44 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

HDMI Cable Quality?, Really make a diffrent?

gurus
post Sep 11 2010, 02:22 PM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

wahh..so cheap one eh tesco sell hdmi cable now? i got mine for 69bucks, giraffe brand sweat.gif
ralyon
post Sep 13 2010, 03:38 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(weim76 @ Sep 7 2010, 09:17 AM)
Hi neb,
I am using this technika cable and so far so good. I would be interested to know how we can verify that it's cat 2 high speed cable.
To me, if the cable can play highest quality content, then it's good enough already.
azbro
post Sep 13 2010, 04:06 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Sep 11 2010, 02:22 PM)
wahh..so cheap one eh tesco sell hdmi cable now? i got mine for 69bucks, giraffe brand  sweat.gif
You guys are mistaken...the giraffe brand is actually cheaper in a sort of way....even at 69 bucks...haha..

Cos when you go in to Tesco, especially with wife and kids, the cost of that RM19.90 is going to be easily Rm200, after you buy all those unnecessary stuff like ice-cream, junk food, nasi lemak, fried chicken, biscuits, toys, cloths etc..hahaha laugh.gif ..trust me

This post has been edited by azbro: Sep 13 2010, 04:07 PM
scsoo
post Sep 13 2010, 04:22 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Sep 7 2010, 10:57 AM)
You won't know. It's not certified by anybody. You just have to trust what they mention in the box.

It's a steal with that kinda of price.
Yeap, its not certified by anybody, but everyone say cheap and expensive HDMI no difference. As long it work, then it work, all those 0&1 argument. Maybe there is built quality, cannot bend too much, break and such, so be more careful or we re-enforce with tape....

But come to think of it, even those so-call "fake" HDMI, as long it work, then no issue right? Might as well buy those "fake" one as it still work. Also, it look real (I mean the cable, not the outcome). Unless the so-call "blind test" was done to proof otherwise. Maybe can get someone that have one of those "fake" HDMI to one of those "blind test" if there is one and go head to head against some "real" cable or even cheap cable and see if really got difference between prices.

Meantime, can go buy "fake" cable, cheap cable, expensive cable and as long got self-esteem boost... just need to be proven otherwise with "blind test" if ever there will be one held....

azbro
post Sep 13 2010, 05:39 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Sep 13 2010, 04:22 PM)
Yeap, its not certified by anybody, but everyone say cheap and expensive HDMI no difference. As long it work, then it work, all those 0&1 argument. Maybe there is built quality, cannot bend too much, break and such, so be more careful or we re-enforce with tape....

But come to think of it, even those so-call "fake" HDMI, as long it work, then no issue right? Might as well buy those "fake" one as it still work. Also, it look real (I mean the cable, not the outcome). Unless the so-call "blind test" was done to proof otherwise. Maybe can get someone that have one of those "fake" HDMI to one of those "blind test" if there is one and go head to head against some "real" cable or even cheap cable and see if really got difference between prices.

Meantime, can go buy "fake" cable, cheap cable, expensive cable and as long got self-esteem boost... just need to be proven otherwise with "blind test" if ever there will be one held....
Actually for those that are certified, you can be sure that they perform as it should....no matter what crazy thing they claim it can do that doesn't even effect us.
They can say it has been tested with how many hundreds of Hertz or went through how may KV high voltage test that has no really impact on us...but..frankly speaking...it has been tested and certified that way...so the boasting rights is theirs even if they confuse the buyers or whatever.

But for 'fake', cheapo, or freebie HDMI are for basic HDMI setup...nothing fancy high bit or long length stuff.
Yes, some will work for high bit or long length, but some dun work also...but if works for advance settings, then save a lot of money.

Be aware abt so call blind test, this ppl will bring so call cheapo or freebie cable that has been picked by them that perform as they want...the bad ones of course they leave behind.
A very well performing freebie HDMI cable can be equal to a so called 'High End' cable. But as I say, not all Freebie or Cheapo HDMI are equal in performance or quality standard....same goes to High End cables. Ppl always say Tesco brand very good, well, no doubt abt it. Before tesco brand there was also Carrefour brand that had a failure rate of more than 50%!..it was so bad they had to take it off the shelves...but some still use and so far no probs. Also, some even encounters bad audio from a high end HDMI cable, it was so bad, a cheapo cable gave better sound. Yes, they concept of digital going thru a cable is simple enough...but it doesn't mean 100% of the manufactured stuff or design will work for all HDMI standards or the quality needed.

So end of the day...some will swear that their freebie Panasonic or Pioneer cable (like me..hehe), Tesco brand or no brand HDMI cable is the best in the world, same goes to ppl that swear that that High End Elite brand is all or nothing....but its good to do some homework of what to buy so that we are aware of what we actually want.

tvrosak
post Sep 15 2010, 12:38 PM

Why so much of quarrel.

There are two types of data transfer format.
1) wired
2) wireless

Wired data transfer is always the best compared to wireless.
Wireless is the lowest reliability but still is in use for broadcasting, and now HD broadcasting.

Imagine how we received Astro B.yond signal, it is more than 2 HD signals were sent to Astro B.yond decoder (I'm not sure exact number of HD channels) through wireless communication. So why we need to spend for expensive HDMI cables, but we received signal from the lowest reliability communication form.

A cheapo HDMI cable is good enuf as long as it is working. Other than that, are all about marketing.

If we talk about technical/electrical technology. Yes, the expensive cable would have better specs. But we got to understand human limitation, how many colour or how many picture in second our brain can process.

Most of d time, these so-called new technology are useless or badly designed/implemented. Therefore, big companies/manufacturers are trying to create fuss to make their product stands out.

As a something to think about, before this there were 2 picture formats are known in common.
1) PAL 25fps
2) NTSC 29.997fps

recently 24fps. And now everybody wants to buy TV that has support of 24fps. Isn't it lower frame rate than the previous we had. But can we see the differences? (info:- most of people's brain can only process up to 16fps)
But why is the 24fps is a fuss right now? I'll let you guys think about it.....
(it is about technology limitation)

tanhks
post Sep 19 2010, 02:56 AM

608 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Nov 3 2009, 03:38 PM)
Luckily I bought a RM20 HDMI cable. And it works.
Last time i bought lcd tv and the saleman give me a HDMI cable.
The saleman say "If you don't want the HDMI cable we can give you a discount"
I did not ask how much...i just take the cable. Later check the cable box it has a price tag RM150...wow!

Than a month later bought a blu-ray player....brought it home open the box...wow..there is a free HDMI cable inside.

Tried both cables, didn't find any different in picture quality.
Now i have two cables, only one in use..what to do with another one! doh.gif

This post has been edited by tanhks: Sep 19 2010, 02:58 AM
azbro
post Sep 19 2010, 10:18 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(tanhks @ Sep 19 2010, 02:56 AM)
Last time i bought lcd tv and the saleman give me a HDMI cable.
The saleman say "If you don't want the HDMI cable we can give you a discount"
I did not ask how much...i just take the cable. Later check the cable box it has a price tag RM150...wow!

Than a month later bought a blu-ray player....brought it home open the box...wow..there is a free HDMI cable inside.

Tried both cables, didn't find any different in picture quality.
Now i have two cables, only one in use..what to do with another one! doh.gif
Keep..later you might buy a PS3, notebook with HDMI out or whatever...HDMI very common nowadays

This post has been edited by azbro: Sep 19 2010, 10:34 AM
htkaki
post Sep 19 2010, 11:14 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yes,agree with azbro. Keep it. You will never know when you need it. Comes in handy as spare.
ralyon
post Oct 19 2010, 04:35 PM

234 posts

Bought the technika hdmi cable from Tesco. I tried using it to playing 1080p movie from pc to tv, picture is perfect but audio is choppy. I tried with another pc, also the same result. Both PC are powerful enough, so could it be the bandwidth of this cable is not high enough?
My pc display setting: 16bit or 32bit at 1080p 60Hz

This post has been edited by ralyon: Oct 19 2010, 04:35 PM
PrinceCaspien
post Oct 19 2010, 10:09 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(wjy @ Sep 5 2010, 01:27 AM)
Went to Tesco Setia Alam and Puchong today wanted to get the HDMI cables but all sold out. Need the cable soon. Anyone have a cheap and good HDMI cable to recommend?
Plenty at Tesco Bukit Tinggi Klang

review
http://www.whathifi.com/Review/Technika-HDMI/

This post has been edited by PrinceCaspien: Oct 19 2010, 10:11 PM
azbro
post Oct 19 2010, 10:50 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ralyon @ Oct 19 2010, 04:35 PM)
Bought the technika hdmi cable from Tesco. I tried using it to playing 1080p movie from pc to tv, picture is perfect but audio is choppy. I tried with another pc, also the same result. Both PC are powerful enough, so could it be the bandwidth of this cable is not high enough?
My pc display setting: 16bit or 32bit at 1080p 60Hz
Why not try it out with another HDMI cable?

Or just return it to Tesco to exchange for a new technika HDMI, the one you got might be a rare case of faulty..

ralyon
post Oct 21 2010, 12:43 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Oct 19 2010, 10:50 PM)
Why not try it out with another HDMI cable?

Or just return it to Tesco to exchange for a new technika HDMI, the one you got might be a rare case of faulty..
It happens randomly.
OK I will try with another cable, currently I only have one.

Update:
OK, I tried using 2.5mm jack audio cable, also have the same issue. Looks like it's microsoft directx or driver related issue.

This post has been edited by ralyon: Oct 21 2010, 02:53 PM
Jenn77
post Oct 29 2010, 04:46 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,118 posts

Just got ma self the last 3 units of this Technika cables.. 19.90 each. Next re-stock after Deepavali, as told by the sales in Puchong Tesco. tongue.gif No testing available, only 7 days warranty one to one exchange, izzit the same at other Tesco's?

This post has been edited by Jenn77: Oct 29 2010, 06:49 PM
azbro
post Oct 29 2010, 06:11 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Oct 29 2010, 04:46 PM)
Just got ma self the last  3 units of this Technika cables.. 19.90 each. Next re-stock after Deepavali, as told by the sales in Puchong Tesco.  tongue.gif No testing available, only 7 days warranty one to one exchange, izzit the same at other Tesco's?
Yes...thats the one icon_rolleyes.gif
kaiserreich
post Oct 29 2010, 06:25 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Unfortunately the colour palette is washed out, with scenery appearing dull, and skin tones looking unnatural and plastic.

The picture is subject to noise, blurring and unsteady motion.

From the review

I'm interested to know how they compared it. doh.gif
arremie
post Oct 29 2010, 07:29 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 19 2010, 11:14 AM)
Yes,agree with azbro. Keep it. You will never know when you need it. Comes in handy as spare.
yup better have one when u need it rather dont. i still keep my free one from pioneer. got 3 of them still in box laugh.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Oct 29 2010, 08:43 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

I had one Monster 1000HD, i assume its imitation ones, cos the price was rm75 from some guy in Mudah (doh.gif). It lasted for a year for me..

I'm using Pioneer's HDMI at the moment and thus far no issue.

Watched so many blu-ray movies, and media files , no issue with quality.

aspirez
post Oct 30 2010, 06:45 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Nov 3 2009, 03:38 PM)
Luckily I bought a RM20 HDMI cable. And it works.
i wonder the differences with the higher price HDMI. can we see in the quality of the pictures?

Added on October 30, 2010, 6:46 pm
QUOTE(aspirez @ Oct 30 2010, 06:45 PM)
i wonder the differences with the higher price HDMI. can we see in the quality of the pictures?
Currently im using original Panasonic one. So far ok loh. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by aspirez: Oct 30 2010, 06:46 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 5 2010, 05:50 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Nov 3 2009, 03:22 PM)
People already said the signal for digital is 0 or 1.  So, not matter what make the HDMI cable, you still received 0 or 1 signal.  You think better quality HDMI can produced 0 or 1 in this form: 0 or 1laugh.gif

So, do you think if machine received better looking 1 or 0  tongue.gif , your picture and audio qualities will be better?  rclxub.gif

Conclusion, if your HDMI cable can received 0 or 1 signal (mean it is good HDMI cable) or can't received 0 or 1 signal (mean this is defect HDMI cable). That's all, case closed.  whistling.gif
Have you actually go out and compare a cheapo one and an expensive one before? Otherwise it remains a theory. Having played around with HiFi before, I do know that different cable give different result when plugged into CD player. But I am not saying that's the same with HDMI cable, just saying why not go try it out and tell us.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Nov 5 2010, 05:51 PM

44 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0383sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:51 AM