might take 0001 based on the picture below
Which JOTUN Showroom you went to?
neo_6053
post May 9 2021, 12:45 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(rylim @ Apr 22 2021, 08:45 PM)
For interior paint, should I go for Jotun, Nippon, or Dulux? Which one is better?

I'm looking for white color.
I got the same question. I got kids at home, and wish to have something easy to clean.
I went to HomePro, the sales recommend Nippon Easy Wash.
But my friend say easy wash is not good enough, better get something higher grade or sheen. like Jotun majestic
since my house is only about 900+sf, he say cost wont different that much.
is that so? Any recommended brand?

This post has been edited by neo_6053: May 9 2021, 01:48 PM
SUSceo684
post May 9 2021, 12:56 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ May 9 2021, 12:45 PM)
I got the same question. I got kids at home, and wish to have something easy to clean.
But my friend say easy wash is not good enough, better get something higher grade or sheen.
Easywash able to wipe clean for light stains like squashed bugs on the wall with just a damp tissue.

For "heavy abuse" external factors like crayons, marker pen, pencils, or dark plastic chair scuffed the white wall, I don't think emulsion paint will suffice.
neo_6053
post May 9 2021, 01:39 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 9 2021, 12:56 PM)
Easywash able to wipe clean for light stains like squashed bugs on the wall with just a damp tissue.

For "heavy abuse" external factors like crayons, marker pen, pencils, or dark plastic chair scuffed the white wall, I don't think emulsion paint will suffice.
I see I see... so, any recommended series/brand?

i saw in nippon brochure, the spot-less seems not bad .. virus guard and odourless would be best, but i guess would be expensive.
https://www.nipponpaint.com.my/assets/np-co...-collection.pdf

but 2 of my contractor also recommend Jotun somehow

SUSceo684
post May 9 2021, 02:17 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ May 9 2021, 01:39 PM)
I see I see...  so, any recommended series/brand?

i saw in nippon brochure, the spot-less seems not bad .. virus guard and odourless would be best, but i guess would be expensive.

Anything above absolute cheapest 7L RM35 matex will be OK.
Easywash will work fine already.
No need to waste money on paint above minimum standard since your walls are in good condition i presume? The easywash already tick all the core function incl long lasting colour (since the pigment for easywash and higher comes from same mixing machine) brows.gif

Absolute cheapest matex memang cut corners alot in the base material and pigment so thats why it only come in fixed colours, it is cheap for CSR project.

Many of my neighbours' contractor also use easywash je for my rumaweep. Virusguard nice to have only lah..any soap and frequent 30secs of washing hands well aka sing birthday song in 3 languages will be far more effective to contain spread of virus.

So far the easy wash holds up very well, i painted a bright yellow so if it faded I'd be complaining all over already laugh.gif some contractor have side deal with Jxxxx shop commission I guess. Your use case for internal wall only is a piece of cake for any decent paint (ie easywash and above) series since it already cost 95 for 5L tub.

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 9 2021, 02:17 PM
neo_6053
post May 9 2021, 02:38 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 9 2021, 02:17 PM)
Anything above absolute cheapest 7L RM35 matex will be OK.
Easywash will work fine already.
No need to waste money on paint above minimum standard since your walls are in good condition i presume? The easywash already tick all the core function incl long lasting colour (since the pigment for easywash and higher comes from same mixing machine) brows.gif

Absolute cheapest matex memang cut corners alot in the base material and pigment so thats why it only come in fixed colours, it is cheap for CSR project.

Many of my neighbours' contractor also use easywash je for my rumaweep. Virusguard nice to have only lah..any soap and frequent 30secs of washing hands well aka sing birthday song in 3 languages will be far more effective to contain spread of virus.

So far the easy wash holds up very well, i painted a bright yellow so if it faded I'd be complaining all over already laugh.gif some contractor have side deal with Jxxxx shop commission I guess. Your use case for internal wall only is a piece of cake for any decent paint (ie easywash and above) series since it already cost 95 for 5L tub.
thumbup.gif
amduser
post May 11 2021, 12:03 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ May 9 2021, 01:39 PM)
I see I see...  so, any recommended series/brand?

if you want really easy-to-clean paint choose higher range paint with sheen finish from your preferred brand

i painted both my toilet with Jotun Majestic Perfect Beauty & Care and my room i painted with the cheaper Jotun Easy Clean, the one in toilet is dirt and water resistance now, i can just spray on the wall with sprayer and wipe off the dirt, after a year now it still look new

my room with the cheaper paint still hold up well, but the matt surface isn't really that easy to clean. imagine you smash a mosquito or cockroach on the wall, some of their remains will trap on the matt surface and need some work to wipe it off, while on a sheen surface you can just use tissue to wipe it clean

do beware if you are hiring others to do the work, dishonest painters might try to cheat you using lower range product or add some powder to increase the volume per bucket so they can get more profit from you

if you DIY, and you are using the higher range product make sure you clean off those dripping paint quickly, i have quite some paint dripping on my toilet tiles and is super difficult to remove even though they have not fully dried
neo_6053
post May 11 2021, 07:24 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 11 2021, 12:03 AM)
if you want really easy-to-clean paint choose higher range paint with sheen finish from your preferred brand

i painted both my toilet with Jotun Majestic Perfect Beauty & Care and my room i painted with the cheaper Jotun Easy Clean, the one in toilet is dirt and water resistance now, i can just spray on the wall with sprayer and wipe off the dirt, after a year now it still look new

my room with the cheaper paint still  hold up well, but the matt surface isn't really that easy to clean. imagine you smash a mosquito or cockroach on the wall, some of their remains will trap on the matt surface and need some work to wipe it off, while on a sheen surface you can just use tissue to wipe it clean

do beware if you are hiring others to do the work, dishonest painters might try to cheat you using lower range product or add some powder to increase the volume per bucket so they can get more profit from you

if you DIY, and you are using the higher range product make sure you clean off those dripping paint quickly, i have quite some paint dripping on my toilet tiles and is super difficult to remove even though they have not fully dried
if you are a sales person, the customer will surely sold when u mention the cockroach !
i'm hiring as I'm doing whole house renovation.
neo_6053
post May 11 2021, 09:34 PM

650 posts

looking for Muji theme
https://qanvast.com/amp/sg/articles/love-th...it-exactly-1393

i wonder should i paint some different color on 1 feature wall of each room .
thinking maybe slight grey in living room and slight pink in kids room (just 1 wall)

And which white is best for those muji theme?
https://www.jotun.com/my/en/b2c/products/in...x?q=Colour-Card

Chi?
Any ID sifu here? haha biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by neo_6053: May 11 2021, 09:36 PM
amduser
post May 11 2021, 10:19 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ May 11 2021, 07:24 PM)
if you are a sales person, the customer will surely sold when u mention the cockroach !
i'm hiring as I'm doing whole house renovation.
actually most of the sheen finished paint can do that, you can take a look at ICI dulux as well, they have some paint that come with special finish

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ May 11 2021, 09:34 PM)
looking for Muji theme
https://qanvast.com/amp/sg/articles/love-th...it-exactly-1393

i wonder should i paint some different color on 1 feature wall of each room .
thinking maybe slight grey in living room and slight pink in kids room (just 1 wall)

And which white is best for those muji theme?
https://www.jotun.com/my/en/b2c/products/in...x?q=Colour-Card

Chi?
Any ID sifu here? haha  biggrin.gif
go to paint shop take the catalogue and view it under the lightning of your house, they have plain white and plain black as well, it is stated in the catalogue

i dont like white with yellow tint or light yellow, i feel like it will make the wall look old and worn-out

one thing to note though, if you are painting sheen/semi-gloss/gloss paint, most likely you will see 2 tone of color, darker color at shady area and brighter color at area exposed to lightning, this is normal as they reflect more light compare to matt, so for matt you will see more consistent color tone between bright and shady area

This post has been edited by amduser: May 11 2021, 11:22 PM
neo_6053
post May 11 2021, 11:39 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 11 2021, 10:19 PM)
actually most of the sheen finished paint can do that, you can take a look at ICI dulux as well, they have some paint that come with special finish
go to paint shop take the catalogue and view it under the lightning of your house, they have plain white and plain black as well, it is stated in the catalogue

i dont like white with yellow tint or light yellow, i feel like it will make the wall look old and worn-out

one thing to note though, if you are painting sheen/semi-gloss/gloss paint, most likely you will see 2 tone of color, darker color at shady area and brighter color at area exposed to lightning, this is normal as they reflect more light compare to matt, so for matt you will see more consistent color tone between bright and shady area

I see.
WhitE LighteR
post May 12 2021, 03:52 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 11 2021, 12:03 AM)

my room with the cheaper paint still  hold up well, but the matt surface isn't really that easy to clean. imagine you smash a mosquito or cockroach on the wall, some of their remains will trap on the matt surface and need some work to wipe it off, while on a sheen surface you can just use tissue to wipe it clean

My experience with Jotun Majestic range similar to yours. It's kinda hard to clean and once clean it has a different shade to the untouched paint. So ugly to see.
amduser
post May 12 2021, 09:14 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 12 2021, 03:52 AM)
My experience with Jotun Majestic range similar to yours. It's kinda hard to clean and once clean it has a different shade to the untouched paint. So ugly to see.
difficult to clean as in those paint that is dripping off during painting? or you use abrasive material to clean the painted wall? i just use wet cloth or all purpose floor cleaner to clean only
WhitE LighteR
post May 12 2021, 09:28 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 12 2021, 09:14 AM)
difficult to clean as in those paint that is dripping off during painting? or you use abrasive material to clean the painted wall? i just use wet cloth or all purpose floor cleaner to clean only
my paint is 3 years old already.

i use wet cloth and filtered water only. it leaves an unsightly mark on the wall once the water dried off. at the white paint it only noticeable from certain angle, but on my blue color wall, it shows out as like white marks sad.gif everytime i clean a few weeks later, it came back. confused.gif

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: May 12 2021, 09:30 AM
SUSceo684
post May 12 2021, 01:26 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 12 2021, 09:28 AM)

i use wet cloth and filtered water only. it leaves an unsightly mark on the wall once the water dried off. at the white paint it only noticeable from certain angle, but on my blue color wall, it shows out as like white marks  sad.gif everytime i clean a few weeks later, it came back. confused.gif
Sounds like efflorescence if the white stuff is oozing out from the wall?
amduser
post May 12 2021, 03:05 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 12 2021, 09:28 AM)

i use wet cloth and filtered water only. it leaves an unsightly mark on the wall once the water dried off. at the white paint it only noticeable from certain angle, but on my blue color wall, it shows out as like white marks  sad.gif everytime i clean a few weeks later, it came back. confused.gif
i didn't encounter your problem though, there is no noticeable watermark on my wall even though i got shower water and shampoo splashing on it daily

did you apply sealer or primer before you paint? when i renovate my bathroom i sand down most of the old paint, apply skim coat to smoothen the surface and then a layer of sealer then lastly 2 coat of topcoat
rylim
post May 13 2021, 08:06 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ May 9 2021, 12:45 PM)
But my friend say easy wash is not good enough, better get something higher grade or sheen. like Jotun majestic

Mostly I will go for Jotun Majestic True Beauty and I can’t justify paying more for the Jotun Majestic perfect Beauty; not sure whether worth the extra money

This post has been edited by rylim: May 13 2021, 08:07 AM
idkihavenoidealol
post May 13 2021, 10:27 AM

112 posts

For new condo, do I need to apply sealer or anything else before painting? Am thinking of Nippon Easy Wash for interior walls.

Also thinking of painting plaster ceiling myself, is painting Matex directly on it enough? Or they have to be primed/sealed first as well?
mini orchard
post May 13 2021, 10:46 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(idkihavenoidealol @ May 13 2021, 10:27 AM)
For new condo, do I need to apply sealer or anything else before painting? Am thinking of Nippon Easy Wash for interior walls.

Also thinking of painting plaster ceiling myself, is painting Matex directly on it enough? Or they have to be primed/sealed first as well?
No

Yes
WhitE LighteR
post May 13 2021, 12:34 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 12 2021, 01:26 PM)
Sounds like efflorescence if the white stuff is oozing out from the wall?
interesting. thx. i will check it out. i dont think this is the issue but i think maybe the solution to clean it with vinegar, i will try this.

QUOTE(amduser @ May 12 2021, 03:05 PM)
i didn't encounter your problem though, there is no noticeable watermark on my wall even though i got shower water and shampoo splashing on it daily

did you apply sealer or primer before you paint? when i renovate my bathroom i sand down most of the old paint, apply skim coat to smoothen the surface and then a layer of sealer then lastly 2 coat of topcoat
yes i got apply sealer. also from jotun. then 2 coats on top.

i notice this issue only happens when the wall gets "dry". i also cant make sense of this. so in case of toilet maybe it wont be as affected. so maybe its something similar to what ceo684 said about efflorescence.

65 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:55 PM