QUOTE(masao343 @ Nov 16 2009, 08:50 AM)
engine braking is ok if you know when to stop the car (eg traffic lights). but is totally useless during emergencies, and it is a risk to use during spirited driving as the weight transfer is hard to predict.
question to AT drivers - how do you make the car accelerate suddenly for over-taking? i rarely drive AT, but sometimes i drive other's cars... during highway when i wanna overtake cars, the car doesnt provide enough torque to overtake, unless i step the pedal all the way down. but even like this, it takes about 1-2 seconds before the car's AT downshifts. is there a better way? thanks
why dont you just replace the calipers once and for all? dont joke around when it comes to brakes, bro...
If I'm tailgating and wanting to overtake, it won't accelerate much. What I do is, I accelerate earlier in middle lane and overtake

QUOTE(wailup @ Nov 16 2009, 09:17 AM)
to force the AT do downshift for overtaking, just push the stick from 'D' to '2' lo (1.5 AT), but be careful on the speed you are running.. let say you're at 120kmh, you cant do a downshift for 1.5 AT wira.. the '2' is out of range already, rpm way high.
Added on November 16, 2009, 9:19 amfit in rear disc brake liao lo..!

I'll shift to gear 2 if kph below 60 to overtake. Sometimes I push to 75 kph in gear 2.
QUOTE(masao343 @ Nov 16 2009, 09:23 AM)
cheeann, that is not a weakness la

but curious, how did it happen?
anyway, the moment u said u cant smell, u know i remembered who?
this cute guy from my favourite comic when i was little...
eh can shift the AT stick while driving one ah? i usually dare not shift in case i break something.
i only shift the stick when the car is not moving
but just in case, if i shifted from D to 2 while moving 120kph, what will happen?
i asking coz i sometimes drive AT of other cars also... better i know than regret ma, thanks
I'm not sure this is correct method, but while driving from 0 kph, I start from gear 2 to accelerate faster until reaches 60-70 kph then shift to D. But if down shift from D to 2, I waited until 30-40 kph.