Why everyone like to bang bang monster cable?...got so many other brand of cables that are similar priced with monster cable and perform same like normal cable.
HDMI Cable Quality?, Really make a diffrent?
Nov 4 2009, 10:34 AM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
Why everyone like to bang bang monster cable?...got so many other brand of cables that are similar priced with monster cable and perform same like normal cable.
Nov 4 2009, 04:08 PM
Nov 4 2009, 11:01 PM
Nov 23 2009, 05:22 PM
Mar 3 2010, 12:27 PM
Tested my Pioneer HDMI cable (complimentary gift) Vs Tesco 1.3b HDMI cables..cound not detect anything difference. Maybe my setup is pretty basic to detect any difference.
Tesco one can get for RM15 now....It used to be RM30 I think. Carrefour one seems like no more oledi. This post has been edited by azbro: Mar 3 2010, 12:28 PM |
Mar 3 2010, 04:30 PM
If Monster short short want then got no choice but to sell it off
Or used the blade to cut out some of the rubber, but before you do that, please confirm that its because of the short connector that makes the problem, if not waste time and money. |
Aug 15 2010, 03:29 PM
Aug 17 2010, 04:01 PM
Aug 18 2010, 11:10 AM
Aug 19 2010, 07:52 PM
I guess everyone has set their minds no matter what is the outcome...if its true there are difference...I'm sure its small only...but that wont make me buy a Monster Cable..90% of us wont......even if there are no difference, Monster owners beg to differ..
Verdict: Everyone wins This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 19 2010, 07:53 PM |
Aug 19 2010, 11:30 PM
So, with all this talk abt Certification bodies, theories abt 1 and 0, bandwidth etc....so question is, when is the blindtest going to be held...our very own Lowyat HDMI shootout..
Since monster cable is the benchmark, its only fair to compare with its highest performance of what it can do. A length of 3 meter should be standard or more common than those ultra long ones. If not the thread going around dunno how many circle oledi This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 19 2010, 11:34 PM |
Aug 19 2010, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 19 2010, 11:40 PM) I only have those cheapo cables and entry level boutique HDMI cable. Waiting for others to bring. yeah..proof of the pudding...but let it be a fair comparo...Sat and Sun would be good See what maximum the Monster cable can do and see if a cheapo HDMI cable can equal it. Then do another test the other way round, use very affordable equipment and compare the Monster to the Cheapo cable See the Monster will benefit which user....the elite or the common man..or both or none! |
Aug 20 2010, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(faidzal1982 @ Aug 19 2010, 11:56 PM) Hope you can join..but since you puasa...gonna miss out in 'after talk' at the mamak stall That one more interesting This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 20 2010, 12:01 AM |
Aug 20 2010, 05:52 AM
QUOTE(tolorati @ Aug 20 2010, 04:17 AM) no doubt branded cables are better quality; build wise and has certifications, but that does not mean it can produce better pictures. I wonder how will those Exotic Materials used in Monster will stake up against cheapo inferior parts...I remembered Carrefour (before Tesco) used to be selling Cheapo HDMI cables that either work or didn't...and its like 50/50guys, make sure when you are listening for AQ improvement at the shoot out, as there are going to be alot of you guys, to remain in your seat and stay in the same position to those that are standing as to not introduce more variables to the tests.. And bending it bit more caused image shuttering. But so far Tesco ones no negative feedback. As i said in my previous post, there are two types of test that have to be conducted...one is against what the Monster can perform to the Max....and another one is average performance test against the Cheapo cable. Blast high bitrate signals, 8~16 bit bit color, high speed scenes, or just maybe Real3D stuff if the cables can support 1.4, high Hz display and of course HD audio materials. Yes, not many people have that kinda of specs in their home, but then again, not many ppl are willing to fork out that money to spend on Monsters as well. Then test with average joe player, maybe even DVD upscaling player, and see if the Monster have any significant advantage or not with the cheapo cable. |
Aug 20 2010, 10:58 AM
I guess it best to do a showdown not in words or specs but the actually 'proof of the pudding'...
Aug 20 2010, 04:45 PM
Aug 20 2010, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 20 2010, 05:52 PM) If it's analog, i'll say maybe. For digital, if it's not breaking up picture or sound, i'll say no. I've experimented with a few digital coaxial cables....for digital using current, its very susceptible to interference from other equipment or cables...so I must say cables for digital does make a different when dealing with interference. But i'm not sure how HDMI audio signal is passed through. But to be safe, a least 1 shielding is recommended if the wiring route is limited to place of outside interference. I agree. Cmon lar...how to compare cars to cables!!! Cars is such a complex machinery, and features like Safety, Comfort, Handling are all very real physical factors. With cables, the job is only to transmit signal from one end to the other. And for digital cables...what's the difference?? Nada. If your TV doesn't shows artifacts , ur el-cheapo cable is doing exactly the same thing as your RM1K cable. The only risk u buy RM10 cable is the probabily u getting a dodgy cable is higher. In which case, you buy another unit of the same...which is still way cheaper. i do agree...comparing cars is a no no subject. |
Aug 21 2010, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 21 2010, 11:50 AM) Those equipments are pretty much the norm for industries...even my company uses mostly Kikusui products, some even custom made...of course price is rocket high for all the products.You can use alternative cheapo instrumentation..but no one wants to gamble on the reliability or safety. QUOTE(pierreye @ Aug 21 2010, 12:33 PM) Audioholics been tellling people that boutique cable is a scam. The equipment can't find any scientific proof that expensive cable is better than cheap cable. In fact, there is a blind test where 50% of self proclaim audiophile choose copper cable strip from a night lamp better than USD1k exotic cable. I think we had 31 (oops 32 now) pages of this or what the internet says...what we want is a real Lowyat Blind Test to proof that is right...and seems like its not happening...Most of the exotic cable claim that equipment can't measure their "special" cable and only audiophile ears can differentiate the difference. Then they say it had to be base on "faith". Faith to me means no proof, just believe it. Also read on Randy foundation that offer USD1m for anyone can differentiate an exotic cable compare to cheap copper cable. So far no one win USD 1 million. And this is not only about the audio, Video as well This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 21 2010, 12:50 PM |
Aug 21 2010, 02:48 PM
hmm..
In this forums got few types of ppl.. 1) Who wanna know if there is different in visual/audio and also features between both Cheapo and expensive HDMI other than the built quality. This ppl will actually invest on something that is proven superior. 2) Who read all internet and say red/black wires (or cloth hangars) makes no difference is any connection...even more when its all 1 and O..and is repeats many2 times 3) Ppl who insist and swear that their product is tops, be it Monster or Cheapo or even free 4) Like me, remain neutral, even though I'm using cheapskate HDMI but will never buy an exotic cable..haha This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 21 2010, 02:49 PM |
Aug 22 2010, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Aug 22 2010, 12:12 PM) Anyone had Dune 3.0 to try out 12bits output. I believe in the forum, somebody mention certain HDMI cable failed when switch to 12bits deep color. Also, I'm interested to try out 12bits output from Dune through my 40' long BJC Series 1 HDMI cable. yes, this was pointed out by anfieldudeQUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 5 2010, 07:05 PM) I just tested with another HDMI cable and it is now confirmed that the Dune can pass 8,10 and 12bit with no issues. I think BJC should be OK...but 40' hope its OK.The cable provided with the Dune with my combination of Onkyo 876 and KRP-600M does not pass Deep Colour. |
| Change to: | 0.0379sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:11 PM |