Travel All About Hong Kong V2, A place to share things about Hong Kong

yhtan
post Mar 31 2011, 10:08 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Mar 31 2011, 05:02 PM)
To be very honest, if it isn't safe to go HK then God bless Jap. Jap would have fallen if Hk isnt safe to go.
I am going hk again soon.

icon_rolleyes.gif God Bless Us.
if it affected hong kong, whole japan will strongly contaminated by radiation

Added on March 31, 2011, 10:09 pm
QUOTE(moody5 @ Mar 31 2011, 05:02 PM)
To be very honest, if it isn't safe to go HK then God bless Jap. Jap would have fallen if Hk isnt safe to go.
I am going hk again soon.

icon_rolleyes.gif God Bless Us.
if it affected hong kong, whole japan will strongly contaminated by radiation

This post has been edited by yhtan: Mar 31 2011, 10:09 PM
yhtan
post May 9 2011, 06:38 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(duhdude @ May 8 2011, 07:22 PM)
Hi, this is my draft itinerary. Please to help me take a look

Day 1: 9 June, arrive airport 11pm, check in Dragon hostel. I plan to have supper at near by, any suggestion?

Day 2: 
8am breakfast
Ngong Ping 360 - 9am~12pm (enough time or not?)
Disney - 1pm~9pm
go back to hostel, to shop at night market near by and have  supper .
How far travel from Mongkok to Disney?

Day 3:
8.30-breakfast
9.30~3pm- shopping (any nice shopping area to recommend?)
3.30~8pm - The peak, wax museum, plan to have dinner there
9pm , shop at Mongkok and have supper again

Day 4: back to Malaysia 8am flight

i just came back from there last week, overall is a satisfying trip, spent quite a lot on shopping

for Day 2,
the time travelling from mongkok to Disney could take up 30-45min
if i'm not mistaken, the cable car to ngong ping start on 9.30am
disneyland end around 8.30pm, by the time u reach mongkok, try to walk around as the shop normally close around 11pm

for Day 3,
try to go Central and walk around, i'll try to list down once i'm free

i see your schedule is quite packed, u actually got 2 days to walk around sweat.gif
yhtan
post May 9 2011, 08:29 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(duhdude @ May 9 2011, 08:20 PM)
I also think it is a bit pack schedule. Anyway what good bargains you got there and which area, maybe can help cut down my searching time and go for the good stuff.
are u able to read chinese words? mainly because the roads name all in chinese word
yhtan
post May 9 2011, 10:37 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(duhdude @ May 9 2011, 08:39 PM)
ya ok my wife can read chinese.
ngong ping must try the "san sui tau foo fah"

i recommend u some nice food place in central hong kong
兰花园 - famous for "xi mut nai cha"
连香楼 - famous for its authentic dim sum, a lot of people there so be mentally prepare brows.gif brows.gif

p/s : this one i really forgot, i remember i did try one of the tai chow in central, the "ngao lam pao" is the best yo

This post has been edited by yhtan: May 9 2011, 10:44 PM
yhtan
post May 10 2011, 11:28 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ May 10 2011, 09:13 AM)
连香楼 -> must reach there before 10a.m and i think if exit at Sheung Wan E2 will be nearer to it
i reached there 3pm++ and the crowd is full, first time i see people grabbing dim sum once the cart is out sweat.gif

QUOTE(duhdude @ May 10 2011, 06:00 PM)
Sound like you got a very good deal. Yes im flying from KL. I think it depends on the systems . My flight time from KL is 18:45hrs because i m coming back from another local destination in the morning.There is another afternoon flight of the same price. So the departure suits my schedule. Half of it depends on your preference and half of it luck to get the date you want to travel. So anyone go try out MAS deal of the day. The return ticket is 0830 in the morning because that is cheaper. Also matching my return date criteria. Not all dates have discounts.

For you you got a good deal, did u take Cathay's room package as well?

Added on May 10, 2011, 6:03 pm

Thanks for your recommendation i think i wont be wasting time waiting at the crowded place hehe maybe can try some alternative dimsum area. I plan to visit landmark mall which is like pavillion in KL, did u go there?

Did you get any good electronic deals?
i didn't buy any electronic deals, but i scan through the price and it is cheaper than Malaysia, u can search around in Wong Kok Hollywood Plaza if i'm not mistaken
u may try to look at the perfume selling in Bonjour and Sasa, it is cheaper than Malaysia
yhtan
post May 11 2011, 03:45 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(t3arsCulprit @ May 11 2011, 12:14 AM)
Just back from Hong Kong..
Had very bad experience lolx.. Mayb is the diff culture thou..

I found out ppl who live in Kowloon area like to scam tourist.. lolx
For example, if u order a set lunch or dinner, it will serve with tea or coffee add another 2 dollar for cold drinks.. But they will nvr bother to ask u the drink u wan... Mayb they were too busy, haha waitress from China will ask u only Kowloonese will not ask.. lolx
I remember I go to a KFC restaurant, we all were stun by the "Super BLACK FACE" from the person at the counter taking orders.. She act like we owe her money and want to kill us.. And of cos other tourist from other country were shock by the services from her too..  laugh.gif

And for Hong Kong Island ppl, the way they talk are very arrogant.. Overall, all talk and act like very rude lor.. I was surprised that a 12 year old kid talk rudely to a perfect stranger inside the public transport.. OMFG..

And many many more.. XD
Hong Kong people tend to be rude, maybe due to their hectic life

QUOTE(moody5 @ May 11 2011, 12:53 PM)
biggrin.gif haha 3p.m++ it is always full house most of the time
the lunch n dinner serves there are quite good as well

Added on May 11, 2011, 2:03 pm

Set lunch and dinners always come with tea or coffee, cold drinks are always + HKD2
You got to order ur drink together with ur set.

Thats their culture that seems rude and arrogant to us

Added on May 11, 2011, 2:11 pm

Rm250 for hotel?

Mingle Place By The Park Hotel Hong Kong
surprisingly all their dim sum is the best i tried so far, not even one in Malaysia could beat it thumbup.gif

QUOTE(mariellasays @ May 11 2011, 02:29 PM)

I'll be going to Hong Kong next week for 4 days. I was thinking of going to Guangzhou as well for a short trip. So, I need some help...

1) Do I need a visa to enter China? If yes, can I apply it at the Msian Embassy in Hong Kong?

2) Should I take the train to Guangzhou? How to go about it and which is the fastest way? Also, how much is the ticket?

3) I heard Guangzhou is great for shopping, any recommendation on where to go?

Thanks a bunch!
Yes u do need Visa to enter China, apply it from China Embassy, or just get travel agent to get it done for u
yhtan
post May 11 2011, 05:33 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ May 11 2011, 05:24 PM)
i wonder how much is the price of a normal cup noodle in hong kong?  tongue.gif [budgeting in case we don't have enough to eat there] blink.gif
don't save money on food, spend on some and u will not forget the taste of it
is just my opinion because travel so far away, somehow will have to enjoy ourself, the easiest way is to eat good food biggrin.gif

if i'm not mistaken is around HKD$10
yhtan
post May 11 2011, 06:24 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ May 11 2011, 05:36 PM)
around HKD10?

biggrin.gif can't really remember but  drool.gif even their cup noodle are tastier than M'sia. More choices
i remember only a certain 7-eleven outlet do have cup noodles with add on fishball etc, it cost only HKD$15
yhtan
post May 11 2011, 10:55 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(t3arsCulprit @ May 11 2011, 08:52 PM)
Hmm mayb thats their culture.. But at least, if the food is not finish yet, they shud simply ask us still wan to eat rather than str8 throw the trash onto the plate.. Lucky I nvr experience it, the guy next table to us kena XD We all saw his face like very dulan ady..  laugh.gif
And for shopping, if an item got discount, must tell the cashier got discount, if not they wont gib u discount lor..  tongue.gif
U noe the Australia Dairy Milk company? The waiter recommend the breakfast set, he say we all wont regret to eat it lolx..
When they 1st serve the pasta with soups? We all stunned by the look of it.. Then we have a taste of it.. lolx The taste turn out not so good sweat.gif
And we didnt finish it and still left alot when bill..  laugh.gif 

But its quite wasted bcos we didnt have dim sum in HK due to all sleep until very late and lazy to have breakfast  doh.gif  shakehead.gif
that Dairy Milk, wanted to try but some say is not nice at all, so end up i did not try any of it, they used to mix pasta with soup which we Malaysian don't like at all

Dim Sum is a must try in Hong Kong, i tried lin heung and tou heung, lin heung is more like classic dim sum restaurant and serve the best dim sum, tou heung got several branches all over HK and their dim sum not bad too

where can miss this kind of food in HK, is like u didn't try Nasi Lemak, Bah Kut Teh or Roti Canai in Malaysia tongue.gif tongue.gif
yhtan
post May 15 2011, 11:06 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(beautyfreakkl @ May 15 2011, 12:10 AM)
Are the clothes there cheaper? Thanks. Just excited about that..
it is cheaper than Malaysia
1 bottle of perfume is around RM100-RM160
Esprit T-shirt around RM30-60, shirt around RM50-100
G-2000 latest with RM80-100

be prepare of lots of cash or else u need credit card for that
yhtan
post May 18 2011, 10:29 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ May 18 2011, 03:27 PM)
biggrin.gif if u go to esprit outlet, it will be even cheaper

esprit cardigan / slacks around Rm80
oh gosh, i didn't bring enough cash and ended up keep using credit card

i went to the outlet in "tong chung", others seem a lot of choices and luckily i bought later because there is a discount of 10-20% for labour day tongue.gif
yhtan
post May 19 2011, 11:16 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(princess89 @ May 19 2011, 09:13 PM)
Hi there.. i'm planning to go to HK end of this year during christmas.. is it recommend to go on that period?
weather could be cold during that period around 10 celcius to 18 celcius

0.0222sec    1.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:33 AM