QUOTE(lunacy @ Oct 18 2013, 12:09 PM)
woops. Sorry. Got it wrong. That is City E specPlan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.
Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.
Oct 18 2013, 12:16 PM
331 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Oct 18 2013, 02:19 PM
6,249 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(Kazachok @ Oct 18 2013, 10:40 AM) Hi all! here is the skinny:First time car buyer here. Need you feedback on this issue. Honda City 1.5 I-VTEC E 2010 RM62k Used Auto Mileage 59k OR Toyota Vios 1.5 G 2011 RM62k Used - Seller says Recon Auto Mileage 20k I feel like going for City since it has better spec (Paddle shift, immobiliser, ESP), but the low mileage on Vios is tempting. What I would like to know is the overall factor. Which one is better that suites my budget nicely, a car that can last at least 5-10 years, fuel consumption, maintenance cost, etc. I appreciate fellow forumers' advice and sharing on this. Thank you for your time. 2010 Honda City 1.5 E-spec - got paddle shifters, not facelift model so no VSA, 59k mileage consider decent. 2011 Vios G-spec - no such thing as a recon Vios don't get conned, remember that the Vios didn't depreciate as much as the City so it might not be worth purchase since its not going to be worth much as 3rd hand. 2010 Nissan Latio 1.6 - although it looks like a B-segment car it has the space of a C-segment, and is about 10k cheaper, in terms of features it loses out to the City (infact all loses out to the City in this price range) but being more basic means less chances of it having problems. |
Oct 18 2013, 06:38 PM
74 posts Joined: Jun 2010 From: KAPIT Sarawak |
QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 16 2013, 05:17 PM) 1. He gave you a ballpark number based purely on the model and how much the bank is willing to loan for this car, lets say the bank will allow this car to loan up to RM20k only then he will sometimes quote you lower expecting you to negotiate with him if not he may just pocket the difference. Usually, whatever accessories you put in doesn't count unless you're selling it directly to another guy else just sell the accessories seperately and give the used car salesman an empty car. 2. Every salesman has alot in his pocket, you can always try. Even if one declines you can always get from another salesman in the same showroom or from another showroom. Do check what is the market price for cars of your spec on websites such as mudah and oto. 3. Yes, the bank/insurance valuation of your car when you buy the insurance. So you see how much the insurance willing to cover for your car if total lost or stolen - that's the true value of the car. Accessories if not factory fitted aren't counted. 4. New car just launch, you're on the losing end if you expect they'll drop the price for 2013 year end sales. 5. IINM RM300 for swap, you can double check at JPJ website. But that's the price if you do it yourself, when runners are in the picture at least need to inflate the price by RM100. |
Oct 18 2013, 09:50 PM
172 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 18 2013, 11:29 AM) Can't really say, even if you bring a mechanic with you unless he can take it apart he can't let you know. If i bring the car to a workshop to do full inspection on the engine etc, would that be better?They might know there are issues with the car but will still try to hide it from you as repairs or discounts will eat into their margin, best to be vigilant and informed -- remember you're not obliged to buy if you feel it is not worth it no matter what they say so don't get bullied. It could be that they already sold the rims when the car arrives, easily RM2000-4000 depending on condition. Well, GTI is good and powerful but the TSI is no slouch. GTI MK5 is within your range but then the warranty would be over, unless you get recon at least you got 6 months. GTI TSI is within your range and still have 2-3 years warranty. Atleast better than myself inspecting it with my naked eye. The car dealer is giving only a month warranty and offering a Honda insurance package at around RM 1800. Im not comfortable with the 1 month warranty considering its a recon. Bro zenix, which car would you choose? A recond 2008 FN2R or a new 2013 CRZ? |
Oct 20 2013, 09:17 AM
660 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
I prefer new crz, no headache of an improperly maintained used car.
QUOTE(AveoHzq @ Oct 18 2013, 09:50 PM) If i bring the car to a workshop to do full inspection on the engine etc, would that be better? Atleast better than myself inspecting it with my naked eye. The car dealer is giving only a month warranty and offering a Honda insurance package at around RM 1800. Im not comfortable with the 1 month warranty considering its a recon. Bro zenix, which car would you choose? A recond 2008 FN2R or a new 2013 CRZ? |
Oct 20 2013, 08:34 PM
842 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Vios j spec 2010 mileage 120k selling for 52k
Worth to buy or not? |
Oct 21 2013, 10:45 AM
331 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 18 2013, 02:19 PM) here is the skinny: Thank you Sir.2010 Honda City 1.5 E-spec - got paddle shifters, not facelift model so no VSA, 59k mileage consider decent. 2011 Vios G-spec - no such thing as a recon Vios don't get conned, remember that the Vios didn't depreciate as much as the City so it might not be worth purchase since its not going to be worth much as 3rd hand. 2010 Nissan Latio 1.6 - although it looks like a B-segment car it has the space of a C-segment, and is about 10k cheaper, in terms of features it loses out to the City (infact all loses out to the City in this price range) but being more basic means less chances of it having problems. After talking to home ministry, she doesn't approve on second hand and wanted something new instead. So let's say my budget is <100k, what's the best for me? Thinking of either this: VW Polo Sedan - heard 2014 version about to launch Vios - still try to stay away from this City - Just maybe... Other alternatives? Most preferably sedan and could last long without causing me to break the bank. Don't think I'd upgrade or anything in the long run. I'm the kind of person who'd use something up to its breaking point. Again, I thank you for your advice. |
Oct 21 2013, 11:22 AM
![]() QUOTE(redzaril @ Oct 18 2013, 06:38 PM) You're welcomed QUOTE(AveoHzq @ Oct 18 2013, 09:50 PM) If i bring the car to a workshop to do full inspection on the engine etc, would that be better? They won't allow you to do that because it will reveal all their flaws before they sell you the car.Atleast better than myself inspecting it with my naked eye. The car dealer is giving only a month warranty and offering a Honda insurance package at around RM 1800. Im not comfortable with the 1 month warranty considering its a recon. Bro zenix, which car would you choose? A recond 2008 FN2R or a new 2013 CRZ? They'd offer to bring it to JPJ for inspection then of course claim the car is in great condition if it passes the JPJ inspection, but realistically the JPJ inspection is a farce -- as long as the engine can start the car can move and brake, and the car doesn't have any illegal modifications then it passes the test. One month or one year warranty doesn't matter if they don't honor it. Many sellers want to be price competitive so they don't factor in the warranty into the car to sell cheaper so that 1 month is a small gamble if anything goes wrong they either bring it to their workshop to fix (quality or not depends on their sincerity), of course there are some reputable sellers like Naza but you notice their price is higher because they factor in the warranty cost for selected components. 2013 CRZ looks like a good deal right now. They giving 8 years warranty for the battery, 5 years warranty for the car, and 3 years free maintenance (which works to around 6 visits because they stretch the service intervals to 10,000km). For the unprepared go for the CRZ. If you know what you want and know how to maintain cars then go for FN2R. For myself only the FD2R matters. QUOTE(alexcky @ Oct 20 2013, 08:34 PM) Considering it is a high mileage car and it is already 3 years old, probably the current owner wants to trade-up to the new Vios?Don't think it is worth it. You can probably get something better from Nissan for that price either Latio/Sentra. QUOTE(Kazachok @ Oct 21 2013, 10:45 AM) Thank you Sir. VW PS - You should be able to get some pretty sweet deals around now, I've seen some going as low as RM85k. Of course you instantly take a hit in the resale value when it becomes 2014 because you buy a car in 2013 year end but everyone does it and what most important is to buy a car at a cheaper price now that you can afford don't worry about the future too much.After talking to home ministry, she doesn't approve on second hand and wanted something new instead. So let's say my budget is <100k, what's the best for me? Thinking of either this: VW Polo Sedan - heard 2014 version about to launch Vios - still try to stay away from this City - Just maybe... Other alternatives? Most preferably sedan and could last long without causing me to break the bank. Don't think I'd upgrade or anything in the long run. I'm the kind of person who'd use something up to its breaking point. Again, I thank you for your advice. Vios - Haha! Maybe you father-in-law will love you more? City - Similar kind of deal with the VWPS, you get a big heavy car with lotsa of safety features (only City and PS got traction control for under 100k cars) but of course because of the weight it is not very nimble of course it has adequate power for driving around, highway speeds also not bad and feels secure, however it is not going to feel as zippy as a Vios (Vios is lighter and less safety features). Latio - within your price range, has the space of the VW PS but would feel abit more budget. The VW PS feels quality and looks quality. The Latio looks and feels like a basic C-/B+ segment car, the major difference is of course the Latio would have more power you get a choice of 1600cc or 1800cc engine but it doesn't come with any traction control feature. I think the VWPS would be the best bet, getting a year end sale model for RM85k (around there) is a big discount as it then puts the car in the price range of the Honda City and Nissan Latio. |
Oct 21 2013, 07:18 PM
574 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Hello,
I'm interested in a Honda Civic 1.8S-L (2011) selling at about RM88,000 (without insurance and tax). What can you tell me about that car? Pros and cons? What are the things I should look out for and why should I be interested in getting one? What about aftersales maintenance? Are parts easy to find? Cheers This post has been edited by markypcs: Oct 21 2013, 07:43 PM |
Oct 22 2013, 12:18 AM
3,968 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
wondering why not many used Elantra for sell in mudah/motortrader/carlist. do u guys see Elantras in 2nd hand shops?
Oct 22 2013, 02:18 PM
2,324 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Shah Alam |
just a question, is it possible to buy a 2nd hand car with only one month payslip?
Oct 22 2013, 05:51 PM
![]() QUOTE(markypcs @ Oct 21 2013, 07:18 PM) Hello, should be okay, but i feel the price is quite high and not worth for a used.I'm interested in a Honda Civic 1.8S-L (2011) selling at about RM88,000 (without insurance and tax). What can you tell me about that car? Pros and cons? What are the things I should look out for and why should I be interested in getting one? What about aftersales maintenance? Are parts easy to find? Cheers you can probably get new clear stock for cars like Altis, Polo Sedan, Sylphy, etc. with that budget. QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 22 2013, 12:18 AM) wondering why not many used Elantra for sell in mudah/motortrader/carlist. do u guys see Elantras in 2nd hand shops? car is still new, who wanna sell?QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 22 2013, 02:18 PM) yes, with guarantor. |
Oct 22 2013, 06:05 PM
3,968 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 22 2013, 05:51 PM) ![]() should be okay, but i feel the price is quite high and not worth for a used. you can probably get new clear stock for cars like Altis, Polo Sedan, Sylphy, etc. with that budget. car is still new, who wanna sell? yes, with guarantor. |
Oct 22 2013, 08:56 PM
1,501 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: ISA Detention Room -Port Valdez- |
Hi guys. need opinion to buy 2nd hand car.
i'm eyeing this waja. is it worth the money? http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Waja+M+1+6+full...it-23844133.htm thanks in advance for help |
Oct 22 2013, 10:10 PM
574 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 22 2013, 05:51 PM) ![]() should be okay, but i feel the price is quite high and not worth for a used. you can probably get new clear stock for cars like Altis, Polo Sedan, Sylphy, etc. with that budget. I think I'll have to pay RM93k all in (insurance, tax, change 4 new tyres, puspako).. I check 5 year old civic also around RM75k, so is it safe to say that civic resale value isn't that bad? |
Oct 22 2013, 11:56 PM
8 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
Hi sifus
I'm looking to buy a new value car. Budget RM100k, preferably no local cars. Maximum 2000cc. Automatic. This post has been edited by oz2: Oct 22 2013, 11:57 PM |
Oct 23 2013, 10:42 AM
![]() QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 22 2013, 06:05 PM) got ah, beginning of the year i saw got some ppl sell 88k, 90k.. then near the middle of the year nobody sell liao hard to say since latest elantra pretty new and you'd only see it in used car lots if it is an accident case, else owners will usually just use it until near warranty over (3-5 years) before trade-in for something else.selling the car before 3 years is really a waste of money, thus not many people do it. QUOTE(mi-g @ Oct 22 2013, 08:56 PM) Hi guys. need opinion to buy 2nd hand car. Few things I don't like:i'm eyeing this waja. is it worth the money? http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Waja+M+1+6+full...it-23844133.htm thanks in advance for help 1. Not original color 2. Cheapo leather the backseats look like the type of leather i hate to sit on 3. Not original rims, 17" looks nice but is it quality rims or some cheapo rims, 17" also heavier so FC worsen. 4. I'd usually advise people to stay away from modified cars 5. 2002 car cannot get loan, the loan they propose is so expensive, his price is 15,800, after the interest of the loan and deposit you're paying a grand total of 26,300, an additional 10,300!! crazy!! QUOTE(markypcs @ Oct 22 2013, 10:10 PM) On carlist.my and mudah, the price is around RM95k plus.. let me put it this way.I think I'll have to pay RM93k all in (insurance, tax, change 4 new tyres, puspako).. I check 5 year old civic also around RM75k, so is it safe to say that civic resale value isn't that bad? resale value very good, so it is a sellers market, as a buyer you'll have to accept buying it at higher cost of course in the hope you can resell it later on for a good price as well, but remember when you sell it the next owner will be 3rd hand so price won't be as good. QUOTE(oz2 @ Oct 22 2013, 11:56 PM) Hi sifus VW Polo Sedan I'm looking to buy a new value car. Budget RM100k, preferably no local cars. Maximum 2000cc. Automatic. This post has been edited by zenix: Oct 24 2013, 11:51 AM |
Oct 23 2013, 11:51 AM
8 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
Oct 23 2013, 12:20 PM
Oct 23 2013, 05:20 PM
12 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
1. Brand : Nissan Almera 2013 or used Peugeot 308 Turbo 2011
2. Budget : 70K 3. New/Used/Unreg : New / Used 4. Specs : Mid range specs 5. Type : 4 seater. which one is better? |
| Change to: | 0.0215sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:44 PM |