P1 The Official P1 W1Max Support Thread 2, P1 Wimax Reps

SUSSrious
post Nov 19 2010, 06:15 PM

265 posts

dear P1~
is it my modern cannot on for 24hrs? how come after i hav been on it for 24 hrs den my line is shit...loading slower than snail
wats d problem?~~~
acib
post Nov 20 2010, 10:04 PM

105 posts

hello, i live in Section 8 Putra Height, does P1 Wimax exist there? How the speed there? please PM me about that and other information to start subscribe.

I believe there will be no contract for new subscriber ?
p4n6
post Nov 20 2010, 10:37 PM

5,974 posts

Torrent slow of course is because they throttled and limit the bandwidth for torrenting. No need to complain, even MCMC cannot comment when ISP throttle torrent because the content is usually not legal anyway.

If you can't open a website, then that's something to complain about.
Maniac
post Nov 21 2010, 03:43 AM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

OK starts count down to the day to terminate P1
kriss120
post Nov 21 2010, 09:42 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Nov 21 2010, 03:43 AM)
OK starts count down to the day to terminate P1
their service getting worst each day.. lets count down...lol..rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Dothan
post Nov 21 2010, 10:02 AM

Dingle Berries
1,054 posts

QUOTE(tangzi @ Nov 25 2009, 03:39 PM)
I not sure this had been raised before. I just have a question to P1

For package RM 49 with 400 Kbps speed and Cap at 5 GB.

1 second = 400 Kb
1 day = 24 * 60 * 60 * 400
        = 34560000 Kb
        = 33750 Mbps
30 day = 989 Gbps
      = 124 GB

We suppose to get the bandwidth of 124 GB per month which already paid. This is totally not fair the connection is being cap after 5GB.

Do P1 suppose to cap only after 124GB instead of 5GB? (yes, it's impossible)

Please justify.
Dude, based on your assumption. If the ISP offers you 400kbps per user...

1 user = 400kbps
10 users = 4Mbps
100 users = 40Mbps
1 million users = 1,000,000 * 0.4
= 40000 Mbps
= 40 Gbps

The speed must be there no matter you are sleeping, eating, taking bath.

40Gbps only to serve the 1 million users 24x7 at RM49 per month per user (inclusive administrative costs and tax)?

sol_badguy
post Nov 21 2010, 12:30 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Nov 20 2010, 10:37 PM)
Torrent slow of course is because they throttled and limit the bandwidth for torrenting. No need to complain, even MCMC cannot comment when ISP throttle torrent because the content is usually not legal anyway.

If you can't open a website, then that's something to complain about.
Bittorent is a legal service. The contents of shared files via bittorent might be illegal, but bittorent, in of itself, is legal. Open source software for instance, are being distributed through it. If the ISP decide to throttle the software itself, while the user had not exceed its monthly quota bandwidth, then the ISP is not adhering to its own fair usage policy. I could understand that P1 Wimax feels the need to limit its bandwidth usage, but doing the throttling before users exceed the given bandwidth quota can be considered as a breach of trust, if not breach of agreement more so.

The term and agreement explicitly stated that users are given a certain quota of bandwidth to use, and if the the bandwidths are being used up before the end of the month, then ISP have the right to impose a traffic throttling.

Another clause in the terms and agreements is that the service is being provided at "best effort" basis. I don't quite remember the details, but "best effort" basis means that the ISP should provide the speed not slower than the 70% of the advertised speed. I think thats the guideline laid down by MCMC.

Regardless of the legality of the contents, bittorent is a legal service. As such, the ISP that throttling bittorent deprive its user on their overall internet experience and can be deemed for not providing its internet service at "best effort" basis.
deodherion
post Nov 21 2010, 12:44 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(sol_badguy @ Nov 21 2010, 12:30 PM)
Bittorent is a legal service. The contents of shared files via bittorent might be illegal, but bittorent, in of itself, is legal. Open source  software for instance,  are being distributed through it. If the ISP decide to throttle the software itself, while  the user had not exceed its monthly quota bandwidth, then the ISP is not adhering to its own fair usage policy. I could understand that P1 Wimax feels the need to limit its bandwidth usage, but doing the throttling before users exceed the given bandwidth quota can be considered as a breach of trust, if not breach of agreement more so.

The term and agreement explicitly stated that users are given a certain quota of bandwidth to use, and if the the bandwidths are being used up before the end of the month, then ISP have the right to impose a traffic throttling.

Another clause in the terms and agreements  is that the service is being provided at "best effort" basis. I don't quite remember the details, but "best effort" basis means that the ISP should provide the speed not slower than the 70% of the advertised speed. I think thats the guideline laid down by MCMC.

Regardless of the legality of the contents, bittorent is a legal service. As such, the ISP that throttling bittorent deprive its user on their overall internet experience and can be deemed for not providing its internet service at "best effort" basis.
If not mistaken, the TnC also mentions they will manage P2P activity on top of the fair usage policy.

And the 70% advertised speed is only applicable to fixed broadband and not wireless broadband - someone mentions this before last time.

The tricky part for all the wireless broadband provider is that they always advertise as "UP TO 1 Mbps", if the speed is 500kbps it's also as according to their advertised speed and it's fall under the 70% as well. rclxub.gif

I believe not just torrenting, file sharing also being controlled by broadband provider nowadays.

StreamyX even took a step forward to throttle based on file type.

I can understand why Wireless Broadband providers do that because their wireless station has limited bandwidth due to the frequency spectrum but StreamyX is a fixed line provider doh.gif
sol_badguy
post Nov 21 2010, 01:04 PM

192 posts

If not mistaken, the TnC also mentions they will manage P2P activity on top of the fair usage policy.

The tricky part for all the wireless broadband provider is that they always advertise as "UP TO 1 Mbps", if the speed is 500kbps it's also as according to their advertised speed and it's fall under the 70% as well.

If that is true, then they should clearly spell this out in their advertisements. Does MCMC has a guideline for advertisements? Saying that for instance, a user is given a 20 gigs of bandwidth without telling them upfront explicitly that a certain mechanism of traffic shaping is being imposed to them for certain type of internet services, is not really an ethical conduct that should practise by the company. Users should be well aware of the quality of service that are being provided of, any shortcomings should be disseminated throughly to the users for the users to understand.

Just for your information, in the medical world, even the advertisements are being regulated strictly, leaving no error for misleading informations, and henceforth, avoiding "false claim".
diLLigaf
post Nov 21 2010, 04:48 PM

Just an update. Continued slow speeds for up to 9 days now. Any news from P1?
streetkid
post Nov 22 2010, 01:14 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(diLLigaf @ Nov 21 2010, 04:48 PM)
WE WANT JUSTICE!! mad.gif vmad.gif
ESeong
post Nov 22 2010, 01:40 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Nov 21 2010, 10:02 AM)
Dude, based on your assumption. If the ISP offers you 400kbps per user...

1 user = 400kbps
10 users = 4Mbps
100 users = 40Mbps
1 million users = 1,000,000 * 0.4
                        = 40000 Mbps
                        = 40 Gbps

The speed must be there no matter you are sleeping, eating, taking bath.

40Gbps only to serve the 1 million users 24x7 at RM49 per month per user (inclusive administrative costs and tax)?
omg bro. this post is like going to be one year. and u bring it out and talk ? how about can i ask you, what u eat on nov 25th 2009 for dinner ? LOL

filet0fish
post Nov 22 2010, 02:35 AM

17 posts

OMG!!! i just signed up with P1 yesterday.

i signed up their Home Plus package which comes with the new DX230 modem (which supposedly come with wireless router built-in).

but i'm having problems!
not sure if it's the same problem as what you guys are facing, but i can only connect ONE device wirelessly to the model at one single point in time.
if my laptop's connected, then i can't connect my phone to it.
i called P1 tech support, and they told me to change the router channel manually from "auto" to "9" to "10" and then to "11".
but... it didn't matter! problem still exists!

did i make the wrong judgment of trusting P1 again?

Added on November 22, 2010, 3:03 ami can't bloody believe this... downloading a 8.2MB file from mediafile will take THIRTEENFREAKINGHOURS!!

i'm going to sleep!!!

This post has been edited by filet0fish: Nov 22 2010, 03:05 AM
kriss120
post Nov 22 2010, 05:16 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(diLLigaf @ Nov 21 2010, 04:48 PM)
still ok la tu bro 9 days...i already 2 month now...lol rclxms.gif

QUOTE(filet0fish @ Nov 22 2010, 02:35 AM)
OMG!!! i just signed up with P1 yesterday.

i signed up their Home Plus package which comes with the new DX230 modem (which supposedly come with wireless router built-in).

but i'm having problems!
not sure if it's the same problem as what you guys are facing, but i can only connect ONE device wirelessly to the model at one single point in time.
if my laptop's connected, then i can't connect my phone to it.
i called P1 tech support, and they told me to change the router channel manually from "auto" to "9" to "10" and then to "11".
but... it didn't matter! problem still exists!

did i make the wrong judgment of trusting P1 again?

Added on November 22, 2010, 3:03 ami can't bloody believe this... downloading a 8.2MB file from mediafile will take THIRTEENFREAKINGHOURS!!

i'm going to sleep!!!
try check ur dhcp server..what is the start and end ip add..or mayb u enable Wifi Protected Setup...ask eseong...lol

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

diLLigaf
post Nov 22 2010, 09:51 AM

QUOTE(streetkid @ Nov 22 2010, 01:14 AM)
WE WANT JUSTICE!! mad.gif  vmad.gif
I'm with you mate. Thing is the P1 reps will not necessarily admit that they are throttling torrents. Fact remains torrent speeds are clearly slower than usual.

I hope it clears up soon. In the meantime, word of advice to P1 - always keep the customer informed! Good news or otherwise...
filet0fish
post Nov 22 2010, 10:41 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(kriss120 @ Nov 22 2010, 05:16 AM)
try check ur dhcp server..what is the start and end ip add..or mayb u enable Wifi Protected Setup...ask eseong...lol

shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
thanks for your probably answer!
and you're right, i'll just wait for the tech pros to answer.
sani154ta
post Nov 22 2010, 08:21 PM

17 posts

huhu my p1 at cheras now at 1~2 kbps sad sad sad
Boy96
post Nov 22 2010, 11:02 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Whattttttt, the Fair Usage counter at P1 website start working again, arrghh! luckily I downloaded like crazy before it worked, now its working my data usage when it was not working is not counted tongue.gif
kriss120
post Nov 22 2010, 11:40 PM

121 posts

lol u oso noticed their FUP not working for the past few days...lol

but what for coz my speed still slow ..lol rclxub.gif
owc
post Nov 22 2010, 11:50 PM

Generous in Sharing Knowledge
1,240 posts

QUOTE(kriss120 @ Nov 22 2010, 11:40 PM)
lol u oso noticed their FUP not working for the past few days...lol

but what for coz my speed still slow ..lol rclxub.gif
There is no point for me to continue using P1Wimax.
20GB that only able use less than 2GB due to those speed.
Afterall, I still need to paid the bill every month.
Even until they give me free 6 month of free Wiggy last time & few month waive for the black brick, I also returned back to P1.

137 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:58 AM