Motorola Milestone [NOW OFFICIAL!], 1st Android 2.1 phone in Malaysia

davidmak
post Mar 10 2010, 01:20 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(sentlon @ Mar 10 2010, 12:01 PM)
where can i download the Pulsar v1.2.1 English ver.?
the one i download is Demark, i need a Eng ~!
You can change the language during setup. On my first boot, it display foreign language too but I have no problem changing to English (US). It can also display Chinese, Japanese and Korean fonts. Note that Voice, Dial Search and Voice-to-Text messaging work primarily in English.
josnkillz
post Mar 10 2010, 01:35 PM

so does anyone know the malaysia release day for sure? i want to buy it straight from retailer.
sentlon
post Mar 10 2010, 02:13 PM

346 posts

been playing with the pulsar for a while it seem like not really stable. the touch screen will not work sometime, and occasionally reboot happen. and it seem not really smoother then 2.0.1.

anyway, is there any sign of overclocking for it? as we know milestone cant work as droid which can be clock at very high for faster peformance.

davidmak
post Mar 10 2010, 02:23 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(josnkillz @ Mar 10 2010, 01:35 PM)
so does anyone know the malaysia release day for sure? i want to buy it straight from retailer.
We were given indications that it'll be end of this month but nothing solid so far.

QUOTE(sentlon @ Mar 10 2010, 02:13 PM)
been playing with the pulsar for a while it seem like not really stable. the touch screen will not work sometime, and occasionally reboot happen. and it seem not really smoother then 2.0.1.

anyway, is there any sign of overclocking for it? as we know milestone cant work as droid which can be clock at very high for faster peformance.
Hmm strange... Seems very stable for me. I have been using it for 3 days straight without any rebooting. Everything just works pretty good except for the Flan gallery. It did quit a few times but it quickly restores itself. Music cover flow works beautifully except for a little skipping at times, not as bad as reported over forums.

If you have performance issues, I would recommend you to wipe and clean data. It is there in the instructions. Also don't use live wallpaper. It'll speed up the ROM for sure. Although I really like the interactive wallpaper but I don't like my battery going down like no tomorrow.
sentlon
post Mar 10 2010, 02:29 PM

346 posts

which pulsar ver. u have install ?
got any recommend thirdparty software?
is this pulsar gave been root after installed ?

Droidz
post Mar 10 2010, 02:34 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 9 2010, 04:09 PM)
Simple. Openness :P. You want to customized your phone with all the custom ROM development scenes. You want access to the file system so you can do simple things like transferring a video for immediate viewing instead of syncing via iTunes. You can download an album from the internet. Tag it with album art, dump into phone and voila... you have added a new collection to your library. Simple.

When I pass on my iPhone and got the Milestone... I was a bit reluctant. I didn't want to leave my favorite applications. To be honest, iPhone has one of the best collection of applications and games. Going to Android is like going back in time when iPhone was still in its early stage. Simple apps, simple games and really craptastic graphics hehehehe...

But I have faith in Android. Just today, Google released a new NDK that enables OpenGL ES 2.0. Just what developers need to get things really going!
Yeah I read about them too. Here are the ones I am aware of:

1. Weak radio antenna (causing poor 3G reception performance specially in weak areas)
2. Inaccurate multi-touch
3. Color accuracy of the OLED (related to shades/tones)

What else?
1. Glass is more fragile compare to other phones
2. Glass will crack from within, although external glass is still perfectly solid. (http://crave.cnet.co.uk/mobiles/0,39029453,49305156,00.htm?s_cid=96)
3. nexus one (most of HTC phone) is not "multi-touch", is "dual-touch" as the hardware only supports two touch point
sinbad
post Mar 10 2010, 02:47 PM

149 posts

The have few Brightstar dealer in the forum stated Milestone is allow to pre-order now, deposit RM500.
Lawrence22
post Mar 10 2010, 02:53 PM

34 posts

how much the SRP for milestone? rm2599?
davidmak
post Mar 10 2010, 03:07 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(sentlon @ Mar 10 2010, 02:29 PM)
which pulsar ver. u have install ?
got any recommend thirdparty software?
is this pulsar gave been root after installed ?
Mine is Pulsar 1.2.1. Third party software recommendation:

Astro File Manager
Barcode Scanner
Bloo (alternative FB app)
Facebook (official)
Compass
Goggles
Netcounter
Nimbuzz (very good multi IM chat app)
Photoshop Mobile
SeePU (check on CPU/RAM usage)
SMS PopUp

QUOTE(Droidz @ Mar 10 2010, 02:34 PM)
1. Glass is more fragile compare to other phones
2. Glass will crack from within, although external glass is still perfectly solid. (http://crave.cnet.co.uk/mobiles/0,39029453,49305156,00.htm?s_cid=96)
3. nexus one (most of HTC phone) is not "multi-touch", is "dual-touch" as the hardware only supports two touch point
1. I tend to think glass is more rigid but that depends on the type of fall. Still glass is pretty scratch resistant especially when treated.
3. Thanks for clearing that up. I think dual touch is sufficient since you don't need more than 2 fingers on a small screen (even though it is 3.7"). But the articles I have read point to Nexus One's screen easily being easily confused when 2 points are touched. Gonna have to read it again.
sinbad
post Mar 10 2010, 03:17 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 10 2010, 03:07 PM)
3. Thanks for clearing that up. I think dual touch is sufficient since you don't need more than 2 fingers on a small screen (even though it is 3.7"). But the articles I have read point to Nexus One's screen easily being easily confused when 2 points are touched. Gonna have to read it again.
Ithink see somebody post before on this

koaybl
post Mar 10 2010, 03:23 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Lawrence22 @ Mar 10 2010, 02:53 PM)
how much the SRP for milestone? rm2599?
I called the Brightstar and they say is confirm launch End Of The Month With Andorid 2.1
price yet to be confirmed.. but estimated price rm 2699 .

I think i will get an HK AP set from Terry 1930 only. Price different too much already
xfree
post Mar 10 2010, 03:30 PM

138 posts

Hm. Rm 2699 seems too high.

This post has been edited by xfree: Mar 10 2010, 03:30 PM
davidmak
post Mar 10 2010, 03:33 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(koaybl @ Mar 10 2010, 03:23 PM)
I called the Brightstar and they say is confirm launch End Of The Month With Andorid 2.1

I think i will get an HK AP set from Terry 1930 only. Price different too much already
IF the Milestone is really coming out end of the month WITH Android 2.1. Thats damn good news. Means a SBF file is just moments away for us to flash. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(xfree @ Mar 10 2010, 03:30 PM)
Yeah, which is why getting HK AP from Terry seems like a good idea.
Lawrence22
post Mar 10 2010, 04:07 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(koaybl @ Mar 10 2010, 03:23 PM)

i better get from automationbites.com, they selling rm1880 only, don't know what region...

Added on March 10, 2010, 4:10 pm
you selling ap set (milestone)?can make postage to penang? how much u will charge?

This post has been edited by Lawrence22: Mar 10 2010, 04:11 PM
kuanyu
post Mar 10 2010, 05:37 PM

46 posts

Everyone will agree it's too darn high. Zzz. rclxub.gif
sentlon
post Mar 10 2010, 06:02 PM

346 posts

unlock bootloader is what milestone user need now.

Added on March 10, 2010, 7:09 pmjust wanna to know is pulsar 1.2.1 that i installed is rooted?
i try to use the astro file manager but i can see any files in my SD card.

This post has been edited by sentlon: Mar 10 2010, 07:09 PM
Droidz
post Mar 10 2010, 07:31 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 10 2010, 03:07 PM)
Mine is Pulsar 1.2.1. Third party software recommendation:

Astro File Manager
Barcode Scanner
Bloo (alternative FB app)
Facebook (official)
Compass
Goggles
Netcounter
Nimbuzz (very good multi IM chat app)
Photoshop Mobile
SeePU (check on CPU/RAM usage)
SMS PopUp
1. I tend to think glass is more rigid but that depends on the type of fall. Still glass is pretty scratch resistant especially when treated.
I think I read it from Google's support forum on the multi-touch issue, they got the information from the hardware spec, you can go read if you want to :p

Your milestone is HK AP set? Where did you buy it from?
oneeleven
post Mar 10 2010, 09:41 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 10 2010, 10:36 AM)
To update there are two ways. The OTA way is to go to Settings>About Phone>System Updates.
Help! I did this with WiFi and it said "optional update available." Upon DL, it stopped at 51% and now doesn't move nor can it be cleared from Notifications. blink.gif

Later: Ooops. Shouldn't've panicked. Powered off and took a walk. Now it's back on, finishing DL, picture of unboxing something into a Milestone, restarting itself sloowwwly.... HEY HEY, now 2.0.1 !!! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Mar 11 2010, 12:09 AM
x132755
post Mar 10 2010, 11:35 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

go for ap 1930... save more than 500 bucks drool.gif
aruja_69
post Mar 10 2010, 11:46 PM

3,786 posts

Alamak mutli touch N1 lost to Milestone.....

126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:52 PM