wall is white color now.
Dec 14 2009, 09:24 PM
Jotun Strax Matt 5 lit cheapest can get how much ?
Dec 16 2009, 12:00 PM
Dear all sifu, if my area roughly needed around 6lit of paint, i need to buy one 5lit and one 1lit paint rite. So is it advisable to mix the 2 can of paints first b4 i start painting or i can start wif the 1lit can first, then 5lit next ? I worry the paint color wont match
Dec 22 2009, 09:33 PM
Jotun Majestic got the color that I want that Jotun Strax dont have. I prefer Jotun Strax bcoz it is cheaper. Can I ask the shop to mix the color for me using Jotun Strax ?
Dec 23 2009, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(trdcelica @ Dec 23 2009, 12:00 AM) Yes.. So u mean standard color and mix color cost the same price ? I saw Jotun got 5 lit paint while KCC paint mostly in big drum.FYI, for Jotun, there's no more ready-made 5Ltr paint with colors...Even the standard colors you find on the catalog have to be mixed with the multicolor machine and price depends on the color... |
Dec 26 2009, 05:15 PM
10sqft of area need 1 lit paint izit correct ?
Try to figure out how much paint to buy here. The cheaper Jotun Matt Strax I can get here is RM84. Not sure wan to buy sealer o not, RM70 for 18 lit.. izit necessary ? |
Jan 4 2010, 01:35 PM
May I know what is USG Scheme Coat or ASG ?
| Change to: | 0.0201sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:38 PM |