Travel All About Hong Kong V2, A place to share things about Hong Kong

SUSWintersuN
post Mar 23 2011, 09:07 PM

3,173 posts

I will be going back malaysia and maybe will need transit in hk for the night. I wanna ask if the airport in HK got close? Cos maybe thought can wait in the airport until my transit flight.

I now the airport in Japan got close after 12 so cant do that. ANyone can help?
SUSlokideangelus
post Mar 29 2011, 10:13 PM

350 posts

did anyone travel from KUL- HK-TWN-HK-KUL before?
maru
post Mar 30 2011, 11:58 AM

1,191 posts

QUOTE(babybb @ Mar 23 2011, 05:06 PM)
I'm going to HK next month 16th.. wondering how cold is the wheather that time? as cold as genting? If wear short pants will cold? ><
the temperature would be around 25 degree celsius....

just imagine the coldest temperature in genting....

i guess should be ok....its not winter season edi....

babymiki
post Mar 30 2011, 04:50 PM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

i'll be going to hk end of oct/ early november. would like recommendation on budget hotels in hk? tst area.
moody5
post Mar 31 2011, 08:57 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Mar 30 2011, 04:50 PM)
i'll be going to hk end of oct/ early november. would like recommendation on budget hotels in hk? tst area.
friend what is ur budget for your budget hotels?
If you are looking for something less than Rm100 per night hotel in TST area, I would say it is sort of impossible.
ak1977
post Mar 31 2011, 02:51 PM

77 posts

Anyone heard about the Nuclear Radiation hitting HK yesterday, saw the news about this? is it safe, because i'm going tomorrow morning.

Anyone can update? sad.gif

moody5
post Mar 31 2011, 05:02 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(ak1977 @ Mar 31 2011, 02:51 PM)
Anyone heard about the Nuclear Radiation hitting HK yesterday, saw the news about this? is it safe, because i'm going tomorrow morning.

Anyone can update? sad.gif
To be very honest, if it isn't safe to go HK then God bless Jap. Jap would have fallen if Hk isnt safe to go.
I am going hk again soon.

icon_rolleyes.gif God Bless Us.
yhtan
post Mar 31 2011, 10:08 PM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Mar 31 2011, 05:02 PM)
To be very honest, if it isn't safe to go HK then God bless Jap. Jap would have fallen if Hk isnt safe to go.

if it affected hong kong, whole japan will strongly contaminated by radiation

Added on March 31, 2011, 10:09 pm
QUOTE(moody5 @ Mar 31 2011, 05:02 PM)

if it affected hong kong, whole japan will strongly contaminated by radiation

This post has been edited by yhtan: Mar 31 2011, 10:09 PM
t3arsCulprit
post Apr 4 2011, 04:04 PM

769 posts

I nid help on planning the HK and Macau trip >.<
It is urgent bcos the trip is on 5th May - 10th May 2011..

I had a problem here, we book 5 day accommodation in HK, so we might nid to rush to go to Macau in the morning and back to HK at nite..

Is it possible?

The first day will be checking in hostel in Mong kok area and will walk around the area.. Avenue of Star, The Peak?
2nd day will go to Ocean Park for whole day.. (Not going to Disneyland)
3rd day might be going to Macau for whole day..?
4th day?
5th day shop around HK..
6th day preparing to go back..

How about the wax museum if we want to go there as well?
Please I need ur help on this.. I totally had no idea, bcos Im not a good planner and my travel frens push all the work to me >.<

Thank you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by t3arsCulprit: Apr 4 2011, 04:13 PM
chocolatepallette
post Apr 4 2011, 04:31 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(t3arsCulprit @ Apr 4 2011, 04:04 PM)
Please I need ur help on this.. I totally had no idea, bcos Im not a good planner and my travel frens push all the work to me >.<
Madame Tussaud's Wax Musuem Hong Kong is located at The Peak, near Central.

Besides visiting the Wax Musuem, you can also visit the The Peak and view the scenic HK view from the hill.

Best Time to Visit: Late evening/Night. Can view beautiful skyline of HK.
Length of Visit: 1-2 hours.

More Details:
The Peak : http://www.thepeak.com.hk/en/2_1.asp
Madame Tussaud's Wax Musuem : http://www.madametussauds.com/HongKong/en/...it/Default.aspx
t3arsCulprit
post Apr 4 2011, 04:38 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(chocolatepallette @ Apr 4 2011, 04:31 PM)
Madame Tussaud's Wax Musuem Hong Kong is located at The Peak, near Central.

Besides visiting the Wax Musuem, you can also visit the The Peak and view the scenic HK view from the hill.

Best Time to Visit: Late evening/Night. Can view beautiful skyline of HK.
Length of Visit: 1-2 hours.

More Details:
The Peak : http://www.thepeak.com.hk/en/2_1.asp
Madame Tussaud's Wax Musuem : http://www.madametussauds.com/HongKong/en/...it/Default.aspx
Thanks for the info..
Then we might go to the peak on first day..
Is it possible to go to Avenue of Star before 8pm?

Fyi, we will be checking in hostel on 1-2pm so will go to the peak right after checking in?
8pm will have the Symphony of light is it? smile.gif
chocolatepallette
post Apr 4 2011, 04:58 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(t3arsCulprit @ Apr 4 2011, 04:38 PM)
Thanks for the info..

Fyi, we will be checking in hostel on 1-2pm so will go to the peak right after checking in?
8pm will have the Symphony of light is it?  smile.gif
1. You can go to the Avenue of Star anytime you like, be there by 7:45 or earlier if possible. If you go there late, there will be no more seats, you have to stand throughout the show.

2. If you are tired, you can rest 1st before proceeding to The Peak and Wax Museum.

3. Symphony of Light starts at 8pm sharp. Details : http://www.tourism.gov.hk/symphony/english...ls/details.html
Little Gal
post Apr 4 2011, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(t3arsCulprit @ Apr 4 2011, 04:38 PM)
Thanks for the info..

8pm will have the Symphony of light is it?  smile.gif
yes, 8pm have the Symphony of light. quite nice. but u should go to avenue of star early a bit because many ppl waiting for the light. i suggest u go to the peak at night. because it will be nicer than afternoon.

Added on April 4, 2011, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(babymiki @ Mar 30 2011, 04:50 PM)
If u want to find the budget hotel, i recommend u stay at yau ma tei. because tsim sha tsui hotel are very expensive. normally there are 4 n 5 stars hotel. im working at travel agency, u can email to me if u want more information.

my email is sales@cempakatravelbug.com

This post has been edited by Little Gal: Apr 4 2011, 05:03 PM
t3arsCulprit
post Apr 5 2011, 09:58 AM

769 posts

QUOTE(Little Gal @ Apr 4 2011, 04:59 PM)
yes, 8pm have the Symphony of light. quite nice. but u should go to avenue of star early a bit because many ppl waiting for the light. i suggest u go to the peak at night. because it will be nicer than afternoon.

Added on April 4, 2011, 5:03 pm

If u want to find the budget hotel, i recommend u stay at yau ma tei. because tsim sha tsui hotel are very expensive. normally there are 4 n 5 stars hotel. im working at travel agency, u can email to me if u want more information.

my email is sales@cempakatravelbug.com
Yea.. I think will go to the peak at nite possibly will reach thr 6 pm..
Will go for Symphony of light the other day since the hostel is quite near to TTS..
moody5
post Apr 5 2011, 10:47 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(t3arsCulprit @ Apr 4 2011, 04:04 PM)
I nid help on planning the HK and Macau trip >.<
It is urgent bcos the trip is on 5th May - 10th May 2011..

I had a problem here, we book 5 day accommodation in HK, so we might nid to rush to go to Macau in the morning and back to HK at nite..

Is it possible?

The first day will be checking in hostel in Mong kok area and will walk around the area.. Avenue of Star, The Peak?
2nd day will go to Ocean Park for whole day.. (Not going to Disneyland)
3rd day might be going to Macau for whole day..?
4th day?
5th day shop around HK..
6th day preparing to go back..

Thank you.  smile.gif
It is possible.
I suggest you to look at the map of HK so that you can plan your trip better. You still have a month to go and to plan, dont worry!

My suggestion to you:
Day 1 Check in Hostel -> Reach Avenue of Star by 7.30p.m to watch the show at 8p.m -> Temple street -> rest
Day 2 Full Day Ocean Park
Day 3 Macau for whole day
Day 4 Focus on Hk Island, you can use Ricksaw Bus to travel, try out the tram. HK island attractions : Western Market -> Central -> Wan Chai Pier -> North Point -> Go to the peak around 4p.m + Wax Museum (then you can have a view of day time + sun set + night) -> Causeway bay (nice to shop at night)
Day 5 Focus on Kowloon Area -> shopping spree? -> the latest / hottest place to go Sky100 http://www.sky100.com.hk/ (which only launch on 17th Apr 2011)
Day 6 go home

t3arsCulprit
post Apr 5 2011, 03:26 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Apr 5 2011, 10:47 AM)
It is possible.
I suggest you to look at the map of HK so that you can plan your trip better. You still have a month to go and to plan, dont worry!

My suggestion to you:
Day 1 Check in Hostel -> Reach Avenue of Star by 7.30p.m to watch the show at 8p.m -> Temple street -> rest
Day 2 Full Day Ocean Park
Day 3 Macau for whole day
Day 4 Focus on Hk Island, you can use Ricksaw Bus to travel, try out the tram. HK island attractions : Western Market -> Central -> Wan Chai Pier ->  North Point -> Go to the peak around 4p.m + Wax Museum (then you can have a view of day time + sun set + night) -> Causeway bay (nice to shop at night)
Day 5 Focus on Kowloon Area -> shopping spree? -> the latest / hottest place to go Sky100 http://www.sky100.com.hk/ (which only launch on 17th Apr 2011)
Day 6 go home
Upon reaching HKIA roughly 11am, we might go to the citygate factory outlet for sightseeing, and hopefully will buy something lolx so around 1pm will go to mongkok check in..

I plan to go to Madame Tussaude on Day 5, since it is monday, so it will be less crowded.. No nid to wait so long for the tram? or is it possible to go after Ocean Park(Day 2)? which 1 will be better?
About the Wong Tai Shin Temple, when is the best time to go there?
And also Ngong Ping, is it recommend to go?

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by t3arsCulprit: Apr 5 2011, 03:42 PM
chocolatepallette
post Apr 5 2011, 04:22 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(t3arsCulprit @ Apr 5 2011, 03:26 PM)
Upon reaching HKIA roughly 11am, we might go to the citygate factory outlet for sightseeing, and hopefully will buy something lolx so around 1pm will go to mongkok check in..

I plan to go to Madame Tussaude on Day 5, since it is monday, so it will be less crowded.. No nid to wait so long for the tram? or is it possible to go after Ocean Park(Day 2)? which 1 will be better?

Thanks  smile.gif
1. Tram's frequency is 10-15 minutes. Source : http://www.thepeak.com.hk/en/2_1.asp

2. You might be tired after whole day in Ocean Park. The Wax Museum is open from 10:00AM - 10:00PM daily (last admission: 09:45PM). The Peak however is open up to 12:00AM.

3. The best time to visit Wong Tai Shin's temple should be between 09:00AM-12:00PM from my experience.

4. Ngong Ping has two attractions, Po Lin Monastery and Tian Tan Buddha. The air is cool and fresh. The lushes green view are rather soothing. Pretty suitable for 1st time visitor to HK.
moody5
post Apr 5 2011, 05:23 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(t3arsCulprit @ Apr 5 2011, 03:26 PM)

Thanks  smile.gif
If you plan to go Citygate mall, u can go Ngong Ping as well. They are located at the same area.

It is best to go to Wong Tai Shin Temple by 10a.m to avoid crowd

u can opt to go to the Peak after ocean park but i bet u will be tired after a day in Ocean park
t3arsCulprit
post Apr 5 2011, 05:25 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(chocolatepallette @ Apr 5 2011, 04:22 PM)
1. Tram's frequency is 10-15 minutes. Source : http://www.thepeak.com.hk/en/2_1.asp

2. You might be tired after whole day in Ocean Park. The Wax Museum is open from 10:00AM - 10:00PM daily (last admission: 09:45PM). The Peak however is open up to 12:00AM.

3. The best time to visit Wong Tai Shin's temple should be between 09:00AM-12:00PM from my experience.

4. Ngong Ping has two attractions, Po Lin Monastery and Tian Tan Buddha. The air is cool and fresh. The lushes green view are rather soothing. Pretty suitable for 1st time visitor to HK.
I read a guide from some website, it says better not going to the peak during weekend to avoid crowds.. Is it true?
So I think will change to visit the Ngong Ping in the morning having lunch over there and go to citygate for 2 hours, and then heading to the peak around 4.30pm til 7pm.

Day 1 (Thur) HKIA (11 am arrival time) -> Citygate or Wong Tai Shin (optional) -> Mongkok area Lunch -> Check in Hostel (check in time 2 - 3 pm sad)-> Avenue of Star, Clock Tower -> Dinner at Temple Street -> Rest
Day 2 (Fri) Mongkok area Breakfast (Char Chan Teng) -> Ocean Park -> Dinner -> Rest early and preparing for next day adventure XD
Day 3 (Sat) TST area or Macau Breakfast? -> Macau -> Dinner at Macau or HK?
Day 4 (Sun) Breakfast (Any recommend?) -> Ngong Ping -> 11.30am Lunch -> Citygate -> The Peak + Sky Terrace + Wax Museum + Dinner (Expensive to have dinner over there?) -> Causeway Bay? Wanted to try out the HK Island Old Tram at nite? lolx
Day 5 (Mon) Breakfast Dim sum (Any recommend?) -> Shopping XD around Kowloon area, Esprit, HnM and going to visit new Sky100 lolx + Lunch + Dessert + Dinner -> Rest
Day 6 (Tue) Breakfast at 7.30am(can make it?) -> HKIA (10 am departure time)

Is it ok for my trip above?
on Day 5, I dun think we can shop for whole day lolx, might be going to other place as well, any recommendation?

QUOTE(moody5 @ Apr 5 2011, 05:23 PM)
It is best to go to Wong Tai Shin Temple by 10a.m to avoid crowd

u can opt to go to the Peak after ocean park but i bet u will be tired after a day in Ocean park
Hmm, any recommend time slot for Wong Tai Shin Temple for my trip schedule? smile.gif
Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by t3arsCulprit: Apr 5 2011, 05:56 PM
DeCount
post Apr 6 2011, 02:31 AM

Not sure if this has been asked before, but which is the best prepaid mobile SIM to buy in HK, say for a few days of usage?

My main focus would be data, as I'd be bringing my iPad and also an Android phone, so I'd be using data intensively due to nature of work. Of voice voice calls and SMSs would be good to have to.

Please advice. Thanks.

125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:39 PM