44 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

HDMI Cable Quality?, Really make a diffrent?

robertngo
post Mar 31 2010, 10:47 PM

4,027 posts

a good summary on the issue of HDMI cable quality

formalin
post Apr 1 2010, 10:05 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Mar 31 2010, 10:47 PM)
a good summary on the issue of HDMI cable quality

HA ! biggrin.gif HA! biggrin.gif HA!! rclxms.gif a good one...

This post has been edited by formalin: Apr 1 2010, 10:06 AM
nicotyne
post Apr 4 2010, 02:27 PM

137 posts

nice post...might be a bit like a joke..but its reality..digital is only a 1 and 0,a high and a low..even with some small interference with the voltage level,the circuit are efficient enough to differentiate the diff between those voltage levels...so just buy those cheap HDMI cable that works~ y nid gold plated one..except u wan to wear it as jewelry ,its a diff case then
hakbu
post Apr 6 2010, 11:36 AM

72 posts

Good post, save those ppl money outhere provided they do their research.

Some ppl might hate it coz they got screwed by monster.

And monster dealer hate this thread. Dont try to justify when the world already knew it is BS.
kalido
post Apr 7 2010, 01:12 PM

80 posts

guys,

just sharing my experience.

When i first took delivery of my plasma a long long time ago ( in 2008 , that's long enough is digital innovation world lol) , I had to resort to a cheap ebay HDMI cable for like 40 bucks.

That went completely against my conscious since I've alwyas been onbaord the " cables makes a difference " wagon.
But what to do, after payin for that Pio plasma, completely cashless le....
The cable worked flawlessly and a few moons after that came in my HD gears ,a Pio reciever and Pana BDP35 . With the new toys I sourced a couple of high end monster cables and AQ HDMI-3 .

Being already satisfied with the PQ of the my TV , I was expecting to see and hear a substantial or at least some improvement when I swap out the ebay cables to the boutigue brand .
And the difference ....
Guess what...nothing ! Not a single difference in sound or PQ. To be honest I've not done an A-B side by side comparison , but just one plugged in and out after another. I just could not detect any difference. And I think this is true for almost any well build short length HDMI cables., proly within 5m.

p/s : But then, gotta agree the monster cable does look pretty and good enough to be a Hi-Fi ornament smile.gif So it's decorating the back of my gears now.

This post has been edited by kalido: Apr 7 2010, 01:25 PM
SUSserendipity168
post Apr 7 2010, 01:32 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(kalido @ Apr 7 2010, 01:12 PM)
guys,

just sharing my experience.

When i first took delivery of my plasma a long long time ago ( in 2008 , that's long enough is digital innovation world lol) , I had to resort to a cheap  ebay HDMI cable for like 40 bucks.

That went completely against my conscious since I've alwyas been onbaord the " cables makes a difference " wagon.
But what to do, after payin for that Pio plasma, completely cashless le....
The cable worked flawlessly and a few moons after that came in my  HD gears ,a Pio reciever and Pana BDP35 . With the new toys I sourced a couple of high end monster cables and AQ HDMI-3 .

Being already satisfied with the PQ of the my TV  , I was expecting to see and hear a substantial or at least some improvement when I swap out the ebay cables to the boutigue brand .
And the difference ....
Guess what...nothing ! Not a single difference in sound or PQ. To be honest I've not done an A-B side by side comparison , but just one plugged in and out after another. I just could not detect any difference. And I think this is true for almost any well build short length HDMI cables., proly within 5m.
p/s : But then, gotta agree the monster cable does look pretty and good enough to be a Hi-Fi ornament smile.gif So it's decorating the back of my gears now.
Quite true, Monster HDMI cables are indeed eye candies among others. I believe a lot of people are sucked into the whole packaging thing nod.gif

Then again, the cables are not much of a show piece when people are trying to hide all their protruding cables from plain sight biggrin.gif
TStracktion3
post Apr 7 2010, 02:16 PM

532 posts

I remember the movie by P.Ramlee. Nujum Pak Belalang.

He can convince the people to look at a bowl filled up with water that he could see something.....at 1st alot cant see.. then when he said those cant see are born out of a wedlock... everyone start to see. ha ha ha

This guy in SenQ is like this nujum pak belalang..... he tested a Monster cable and say.... u cant see the diffrent? must be non-trainned eyes... whuaa ha ha ha ha I dont mind. He should say what Pak Belalang said about born out of wedlock... then everyone can see...

jangan marah yah... I joke joke only.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tracktion3: Apr 7 2010, 02:17 PM
ADJ
post Apr 7 2010, 04:24 PM

..::fairlight::..
2,921 posts

i guess when u pay so much money, dun have difference oso u say got difference. digital cables ya! nanti the analog cable flers start shooting me smile.gif
neb
post Apr 7 2010, 04:43 PM

2,234 posts

for long cable run, monster cable actually performed very well, some cheap no-brand cable will have trouble transferring video data in high speed through long cable, it will not maintain eye pattern very well which measure the digital 1 and 0 signal integrity.

for short cable run, any cables will do just fine

monster is good cable, but its price is a rip-off
monoprice, blue-jean,... also good quality cable, with reasonable price

This post has been edited by neb: Apr 7 2010, 05:00 PM
kalido
post Apr 7 2010, 05:21 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Apr 7 2010, 04:43 PM)
for long cable run, monster cable actually performed very well, some cheap no-brand cable will have trouble transferring video data in high speed through long cable, it will not maintain eye pattern very well which measure the digital 1 and 0 signal integrity.

agree !
Alias
post Apr 7 2010, 05:33 PM

247 posts

Last night, as soon as I've finished browsing through this particular topis, I've decided to run the test for myself.

Swap my monster with the cable that's provided with my TV and viola!! nothing changes in PQ. ohmy.gif

But obviosly before I can see the truth, I have to stop thinking that HDMI cables will not going to improve anything, then only I can accept that those high price HDMI cables are in fact, just some overprice, cut throat, trying to mislead people by saying that the gold plated, shilelded copper, bla bla bla will definately improve PQ. vmad.gif vmad.gif

Since the truth is out now, what am I going to do with my overpriced Monster HDMI cable? hurmmm any takers? Price starts at RM250 whistling.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Alias: Apr 7 2010, 05:34 PM
eMKs
post Apr 7 2010, 05:49 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(Alias @ Apr 7 2010, 05:33 PM)
what am I going to do with my overpriced Monster HDMI cable? hurmmm any takers? Price starts at RM250  whistling.gif  whistling.gif

For that price, I can get 25 pcs from Tesco tongue.gif
Try at lelong for bidding, maybe someone there willing to bid biggrin.gif
robertngo
post Apr 9 2010, 12:02 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Apr 7 2010, 04:43 PM)

the monster cable are likely to be much more durable than cheap cable in heavy duty usage also. but for the 99% of home user we just plug in the cable from av receiver or player located just next to the tv and never touch the cable again for years.
neb
post Apr 9 2010, 12:52 PM

2,234 posts

other branded or non-branded can be as durable as well

by the way, did you guys notice that monster not even in the HDMI adopters list, so they don't manufacture their own cable, most probably oem in china, 99% hdmi cable are made in china

http://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/adopters_founders.aspx#M
Alias
post Apr 9 2010, 03:41 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Apr 9 2010, 12:52 PM)
other branded or non-branded can be as durable as well

by the way, did you guys notice that monster not even in the HDMI adopters list, so they don't manufacture their own cable, most probably oem in china, 99% hdmi cable are made in china

http://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/adopters_founders.aspx#M
Does that mean that I can't sell my monster for RM250? sad.gif

whistling.gif whistling.gif
SiriuslyCold
post Apr 9 2010, 05:57 PM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(Alias @ Apr 9 2010, 03:41 PM)
Does that mean that I can't sell my monster for RM250?  sad.gif

whistling.gif  whistling.gif
ever hear the saying... "There's a sucker born every minute.."

htkaki
post Apr 9 2010, 08:32 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

ouch......
SiriuslyCold
post Apr 9 2010, 09:00 PM

1,976 posts

I meant that he should be able to sell his Monster cable for $250... except that it probably won't be here on LYN wink.gif

matyeo
post Apr 10 2010, 12:48 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Apr 9 2010, 09:00 PM)
I meant that he should be able to sell his Monster cable for $250... except that it probably won't be here on LYN wink.gif
cable for only RM250 still cheap la.....don't think about same result we got... biggrin.gif
accly we paid for material they use to made that cable... tongue.gif
humongousgravy
post Apr 10 2010, 02:39 AM

74 posts

My dad bought a RM 300 Monster Cable HDMI. WTF?

44 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:36 PM