Motorola Milestone [NOW OFFICIAL!], 1st Android 2.1 phone in Malaysia

davidmak
post Mar 11 2010, 07:51 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(sentlon @ Mar 10 2010, 06:02 PM)
unlock bootloader is what milestone user need now.

Added on March 10, 2010, 7:09 pmjust wanna to know is pulsar 1.2.1 that i installed is rooted?
i try to use the astro file manager but i can see any files in my SD card.
Yeah, we definitely need the bootloader to be unlocked. Then we will have a world of customized ROM. Motorola gave an impression that they will take their time on 2.1 update. Thats really shady.

The Pulsar 1.2.1 you installed is not rooted by default. The current rooting technique will work for Pulsar because technically we're still at 2.0.1. So you can proceed to root again.

QUOTE(Droidz @ Mar 10 2010, 07:31 PM)
I think I read it from Google's support forum on the multi-touch issue, they got the information from the hardware spec, you can go read if you want to tongue.gif

Your milestone is HK AP set? Where did you buy it from?
Yes, mine is HK AP set. Bought from Terry for RM1930. Checkout his store.

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Mar 10 2010, 11:46 PM)
Alamak mutli touch N1 lost to Milestone.....
Still, enthusiasts and modders will go for Nexus One. That platform is the single most 'unprotected' device and you can do anything with it. Plus you get the entire xda-developers people there including people like Cyanogen, Modaco, etc.

Unless you want to go with Desire. Gosh, I hate that chin and buttons. Hahaha...
Droidz
post Mar 11 2010, 03:57 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 11 2010, 07:51 AM)
Yeah, we definitely need the bootloader to be unlocked. Then we will have a world of customized ROM. Motorola gave an impression that they will take their time on 2.1 update. Thats really shady.

The Pulsar 1.2.1 you installed is not rooted by default. The current rooting technique will work for Pulsar because technically we're still at 2.0.1. So you can proceed to root again.
Yes, mine is HK AP set. Bought from Terry for RM1930. Checkout his store.
Still, enthusiasts and modders will go for Nexus One. That platform is the single most 'unprotected' device and you can do anything with it. Plus you get the entire xda-developers people there including people like Cyanogen, Modaco, etc.

Unless you want to go with Desire. Gosh, I hate that chin and buttons. Hahaha...
Totally agree with you. I myself would like a N1 cause you can get all the cool things from the modder :thumbs:

Terry? YOu mean AutomationbitE? :drool:

Added on March 11, 2010, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(xfree @ Mar 10 2010, 03:30 PM)
Hm. Rm 2699 seems too high.
Wait till you see the price for SE X10 :clap:

This post has been edited by Droidz: Mar 11 2010, 03:58 PM
witcher
post Mar 11 2010, 05:00 PM

48 posts

hah! got milestone!

sinbad
post Mar 11 2010, 05:04 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(Droidz @ Mar 11 2010, 03:57 PM)

Wait till you see the price for SE X10  rclxms.gif
There has a rumor that x10 will cost about RM2799, just +100 to Milestone.

Droidz
post Mar 11 2010, 05:07 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(sinbad @ Mar 11 2010, 05:04 PM)
There has a rumor that x10 will cost about RM2799, just +100 to Milestone.
That cheap?
Looking at the "rumoured" price out there, I am expecting something beyond 3k after conversion + tax

Hopefully you are right about the price :p
witcher
post Mar 11 2010, 05:26 PM

48 posts

we dont have facebook integration in milestone??

sentlon
post Mar 11 2010, 06:49 PM

346 posts

now, where can i buy the case for milestone ?
something like rubber would be great
sinbad
post Mar 11 2010, 06:50 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(Droidz @ Mar 11 2010, 05:07 PM)
That cheap?
Looking at the "rumoured" price out there, I am expecting something beyond 3k after conversion + tax

Hopefully you are right about the price tongue.gif
U can find at the Trade Zone thread, I found at there before.
davidmak
post Mar 11 2010, 07:40 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(witcher @ Mar 11 2010, 05:26 PM)
we dont have facebook integration in milestone??
Nope, its not available for Milestone but the Droid has it. BUT you can download the Facebook app that enables contact syncing. Its not available at Market for Milestone so you need to search forums.

Seeing this double standard going on with Motorola is really stupid.
witcher
post Mar 11 2010, 08:06 PM

48 posts

yeah, actually the integration with fb and twitter was one main reason i was considering this phone. i read that such integration was provided in android 2.01 it self, so it is kind of surprising to see that not included here??? i mean, was it deliberately taken out?

secondly, does this facebook app, replicates the function of the droid integration.. i heard some talk on forums that it only does some of the stuff from the original application.
oneeleven
post Mar 11 2010, 08:42 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(witcher @ Mar 11 2010, 08:06 PM)
yeah, actually the integration with fb and twitter was one main reason i was considering this phone.
What is the difference between the app, integration and the browser page? So far I just open FB in browser and use it just like I would on a PC. What am I missing? I have installed the app and I still prefer the browser.

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Mar 11 2010, 08:43 PM
witcher
post Mar 11 2010, 09:13 PM

48 posts

well, integration means.. your contact list will automatically show the status updates from your fb contacts, their contact picture will be updated from facebook, you will get the option to post a fb messege to any contact straight from the phone's contact book.. everything is integrated basically.. which is really neat.

opening an app each time sucks. especially considering what i just said before has been done by HTC and even Motorola (at various levels) quite some time ago.

This post has been edited by witcher: Mar 11 2010, 09:14 PM
sentlon
post Mar 11 2010, 09:54 PM

346 posts

where r u guys got your case for your milestone?
i need to get one but seem didnt see anyway got sell it.

sinbad
post Mar 11 2010, 10:29 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(witcher @ Mar 11 2010, 09:13 PM)
well, integration means.. your contact list will automatically show the status updates from your fb contacts, their contact picture will be updated from facebook, you will get the option to post a fb messege to any contact straight from the phone's contact book.. everything is integrated basically.. which is really neat.

opening an app each time sucks. especially considering what i just said before has been done by HTC and even Motorola (at various levels) quite some time ago.
I thought that 1 not jz appear on MotoBlur onli hmm.gif hmm.gif
lhongwuh
post Mar 11 2010, 11:57 PM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

QUOTE(sentlon @ Mar 11 2010, 09:54 PM)
where r u guys got your case for your milestone?
i need to get one but seem didnt see anyway got sell it.
see my siggy? click on it smile.gif
pm me for more info notworthy.gif
davidmak
post Mar 12 2010, 08:03 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(witcher @ Mar 11 2010, 08:06 PM)
yeah, actually the integration with fb and twitter was one main reason i was considering this phone. i read that such integration was provided in android 2.01 it self, so it is kind of surprising to see that not included here??? i mean, was it deliberately taken out?

secondly, does this facebook app, replicates the function of the droid integration.. i heard some talk on forums that it only does some of the stuff from the original application.
If you mean built in social networking capabilities, that feature is only present on MotoBlur devices. The Droid/Milestone do not bear that branding and its part of Open Handset Alliance and has Google's blessings on it. Blur interface did not make it into the device. However, the Droid has a 'special' FB app that has contact syncing. Its pretty close but not like Blur interface.

The Milestone however did not receive the same attention as Droid despite being the same device. This is getting hilarious. The FB app available for Milestone do not have contact syncing. Anyway the official FB app is not too good either. I prefer Bloo. Very good app. Besides there are plenty of widget/apps that provide live status updates.

For Malaysian phones, if we want social networking integration... I think the HTC Desire/Legend is gonna be good. Or any HTC devices with the upcoming Android Sense UI.
oneeleven
post Mar 14 2010, 05:43 AM

1,515 posts

Has anyone tried recovering memory to increase space for apps?

http://alldroid.org/threads/15438-HACK-Fre...internal-memory

I'm a bit nervous about trying cuz newbie!

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Mar 14 2010, 05:45 AM
sentlon
post Mar 14 2010, 05:48 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Mar 14 2010, 05:43 AM)
Has anyone tried recovering memory to increase space for apps? 

http://alldroid.org/threads/15438-HACK-Fre...internal-memory

I'm a bit nervous about trying cuz newbie!

do not really understand how to write the script on it.
it would better if u can elaborate here with more step by step.

or forget it and wait for unlock bootloader.
scpt
post Mar 14 2010, 11:52 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

Hello peeps! I've been following the Milestone quite closely lately and reading about it, I finally ordered one. Expecting it to arrive on Wednesday. fuhhh can't wait!

bertz
post Mar 15 2010, 12:07 AM

178 posts

any idea of motorola plans to unlock the bootloader?

126 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:08 PM