34 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Philosophy Do Human Need Religion?, some people say they can live without it

anti-informatic
post Aug 19 2010, 11:41 AM

902 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Aug 14 2010, 10:45 PM)
but the moral value of every religions are different, even the different branch within that religion will have different moral value. how can that be stable?
Thats why conflict happen and such thing as humiliate or look down on other religious view happen.
I agree on what he say but not 100%, as the issue u mention is part of thing that create religion war nowadays.
If there is only one religion, maybe....
SpikeMarlene
post Aug 19 2010, 12:04 PM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(anti-informatic @ Aug 19 2010, 11:41 AM)
Thats why conflict happen and such thing as humiliate or look down on other religious view happen.
I agree on what he say but not 100%, as the issue u mention is part of thing that create religion war nowadays.
If there is only one religion, maybe....
The fact that there are much more than 1 religion in the world at anytime in human history, with widely varying concepts, values and beliefs tells you something about what religion really is. On top of that, while proclaiming universality of it's belief, strangely every religion is intimately tied to the culture and moral values of the people at that time when and where it originated.

So when we become global, moral values are placed on the international chopping board, believers have to interpret those values so the religion still stays relevant.
SpikeMarlene
post Aug 20 2010, 08:20 AM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Aug 19 2010, 07:34 PM)
2 men communicating about something they do not know, doesnt mean they know. Hence...soothsayer has already replied...that he do not know. But what are u doing here? trying to be stupid again by saying that he knows? dude...im getting bored of embrassing u like this in public ok? stfu.
QUOTE(teongpeng @ Aug 16 2010, 08:34 PM)
what nonsense is this? i already explained to you...but its not my fault you're too densed to understand. and again u say i didnt explain...here have a facepalm.  doh.gif
wookey... rolleyes.gif swoosh
no one ask u to believe also, mr troll. You've demonstrated your imbecility for all to see if u cant understand a simple anoalogy : [i]something is only supoernatural to those who dont know, to those who does, its natural

... <snipped because not relevant>
SpikeMarlene
post Aug 20 2010, 12:11 PM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Aug 20 2010, 09:39 AM)
1.if both are blind, then they dont know what they are talking about.

2.those who know...are no longer blind.
you're so stupid u cant even piece simple things like this together. your stupidity has become astoundingly consistent these days. i kid u not.
QUOTE(teongpeng @ Aug 15 2010, 11:07 AM)
for a person is who blind since birth...and only ever communicate with other blind-since-birth people, vision would be supernatural.

thats when ones judgement is put to the test. sleep.gif

all buddhist practise are based on this principle, that one can actually experience it for themselves (after some training).
SpikeMarlene
post Aug 20 2010, 07:16 PM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Aug 20 2010, 03:49 PM)
doh.gif you dont even know how to differentiate between those who know and and those who think they know.

ah nvm...this is what i get for responding to a stupid troll. smile.gif
QUOTE(teongpeng @ Aug 17 2010, 11:45 PM)
and u know because?
SpikeMarlene
post Aug 20 2010, 11:18 PM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Aug 17 2010, 11:45 PM)
and u know because?
QUOTE(teongpeng @ Aug 20 2010, 07:55 PM)
if u cant argue intelligently please la...have the decency to dont waste space.
LOL

This post has been edited by SpikeMarlene: Aug 20 2010, 11:19 PM
The Envoy
post Aug 28 2010, 11:10 AM

94 posts

Any "needs" apart from the basic physical ones are self created by humans. It is entirely up to you if you master your mind to determine what "needs" you have.
Awakened_Angel
post Sep 17 2010, 11:26 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(akidos @ May 6 2010, 09:59 AM)

I dont see god coming down to earth to stop tsunami and prevent earth quake .
once a buddhist monks told me that religion is merely a tools for leaders and an essential and crucial building blocks of our society. Religion is the only thing that hold our conscience together. Without this conscience & compassion, we are no difference with the dog and cat on the road. And without this two building blocks, it would be a dog eat dog world out there.

heaven? serve as reward beyond grasp
hell? serve as imminent future

His existence is merely for emotion comfort which doesnt change or contribute to anything.
again, the same monk also told me this

there`s no such thing as holy water in buddhism but people insist that I sprinkle tap water with chanting. I know it is not right, but I did it why? to provide emotional comfort

this is what all religios scholars are doing... Priest, monks, Imam etc... providing emotional comfort to people who has met jell in their lifes
Piros
post Sep 28 2010, 11:23 AM

203 posts

What is religion ? Pure and undefiled religion before God is this: to visit orphans and widows in their trouble, and to keep oneself unspotted from the world. Taken from the Bible (James 1:27) thumbup.gif
statikinetic
post Sep 28 2010, 11:39 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Sep 17 2010, 11:26 PM)
once a buddhist monks told me that religion is merely a tools for leaders and an essential and crucial building blocks of our society. Religion is the only thing that hold our conscience together. Without this conscience & compassion, we are no difference with the dog and cat on the road. And without this two building blocks, it would be a dog eat dog world out there.

I share this view too, it is a regulated source of control that serves as the cornerstone of society.
You do not kill because you are told not to, but because you do not WANT to. And by self-regulating yourself, it is a better form of control to get you fitting into modern society.
segaraga
post Sep 28 2010, 04:55 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Piros @ Sep 28 2010, 12:23 PM)
What is religion ? Pure and undefiled religion before God is this: to visit orphans and widows in their trouble, and to keep oneself unspotted from the world. Taken from the Bible (James 1:27)  thumbup.gif
i can religion is love actually
SpikeMarlene
post Sep 29 2010, 11:31 AM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(statikinetic @ Sep 28 2010, 11:39 AM)
I share this view too, it is a regulated source of control that serves as the cornerstone of society.
You do not kill because you are told not to, but because you do not WANT to. And by self-regulating yourself, it is a better form of  control to get you fitting into modern society.
You need a regulator to regulate. Likewise you need law enforcers to maintain law. Since even written laws today have some room for interpretation, ancient holy texts can be interpreted to fit almost any situations. So who is regulating these regulators if they don't sef-regulate? Hence, eventually you have to self-regulate.
statikinetic
post Sep 29 2010, 11:36 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Self regulation. That's right.

Religion was once the answer to solve society's problems, but nowadays clashes between religions seem to be causing more problems. Next step foward would be to reduce the friction between religions, and prevent the use of religion to justify extremist actions.
The Envoy
post Sep 29 2010, 08:04 PM

94 posts

People need something to give them hope/meaning in life. For some this is an edition of a very old book, for some this is looking at a statue, for some this is cold hard $$$ and pretty things, for some this is relationships with other humans etc. etc.

Other than religion; upbringing, environment, a good education, local culture, secular laws, empathy for other humans beings, fear of being caught all contributes to us conforming to being a "good person", as most commonly understood by the general populace.

I think this pretty much sums it up.

TSannariana
post Oct 9 2010, 03:44 PM

197 posts

circular arguments all the way.

heck i cant believe this thread still exist smile.gif

well to conclude it all, some human need religion. some people dont. what makes the difference is the cause of the need.
broken_leg
post Oct 10 2010, 10:41 AM

115 posts

religion is set guidance/regulation/controler for us to a better life to live in this world...some people might say they dont need it, i dont know y they say like that...

what about if we grow up as human but no guidance/regulation/controler???what would you be???

let say you dont believe in god and dont believe in religion...but you have a good live,rich,easy earn money tiaw2...one day u saw 1 good sexy beauty girl and u got horny and really want to make love with her....but you keep it in your brain, y re doin that???because u have a brain that tell you that thing is not good and a crime and if rape her,got caught by the bukit aman, masuk dalam kena hentam lagi, got jail,no body look for your busines....y this happend??? ur brain tell u that thing is not good and ok if no body see u and no law...and not ok if people see u rape that girl and bukit aman got u...

the brain differentiate u from being animal and the rule help u from what your brain capable.....

so...never say y people dont need this kind controller@guidance@rule@religion@what ever u name it....

SpikeMarlene
post Oct 12 2010, 12:17 PM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(broken_leg @ Oct 10 2010, 10:41 AM)
religion is  set guidance/regulation/controler for us to a better life to live  in this world...some people might say they dont need it, i dont know y they say like that...

what about if we grow up as human but no guidance/regulation/controler???what would you be???

let say you dont believe in god and dont believe in religion...but you have a good live,rich,easy earn money tiaw2...one day u saw 1 good sexy beauty girl and u got horny and  really want to make love with her....but you keep it in your brain, y re doin that???because  u have a brain that tell you that thing is not good and a crime and if rape her,got caught by the bukit aman, masuk dalam kena hentam lagi, got jail,no body look for your busines....y this happend??? ur brain tell u that thing is not good and ok if no body see u and no law...and not ok if people see u rape that girl and bukit aman got u...

the brain differentiate u from being animal and the rule help u from what your brain capable.....

so...never say y people dont need this kind controller@guidance@rule@religion@what ever u name it....
If it is a civil law that regulates human behavior, then we don't need religion? Is that what you are saying?
Potatojii
post Oct 14 2010, 09:32 AM

140 posts

Try to think religion as a road with signboard and u are the driver in your car.

Without road, how far can u go and where will your destination be ?

It is necessary to have guidance for us to move on in life.
SpikeMarlene
post Oct 14 2010, 11:46 AM

6,237 posts

QUOTE(Potatojii @ Oct 14 2010, 09:32 AM)
Try to think religion as a road with signboard and u are the driver in your car.

Without road, how far can u go and where will your destination be ?

It is necessary to have guidance for us to move on in life.
There is a hidden assumption you made about the road with signboards. It may well be a road that leads to nowhere, or worse, it leads you astray. How can we know this? Examine say, the moral signboards, that should give you clues.
Potatojii
post Oct 14 2010, 12:51 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(SpikeMarlene @ Oct 14 2010, 11:46 AM)
There is a hidden assumption you made about the road with signboards. It may well be a road that leads to nowhere, or worse, it leads you astray. How can we know this? Examine say, the moral signboards, that should give you clues.
thats depend on which road u follow smile.gif.

34 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:04 AM