255 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

budweiser
post Mar 21 2010, 03:23 PM

13 posts

[quote=victor87,Mar 20 2010, 01:37 PM]
FD2R definitely don't have the comfort like the FD2, it's a Type R ! laugh.gif

Or maybe you can try to opt for other cars?

What's your maximum budget you would spent on them?

what other car if u be me?maximum budget is also dont know la.. as i know my earning will maintain 7-8k per mnth,if i avoid damn income tax mybe can reach 9k cool2.gif

im not married and 24 cool2.gif

any suggests br0?
moonstone13
post Mar 21 2010, 03:30 PM

509 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Mar 21 2010, 01:58 PM)
alcatrez@
problem was most of the putra available in the market are badly abused. so does some satria gti.
you can check around for waja. there are quite a number of waja already converted to mivec 2.0 in the market; complete with jpj approval.

Aurora Boreali@
main concern on aged car; esp those more than 10 years old wasn't the engine alone. considering that there will be a lot of normal wear and tear ; bushes, suspension, brake rotor / pad, engine, gearbox, leakage, not to mention those under body rust which can't be seen unless the car is lifted.
if you insisted on buying, bring your mechanic / someone familiar for a test ride.

moonstone13@
the deal seems to be too good to be true. 2.0 accord at 12k is dirt cheap.
as usual, bring someone familiar with the cars for a test ride.
good luck.
Just took the car for a test drive. Acceleration and braking is smooth. The engine is solid. Front suspension has been changed and the exhaust was just replaced last year.

Exterior of the car is 70%. Not pristine to say the least but not too shabby.
Interior is also 70%. Old cassette player, dashboard is tad bit flaky but still acceptable with abit of touch up.
One of the windows don't work. And one of the locks require "manual locking".
Air cond is okay aside from the fact that it makes a "Strange noise" when it's pushed to full.

Driving experience, pleasant. No knocking sounds or even a hint of a subtle grunt from the engine. Purring smoothly as I took it to 120km/hr. Alignment was spot-on. Engine was surprisingly silent when idling (quieter than my new vios).

I guess the only qualms I have with it is the cosmetics.

Going for Rm12k. What say you?

budweiser
post Mar 21 2010, 04:11 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(moonstone13 @ Mar 21 2010, 03:30 PM)
Just took the car for a test drive. Acceleration and braking is smooth. The engine is solid. Front suspension has been changed and the exhaust was just replaced last year.

Exterior of the car is 70%. Not pristine to say the least but not too shabby.
Interior is also 70%. Old cassette player, dashboard is tad bit flaky but still acceptable with abit of touch up.
One of the windows don't work. And one of the locks require "manual locking".
Air cond is okay aside from the fact that it makes a "Strange noise" when it's pushed to full.

Driving experience, pleasant. No knocking sounds or even a hint of a subtle grunt from the engine. Purring smoothly as I took it to 120km/hr. Alignment was spot-on. Engine was surprisingly silent when idling (quieter than my new vios).

I guess the only qualms I have with it is the cosmetics.

Going for Rm12k. What say you?
take la broo rclxm9.gif
yngwie
post Mar 21 2010, 07:14 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

moonstone13@
since it's dirt cheap at 12k, just take it. you're lucky. standard market price for 1997 accord is well over 20k!
even if it will eventually start showing some problem later on, the price is too good to be ignore.

budweiser@
a new polo gti 1.8 is going under 140k if am not mistaken. another nice option will be the new ford focus sport tdci(diesel) with 320nm of torque at low 2k rpm. going under 130k!
recond rx-8 is another option. but running cost is higher in the long run.
cracksys
post Mar 22 2010, 08:11 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

1. Brand : Hyundai Coupe/Toyota Celica/Etc
2. Budget : 40k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : Don't really care
5. Transmission : Any
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : 4-seater coupe
8. Remarks : Currently eyeballing for my first car. Not going to have family soon so I don't need a sedan. Just wanna feel good seeing it every morning. Of course, no killing maintenance smile.gif

This post has been edited by cracksys: Mar 22 2010, 08:57 AM
TSvictor87
post Mar 22 2010, 10:43 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 22 2010, 08:11 AM)
1. Brand : Hyundai Coupe/Toyota Celica/Etc
2. Budget : 40k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : Don't  really care
5. Transmission : Any
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : 4-seater coupe
8. Remarks : Currently eyeballing for my first car. Not going to have family soon so I don't need a sedan. Just wanna feel good seeing it every morning. Of course, no killing maintenance smile.gif
40k for budget?

Skip the Hyundai Coupe, the fuel consumption is just more than enough to kill you. Not to mention the reliability of this cars is doh.gif .

Toyota Celica is nice, but then bare in mind that 40k can only fetch an older gen Celica, so you'll got a lil problem on the loan sides. Unless you're paying by cash.

But for 40k, i will opt for the Toyota MR2, but unfortunately it's a 2 seater. But then no doubts on the reliability, it's a Toyota ! Best if getting a turbo ones. MR2 turbo runs the same engine with the current Toyota Caldina. (3S-GTE).

My 2 cents wink.gif

Added on March 22, 2010, 10:46 am
QUOTE(budweiser @ Mar 21 2010, 03:23 PM)
What's your maximum budget you would spent on them?
what other car if u be me?maximum budget is also dont know la.. as i know my earning will maintain 7-8k per mnth,if i avoid damn income tax mybe can reach 9k cool2.gif

im not married and 24 cool2.gif

any suggests br0?
Of course, but then you're going for the Continental route or the Japanese?

Performance or Comfort luxury sedans? 7-8k for a single is enough to ride an awesoooome ride. brows.gif

Hit me back so i can give out my cents. laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by victor87: Mar 22 2010, 10:46 AM
cracksys
post Mar 22 2010, 10:47 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

I'm going with cash buy.

No wonder people listing Coupe as low as 30k -- laugh.gif

Thanks for the suggestion.
TSvictor87
post Mar 22 2010, 10:50 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 22 2010, 10:47 AM)
I'm going with cash buy.

No wonder people listing Coupe as low as 30k --  laugh.gif

Seriously, for reliability and fun driving, i only can think of MR2 with that budget.

Parts are everywhere and this car has potential. brows.gif

AND it's MR layout !!
Strawberry<3
post Mar 22 2010, 11:15 AM

Trusted and Best Seller
1,763 posts

Is it worth to buy a Mazda 3? I'm planning to change from Honda Civic to Mazda 3.. but some how still feel that Civic is still better >.<

Any other nice and sporty new car except Mazda 3?
moonstone13
post Mar 22 2010, 01:55 PM

509 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Mar 21 2010, 07:14 PM)
moonstone13@
since it's dirt cheap at 12k, just take it. you're lucky. standard market price for 1997 accord is well over 20k!
even if it will eventually start showing some problem later on, the price is too good to be ignore.

budweiser@
a new polo gti 1.8 is going under 140k if am not mistaken. another nice option will be the new ford focus sport tdci(diesel) with 320nm of torque at low 2k rpm. going under 130k!
recond rx-8 is another option. but running cost is higher in the long run.
Updates on the potential purchase:

On the negative:
1. Car does need a fresh paint job.
2. Air conditioning unit may need to be repaired as a growling sound begins when AC is turned to full blast.
3. Window and lock issue.
4. Aside from the engine (estimated 70~80k km), the car does have quite a significant quantity of mileage on it.

On the positive:
1. Great engine. Suspension is solid.
2. Well maintained.
3. Current owner is amicable and forthcoming.

I counter offer for 8k. He accepted.

Hmmm.....
ajay67
post Mar 22 2010, 03:43 PM

2,960 posts

8k also can? now it sounds fishy. better check more detail
roundedfly
post Mar 22 2010, 10:17 PM

61 posts

dono how to choose...used car???new car???? please advice....i heard hyndai service & parts are more exp...and no 2nd hand value..but the toyota is used car ..i scare some problem behind...but i've view the car it seems nice..but changed to a new number plate from the previous owner because he wana get back the old number...

Used car
1. Brand : Toyota Vios 2006
2. Budget : RM63k
3. New/Used/Unreg : used
4. Specs : 1.5 G spec
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI :
7. Type :
8. Remarks :

or

New car
1. Brand : Hyundai getz
2. Budget : RM59k
3. New/Used/Unreg : NEW
4. Specs : 1.4
6. NA or FI :
7. Type :
8. Remarks :

Cloudx
post Mar 23 2010, 09:39 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

Planning to buy a car to replace my 1998 Saga, my salary at the moment is 2.2k and im targeting a monthly installment about 500+ for 7/9 years. I have some cars in mind.

1. Brand : Used Honda/Myvi/Saga BLM
2. Budget : RM500+ installment (Roughly how much?)
3. New/Used/Unreg : used/new
4. Specs :
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : 4-Seater

Please advice ya. Thanks
TSvictor87
post Mar 23 2010, 03:30 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(Strawberry<3 @ Mar 22 2010, 11:15 AM)
Is it worth to buy a Mazda 3? I'm planning to change from Honda Civic to Mazda 3.. but some how still feel that Civic is still better >.<

the new Mazda 3?? I'd go for Mazda rather than the Civic.. tongue.gif brows.gif

Looking for more sporty cars? hmmm.. what's ur budget first?

QUOTE(roundedfly @ Mar 22 2010, 10:17 PM)
dono how to choose...used car???new car???? please advice....i heard hyndai service & parts are more exp...and no 2nd hand value..but the toyota is used car ..i scare some problem behind...but i've view the car it seems nice..but changed to a new number plate from the previous owner because he wana get back the old number...

Used car
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type :
8. Remarks :

or

New car
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type :
8. Remarks :
It's true that korean makes spare parts are tend to be more expensive, that's one of the reason making the resell value getting lower and lower.

I'd got for the used Toyota Vios rather than a new Hyundai Getz, at least the spare parts are still cheaper than korean makes, and resell value is for sure higher than the Getz.

Not to mention that the Vios is a slightly bigger in size compared to the Getz.

Test drive the Vios & get a mechanic or friends that know about cars to check out the car before purchasing.

I'm sure the seller is willing to let u do so if the car is problem-free wink.gif

If no, you'll probably know what to do next.
roundedfly
post Mar 23 2010, 04:20 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Mar 23 2010, 03:30 PM)
the new Mazda 3?? I'd go for Mazda rather than the Civic.. tongue.gif  brows.gif

Looking for more sporty cars? hmmm.. what's ur budget first?
It's true that korean makes spare parts are tend to be more expensive, that's one of the reason making the resell value getting lower and lower.

I'd got for the used Toyota Vios rather than a new Hyundai Getz, at least the spare parts are still cheaper than korean makes, and resell value is for sure higher than the Getz.

Not to mention that the Vios is a slightly bigger in size compared to the Getz.

Test drive the Vios & get a mechanic or friends that know about cars to check out the car before purchasing.

I'm sure the seller is willing to let u do so if the car is problem-free wink.gif

If no, you'll probably know what to do next.
hi. thanks for your advice. but my fren keep saying sometimes we wouldn't know....the car already 5 years .....
BlackGold
post Mar 23 2010, 05:09 PM

172 posts

1.Brand = honda jazz idsi
2.Budget = 50k possible?
3.New/Used/Unreg = used/recon
4.Specs= 2004 above specs
5.Transmission = auto
6.NA or FI ? = NA

roughly i can only pay up to RM5++ a month..possible to get this can or not?

munchu87
post Mar 23 2010, 05:33 PM

161 posts

I am going to graduate from my uni and have to purchase my first car to get around with pretty tight budget. I desperately need help on this.

1. Brand : Any other than kancil.
2. Budget : around 20k plus minus 5k
4. Specs : Standard
5. Transmission : Manual
6. NA or FI : NA
7. Type : Compact
8. Remarks : If possible, no earlier than year 2000. Good FC is very important even if its a 2nd hand car. Low maintainance.

Have you got any suggestion ?
alcatrez
post Mar 23 2010, 05:42 PM

543 posts

Nissan Silvia 180sx for around RM40k (1990s)

You up it abit (around RM50) and can get

Subaru Impreza
Mitsubishi FTO

Both 1996s i think.

QUOTE(cracksys @ Mar 22 2010, 10:47 AM)
I'm going with cash buy.

No wonder people listing Coupe as low as 30k --  laugh.gif

Added on March 23, 2010, 5:45 pmCheck youtube on

Mazda 3 vs Honda civic vs toyota

Honda won for allrounder
MAzda won best handling

But in Malaysia, for better market value and easy access to spare parts, take civic. BUt if you don't care, get the MAza

QUOTE(Strawberry<3 @ Mar 22 2010, 11:15 AM)

Added on March 23, 2010, 5:50 pmto me, make sure that the car is accident free (so chassis doesn't run) and the engine is in working condition. I think engine, u've checked it. Puspakom will check if it is potong and the engine number. But they won't check it the car got hit badly

PLUS, make sure that it is DOHC. I don't know about this model but the earlier models, the SOHC drink quite a lot of fuel.

QUOTE(moonstone13 @ Mar 22 2010, 01:55 PM)
Updates on the potential purchase:

On the negative:
1. Car does need a fresh paint job.
2. Air conditioning unit may need to be repaired as a growling sound begins when AC is turned to full blast.
3. Window and lock issue.
4. Aside from the engine (estimated 70~80k km), the car does have quite a significant quantity of mileage on it.

On the positive:
1. Great engine. Suspension is solid.
2. Well maintained.
3. Current owner is amicable and forthcoming.

I counter offer for 8k. He accepted.

Hmmm.....

Added on March 23, 2010, 5:58 pmIf your budget is RM60k, check out the new persona.

Good handling.

if you still want the toyota, buy a new one (basic around rm72k). New toyota's interest rate is 2.9%. For 2nd hand car if i'm not mistaken is 3.9%. The difference you'll be paking per month is maybe about RM 100. BUT for a new car, got warranty and not much repair needed from wear and tear.

my 2 cents advice.

QUOTE(roundedfly @ Mar 22 2010, 10:17 PM)

Used car
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type :
8. Remarks :

or

New car
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type :
8. Remarks :

Added on March 23, 2010, 6:03 pmPersona BLM but with about RM 6k downpayment which menas loan of RM40k manual.

7yrs around RM600
9 yrs around RM500

If you want Saga BLM auto which is about RM40k, no need downpayment.

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Mar 23 2010, 09:39 AM)
Planning to buy a car to replace my 1998 Saga, my salary at the moment is 2.2k and im targeting a monthly installment about 500+ for 7/9 years. I have some cars in mind.

1. Brand : Used Honda/Myvi/Saga BLM
2. Budget : RM500+ installment (Roughly how much?)
3. New/Used/Unreg : used/new
4. Specs :
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : 4-Seater

Please advice ya.  Thanks
This post has been edited by alcatrez: Mar 23 2010, 06:03 PM
roundedfly
post Mar 23 2010, 06:15 PM

61 posts

[quote=alcatrez,Mar 23 2010, 05:42 PM]
Nissan Silvia 180sx for around RM40k (1990s)

You up it abit (around RM50) and can get

Subaru Impreza
Mitsubishi FTO

Both 1996s i think.

Added on March 23, 2010, 5:45 pmCheck youtube on

Mazda 3 vs Honda civic vs toyota

Honda won for allrounder
MAzda won best handling

But in Malaysia, for better market value and easy access to spare parts, take civic. BUt if you don't care, get the MAza

Added on March 23, 2010, 5:50 pmto me, make sure that the car is accident free (so chassis doesn't run) and the engine is in working condition. I think engine, u've checked it. Puspakom will check if it is potong and the engine number. But they won't check it the car got hit badly

PLUS, make sure that it is DOHC. I don't know about this model but the earlier models, the SOHC drink quite a lot of fuel.

Added on March 23, 2010, 5:58 pmIf your budget is RM60k, check out the new persona.

Good handling.

if you still want the toyota, buy a new one (basic around rm72k). New toyota's interest rate is 2.9%. For 2nd hand car if i'm not mistaken is 3.9%. The difference you'll be paking per month is maybe about RM 100. BUT for a new car, got warranty and not much repair needed from wear and tear.

my 2 cents advice.

Hi...tq...1st hand RM87k
alcatrez
post Mar 23 2010, 07:03 PM

543 posts

roundedfly,

I mean to say basic model, which is the J model / version / spec. This costs around RM 72k.

[quote=roundedfly,Mar 23 2010, 06:15 PM]
[quote=alcatrez,Mar 23 2010, 05:42 PM]

Good handling.

my 2 cents advice.

Hi...tq...1st hand RM87k

[/quote]

Added on March 23, 2010, 7:11 pmI'd check out the Kelisa 1.0 . But this car is not being manufactured anymore.

If you are willing to increase the installment a bit and get a loan of 9 yrs, the Viva is my all time favourite small city car. My wife paid RM 500/ month.

Savvy is good also but the maintenance is high thanks to the renault engine. It is a very good car but there is a lack of qualified mechanics in Malaysia for this technology. I used to have 1. I enjoyed driving it up and down from KL to Penang.

regards,

[quote=munchu87,Mar 23 2010, 05:33 PM]
I am going to graduate from my uni and have to purchase my first car to get around with pretty tight budget. I desperately need help on this.

1. Brand : Any other than kancil.
2. Budget : around 20k plus minus 5k
4. Specs : Standard
5. Transmission : Manual
6. NA or FI : NA
7. Type : Compact
8. Remarks : If possible, no earlier than year 2000. Good FC is very important even if its a 2nd hand car. Low maintainance.

Have you got any suggestion ?

[/quote]

This post has been edited by alcatrez: Mar 23 2010, 07:11 PM

255 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:57 AM