125 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Travel All About Hong Kong V2, A place to share things about Hong Kong

mls_gamer
post Mar 7 2011, 09:41 PM

1,589 posts

December izzit a nice month to visit HK ???
may_saw87
post Mar 10 2011, 09:35 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Mar 7 2011, 09:41 PM)
December izzit a nice month to visit HK ???
Yea it's christmas smile.gif I never been then in December but I just came back from HK not long ago.

I heard for Chritmas they have more stuff to see and the weather gonna be very nice to walk.

HK people all quite trendy la, you might wanna bring your jacket and boots maybe ?

Added on March 10, 2011, 9:39 am
QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Mar 7 2011, 12:40 AM)
Plan to visit HK this year end December.....
Lucky i found this thread.
thanks to TS and  other members that share their info here...
and the branded clothe there cheaper than malaysia ?
I was doing shopping there last month and the branded or mid range brand actually those new arrivals is pretty similar to prices in Malaysia if you convert it.
But for those off season and sale items then when u convert it, is cheaper than buying in Malaysia lor. But to HKies is off season means off trend clothings edy la..

To me, i think i don't mind buying cos i never see in it KL too plus im not a trendy kinda people so i just buy because is nice quality and cheaper if i buy from M'sia tongue.gif

Always hunt for those sale items only.. The non sale items are usually quite expensive even if u convert or around the same price as you bought in Malaysia.

MNG off season sale in HK is awesome.. go check if there's sale, you'll love it!

This post has been edited by may_saw87: Mar 10 2011, 09:39 AM
DrezzUp
post Mar 10 2011, 05:44 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Mar 7 2011, 01:34 AM)
good thing for her....anyways, anybody currently at HK spotted me wearing 'I LOVE MALAYSIA' black T-shirt hanging around at YMT, Edward & causeway bay this evening? tongue.gif
Din c u there hahaha...I was there

Added on March 10, 2011, 6:11 pm
QUOTE(DrezzUp @ Mar 1 2011, 12:58 AM)
Will be HK this coming weekend. Anyway, just wanna share tis hostel http://www.cleveryear.com/  that I will be staying . M a budget traveller. Is clean n just basic and convenient.
Since I just came back from HK. I would like to add on comments to this hostel. This hostel is frequent by mostly china tourist (Individual travellers) Location wise very convenient) Near Shantung st, Sai yong choi st, Lui yan kai,Shanghai st (all within walking distance) And around this hostel you will find BIG goldsmith like CHOW TAI FOOK and branded watches like Rolex brand which goes up to HKD500,000 or and above. Nvr seen so expensive watches.

Mongkok MTR station also very near.

And about the room. Pretty small enuf to put in 2 single bed and one big luggage.Comes with attach bathroom which is good.And nothing shout about and m a real budget traveller. So don't expect mus. This is a family operated biz.And the owner is from Fujian so I felt wahhh from the same kampong lor. The reason I stayed here because I also know them. So I felt safe with my luggage inside.

The hostel is located in a building, where downstairs are commercial.The hostel is on 25th floor.And there are many hostel too in this buildingThat's how the people in HK operate hostel.

Btw, if you wish to purchase disneyland tickets cheap, you may to Golden Crown http://goldencrownhk.com/reservations/en. The tickets is only HKD320. If you purchase directly from Disneyland it cost HKD350. You can even stay at this hotel as I have checked them out ..Rooms are not too bad. However during any major events in HK, be prepare to pay DOUBLE. Manage by an elderly couple.

And if anyone purchase the 2 days tourist pass for MTR, you will get discount coupons for Ngo Ping 360, the Peak and Disneyland (less HKD30)

I went to Citygate at Ngo Ping - sad to say nothing to shout about on the factory outlet (my personal opinion).Not really that cheap. I enjoy more while in Bandung.Food is expensive here.

Disneyland - may be I am too old for this.I think it will attract kids more.Nvr been to US,france or Tokyou Disneyland. This one din give a WOW factor. But I do enjoy the rides and show.Lastly don;t miss the fireworks starts at 8pm.I love it.I guess it will be nice to go during Spring cos is not too hot to walk around.Food is REALLY expensive here. Be prepare to pay min HKD50 and above for a bowl of noodles etc...otheriwse buy the food coupon at the ticket booth.May be cheaper by 20%. Bring your own mineral water. LAstly , don't go during weekend TOO crowded to enter n even buy tickets. U probably wait hours to wait for your turn n rides. Go during weekdays.

This post has been edited by DrezzUp: Mar 10 2011, 06:11 PM
may_saw87
post Mar 11 2011, 05:17 PM

22 posts

Hmm i just got back from HK 2 weeks ago.. been there on the February, so just wanna share my experience with future travelers here.

The weather was absolutely good during the time i go. Is so nice to walk around. But only thing, don't have sun and i personally feel sometimes i felt too cold and got a bit misty water (like drizzling abit) while walking in the streets.

Hotel i stay in L'nina hotel http://www.lhotelhk.com/eng/ . To me is a very good hotel. 3 star price but 5 star hotel. The room is big and the toilet is big too! Affordable for my 6 nights stay there and i think its cheap too. I stay at 70th floor so i overlooked the city of HK - on the Tsuen Wan side only la. Plus point,is just above citywalk mall, and MTR is just 3 minute walking distance. Downside about this hotel is if you wanna travel to the main HK city, you need to interchange in 2 stations.

My opinion, Mong Kok, Tsim Tsa Tsui, Prince Edward are good place to stay for young energetic travelers because they are like in the heart of the city which can direct to almost anywhere, plus food and shopping all surrounding. But then hotel price there expensive and rooms very small, plus it'll be a bit noisy at night oso.

When i reach HK i straight buy the octopus card and airport express ticket. Airport express ticket oso got promotion if youre buying 2 tickets together. Initially it was 60HKD to Tsing Yi, we got only 45HKD for 1 person. Plus Octopus card is 150HKD includes 50 deposit and 100 to use. Your deposit can take back at the end of your travel if you want. I do suggest travelers to buy Octopus card rather than the MTR tourist pass. I counted my research and my experience there, the Octopus card is cheaper. Though got free two day for MTR tourist pass, but u wont travel more than 3 places in 1 day, so it'll be wasted at the amount you pay. You can check out the mtr website and look for the interactive route fare and count your fares there.. Very useful. I was using it when i do my research. Airport express is very very convenient. Just buy that ticket right outside when u checked out from the Custom.

Though the MTR tourist pass can give discount for attractions, but i still think is expensive. Reason, i know 1 place in Mong Kok can buy cheaper attraction tickets. Got to Nathan Road and search for Ding Ding travel agency when you reach HK. He sell to me disneyland ticket includes 1 meal set too.. and still cheaper than the actual price. All together i pay 880HKD only for Disneyland ticket + meal set, Ngong Ping 360 enlightenment journey , Ocean Park, Madame tussades + peak tram + Sky Terrace.

Citygate mall, K-gallery, Citywalk , Harbour city mall, Sogo is a must visit shopping centres because when i was there, they are having season sale, so i got all my shoppings cheap and nice smile.gif imagine i bought my adidas shoe branded at only 137HKD - which is less than RM100 here tongue.gif

I disagree with some people that the food is expensive. I personally feel that the food is nice and affordable. I wont say cheap (unless u expect eating in indonesia or bangkok or china la) and i think that their food portion is quite big. I am a small eater so most of the time i share with my BF and both of us are satisfied. You imaging eating at Kim gary, or in any restaurant at the shopping mall, you will know what i say. 50HKD for a duck + chicken + char siew rice + green vege + 1 drink is consider cheap edy. I eat at Kim Gary 1 cheese baked rice oso RM16.90 and havent plus 10% service and 6% Government tax yet and the portion is so small. You eat in the street market cow noodles only 10hkd so is about RM4.50 here.. i think its the same as we go KL eat beef noodle oso laa.
Must try food - curry fishball, egg tart, polo bun, siew ngor fan, char siew rice, beef noodle - all this very nice smile.gif Yum yum!

Lou poh peng or eggrolls - actually i suggest no nid to buy at souveniers oso because it taste the same as you buy in Malaysia, so nothing different.

It's my first time to Disneyland and i think is awesome! So much fun there. Its a worth while experience. And if you're travelling with kids, i suggest you buy the toys there too. They're original and nicer quality. I saw 1 toy story figure of Woody big one.. in Malaysia toy r us selling RM350 at Disneyland same figure selling 339HKD - go figure!

Ocean park is nice too for young adults who want extreme roller coaster and stuff.. But personally i think its like genting highlands. ONly i get to see sea lion and panda which is the most interesting one tongue.gif

Madame tussades ofcourse must visit la.. and also after that do enjoy a dinner at the peak.. Is really nice during sunset. Unfortunately when i was there, all the time is very cloudy cos very cold. BUt enjoy the tram ride.. is scary but nice!

Remember when you go tourist place, try not to go weekends if not.. you'll wait and you'll get fustrated. Places in HK is already small, imagine everyone crowded at one place.. unsure.gif

If you wanna see scenes from TVB drama, go to central city.. i spotted a few there. They have the longest elevated walkway in the world. Go on that and you basically see the whole central.

Symphony of lights - just nothing much. Sit there and wasted my time. But if you would wanna see, it happens every night 8pm. Youll find it when youre at the avenue of stars. Just wait there.

For my 7 days trip i really enjoyed it, i shop alot, i eat alot and i still got RM300 to bring back from my expected budget. My bf still got RM1100 to bring back. I i guess the trip wasn't really as expensive as i thought it would be thumbup.gif

Hope my info help. Always remember to check weather report cos is pretty unpredictable there.
DrezzUp
post Mar 11 2011, 08:51 PM

41 posts

Agreed not to buy the tourist pass.Not even the one day pass. Do your calculation first as mention.

Yea...check d weather. My last 2 days was extremely COLD.

For food...I always enjoy the "tai pai tong" or the small little shops. I had a bowl of liver porridge and "cha cheong " noodle cost only HKD25.Tis is around Mongkok area :-)
QUOTE(may_saw87 @ Mar 11 2011, 06:17 PM)
Hmm i just got back from HK 2 weeks ago.. been there on the February, so just wanna share my experience with future travelers here.

The weather was absolutely good during the time i go. Is so nice to walk around. But only thing, don't have sun and i personally feel sometimes i felt too cold and got a bit misty water (like drizzling abit) while walking in the streets.

Hotel i stay in L'nina hotel http://www.lhotelhk.com/eng/ . To me is a very good hotel. 3 star price but 5 star hotel. The room is big and the toilet is big too! Affordable for my 6 nights stay there and i think its cheap too. I stay at 70th floor so i overlooked the city of HK - on the Tsuen Wan side only la. Plus point,is just above citywalk mall, and MTR is just 3 minute walking distance. Downside about this hotel is if you wanna travel to the main HK city, you need to interchange in 2 stations.

My opinion, Mong Kok, Tsim Tsa Tsui, Prince Edward are good place to stay for young energetic travelers because they are like in the heart of the city which can direct to almost anywhere, plus food and shopping all surrounding. But then hotel price there expensive and rooms very small, plus it'll be a bit noisy at night oso.

When i reach HK i straight buy the octopus card and airport express ticket. Airport express ticket oso got promotion if youre buying 2 tickets together. Initially it was 60HKD to Tsing Yi, we got only 45HKD for 1 person. Plus Octopus card is 150HKD includes 50 deposit and 100 to use. Your deposit can take back at the end of your travel if you want. I do suggest travelers to buy Octopus card rather than the MTR tourist pass. I counted my research and my experience there, the Octopus card is cheaper. Though got free two day for MTR tourist pass, but u wont travel more than 3 places in 1 day, so it'll be wasted at the amount you pay. You can check out the mtr website and look for the interactive route fare and count your fares there.. Very useful. I was using it when i do my research. Airport express is very very convenient. Just buy that ticket right outside when u checked out from the Custom.

Though the MTR tourist pass can give discount for attractions, but i still think is expensive. Reason, i know 1 place in Mong Kok can buy cheaper attraction tickets. Got to Nathan Road and search for Ding Ding travel agency when you reach HK. He sell to me disneyland ticket includes 1 meal set too.. and still cheaper than the actual price. All together i pay 880HKD only for Disneyland ticket + meal set, Ngong Ping 360 enlightenment journey , Ocean Park, Madame tussades + peak tram + Sky Terrace.

Citygate mall, K-gallery, Citywalk , Harbour city mall, Sogo is a must visit shopping centres because when i was there, they are having season sale, so i got all my shoppings cheap and nice smile.gif imagine i bought my adidas shoe branded at only 137HKD - which is less than RM100 here tongue.gif

I disagree with some people that the food is expensive. I personally feel that the food is nice and affordable. I wont say cheap (unless u expect eating in indonesia or bangkok or china la) and i think that their food portion is quite big. I am a small eater so most of the time i share with my BF and both of us are satisfied. You imaging eating at Kim gary, or in any restaurant at the shopping mall, you will know what i say. 50HKD for a duck + chicken + char siew rice + green vege + 1 drink is consider cheap edy. I eat at Kim Gary 1 cheese baked rice oso RM16.90 and havent plus 10% service and 6% Government tax yet and the portion is so small. You eat in the street market cow noodles only 10hkd so is about RM4.50 here.. i think its the same as we go KL eat beef noodle oso laa.
Must try food - curry fishball, egg tart, polo bun, siew ngor fan, char siew rice, beef noodle - all this very nice smile.gif Yum yum!

Lou poh peng or eggrolls - actually i suggest no nid to buy at souveniers oso because it taste the same as you buy in Malaysia, so nothing different.

It's my first time to Disneyland and i think is awesome! So much fun there. Its a worth while experience. And if you're travelling with kids, i suggest you buy the toys there too. They're original and nicer quality. I saw 1 toy story figure of Woody big one.. in Malaysia toy r us selling RM350 at Disneyland same figure selling 339HKD - go figure!

Ocean park is nice too for young adults who want extreme roller coaster and stuff.. But personally i think its like genting highlands. ONly i get to see sea lion and panda which is the most interesting one tongue.gif

Madame tussades ofcourse must visit la.. and also after that do enjoy a dinner at the peak.. Is really nice during sunset. Unfortunately when i was there, all the time is very cloudy cos very cold. BUt enjoy the tram ride.. is scary but nice!

Remember when you go tourist place, try not to go weekends if not.. you'll wait and you'll get fustrated. Places in HK is already small, imagine everyone crowded at one place..  unsure.gif

If you wanna see scenes from TVB drama, go to central city.. i spotted a few there. They have the longest elevated walkway in the world. Go on that and you basically see the whole central.

Symphony of lights - just nothing much. Sit there and wasted my time. But if you would wanna see, it happens every night 8pm. Youll find it when youre at the avenue of stars. Just wait there.

For my 7 days trip i really enjoyed it, i shop alot, i eat alot and i still got RM300 to bring back from my expected budget. My bf still got RM1100 to bring back. I i guess the trip wasn't really as expensive as i thought it would be  thumbup.gif

Hope my info help. Always remember to check weather report cos is pretty unpredictable there.
Ninjitsu
post Mar 12 2011, 08:20 AM

406 posts

Anyone tried buying a 'group of 4' Airport Express ticket for only HKD220 to travel to Kowloon MTR?
gchowyh
post Mar 14 2011, 05:28 PM

860 posts

I guess I am abit too late, I just went Hong Kong end of last month & did not know there is such a nice hotel called L'nina.

Anyway, I would like to share some experiences of my stay in Hong Kong & Macau at http://gblog.gpros.net
arthurlwf
post Mar 14 2011, 11:00 PM

2,546 posts

Hi, sorry if this is a stupid question...

With the recent nuclear blast at Japan, there is a possibility that Taiwan may be affected with radioactive. But would there be a possibility HK be affected?

Anybody have comment?

This post has been edited by arthurlwf: Mar 14 2011, 11:21 PM
animeme
post Mar 14 2011, 11:33 PM

34 posts

Recently back from Hong Kong and the weather is sad.gif .

We were so hot and got sun-burnt!

But seeing the Hongkongers in heavy clothing just puzzled us.
arthurlwf
post Mar 15 2011, 01:33 AM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(animeme @ Mar 14 2011, 11:33 PM)
Recently back from Hong Kong and the weather is  sad.gif .

We were so hot and got sun-burnt!

But seeing the Hongkongers in heavy clothing just puzzled us.
Thought the current temperature there is around 15 degrees
Not cold?
wLsY
post Mar 15 2011, 10:08 AM

32 posts

Halo, brothers and sisters.

I am going to Hong Kong this coming May. Not sure which hostel is the "OK" one.
Here are the budget hostel that I found :
1. Cosmic Hostel
2. Dragon Hostel
3. Yess Inn

Anybody here stay in these hostel before?
Feel free to comment.....Thank you.
Kayne
post Mar 15 2011, 01:39 PM

Dota GODLIKE
1,606 posts

My parents wanna experience the "Authentic" Hong Kong stay and they booked USA hostel.... Anyone has experienced it before? heard there is a lot of incident happened within the building itself and its likely haunted
frequency
post Mar 16 2011, 03:39 PM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

Yeah I stay in Everygreen near Temple Street as well
no any noise pollution...

when u walked whole day....u will be tired
and you will just fall asleep till morning~
bryancsk
post Mar 17 2011, 10:38 AM

266 posts

Hey guys , any of you guys are in Hong Kong . would love to have a bunch a Malaysians together !
Ninjitsu
post Mar 17 2011, 07:48 PM

406 posts

Yep, I'm in HK now with my family.
animeme
post Mar 19 2011, 10:48 AM

34 posts

This post has been edited by animeme: Mar 19 2011, 11:11 AM
su ting
post Mar 19 2011, 11:36 AM

im going to Hong kong for birthday celebration on 18-20april. may i know what is the temperature in HK during that 3 days? coz nvr went HK before, i went japan before is cold, if cold then i need to prepare coat??

and my flight wil reach HK at 11am, may i know disneyland operation time??where can purcahse the disneyland ticket?? iszit possible to finish disneyland if i go on 1pm after check in hotel??

coz 19th plan to go visit temple, walk walk n eat eat. may i know how much for the train in HK? or need to get any train pass like japan??

Human Nature
post Mar 19 2011, 11:51 AM

- student of human nature -
26,532 posts

QUOTE(su ting @ Mar 19 2011, 11:36 AM)
im going to Hong kong for birthday celebration on 18-20april. may i know what is the temperature in HK during that 3 days? coz nvr went HK before, i went japan before is cold, if cold then i need to prepare coat??

and my flight wil reach HK at 11am, may i know disneyland operation time??where can purcahse the disneyland ticket?? iszit possible to finish disneyland if i go on 1pm after check in hotel??

coz 19th plan to go visit temple, walk walk n eat eat.  may i know how much for the train in HK? or need to get any train pass like japan??
End of April will not be very cold, should be about 20 degree and above, nice weather and fur coat is not necessary. Just a normal jacket or sweater would do.

Disneyland operation time should be 10:30AM - 8:00PM. You can purchase the ticket at the entrance, since it is on Monday, the crowd will be lesser. i dont think you will be able to cover all the attractions ie. shows and games, etc unless you really rush. It's better to be laid back and enjoy the experience. My advice is to check the disneyland website to see the showtimes and see what attractions/games to be in you must-do listt.

Just get the octopus card. It is very convenient and cheap way t o travel in HK.

Ninjitsu
post Mar 20 2011, 04:35 PM

406 posts

But if you are travelling with kids, the walking and squeezing in the MTR might not be ideal. Cabs with 5 persons travelling is cheaper than MTR. With extras thrown in for crossing channels and tunnels to and from the Island or Lantau might inflate the cab fares several ringgits higher than MTR. In the end, cab rides are worth it, especially for a family of 5 with small kids.

Honkies are generally rude people and cabbies can openly refuse to take you to places like The Peak or jammed areas. One or two cabbies might be friendly enough to chat. lol. A cabbie can tell me where to buy guns. smile.gif Another cabbie said people from the PRC inflated property prices so much so that a 200 sq. ft. room for rent goes as much as HKD6000/mth. So a manager who make about HKD30000 can only afford to rent a 200 sq. ft. apartment. smile.gif So, be happy if you are have a 2000 sq. ft. condo here. smile.gif

Haven't been to HK for 10 years until now. Visited a cousin. In Kowloon, they're building a train line 50m underground that will run all the way to Beijing/Shanghai.

The weather has been cold with north-east monsoon winds blowing from South China Sea. Windbreakers might not be enough. Honkies wear insulated coats and sou'westers. Temperatures were about 13-18C. As the third world man walk along Tsim Sha Shui, he notices HK fashion is like Tokyo's. HK gals wear mini skirts with leggings and high boots. Typically, my pulse beat at rest is 58/min but when I was in HK, I think it went to 70. smile.gif

The Peak was lame in the daytime. Recommend to go at night to see the city lights. Went to Galleria and bought a tee for a fellow forummer here and onward to Madame Tussards. Nice. The best was Yao Ming.

Contrary to posts here, HK food is not expensive. Fast food sets or eateries selling rice/noodles with chicken, pork or fish goes for RM10-15 with drinks. Of course, restaurants are expensive. Businesses can open from 6.30am til 1.00am. Streets are filled with lots of people walking even at midnight.

There are all factory outlet shops at Citygate Square at Tung Chung MTR in Lantau. So bought a few Addidas/Nike/Reebok shoes at less than RM100. Outdated models, so no demand from the Honkies, but okay for me. smile.gif

Disneyland is so-so. Lamest perhaps compared to Anaheim, Disneysea. Temperature at Disneyland is perhaps 2-3 degrees lower than HK. It can drizzle with gentle drops for many hours non-stop. The 8.00pm fireworks was awesome much.

Also, don't miss the Symphony of Lights every night at 8.00pm at the Avenue of Stars.

Graduate gals cry when they are rejected for a job as house-maids... smile.gif Where I stay for the first 2 nights, I noticed all ethnicities gather in HK to make money. Black, Indians, Middle-Eastern, Indons, Flips, etc.

Imperial Hotel in TST is about 250 sq. ft. per room not too bad for RM276/night. Lots of shopping in the vicinity. Bargain is a must in HK. A trader can quote an item for HKD120 and when you walk away she can say HKD80. Then you buy it. Later, in another area the same item can go for HKD55. You will then kick yourself. Disneyland's Hollywood Hotel is almost RM600/night. Not worth the price.

Beer goes for RM2, even a Budweiser, whereas fags go for RM20. :
)

All in, including Air Asia flights, 4 nights hotel, meals, a bit of shopping took me back less then RM9K for a family of 5. The best we enjoyed was the cool air and the capitalism there.

Cheers!
babybb
post Mar 23 2011, 05:06 PM

127 posts

I'm going to HK next month 16th.. wondering how cold is the wheather that time? as cold as genting? If wear short pants will cold? ><

125 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:18 PM