255 Pages « < 248 249 250 251 252 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

zenix
post Nov 13 2013, 02:08 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(zionanubis @ Nov 12 2013, 01:10 PM)
1. Brand : Japan
2. Budget : 80k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : any
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type : sedan
8. Remarks :

i plan to buy a honda civic 2008 1.8cc from my aunty
1st hand user without accident. mileage about 75000k
RM70000,  loan with bank about RM50k
today i asked public bank interest about
3.2% for 5 years
3.25% for 7 years
3.3% for 9 years
is it expansive loan?
i would like to know the honda civic FD1 maintenance cost quite expansive or not?
Interesting thing about car loans is that even Maybank and Ambank follow whatever rates Public Bank does, so its a safe marker when you look at Public Bank first, you may get some additional deals depending on if they need to hit any quota or not. I'd suggest you also check out Ambank's offerings, Maybank is good but I find they need too long a period to process.

The price is pretty good since 70k for 2008 FD1 is under market value, should at least be 75k for 2008 FD1.

For maintenance plan and price look here.

2007 Honda Civic FN2R - if you like Honda's here is something to mull over but of course it is going to bust your budget but its a rare beast in our shores. Although a few HP below the Japan spec it is nonetheless an impressive beast on the road. Maintenance similar to FD2R. Though the expensive bit are part prices if you get into an accident at that concave rear glass and door isn't cheap even used.

2005 Honda EuroR CL7 - rare beast, you won't be able to find another one with autobox. This baby has no problems overtaking road hogging Camry, Accord and Teana 2500cc on highways.

QUOTE(BBoyJZ @ Nov 12 2013, 05:28 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion, I think sentra could be a great option. biggrin.gif
Good luck in finding one if the one advertised is already sold.

QUOTE(kyon22 @ Nov 12 2013, 08:34 PM)
1. Brand : ford fiesta
2. Budget : RM 50K-RM60K
3. New/Used/Unreg : used
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type : hatch
8. Remarks :
i have a neighbour who has a ford fiesta and he say that the car got good FC. Any advice on this?
I've written extensively about the Fiesta in the post just above, do read.

Specifically about the FC it uses the same dual clutch technology and 7 speed transmission setup similar to VW's DSG, however Ford gets their gearboxes from Getrag which has a good reputation as a manufacturer of quality gearboxes.

2009 Ford Focus - if you like Ford's then why not also consider the Focus? The big difference between the two is depreciation and numbers on the roads. There aren't alot of Focus on the roads and not much demand for them thus eventhough they're more expensive they depreciate like a rock, while Fiesta being cheaper is more in demand and more numbers on the roads (lack exclusivity) thus doesn't depreciate that much. Basically for a 2009 Focus/Fiesta they'll depreciate to values around 50-60k currently which is a good buy if you pick either as they depreciate enough to make a used car purchase seems more logical and they're not that old. Though, personally I'd pick the Focus as it is more powerful, bigger and also handles better.

This post has been edited by zenix: Nov 13 2013, 02:28 PM
plague2007
post Nov 13 2013, 05:45 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 11 2013, 03:55 PM)
Sorry sorry kinda lost track  blush.gif
With that kinda budget and used there should be room for something really fun  icon_idea.gif
You can check how I did the budget calculation here.

2013 Honda Accord 2.0 VTIL - the middle spec Accord is within your reach, this spec is the most sought after as it has most of the accessories and goodies in the 2500cc variant but is cheaper and 2000cc engine with cheaper roadtax. However, you can't be too picky since colors are limited and queue is quite long. I do recommend buying in January since there isn't any discount for this car no point buying now and it depreciates so much within 2 months. New car not much issues you need to worry as maintenance is quite cheap, car is reliable and upgraded warranty is now 5 years for accord.

2009 Lexus IS250 - if you want abit more prestige but don't mind recon cars then you can consider the IS250, issues? well not much as cheap to maintain as most Toyota's unless you bring it into a Lexus 3S like the one at Mutiara Damansara.

2010 Merc C180 CGI - a bigger notch up the prestige ladder but not costing anything much more, among the group of prestige cars in this price range (new/recon) i think either a C180 or IS250 is the best value in terms of looks, space, performance, technology and maintenance cost.

Hi Zenix,

Thanks for the reply. I am curious though. As a foreigner, is it possible for me to get a loan with 10000 as down payment on Accord? I was also thinking about CR-Z but once again, the loan percentage and initial down payment value is my concern.

Do you have any knowledge in what I can expect as my loan percentage as a new foreigner in Malaysia (came in August)?
Mr_47
post Nov 13 2013, 06:40 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,337 posts

Dear master sifu taiko!

I booked already Almera VL but

then SAW CHEVY SONIC... sifu please advice on Checy Sonic.

thxthxthx
phyzoul
post Nov 14 2013, 10:45 AM

351 posts

Hye Zenix

1. Brand: Reliable ones (Toyota, Honda, etc. I don't really mind.)
2. Budget: 90K The cheaper, the better.
3. New/Used/Unreg: New
4. Specs:
5. Transmission: Auto
6. NA or FI ? Any
7. Type: Any
8. Remarks: Good FC & Hv Good Space

TQ!
zenix
post Nov 14 2013, 02:00 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(plague2007 @ Nov 13 2013, 05:45 PM)
Hi Zenix,

Thanks for the reply. I am curious though. As a foreigner, is it possible for me to get a loan with 10000 as down payment on Accord? I was also thinking about CR-Z but once again, the loan percentage and initial down payment value is my concern.

Do you have any knowledge in what I can expect as my loan percentage as a new foreigner in Malaysia (came in August)?
I'm not too sure about that, though I think you can get some answers here.

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Nov 13 2013, 06:40 PM)
Dear master sifu taiko!

I booked already Almera VL but

then SAW CHEVY SONIC... sifu please advice on Checy Sonic.
thxthxthx
The few newbies in the B-segment sedan class which are sub RM75k of course are:

Nissan Almera
Mitsubishi Attrage
Mitsubishi Mirage (hatch)
Kia Rio (hatch)
Chevy Sonic
Toyota Vios
Suzuki Swift

Safer choice would probably be Almera and Vios, especially Vios since it maintains the same drivetrain parts would be the same as the one old so prices would be cheaper and reliability maintained. What you paying extra now is for the newer design and materials.

Swift, Attrage, Mirage, Sonic and Almera are all relatively new cars. Almera would probably be the better choice here as Tan Chong Nissan manufactures the car here locally so parts availability and pricing isn't an issue. Swift now comes with a new engine but the body looks relatively unchanged from the previous one, not too sure if the downgraded engine would be better since previous 1500cc was said to be quite a fuel guzzler because lack of power for its heavy body. Rio and Sonic are totally new models, I expect volume to be quite small unless they really throw price to fetch more user base if not then with small volume the part prices and availability will be relatively expensive as previous incarnations from this two brands. Attrage and Mirage case is quite unique both body styles using the same engine which is good for economics of scale but some people would think the punny little 1200cc engine isn't powerful enough -- well actually they are A-segment cars but bigger and with better safety so imagine if you will a Perodua Viva class car but with ANCAP 5 star rating so its relatively bigger. Probably if this format works it will be the replacement for Savvy/Saga? whistling.gif whistling.gif

QUOTE(phyzoul @ Nov 14 2013, 10:45 AM)
Hye Zenix
1. Brand: Reliable ones (Toyota, Honda, etc. I don't really mind.)
2. Budget: 90K The cheaper, the better.
3. New/Used/Unreg: New
4. Specs:
5. Transmission: Auto
6. NA or FI ? Any
7. Type: Any
8. Remarks: Good FC & Hv Good Space
TQ!
I think I explained this pretty well in my previous post you can look back a few pages since it wasn't that long ago I explained it in detail. In a nutshell here they are in order of my personal opinion:

1. Honda Jazz 74k
2. Honda City 85k
3. VW Polo Sedan 85k / Ford Fiesta 85k
4. Honda Jazz Hybrid 89k
plumberly
post Nov 14 2013, 02:04 PM

4,761 posts

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 70K
3. New/Used/Unreg : new
4. Specs :
5. Transmission : man or auto
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : 7 seaters
8. Remarks : For those using a MPV, appreciate your feedback (2 good things and 2 bad things you find on your MPV). Many thanks. Planning to get rid of my old Wira. Need a bigger car for my family of 5.
zenix
post Nov 14 2013, 02:32 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Nov 14 2013, 02:04 PM)
3. New/Used/Unreg :  new
4. Specs :
6. NA or FI : 
8. Remarks : For those using a MPV, appreciate your feedback (2 good things and 2 bad things you find on your MPV). Many thanks. Planning to get rid of my old Wira. Need a bigger car for my family of 5.
70k puts you out of range of close to decent MPV's like Exora, Livina, etc. especially if you want new.
So you only can afford Avanza and Alza.
Which IMHO a waste of time and money as you need to compromise alot.
Mr_47
post Nov 14 2013, 03:33 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,337 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 14 2013, 02:00 PM)

Nissan Almera
Mitsubishi Attrage
Kia Rio (hatch)
Chevy Sonic
Toyota Vios
Suzuki Swift

Safer choice would probably be Almera and Vios, especially Vios since it maintains the same drivetrain parts would be the same as the one old so prices would be cheaper and reliability maintained. What you paying extra now is for the newer design and materials.

Swift, Attrage, Mirage, Sonic and Almera are all relatively new cars. Almera would probably be the better choice here as Tan Chong Nissan manufactures the car here locally so parts availability and pricing isn't an issue. Swift now comes with a new engine but the body looks relatively unchanged from the previous one, not too sure if the downgraded engine would be better since previous 1500cc was said to be quite a fuel guzzler because lack of power for its heavy body. Rio and Sonic are totally new models, I expect volume to be quite small unless they really throw price to fetch more user base if not then with small volume the part prices and availability will be relatively expensive as previous incarnations from this two brands. Attrage and Mirage case is quite unique both body styles using the same engine which is good for economics of scale but some people would think the punny little 1200cc engine isn't powerful enough -- well actually they are A-segment cars but bigger and with better safety so imagine if you will a Perodua Viva class car but with ANCAP 5 star rating so its relatively bigger. Probably if this format works it will be the replacement for Savvy/Saga?  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
thx sifu!!! thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

glad to hear that i am making the very best choice in the segment. Almera it is lol sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Mr_47: Nov 14 2013, 03:34 PM
paul5263
post Nov 14 2013, 03:51 PM

257 posts

1. Brand :
2. Budget : 40k to 80k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New or Used
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : sedan is a must (for family outing)
8. Remarks:

[Brand New]
1. Nissan Almera V spec
2. Honda City E spec
3. Toyota Vios
4. Proton Persona
5. Proton Preve

[Used]
1. Nissan Sentra
2. Nissan Latio

[Financing]
1. New Car = 10% DP, 9 years
2. Used Car = 10% DP, 7 years

1. Going to use car for least 3 years and will pass to brother for use.
2. Don't commit too much for car, will burden me n bro.
3. Must get car within 2-3 months time.
4. Ease of maintenance & last long at least 5 years.

Researched alot, am hardly to make final decision type of person. Others suggestions is welcomed! Thanks all sifus! notworthy.gif
phyzoul
post Nov 14 2013, 04:27 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 14 2013, 02:00 PM)
I'm not too sure about that, though I think you can get some answers here.

Nissan Almera
Mitsubishi Attrage
Kia Rio (hatch)
Chevy Sonic
Toyota Vios
Suzuki Swift

Swift, Attrage, Mirage, Sonic and Almera are all relatively new cars. Almera would probably be the better choice here as Tan Chong Nissan manufactures the car here locally so parts availability and pricing isn't an issue. Swift now comes with a new engine but the body looks relatively unchanged from the previous one, not too sure if the downgraded engine would be better since previous 1500cc was said to be quite a fuel guzzler because lack of power for its heavy body. Rio and Sonic are totally new models, I expect volume to be quite small unless they really throw price to fetch more user base if not then with small volume the part prices and availability will be relatively expensive as previous incarnations from this two brands. Attrage and Mirage case is quite unique both body styles using the same engine which is good for economics of scale but some people would think the punny little 1200cc engine isn't powerful enough -- well actually they are A-segment cars but bigger and with better safety so imagine if you will a Perodua Viva class car but with ANCAP 5 star rating so its relatively bigger. Probably if this format works it will be the replacement for Savvy/Saga?  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
I think I explained this pretty well in my previous post you can look back a few pages since it wasn't that long ago I explained it in detail. In a nutshell here they are in order of my personal opinion:

1. Honda Jazz 74k
2. Honda City 85k
3. VW Polo Sedan 85k / Ford Fiesta 85k
4. Honda Jazz Hybrid 89k
thank you... i heard honda jazz dont have any spare tyre...
what about vios 2013 compare all the above? so far polo sedan look nice..hehe
plumberly
post Nov 14 2013, 04:47 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 14 2013, 02:32 PM)
70k puts you out of range of close to decent MPV's like Exora, Livina, etc. especially if you want new.
So you only can afford Avanza and Alza.
Which IMHO a waste of time and money as you need to compromise alot.

Please let me know what are the important things I will be missing out with Avanza instead of Exora. DVD player etc?

I am not into cars.

Many thanks.
zenix
post Nov 14 2013, 05:03 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Nov 14 2013, 03:33 PM)
thx sifu!!! thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
glad to hear that i am making the very best choice in the segment. Almera it is lol sweat.gif
Good luck! rclxms.gif
Almera and Vios more or less the same but Almera is much cheaper and spacious.

QUOTE(paul5263 @ Nov 14 2013, 03:51 PM)
1. Brand :
2. Budget : 40k to 80k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New or Used
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : sedan is a must (for family outing)
8. Remarks:

[Brand New]
1. Nissan Almera V spec
2. Honda City E spec
3. Toyota Vios
4. Proton Persona
5. Proton Preve

[Used]
1. Nissan Sentra
2. Nissan Latio

[Financing]
1. New Car = 10% DP, 9 years
2. Used Car = 10% DP, 7 years

1. Going to use car for least 3 years and will pass to brother for use.
2. Don't commit too much for car, will burden me n bro.
3. Must get car within 2-3 months time.
4. Ease of maintenance & last long at least 5 years.

Researched alot, am hardly to make final decision type of person. Others suggestions is welcomed! Thanks all sifus!  notworthy.gif
Erm...wat u need the most from your car?

QUOTE(phyzoul @ Nov 14 2013, 04:27 PM)
thank you... i heard honda jazz dont have any spare tyre...
what about vios 2013 compare all the above? so far polo sedan look nice..hehe
Unless you're driving to some ulu-ulu place alot then you don't really need the spare tire.

Hybrid cars are meant to be efficient and light as possible so of course lugging a spare tire with sport rim might be "value added" for some people but to me I just think it is wasted space and dead-weight, you need to use more fuel to offset additional weight. That is simple logic.

For cars that drive in the City mostly or even on highways what is the worst that can happen to the tire?
Completely burst and explode? Well, an insurance tow truck with replacement tire is just a call away.
Lesser damage like leaking from nail punctures can be repaired with the liquid resin in a can.

Personally, if I have any tire issue I'll just call the insurance guy to come we're paying for the service anyway so might as well make use of it. Calling him to come to repair a tire or tow the car won't hurt your NCB don't worry, you can do it multiple times a year. I rather call him to come and do it rather get dirty and do it myself with the flimsy and useless tools which are standard on most cars -- then if the wheel is on the driver side? I don't think its safe to be changing the tire on that side as you'll be effectively be squatting down on the left most lane of the road.

I just don't understand the Malaysian mentality becoming so typically kiasu, less one tire isn't a deal breaker.

There are bigger issues like long term maintenance cost, parts availability, reliability, performance and safety ratings. Usually the first two will most likely determine if the car is going to be low/high depreciation.

Vios? Good spec! Mostly importantly it can fly into mountains, drive faster than Ferrari's, more fuel efficient than hybrid, instant love from parents and in-laws, orang cacat parking = VIP Toyota parking, what else? laugh.gif
paul5263
post Nov 14 2013, 05:10 PM

257 posts

weekdays to travel to work in city. weekend for casual drive. occasionally, travel to North
jackbanner
post Nov 14 2013, 05:28 PM

660 posts

Exora bold cfe standard about rm69,000. Value for money. Sufficient power. Good handling (for an mpv)

If you can stretch the budget further, go for exora bold premium.

But the best at this moment in terms of comfort for family v price goes to Nissan Serena Hybrid but way out of your budget. But u wont regret purchasing this. Trust me!

QUOTE(plumberly @ Nov 14 2013, 02:04 PM)
3. New/Used/Unreg :  new
4. Specs :
6. NA or FI : 
jackbanner
post Nov 14 2013, 05:34 PM

660 posts

Dont waste your money buying avanza. Suspension too hard. Bad handling. Too small for an mpv.

Go and test drive exora bold cfe and compare it with avanza, you'll know what I mean.

QUOTE(plumberly @ Nov 14 2013, 04:47 PM)

Please let me know what are the important things I will be missing out with Avanza instead of Exora. DVD player etc?

I am not into cars.

Many thanks.
plumberly
post Nov 14 2013, 05:57 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Nov 14 2013, 05:28 PM)
Exora bold cfe standard about rm69,000. Value for money. Sufficient power. Good handling (for an mpv)

If you can stretch the budget further, go for exora bold premium.

But the best at this moment in terms of comfort for family v price goes to Nissan Serena Hybrid but way out of your budget. But u wont regret purchasing this. Trust me!
Many thanks.

Will definitely look into Exora std and premium.

Out of interest, what is the price for Serena Hybrid, >100K? 2 best things on this car?

jackbanner
post Nov 14 2013, 06:10 PM

660 posts

Very comfortable (even the third row is comfortable with good leg room, your children will love it), powered sliding door, flexible seat especially the multi purpose centre seat/table, vdc, abs, fully imported cbu from japan. Price is cheap for the specification.

*But in terms of handling, exora is better. Perhaps becoz exora suspension is stiff.

QUOTE(plumberly @ Nov 14 2013, 05:57 PM)
Many thanks.

Out of interest, what is the price for Serena Hybrid, >100K? 2 best things on this car?

jackbanner
post Nov 14 2013, 06:22 PM

660 posts

And even our expert here, zenix, recommended this nissan serena hybrid.

But Exora is also a good choice. Value for money and good enough for the purpose you told. Moreover, handling of exora is better than serena.

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 14 2013, 05:57 PM)
Since time is running out I think I should recommend you to take the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid now rather than later because in 2014 the tax free status for hybrid cars will be lifted so this spacious MPV price is going to bloat from 145k to 200k. What's so great about it? Well, Estima like space but since it is not a recon you get full 3 years warranty plus an option to purchase another 2 years warranty for a few thousand bucks. The Hybrid status in the Serena is really a gimmick and I'm surprised they actually got it to qualify as a Hybrid car in the first place unlike Toyota and Honda in which the Hybrid system is part of the car's road performance (Honda case -- the electric engine kicks in to help the petrol engine for additional power like overtaking), (Toyota case -- the electric engine is used 100% if you're driving like an uncle but when you go faster than 40kmh the petrol engine kicks in), (Nissan case -- when you on the car and drive around the hybrid battery starts charging and once it is ready it kicks-in and turns off the petrol engine when the car is idling or stationary like traffic jam, waiting at MCD drivethru or roadside next to your gf house waiting for her to get ready to go out.) So if the S-Hybrid systems kongs out later even if you don't fix it, I don't see any real issues with the car  laugh.gif
QUOTE(plumberly @ Nov 14 2013, 05:57 PM)
Many thanks.

This post has been edited by jackbanner: Nov 14 2013, 06:54 PM
phyzoul
post Nov 15 2013, 07:19 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 14 2013, 05:03 PM)
Good luck!  rclxms.gif
Almera and Vios more or less the same but Almera is much cheaper and spacious.
Erm...wat u need the most from your car?
Unless you're driving to some ulu-ulu place alot then you don't really need the spare tire.

Hybrid cars are meant to be efficient and light as possible so of course lugging a spare tire with sport rim might be "value added" for some people but to me I just think it is wasted space and dead-weight, you need to use more fuel to offset additional weight. That is simple logic.

For cars that drive in the City mostly or even on highways what is the worst that can happen to the tire?
Completely burst and explode? Well, an insurance tow truck with replacement tire is just a call away.
Lesser damage like leaking from nail punctures can be repaired with the liquid resin in a can.

Personally, if I have any tire issue I'll just call the insurance guy to come we're paying for the service anyway so might as well make use of it. Calling him to come to repair a tire or tow the car won't hurt your NCB don't worry, you can do it multiple times a year. I rather call him to come and do it rather get dirty and do it myself with the flimsy and useless tools which are standard on most cars -- then if the wheel is on the driver side? I don't think its safe to be changing the tire on that side as you'll be effectively be squatting down on the left most lane of the road.

I just don't understand the Malaysian mentality becoming so typically kiasu, less one tire isn't a deal breaker.

There are bigger issues like long term maintenance cost, parts availability, reliability, performance and safety ratings. Usually the first two will most likely determine if the car is going to be low/high depreciation.

Vios? Good spec! Mostly importantly it can fly into mountains, drive faster than Ferrari's, more fuel efficient than hybrid, instant love from parents and in-laws, orang cacat parking = VIP Toyota parking, what else?  laugh.gif
Wow! thanks for the explanation...really appreciated

vios..haha! very sarcasm...

basically i looking for the large space n good FC..guna untuk family..balik kampung..haha!

thank you

toomanyrulez
post Nov 15 2013, 07:23 AM

Oh My Goodness!
1,140 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Nov 14 2013, 05:34 PM)
Dont waste your money buying avanza. Suspension too hard. Bad handling. Too small for an mpv.

Go and test drive exora bold cfe and compare it with avanza, you'll know what I mean.
yes +1 here smile.gif

255 Pages « < 248 249 250 251 252 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:48 AM