http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13738146
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13738165
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13738183

- Page 3 #58-59 by Bitez
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13961867
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13966999

- Page 27 #524 by fiolsn
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=16357578

- Page 27 #533-534 by northasian (pics of an outlying island of HK - Peng Chau)
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=16382167
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=16383381

- Page 27 #539 by stalkie (blog + pics, very informative!)
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=16395546

- Page 37 & 39 #730, #735 & #761 by pisang (pics of food, Disneyland & Metropark Mongkok Hotel)
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=17729525
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=17739099
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=17907102

- Page 55 #1097 by Hikari (very detailed and well-planned itinerary for download) :
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=19769356

Thanks for their sharing~!

--REMINDER--
It's great that you all are willing to share your experience & info here with us. However, please kindly don't provide false info before checking the true and up-to-date info from reliable source. It would be better if official links or source of info to be posted as well to avoid confusing our fellow forumers who are doing their trip-planning. Many thanks!

Rickshaw Sightseeing Bus
For those who are planning a trip to Hong Kong, you may consider taking this Ricksaw Sightseeing Bus to travel around main tourist spots on Hong Kong Island.

http://www.rickshawbus.com

You are recommended to get the 1-Day Pass with HK$50 if you're going to explore the Hong Kong Island for a whole day. With this pass, you can hop on and off the bus at any time. But you're advised to plan visiting time for each spot 'coz the bus runs every 30mins. Plan ahead so you won't waste time on waiting the next bus. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by northasian: Oct 14 2010, 04:20 PM
wiNd
post Nov 5 2009, 11:23 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

congrats on V2! thanks northasian for providing valuable information on HK smile.gif
w00lvie
post Nov 5 2009, 12:49 PM

144 posts

all avid travellers... need abit of advise.

due to limited time (yea, manage to squeeze in alot of places) and so not to tax myself too much this time, im thinking of just going to either Stanley Market/Waterfront or Repulse Bay.

Considering i'm more into scenery/sightseeing, and probably abit of shopping, which would you recommend i go? As for timing wise, most probably will try to go (to either place) around 4pm.

last but not least, anyone currently in HK can confirm what time the sun sets in HK this time around (Nov)? from some website, it says 5.45pm. Is it that early? Planning to enjoy sunset in HK. wink.gif

Added on November 5, 2009, 1:21 pm
northasian or any sifus... understand that there is construction work currently ongoing @ Ngong Ping. is the Po Lin Monastery, Wisdom Path and Tian Tan buddha still accessible? Is it still worthy going there?

This post has been edited by w00lvie: Nov 5 2009, 01:21 PM
moody5
post Nov 5 2009, 02:43 PM

296 posts

rclxms.gif V2 thumbup.gif

I am waiting for cheap flight to HK again ....

Added on November 5, 2009, 2:46 pm
QUOTE(w00lvie @ Nov 5 2009, 12:49 PM)

due to limited time (yea, manage to squeeze in alot of places) and so not to tax myself too much this time, im thinking of just going to either Stanley Market/Waterfront or Repulse Bay.

Considering i'm more into scenery/sightseeing, and probably abit of shopping, which would you recommend i go? As for timing wise, most probably will try to go (to either place) around 4pm.

last but not least, anyone currently in HK can confirm what time the sun sets in HK this time around (Nov)? from some website, it says 5.45pm. Is it that early? Planning to enjoy sunset in HK.  wink.gif

northasian or any sifus... understand that there is construction work currently ongoing @ Ngong Ping.  is the Po Lin Monastery, Wisdom Path and Tian Tan buddha still accessible?  Is it still worthy going there?

Stanley Market/Waterfront or Repulse Bay

I prefer Repulse Bay..

Or make it easier, find out how to get to both of these place from your previous attractions then go for the lesser hassle one biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by moody5: Nov 5 2009, 02:46 PM
TSnorthasian
post Nov 5 2009, 03:41 PM

QUOTE(w00lvie @ Nov 5 2009, 12:49 PM)

last but not least, anyone currently in HK can confirm what time the sun sets in HK this time around (Nov)? from some website, it says 5.45pm. Is it that early? Planning to enjoy sunset in HK.  wink.gif

northasian or any sifus... understand that there is construction work currently ongoing @ Ngong Ping.  is the Po Lin Monastery, Wisdom Path and Tian Tan buddha still accessible?  Is it still worthy going there?
Hi w00lvie,

For scenery, Repulse Bay will be better, but there isn't much thing to see indeed. If you would like to have a bit shopping as well, I think Stanley is a better choice! Though you shouldn't expect there is a lot of thing to buy in the flea market there, 'coz most items are tourist-oriented, like Chinese handcraft, HK t-shirts...etc. But it's nice to have a tea/coffee break at one of the alfresco cafes along the main street there/or those restaurants in the Murray House.

Yes, sunset is really around 5:45pm in this season. It will get even earlier as time closer to Dec, 'coz Day time is shorter in Winter.

I can't find any notice about closure of Giant Buddha & Wisdom Path from NP360 website, but last time when I visited Ngong Ping & Po Lin Monastery in Feb this year, there was some construction work but all the attractions were still accessible. If you like scenery & sightseeing, this place is somewhere you MUST NOT MISS!!
w00lvie
post Nov 5 2009, 04:09 PM

144 posts

I prefer Repulse Bay..

Or make it easier, find out how to get to both of these place from your previous attractions then go for the lesser hassle one biggrin.gif

[/quote]
thanks moody5. if all goes well, i should be coming back from Cheung Chau, hence should be at Central pier... which has buses going to both Stanley and Repulse. but due to time limitation, can only pick one. sad.gif

QUOTE(northasian @ Nov 5 2009, 03:41 PM)
Hi w00lvie,

For scenery, Repulse Bay will be better, but there isn't much thing to see indeed. If you would like to have a bit shopping as well, I think Stanley is a better choice! Though you shouldn't expect there is a lot of thing to buy in the flea market there, 'coz most items are tourist-oriented, like Chinese handcraft, HK t-shirts...etc. But it's nice to have a tea/coffee break at one of the alfresco cafes along the main street there/or those restaurants in the Murray House.

Yes, sunset is really around 5:45pm in this season. It will get even earlier as time closer to Dec, 'coz Day time is shorter in Winter.

I can't find any notice about closure of Giant Buddha & Wisdom Path from NP360 website, but last time when I visited Ngong Ping & Po Lin Monastery in Feb this year, there was some construction work but all the attractions were still accessible. If you like scenery & sightseeing, this place is somewhere you MUST NOT MISS!!
northasian... thanks for your suggestion. will make final decision when time comes... Repulse Bay or Stanley Market/Waterfront. tongue.gif

and thanks for confirming the sunset time in HK this time around. guess i will have to work (or rather walk) fast if i wanna catch sunset @ Golden Bauhinia sq. tongue.gif

actually i've been to NP, but wanna go again this time... especially to try the new Crystal cabin cable car. biggrin.gif so i guess i will just go ahead and plan for NP, Big Buddha & Wisdom Path, and cross my finger that it is still accessible. biggrin.gif

moody5
post Nov 5 2009, 04:13 PM

296 posts

[quote=w00lvie,Nov 5 2009, 04:09 PM]

I prefer Repulse Bay..

[/quote]
thanks moody5. if all goes well, i should be coming back from Cheung Chau, hence should be at Central pier... which has buses going to both Stanley and Repulse. but due to time limitation, can only pick one. sad.gif
northasian... thanks for your suggestion. will make final decision when time comes... Repulse Bay or Stanley Market/Waterfront. tongue.gif

and thanks for confirming the sunset time in HK this time around. guess i will have to work (or rather walk) fast if i wanna catch sunset @ Golden Bauhinia sq. tongue.gif

actually i've been to NP, but wanna go again this time... especially to try the new Crystal cabin cable car. biggrin.gif so i guess i will just go ahead and plan for NP, Big Buddha & Wisdom Path, and cross my finger that it is still accessible. biggrin.gif

[/quote]

biggrin.gif the new crystal cabin.. wow wow.. awaiting your photo on it..

Stanley market will be more happening in the morning as compared to the evening.. from what i know..
TSnorthasian
post Nov 5 2009, 05:36 PM

QUOTE(w00lvie @ Nov 5 2009, 04:09 PM)
thanks moody5.  if all goes well, i should be coming back from Cheung Chau, hence should be at Central pier... which has buses going to both Stanley and Repulse.  but due to time limitation, can only pick one.  sad.gif

northasian... thanks for your suggestion.  will make final decision when time comes... Repulse Bay or Stanley Market/Waterfront.  tongue.gif

and thanks for confirming the sunset time in HK this time around.  guess i will have to work (or rather walk) fast if i wanna catch sunset @ Golden Bauhinia sq.  tongue.gif

actually i've been to NP, but wanna go again this time... especially to try the new Crystal cabin cable car.  biggrin.gif so i guess i will just go ahead and plan for NP, Big Buddha & Wisdom Path, and cross my finger that it is still accessible.  biggrin.gif
Wow you wanna cover Cheung Chau + Stanley + Sunset at Golden Bauhinia Square? That's quite rush indeed... Unless you are like "touch'n go" type of tourist.. Actually travelling should be a kind of relaxation, shouldn't push yourself too much... My suggestion is, watching sunset at Stanley or somewhere else in any day during your trip would be fine too.. Say, maybe you can arrange another day to match the sunset time when you're walking along the Tsim Sha Tsui Harbourfront/Ocean Terminal, or taking ferry to/from Central & Tsim Sha Tsui...etc. Viewing from Tsim Sha Tsui or the ferry is nice too, I love the view from the ferry smile.gif

Ami Tsun
post Nov 5 2009, 07:19 PM

Hi northasian,

Can you pls enlighten me, what's the name of the island that is with 3 big chimneys? Is it Lamma Island?

I chanced upon a very nice sunset at The Peak Galleria, at Victoria Peak, with a reservoir(? Pok Fu Lam reservoir) in the foreground and further away, there's this island with 3 chimneys...

Ami
TSnorthasian
post Nov 5 2009, 08:02 PM

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Nov 5 2009, 07:19 PM)
Hi northasian,

Can you pls enlighten me, what's the name of the island that is with 3 big chimneys?  Is it Lamma Island?

I chanced upon a very nice sunset at The Peak Galleria, at Victoria Peak, with a reservoir(? Pok Fu Lam reservoir) in the foreground and further away, there's this island with 3 chimneys...

Ami
Hi Ami,

Yes you're right, the island with 3 chimneys is Lamma Island and the reservoir you overlooked from the Peak is Pok Fu Lam Reservoir~
stanley984
post Nov 5 2009, 08:13 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(takki87 @ Nov 4 2009, 09:13 PM)
haha...just wanna plan well at least i have idea where am i going..cz it's my first time visit to there..
yup, but i dun really know which bus and still confusing..and it's costy to take cab at there as i know..

i will stay at dragon hostel at mongkok..and u??
first day jz have a walk around there..those ladies street, fa yuen street...
there have many delicious shops to eat around there..
Well, i be staying in Dorsett Seaview Hotel. Seem pretty close maybe we can meet up for cup of tea .. LOL. Well, I also still blur with the bus stop location due to the road sign, but as advice will keep trying to ask & ask ppl around. I'll be reach quite late in HongKong during the first day.. maybe take a visit to "Hui Lau San" the dessert restaurant and fa yuen street maybe.. dinner still thinking maybe 海皇粥店 since quite close to Yau Mai Dei where we stayed.

I already add you in my msn feel free to ping me can share share some idea~ biggrin.gif

w00lvie
post Nov 5 2009, 08:34 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Nov 5 2009, 05:36 PM)
Wow you wanna cover Cheung Chau + Stanley + Sunset at Golden Bauhinia Square? That's quite rush indeed... Unless you are like "touch'n go" type of tourist.. Actually travelling should be a kind of relaxation, shouldn't push yourself too much... My suggestion is, watching sunset at Stanley or somewhere else in any day during your trip would be fine too.. Say, maybe you can arrange another day to match the sunset time when you're walking along the Tsim Sha Tsui Harbourfront/Ocean Terminal, or taking ferry to/from Central & Tsim Sha Tsui...etc. Viewing from Tsim Sha Tsui or the ferry is nice too, I love the view from the ferry smile.gif
thanks for your suggestion... and very sorry for making you confused. actually my trip to Cheung Chau is on separate day then the day i'm planning to catch the sunset @ Golden Bauhinia Sq. when i say 'i need to walk fast...', i actually mean that the day time is very short... thats why need to 'walk' fast. smile.gif

will also take your heed of catching the sunset from the ferry - this one need very good timing i guess. tongue.gif
takki87
post Nov 5 2009, 11:38 PM

QUOTE(stanley984 @ Nov 5 2009, 08:13 PM)
Well, i be staying in Dorsett Seaview Hotel. Seem pretty close maybe we can meet up for cup of tea .. LOL. Well, I also still blur with the bus stop location due to the road sign, but as advice will keep trying to ask & ask ppl around. I'll be reach quite late in HongKong during the first day.. maybe take a visit to "Hui Lau San" the dessert restaurant and fa yuen street maybe.. dinner still thinking maybe 海皇粥店 since quite close to Yau Mai Dei where we stayed.

I already add you in my msn feel free to ping me can share share some idea~  biggrin.gif
ohh...where is dorsett seaview hotel??seems many people stay thr..tongue.gif
yup, it's better to walk around our hostel first..then won't easy to get lost... smile.gif

ok, sure!!just added ur msn..chat there..
D-Tourist
post Nov 6 2009, 12:41 AM

95 posts

COngratulations to Northasian for your v2 of this forum smile.gif
Sweetie89
post Nov 6 2009, 04:18 AM

29 posts

Hey.. I have a problem here.. I have booked my flight to HK for 6-11 Jan 2010.. At first, there are 4 of us now turned out to be 2 of us can make it.. I am contemplating should I go or not with my bf as we are new as in the places and all.. We are afraid to get lost and confused with the map and everything.. Expenses there also quite high.. Roughly how much should we prepare? 2 persons seem a bit lonely and demotivated.. Should the 2 of us go at the first place? Really need help regarding the issue =)
stimix
post Nov 6 2009, 07:23 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Geeee..there's ppl going solo...how about those in honeymoon? not couple?

Why need lamp post to go everywhere?
moody5
post Nov 6 2009, 08:40 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Sweetie89 @ Nov 6 2009, 04:18 AM)
Hey.. I have a problem here.. I have booked my flight to HK for 6-11 Jan 2010.. At first, there are 4 of us now turned out to be 2 of us can make it.. I am contemplating should I go or not with my bf as we are new as in the places and all.. We are afraid to get lost and confused with the map and everything.. Expenses there also quite high.. Roughly how much should we prepare? 2 persons seem a bit lonely and demotivated.. Should the 2 of us go at the first place? Really need help regarding the issue =)
Nothing to be worried

Hk is a place that you can even travel solo.. Don't worry!

Just do some homework in getting info will do.
TSnorthasian
post Nov 6 2009, 10:38 AM

QUOTE(stanley984 @ Nov 5 2009, 08:13 PM)

I already add you in my msn feel free to ping me can share share some idea~  biggrin.gif
what bus stop are you looking for? See if I can help?

QUOTE(w00lvie @ Nov 5 2009, 08:34 PM)
thanks for your suggestion... and very sorry for making you confused.  actually my trip to Cheung Chau is on separate day then the day i'm planning to catch the sunset @ Golden Bauhinia Sq.  when i say 'i need to walk fast...', i actually mean that the day time is very short... thats why need to 'walk' fast.  smile.gif

will also take your heed of catching the sunset from the ferry - this one need very good timing i guess.  tongue.gif
oooicic~~! Not your fault la, no need to say sorry, haha..
Day time is shorter but not too short, just 1.5hour difference from summer's day time~ Yes, need good timing to view the sunset on ferry! Last time I was just a bit late, so I couldn't take a good pic of the "egg yolk"! This pic FYI :

QUOTE(takki87 @ Nov 5 2009, 11:38 PM)
ohh...where is dorsett seaview hotel??seems many people stay thr..tongue.gif
yup, it's better to walk around our hostel first..then won't easy to get lost... smile.gif

ok, sure!!just added ur msn..chat there..
Dorsett Seaview is in Yau Ma Tei, very close to Temple Street.
Hey I haven't replied your email 'coz I need some time to find how to go to Po Yan Street....

QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Nov 6 2009, 12:41 AM)
COngratulations to Northasian for your v2 of this forum smile.gif
Thanks D-Tourist~ smile.gif

QUOTE(Sweetie89 @ Nov 6 2009, 04:18 AM)
It's surely no problem to come to HK just 2 of you! What have to be worried for travelling with only 2 of you? Most of the time go travelling is going to a place you have NOT been to, otherwise why bother to spend money, time and effort to plan for a trip to go somewhere you HAVE ALREADY BEEN familiar with? You shouldn't rely on others to see the map and find the way if you decide to go on a free'n easy trip, otherwise please go join a group tour. Even you travel with your friends, chances are your friends also get lost and confused with the map too, and turn out you all also have to ask people around... Travelling is somehow an adventure and to train one's ability of solving proplem and being independent.

Expenses can be controlled. There is a fan in my Facebook Page who spent only RM2000 for a 6 or 7 days trip... you can go find and ask him in my Page.
TSnorthasian
post Nov 6 2009, 10:44 AM

From this Version 2, I would try to post & update some current/upcoming local promotions/offers under the 2nd post in Page 1 of this thread.

Anyone who have any info on hand are welcome to post up as well~

Cheers!

125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:45 PM