Arowana Lovers V4, Arowana

leong2084
post Feb 21 2010, 09:06 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ Feb 21 2010, 05:11 PM)
5 degree is more than enuf, you can add a bit to stabilize the dkh, if add more your PH will increase.
har? sad.gif but my ph is oledy like 7.3+ oledy worr :S i scared if i add more cc then the ph go up even more :S

The current dKH is about 2 only :S i spoke to a few lfs, they all say its ok and wont be a problem since i'm just bare tank and chaning water 20% a week. But i scared cuz everyone say 5dKH is the safe point =.="

Hey i just bought a ph pen today. I did the calibration instructions in the ph.70 solution provided....it calibrated 6.9 instead of the instructed 7 =.="
Any opinions?

Then i proceeded to rinse in tap water which gave a reading of 7.8?!?!
i tested the tap water with my sera ph soln - no way the colors showed anything near that...in fact the color showed somewhere btw ph7 to 7.5 =.="

so after rinsing and shaking it and blotting the bulb looking point end with a bit of tissue to dry it, i put in my aq it showed like ph 7.8 =.="
again i used my sera ph soln test, it showed the color range of ph7 to ph 7.5

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

hmnn this morning i soaked the ph pen in the ph7 solution for about 30mins....did the calibration and it showed ph6.9 =.= then i pressed read it showed 6.9 then i lifted the pen up and put it back into the ph7 solution and read again it showed ph 7....then i pressed read again...it showed ph 7 and then i read again...again 7...

so ok...

i go to my toilet, make a bucket of danki water (water from water reserve up the house)
i swirl the pen in the bucket for a bit...then press read....the pen shows ph7....i lifted the pen out and put it back in again and press read but gently swirling, showed ph7...

then i went to my aauarium....swirled the pen in there for a bit and then pressed read...
it showed ph7.8 hmm.gif
i tried again, still same 7.8
then i lifted the pen up and put in again and move it a bit while reading, again ph7.8

i have a feeling that it may be right that my aq ph is indeed 7.8

but what concerns me is the ph pens accuracy....i mean...last night it showed my denki water to have ph.7.6!!! even after calibrating it several times rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 22 2010, 07:21 AM
leong2084
post Feb 22 2010, 07:38 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ Feb 22 2010, 08:36 AM)
Maybe your PH pen faulty or the calibration liquid is expired.
FYI PH meter you can calibrate either way oni to get accurate reading, 5 - 7 or 7 - 9
if you keeping fish in the lower end than callibrate with PH4 and PH7
if you keeping fish in the higher end than calibrate with PH7 and PH10/9
mmm i dunno what you mean here :S sorry

Added on February 22, 2010, 7:40 pm
QUOTE(wmkr @ Feb 22 2010, 04:54 PM)
wahh.. u really make this hobby really sofisticated lah bro...me only do wc and feed them.. that is all...  rclxm9.gif

keep it simple bro... no need to have head ache... kekekeke

just do regular wc and add salt once a month will do... icon_idea.gif
noler i'm just trying to make sure my aq water dont fluctuate drastically.

Cuz i'm very scared of ph shock cases.

My main issue is that Kh and Ph go hand in hand together when it comes to coral chips/baking soda.

My Kh is at about 2dkh and the ph is already at ph7.8

So the delima comes to the point if i try to increase the kh by adding in more cc, it will also cause the ph which is already not good to go up even more :S

What is the ph of your normal tap water which u use to do wc? Anyone care to advise on thier tap water used to do wc ph as well?

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 22 2010, 10:50 PM
leong2084
post Feb 23 2010, 12:45 PM

89 posts

Thx Moorish and Wmkr...

yeah i guess so too.
In this case, since i using cc to buffer (showing 2dKH) how much cc shud i be putting in or taking out?

I cant use ketapang leaves ler lol, i scared ph fluctuate cuz my tap water is already at ph7.8...i guess i'll just leave it at ph7.8 since my aq water is about that much and the tap water also that much. Jeez i wish my tap water can be constant neutral 7 lol, wud make things so much easier...

The only chemicals i'll be using are anti chlorine, bb solutions and aro vitamins biggrin.gif

So basically regardless of the tap water ph....so long as i got some cc in my filter (using canister filter) i just perform 20-30% wc weekly then the water parameters in the aq shud be stable and never fluctuate to give the arowana ph shock?

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 23 2010, 01:04 PM
leong2084
post Feb 23 2010, 09:57 PM

89 posts

ok so this is the funny part....i took the pen back to the lfs to confirm its working by checking against other ph meters they are currently using.
so ok the ph pen is working....

i came back today i did a ph test on my aq....here is the even more funny thing....i get different readings at different spots of my tank =.="

in the center its showing ph 7.5
at the areas of the 4 corners of the rectangle its about ph7.7

wierd...

ok 2nd test i did the dKH, its still 1st drop blue, 2nd drop yellow, meaning 2dKH.

shud i bother anything or just leave it as it is and just do weekly 20% wc?
cuz its a newly setup aquarium, freshly cycled and i guess it has still yet to stabalize...dunno...argh

really everyone...thank you for your patience with this nervous mind of mine notworthy.gif

anyone tested thier tap water ph yet?

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 23 2010, 09:58 PM
leong2084
post Feb 24 2010, 02:29 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(ahbeegtr @ Feb 24 2010, 02:19 PM)
Hello to all arowana lovers,i am thinking to upgrade my aquarium filter to eheim pro3 2073 canister filter n need some advice from aro lovers here.
Went to east aqua located in ikano to check out the pricing for this particular model,they quote me for rm945,does the price sounds reasonable?
I m a newbie to this thread and just got myself a HB golden arowana last month, currently using a normal overhead filter and a eheim canister 2213.
Hi, i'm a canister user myself and imo ehiem is quite overated.
Sure the brand name is strong and i believe ntg can go wrong when you get ehiem.
But i believe there are other canister filters out there which are also of the same quality and are much easier to use and cheaper (about 50% less!!)
I'm using one which i can recommend to you but i have to go back to check and let you know cuz i'm at work now and cant remember lol. sweat.gif
Its silent, has trays inside, and even has a on and off in built uv filter bulb for a good price of rm450.
i've been using it 2 weeks so far and its pretty solid and has self priming too biggrin.gif
My ehiem 2217 doesnt have and i have to suck the water tube...blek doh.gif

Added on February 24, 2010, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(teohha @ Feb 24 2010, 02:05 PM)
Hey guys do you guys have chillers? My temperature in this hot hot CNY weather seems to be hitting 31-32 celcius. Is that acceptable?
Bumping this question too

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 24 2010, 02:40 PM
leong2084
post Feb 24 2010, 04:39 PM

89 posts

Hi has anyone used Azoo Arowana Live water before?

From the link http://www.azoo.com.tw/azoo_en/literatu ... wana3.html
1.Contains natural organic acids to create a suitable water environment for arowana.
2. Effectively eliminates excessive ammonia, chloramines, residual chlorine and heavy metal in tap water.
3.Rich in Vitamin B groups, to enhance the metabolism and immunity of fish.
4. Anti-bacteria ingredients restrain the growth of pathogens.
5 Replenishes consumed carbonate hardness in the water to stabilize PH values.
6. Removes oily membrane materials on the water surface, and inhibits the growth of algae.
7. Use regularly with AZOO AROWANA AUTO RECYCLE to increase the time between water changes. .

Is it good?
Does it help give the water a good dKH?
Does it change the PH with relevance to point 1 above?

Much advise appreciated.

Thanks in advance

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 24 2010, 04:40 PM
leong2084
post Feb 24 2010, 09:50 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(ahbeegtr @ Feb 24 2010, 03:30 PM)
Thanks for ur advice bro,pls do recommend me the canister filter brand that u mention later.
I am thinking of purchase this eheim brand filter because i heard many ppl say it is very the reliable but i have to admit that it is pretty expensive lol.
hi sry for the late reply, the filter is JAD external canister filter EFU-45

Hope this helps biggrin.gif
leong2084
post Feb 25 2010, 12:36 PM

89 posts

wah so excited lar
cant wait till this saturday to bring my baby red to his new home biggrin.gif

I was wondering if i shud reduce one more ornate bichir as i believe the ornate is a bit aggressive and is most pro ninja hunter at night. (even one single feeder fish in a whole 5ft aq he wont let escape, everyday catch 1-2 feeder without fail and no misses!! one snap goner)
Ornate is about 9 inchs long. The aro will be about 7-8 inchs i think.

The marble bichir and seng bichirs are very chicken wan so i dont have to worry about thier aggression lol.
leong2084
post Feb 25 2010, 03:19 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Devillsin @ Feb 25 2010, 02:52 PM)
leong i just feed ur bichirs feeders and they act so clueless until today they all like ninja xD especially the albino LOL btw i think your arowana should be fine.
yeah, when the lights are off, they are very ninja style when they go for the feeder fish!! brows.gif
When all lights go out, any fish that doesnt rely on the sense of smell will be a victim to the bichir kingdom!! Rawr!!

leong2084
post Feb 25 2010, 03:47 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(jamestan_85 @ Feb 25 2010, 03:26 PM)
hi leong,

Mind to share where did you get your red arowana? izizt  chilli red arowana or a super red? and How much did you bought it for?

As for arowana products.... i dont really trust them... like PH up or PH down... basically i just use aquarium salt.. coral...or ketapang leaves to achieve the PH i wan ...and dechlorine (anytype wil do.. i use genesis 1 drop for 1 gallon)....regular water change....every 2 weeks once....10-12% of water (1 inch of water).... my tank is 4'x2'x18" ... then you arowana will be fine... remember the TOP COVER!
haha thx.
Nah i dont believe in those stupid ph up down chemicals also lol...it just doesnt make sense if u think about doing wc...unless you so much space to have a spare tank to store the water for aging and purifying before use to do wc which i think 90% of the world population dont have such luxury...

For me all i care about is clean water and bacteria (i'm a bacteria nutcase)
For now i took out all the coral chips already since the ph is high.

I using "Azoo arowana live water" from now on which is also a dechlorinator as well as a ph stabalizer as it replaces the lost KH during water changes. Basically like a all in one convienient solution so i no need coral rocks for dKH.

Now my tank not so complicated water chem already. laugh.gif
only 2 solutions i using will be azoo aro live water for dechlorinizer and nutrafin cycle (bb solution)Probly add vitamins later lol but yeah...

I mainly focus on the bacteria...since i took out all the cc in the filter i replace with more ehiem substrate rock filter media lol..

I wont be using K.leaves either cuz i really dont know how to use them..and scared of ph fluctuations...i'd rather just let the ph be as it is and keep it stable
So i will just stick to regular 20-25% water changes every saturday which i've been doing anyways and maybe a 10% change on some weds along with it if i'm that free after work

My arowana is from xlsa, thier cert will be br/cr arowana.
The reason is because the new ranking system in xlsa is that br/cr is the same 1st grade and no difference..
2nd grade is the super red, and 3rd banjar red.
They have no differentiation btw chilli and blood anymore. I confirmed it with the manager who really got rclxub.gif with all my questions but least he was happy to entertain me (of course la..i paying =.=!)

I price listed rm3k+, i got offered rm2.6k biggrin.gif

really big hole in my poket money d lol shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 25 2010, 04:11 PM
leong2084
post Feb 25 2010, 05:31 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(jamestan_85 @ Feb 25 2010, 05:14 PM)
WOW 2.6K... pls upload the pic when u get it.... I have a golden super high back.. but the scale only reaches 4th level.... (6 inch currently)... is there such thing as a low grade or high grade superhigh back?... my supplier told me i need to wait 1 year (12 inch) for the fish to reach full potential....
hope i am not cheated.....

BTw is there a low grade and high grade chilli red? im really confuse.... sometime i saw people selling chilli red at rm2k.... some 2.6k....some rm1800.... the price difference izizt becuase of the grade?

I saw a LFS soaking the ketapang leaves in a pail.... ones the leave releases the brown thingy.... the will use the water and add to the aquarium directly to get hte ph they want.... i gues that is how u use the leaves...
hmnn, yeah but they know what they doing lol, for me i dont dare :S

I dunno about super highback haha that one need to wait for the more experienced pros here to respond.

As for the reds, i only know the xlsa grading which i advised earlier sweat.gif
i'm newbie too whistling.gif but for those ppl posting thier aro for sale, i think they price it depending on the quality of the red arowana and the size lol. But they probly have thier reasons as well for selling the aros. Like some got no time to take care or have to leave to another country and have to sell thier aro...so sometimes they will sell lower price to stimulate faster response for thier urgency. Some will sell cuz they want to make profit or stop aquarium hobby completely etc lol.
So yeah, there are many reasons for the difference in price if you are looking to buy arowana from trade websites.
leong2084
post Feb 25 2010, 10:39 PM

89 posts

i feel these days the climate for msia and sg has increased already...lol global warming effects huh...ozone getting thinner sigh

I keep my fan running whole day and the water temp is 30-32 deg.Cel constant...even at night with open windows

Even when i go to take a shower, i dont need to turn on the heater....the water is already just warm enough without it... shakehead.gif

Added on February 25, 2010, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(fishboy @ Feb 25 2010, 10:38 PM)
My arowana is from xlsa, thier cert will be br/cr arowana.
The reason is because the new ranking system in xlsa is that br/cr is the same 1st grade and no difference..
2nd grade is the super red, and 3rd banjar red.
They have no differentiation btw chilli and blood anymore. I confirmed it with the manager who really got  rclxub.gif with all my questions but least he was happy to entertain me (of course la..i paying =.=!)

I price listed rm3k+, i got offered rm2.6k biggrin.gif

bor leong u buy from mr,rock or mr,kok?
because last january he offer me 2300
no idea lol, didnt ask the name of the manager, he just assign one of the staff to stand by with me while i take my pick laugh.gif
the prices always differ here and there and at different times, its no surprise at all....as part of my job deals with trade its very understandable lol

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 25 2010, 10:51 PM
leong2084
post Feb 25 2010, 11:27 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Feb 25 2010, 09:45 PM)
Arghh guys I need to know more about gill curl disease!!! I'm scared my arowana have it as I have never seen a close up picture of gill curl except those serioud gill curl which I duwan it to happen i need a picture or detailed description since it starts pls... I read many description I still dun understand.... Can u guys prepare a check list so that I can check my arowana if he has gill curl? He is a 28cm Silver around 5 months old(grow VERY FAST)
Ben, might be quite hard to see if it hasn't occurred yet. What i can suggest rather is to observe its turning. See if it is taking too much effort to make corner turns in the aq, if that is so then probly that wud be the case.
Other than that as i've read up online is to ariate the water more and make sure water conditions are good.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_OYApQFSjwns/R_Sc...00-h/3HeadS.jpg for pic viewing

And there is this no-operation method described in Sin-jia-poh aro forum http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=326020
lol ...i have no idea how the massage is done but i recommend asking some pros about this or any very intelligent fish shop owner to advise on this method..

hope it helps nod.gif
leong2084
post Feb 26 2010, 02:37 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Feb 26 2010, 01:05 PM)
too much effort making turns? How?

Added on February 26, 2010, 1:26 pmand any of your arowanas are scared so much that they lose appetite?? Lol mine doesn't... even he jumps out of a bucket twice he's back to his normal diet in a few hours... He is AWESOME...
awsome master = awsome aro pet brows.gif

mmm effort in turns as in like a difference btw a ae86 driftling corners effortlessly vs a fd going on a corner the circuit orthodox cornering method.

take some pics and post for us to see to get a better idea loe tongue.gif

just my 2cents lol

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 26 2010, 02:38 PM
leong2084
post Feb 27 2010, 01:37 AM

89 posts

if big enuf try ikan bili ...i think they call them pin pin in lfs lol
i feel all feeder fish got thier risk of parasites and diseases....not just with a particular kind but rather where the feeder fish came from and what type of enviroment they are kept and bred in...

For me i only buy feeder fish from places i know they use the green liquid to keep them (the water is green chemical to kill parasites) ...but even so the risk is always there.

for me i have a routine of doing quarantine on the feeder fish for a few days in salt and omnipor solution conditioned water before i final wash off with salt water and then put into the aq for my fish to eat. its a extra mile thing just to be safe.
very important to do the last step if you wana use omnipor cuz its a really strong medicine...sometimes i also dont use it when i feel lazy to wash off final step.

The basic idea is to bath the feeders in salt and then you observe during and after a few days which of the feeder fish look sick or have any signs or anything wrong, throw them away and only keep the ones that look healthy. this really helps to lower the chances....cuz i've never kena any parasite or diseases so far with my fishes in doing so...and i guess i owe it due to my paranoia lol
leong2084
post Feb 27 2010, 12:46 PM

89 posts

lol probly. i feel it applies to all feeder ler. Yeah i agree with comets are a big nono but the pin pin for me is ok, been feeding for a year already my bichirs no issue at all. The scales last do fly out lol cuz the aro and bichirs jaws punch in so hard kekeke, but yeah that was when i had gravel so it was no biggie, but i guess you are right, if bare bottom tank the scales that fly off dont look nice :S

Eh so how your aro gills? ok d ar?

me just got home with my aro biggrin.gif and 2 parrot chillids (the love shape ones) brows.gif

now just floating the bag and slowly pouring the tank water in to let it acclimate biggrin.gif

lucky my tank water is ph7.5 and the bag water containing the aro also ph7.5...shud be safe d

its sooo kewt wub.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 27 2010, 12:49 PM
leong2084
post Feb 27 2010, 03:04 PM

89 posts

hehe yeah, i think so they cute cute heart shape looking ones lol
i iniitially tot of fei feng but then seeing that they are aggressive when they reach adult i tot duwan the ff ler lol cuz of my bichir sake.

a bit hard to take picture due to my window reflection, cant see anything lol
later in evening i will take pic and post biggrin.gif
leong2084
post Feb 27 2010, 08:54 PM

89 posts

Humbly introducing my new bb red aro!!!! rclxms.gif

Ok the pics and vid is taken with my handphone camera so sorry for the bad quality.

Here are the pics biggrin.gif

This is a pic i took while it was still at xlsa

then the rest are taken at home

and the chillids chilling at my bio blocks =.="

And here is a vid too biggrin.gif

Enjoy icon_rolleyes.gif

I know i shud only be starting to feed tmr evening lol but i so itchy to try now >.< arrrghh the temptation lol

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 27 2010, 08:57 PM
leong2084
post Feb 27 2010, 09:03 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Devillsin @ Feb 27 2010, 08:57 PM)
beef it up abit it looks abit small for the eye and tail size but damn its tail has nice colour  and shape xD
tqtq biggrin.gif
yah, i gonna start with hikari aro sticks and mp first. Today went to market to buy 1kg prawns, tmr will need to start intro to it. If it dont eat the bichirs will neways lol
cant really see it in the photo but i love the blue shine on the scales biggrin.gif

Added on February 27, 2010, 10:42 pm
QUOTE(Devillsin @ Feb 27 2010, 08:53 PM)
fei feng supposed to be good for algae cleanup but i thought they abit pricey or atleast thats what some people say.feifeng just look like an average tin foil barb xD
ya thats the thing, i'm afraid they go suck the protective slime coat off the bichirs or even worse the scales >.<

a lot of the lfs say also that sucker fish like pleco and fei feng very hard to co-exist in the adult stage, either the bichir eat the pleco when its young or the pleco dmg and kill the bichir when older. Fei feng on the other hand the bichir is always on the loosing edge lol

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 27 2010, 10:42 PM
leong2084
post Feb 28 2010, 07:26 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(cphcphcph @ Feb 27 2010, 11:43 PM)
bb red means wat?
blue based red?
sorry, i meant bb as in baby lol sweat.gif

at the moment the hikari sticks it just goes to it, chew chew spit...goes next stick chew chew spit =.="

Well at least hes trying to chew it doh.gif

This post has been edited by leong2084: Feb 28 2010, 07:27 AM

24 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0509sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:41 AM