Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

ajay67
post Feb 19 2010, 03:16 PM

2,960 posts

1. Brand :any
2. Budget : 25k (can stretch to 30k if worth it)
3. New/Used/Unreg : used
4. Specs :
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : any
8. Remarks : need a car bigger than kancil, used, second car for daily commute to work (40km each way). Reliable. less maintenance cost & low FC

i'm thinking of kelisa, but is there anything else out there? wink.gif
ajay67
post Feb 21 2010, 06:05 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Feb 20 2010, 10:42 PM)
Do u mind going for a used japanese saloon like the civic, corolla or sentra? U can fetch those cars which were 10 yrs older, but getting loan for such cars might be tricky. Spend some money for wear n tear parts n u will get a reliable car

I wanted to recommend a used waja but finding a used unit that is reliable could need some efforts as most used waja will have quality defects.The used kelisa is a safer option though
i don't mind at all. there won't be loan involved. my only concern with >10yo car is FC. is it gonna be ok? i still think kelisa is the safer option in terms of FC & maintenance cost, am i right to say this?

ajay67
post Feb 22 2010, 05:54 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Feb 22 2010, 01:21 PM)
Ok, I'm looking to buy a car in several months, so I'm starting to do some research.

I have 3 type of cars in mind:
1. Peroduo Kelisa (A) Used. 2005-06. Scouted price: around RM 25k.
2. Honda City i-DSi (A) Used. 2004. Scouted price: around RM 48k.
3. Perodua Myvi (A) Brand New. Price: I heard it's around 48k?

The reason why I shortlisted the Kelisa, it would be because of the affordability. I don't have to burdened myself with huge car loan and can pay it off faster. I would probably use this car for a shorter term, maybe 5 years before buying a better car.
u've already answered it yourself. don't get burden with unnecessary high car loan if u can live with a 25k car. save your monthly pay for something better (car or otherwise wink.gif )
ajay67
post Feb 23 2010, 02:29 PM

2,960 posts

stick to kelisa if i were u. kancil auto only 3 speed. no power steering wink.gif.
for my size (5'8") i feel uncomfortable driving a kancil. can't spread out my legs far enuff wink.gif. kelisa is fine.
ajay67
post Mar 9 2010, 09:39 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(kbandito @ Mar 8 2010, 03:51 PM)
I am looking to buy used car under RM30,000. Shortlisted:
a) 2007 Perodua Viva 1.0 Auto - RM29,500
b) 2006 Perodua Kelisa 1.0 Auto - RM29,000

My requirement:
1) Least maintainance issue
2) Fuel Cost

Which of the above 2 models suit me better?

newer car should be better i think. where do u get that price? i thought the price difference would be bigger than that

ajay67
post Mar 9 2010, 05:07 PM

2,960 posts

if u concern about fuel cost, i don't think u should consider a 2+ litre car. anyway, between the 2 maybe go for camry, although style-wise honda looks better (personal opinion of course wink.gif )
ajay67
post Mar 10 2010, 04:19 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(autospak.com @ Mar 10 2010, 02:12 PM)
Looking to Sell Your Car?
Reach the most buyers.
List online at http://www.AutosPak.com
Don’t Pay Anything It’s FREE!!
Buy and Sell your car for free at AutosPak.com, Pakistan's #1 cars site. Post Auto related Businesses, Auto Insurance, Auto Financing, Car Rentals, Auto Spare Parts, Auto Dealerships/ Show Rooms, Auto Workshops/CNG Workshops for FREE.
AutosPak.com is a classified advertisement site to Search / Find New & Used Cars (locally manufactured, imported as completely built units / reconditioned cars / automobiles / used imported cars / automobiles). Locate auto dealers nationwide, publish vehicles reviews, and search auto insurance in Pakistan, bank financing and booking procedure of new locally manufactured automobiles. It will also publish latest custom regulations regarding imports of new and used cars in Pakistan.
Compare car/automobiles listings by city / by price and have a fair idea about prices of new car, search automobiles / cars dealers in Pakistan, get quotes for your car, read expert reviews, or sell your car at the best possible price.

u are looking for trouble biggrin.gif . anyway it's useless. this is malaysian forum. why on earth do we want to buy/sell car in pakistan??

ajay67
post Mar 11 2010, 05:24 PM

2,960 posts

depends whether u need kenari space or not
ajay67
post Mar 12 2010, 08:23 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(lunalovegood @ Mar 11 2010, 05:55 PM)
1. Brand :OLD MINI COOPER
2. Budget : RM15K
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : <1.3
5. Transmission : Any
7. Type : Clubman
8. Remarks : i just need advices from any old mini cooper owner here, because i wanted to buy one, but my parents were mildy against it as they said later on the cost of maintenance will eventually kill me. cry.gif my nett salary is rm2.3k and i'm married with a child. already own a myvi for family car, just need this car for me to go to work without having to share with my spouse, plus i LOVE mini cooper. biggrin.gif

i love old mini too but i think your parents are right. it's an enthusiast car so be prepared to spend

ajay67
post Mar 12 2010, 05:36 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(lunalovegood @ Mar 12 2010, 09:37 AM)
do you own one?  brows.gif

no.. because i listen to my parents biggrin.gif

ajay67
post Mar 22 2010, 03:43 PM

2,960 posts

8k also can? now it sounds fishy. better check more detail
ajay67
post Mar 26 2010, 04:02 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(nigellhoh81 @ Mar 26 2010, 01:50 PM)
I would like to look for used Perodua Kelisa 1.0 (A) below 18K. Is that possible?

yes possible. maybe 2000~01 yr car

ajay67
post Mar 27 2010, 08:37 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(alcatrez @ Mar 26 2010, 09:04 PM)

Added on March 26, 2010, 9:30 pmI don't think it is auto. Maybe manual and maybe 850cc
i've seen a few kelisas AT at 18k~19k at motortrader, coz i'm looking for one too wink.gif . manual is even cheaper (18k for 2002) & it's 1.0

ajay67
post Mar 31 2010, 09:46 AM

2,960 posts

nujikabane, if u want the feel of a conti car, it's a good buy. it already depreciate before u buy it so any further depreciation wont be felt that much. but being a conti u gotta consider the whole package - spare parts & maintenance.

Added on March 31, 2010, 9:51 am
QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Mar 30 2010, 10:24 PM)
1. Brand :honda civic [EJ]
2. Budget : 15k
3. New/Used/Unreg : used
4. Specs : 1.6
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI :-
7. Type : -
8. Remarks : 2nd hand car year 97
Is this car worth a buy ? Or does it have a lot of problem or high fuel consumption ?
as mentioned last time i'm a student looking for car which is good in term of

1.maintanence
2.fuel comsumption
3.spare easy to get

previously:-->

fiat punto--> xjadi coz high maintanence
mazda astina-->hard to get spare part..if got also so exp...
now honda civic

pls give your suggestion...advise...going to be my 1st ever car...
so dont wanna regret buying it...

for 15k cannot get 1997 civic. maybe year 93 & below

This post has been edited by ajay67: Mar 31 2010, 09:51 AM
ajay67
post Mar 31 2010, 05:26 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Mar 31 2010, 12:10 PM)
@ajay67

already have the car...sm1 wanna sell..d thing i asking is isit worth buying??
pls read my reply properly.. i asked "isit worth buying"...

oops.. didn't realise that. but the low price is suspicious. check properly first before u commit. but if u know the owner & that's why he give u special price, then just go ahead..

ajay67
post Apr 1 2010, 09:44 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Mar 31 2010, 09:13 PM)
When you mention about maintenance, it got me wondering.
Isn't conti cars reliable & of better quality, than say, national cars?
Not wanting to say bad things about national cars, it's just that I have the impression that
conti cars are sold & accepted worldwide, and as such means good quality
quality is better but reliability.. depends. depends on brand/model. some of the conti cars are not designed for malaysian weather. plastic parts, wiring etc can damage earlier. i'm driving conti too. my roof linen dropped of. then comes to spare parts. in general they are more expensive since they are made in europe. that's why conti cars got clubs to get to know each other & networking to get best price, best repair shop & advice. but inspite of all this, i still love my car. that's the important thing smile.gif. i suggest u get to know peugeot club members & get their opinion. national cars also got their problems, but the service & spare parts are generally much cheaper.

Added on April 1, 2010, 9:45 am
QUOTE(phat_mcjack @ Mar 31 2010, 07:31 PM)
@ajay67

i dont know him...saw at mudah.com

i think it's risky

This post has been edited by ajay67: Apr 1 2010, 09:45 AM
ajay67
post Apr 5 2010, 09:36 AM

2,960 posts

adamw, the question u need to ask is do u really need 7 seats to fully occupy? most MPV don't have big luggage space because normally not all 7 seats are occupied, i'm driving 7-seater too. my std configuration for family jalan2 is 6 seats occupied. then one seat at back row is flattened inside the floor to create big luggage space. enough for my balik kg needs. i hv tried roof box for one holiday (borrow from friend) but i don like it very much. too difficult to put things in there
ajay67
post Apr 5 2010, 11:33 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 5 2010, 10:16 AM)
Yes, have consider that option but notice some MPV like Alza the last seat cannot be folded individually. So either you sit 5 & fold the whole back row or you sit 6 with luggage on the seat.

then look for mpv that can fold individually smile.gif

ajay67
post Apr 6 2010, 03:33 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 5 2010, 02:24 PM)
Know of any but must also be within my budget & FC is important as well?
most are 1.8 & higher & body weight is of course heavier than normal car. hence u can't expect FC like normal car. try to increase yr budget & get a nissan lumina

ajay67
post Apr 7 2010, 09:38 AM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 6 2010, 06:01 PM)
Thanks but cannot find any details on this "nissan lumina"? Even on Google!

haha.. my bad. i mean livina la

0.1110sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:55 AM