87 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

> Papago GPS Software for Android, its working!!! - updated @ page 3

SUSMatrix
post Mar 12 2011, 07:29 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Mar 12 2011, 12:43 AM)
Their will automatically detect your current location once you launch ..depend on ur hardware ..Papago not using a-gps...mine normally can detect within 20 seconds on cold start ..
How do you know PAPAGO not using A-GPS? I can't find a A-GPS option in my HTC Desire settings...only enable or disable GPS location....other Anroid phones have A-GPS settings?
SUSkhalpowers
post Mar 12 2011, 09:17 AM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 12 2011, 08:29 AM)
How do you know PAPAGO not using A-GPS? I can't find a A-GPS option in my HTC Desire settings...only enable or disable GPS location....other Anroid phones have A-GPS settings?
All Android phone come with a-GPS and need to enable @setting..correct me if I'm wrong...I said their don't use a GPS Coz Papago not using data to. Lock even in the jungle can lock the satt..

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Mar 12 2011, 09:19 AM
SUSMatrix
post Mar 12 2011, 01:33 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Mar 12 2011, 09:17 AM)
All Android phone come with a-GPS and need to enable @setting..correct me if I'm wrong...I said their don't use a GPS Coz Papago not using data to. Lock even in the jungle can lock the satt..
What i am asking is WHERE DO YOU SET THE SETTINGS? BEcause i dun see it on my HTC Desire. Which Android you are using? Even then it doesn't mean PAPAGO don't use A-GPS. If somehow you disabled it, then supposely it'll use the GPS only. I am not sure about data coz i am on Digi Smartplan 68, so never bothered...but on my Wave 2, PAPAGO M7 definitely make use of advanced download of data for the satellite location, otherwise it's impossible to lock.
deanomoi
post Mar 12 2011, 01:42 PM

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Mar 12 2011, 06:09 AM)
Yep. Galaxy S(i9000) and it's variants(Captivate, Vibrant) have almost the same hardware. Just that Galaxy S(i9000) is slightly superior than it's variants.
But, their GPS... speechless.

Now, I know how to make the GPS on Galaxy S Captivate works already. But, it takes a plenty of time to LOCK ON. I would say around a few minutes for the 1st LOCK.
Then, the time needed for LOCK ON will be decreased overtime.
can u teach me how to install papago for my galaxy S i9000?
SUSkhalpowers
post Mar 12 2011, 01:47 PM

1,966 posts

Can see at my saggy what phone I using...my phone can set @ settings>security &locations...I'm also don't bother with data bcoz I'm on unlimited data corporate Maxis...u can email papago dev, asking abt their use the a-gps or not...hehe...what I know I can lock within 20 second on my device ..
here the screenshot
http://db.tt/WeSIHfv

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Mar 12 2011, 02:03 PM
DarkSilver
post Mar 12 2011, 01:52 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(deanomoi @ Mar 12 2011, 01:42 PM)
can u teach me how to install papago for my galaxy S i9000?
Take note, PAPAGO! is not a FREE software.

Copy(either downloaded from the Internet or from Disc or whatever sources) the necessary files and put them into your Galaxy S's SD(root folder).
Open the folder, find the .apk file inside and install it to your phone. Insert your license key done.

Pirated Version method is not allowed to discuss here.
SUSMatrix
post Mar 12 2011, 02:50 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(khalpowers @ Mar 12 2011, 01:47 PM)
Can see at my saggy what phone I using...my phone can set @ settings>security &locations...I'm also don't bother with data bcoz I'm on unlimited data corporate Maxis...u can email papago dev, asking abt their use the a-gps or not...hehe...what I know I can lock within 20 second on my device ..
here the screenshot
http://db.tt/WeSIHfv
That is GPS...not A-GPS....same like mine. doh.gif My best locking record is like 3 to 5 seconds. whistling.gif
Dannyl
post Mar 12 2011, 02:50 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 12 2011, 02:02 AM)
not using a-gps?
den how to detect my current location?
lg optimus 1 user here
You have to go outdoors. GPS requires line of sight. Install GPS Test from Marketplace, enable your GPS, then start the app. You can clearly see how many satellites your phone can detect in the open sky. Then the phone will try to lock on to them one by one. Once you have at least 4 locks, GPS can pinpoint and follow your location already. Once locked, exit GPS Test, start Papago, and your location will be shown smile.gif
SUSkhalpowers
post Mar 12 2011, 02:55 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 12 2011, 03:50 PM)
That is GPS...not A-GPS....same like mine. doh.gif My best locking record is like 3 to 5 seconds.  whistling.gif
R u sure that is not a-gps.?..actually what is a-gps means?
.dude I'm quite sure u cannot lock from cold start within 3 to 5 seconds....hehehe...prove me if u can ....

Added on March 12, 2011, 2:57 pm20 seconds is from cold start..if not only take 2 to 3 seconds only...hehehe

Added on March 12, 2011, 3:01 pmThen how come the device come with GPS and a-gps at spec sheet...so anybody can tell me what is a-gps???...huhu

Added on March 12, 2011, 3:02 pmProve me that is not a-gps n tell me what is a-gps..hehe

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Mar 12 2011, 03:02 PM
Dannyl
post Mar 12 2011, 03:03 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 12 2011, 01:33 PM)
What i am asking is WHERE DO YOU SET THE SETTINGS? BEcause i dun see it on my HTC Desire. Which Android you are using? Even then it doesn't mean PAPAGO don't use A-GPS. If somehow you disabled it, then supposely it'll use the GPS only. I am not sure about data coz i am on Digi Smartplan 68, so never bothered...but on my Wave 2, PAPAGO M7 definitely make use of advanced download of data for the satellite location, otherwise it's impossible to lock.
I think it's this one. The description sounds like AGPS (using network to set location).
Settings -> Location and security -> Use wireless networks (Set location in applications (such as Maps) using wireless networks)
SUSkhalpowers
post Mar 12 2011, 03:05 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Mar 12 2011, 04:03 PM)
I think it's this one.  The description sounds like AGPS (using network to set location).
Settings -> Location and security -> Use wireless networks (Set location in applications (such as Maps) using wireless networks)
Correct ..I'm quite sure that's what we call A-GPS!..hehe...

This post has been edited by khalpowers: Mar 12 2011, 03:08 PM
XeactorZ
post Mar 12 2011, 11:00 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Mar 12 2011, 05:55 AM)
switch on your GPS function on the phone... it will locate you automatically mah...
is it at setting > location and security > tick use gps satellites and use wireless networks ??
already tick,already found my house yesterday
but today i try again,it will update de
dunno is it at same place,so won't update the place xD
ahgan84
post Mar 14 2011, 01:48 PM

260 posts

Hi guys... Just bought an android phone with papago x5 in it. I found out that the map inside papago doesn't show traffic light sign like garmin did. Is this normal?
michael9413
post Mar 14 2011, 05:28 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 12 2011, 11:00 PM)
is it at setting > location and security > tick use gps satellites and use wireless networks ??
already tick,already found my house yesterday
but today i try again,it will update de
dunno is it at same place,so won't update the place xD
If u are on data plan then it will works, cost it involves data transfer, or wifi network also can... it helps to lock your location faster thats all...

I manage to get it lock within 5 secs...
DarkSilver
post Mar 14 2011, 05:32 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

Some information to share:
Those who have like problem with PAPAGO! which PAPAGO! detects your location too slow or it just won't locate you.
Run GPS Status(find it from market) with internet once 1st to download some A-GPS thingy. This is important as GPS Status need internet to set up for the 1st time.
Then, the next time you want to use PAPAGO!, turn on GPS Status and have it run for a while(minutes or seconds, depending your phone GPS speed). Exit GPS Status.
Turn on PAPAGO, you'll get LOCK ON almost instantly or instantly.
michael9413
post Mar 14 2011, 05:50 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

No matter wat u need internet connection for the a-gps function...

If u wann lock faster u can do as per bro Darksilver said, turn on the gps b4 launch papago...
Boy96
post Mar 14 2011, 06:56 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

u can exit GPS Status eh?

I thought no Android apps can exit
vhs1
post Mar 15 2011, 12:02 AM

2,829 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Mar 14 2011, 05:32 PM)
Some information to share:
Those who have like problem with PAPAGO! which PAPAGO! detects your location too slow or it just won't locate you.
Run GPS Status(find it from market) with internet once 1st to download some A-GPS thingy. This is important as GPS Status need internet to set up for the 1st time.
Then, the next time you want to use PAPAGO!, turn on GPS Status and have it run for a while(minutes or seconds, depending your phone GPS speed). Exit GPS Status.
Turn on PAPAGO, you'll get LOCK ON almost instantly or instantly.
good idea
kkrazer
post Mar 17 2011, 02:50 AM

39 posts

I think i read somewhere the GPS issue for Samsung Galaxy S is fix on October 2010 batch onward.
For the guys with older Samsung Galaxy S (or it variants), just install FasterFix and GPS Aids from the market, both free. Run FasterFix (just once) and then GPS Aids periodically (maybe once a week).
You can see the different now with you able to get faster GPS lock. tongue.gif

With clear view of the sky (without or with cloud) I usually can get lock within 10 seconds with my SGS.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Btw guy, when i'm using papago x5 in my SGS with voice after awhile driving i get force close.
But when mute do not have fc. Have you guy encounter the same issue? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by kkrazer: Mar 17 2011, 02:56 AM
xDjWanNabex
post Mar 17 2011, 09:34 AM

932 posts

Erm, my phone has no data plan yet. Offed all my data transfers, and tried on the highway once. It got my location and fixed my destination withing a few seconds...So im guessing, it does not use data, but just GPS.

87 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » 

0.0303sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:28 AM