American Express® Cards v2, Membership Rewards™
Dec 8 2009, 10:34 PM
4,094 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: USJ |
just went to purchase RM860 Jusco voucher, hopefully still got 15@%
Dec 8 2009, 11:09 PM
102 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
.. i think smart move lah buying vouchers... thanks for the idea..
Dec 8 2009, 11:10 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Dec 8 2009, 11:45 PM
102 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Dec 9 2009, 12:14 AM
329 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
had jus recieved my amex card, its the 1st ever card i applied but as i checked in maybank2u, there was another card on the list which was visa petronas gold? i did not apply for it though.. n did not recieve the card as well
is this a mistake? |
Dec 9 2009, 09:13 AM
2,221 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Dec 8 2009, 10:34 PM) just went to purchase RM860 Jusco voucher, hopefully still got 15@% It is a brilliant idea as we can "lock in" the 15% cash back first. I have been thinking about this since last month but I have not taken any action yet. Guess what, I am going to buy vouchers from Parkson, hoping to get 15% rebate + bonuslink points when purchasing the vouchers + bonuslink points again when presenting the vouchers to make payment.QUOTE(hAnn @ Dec 9 2009, 12:14 AM) had jus recieved my amex card, its the 1st ever card i applied but as i checked in maybank2u, there was another card on the list which was visa petronas gold? i did not apply for it though.. n did not recieve the card as well Some banks will give you other pre-approved cards. It is better if you call MBB to check the status and cancel the card, otherwise the service tax could be imposed.is this a mistake? |
Dec 9 2009, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 8 2009, 11:10 PM) do you mean that you purchased JJ voucher with your AMEX and then use the vouchers to pay for stuffs at JJ? yup, so even if there's no 15%, you still can use the voucher in the futureJJ voucher has no expiry date Added on December 9, 2009, 9:44 am QUOTE(winner @ Dec 9 2009, 09:13 AM) It is a brilliant idea as we can "lock in" the 15% cash back first. I have been thinking about this since last month but I have not taken any action yet. Guess what, I am going to buy vouchers from Parkson, hoping to get 15% rebate + bonuslink points when purchasing the vouchers + bonuslink points again when presenting the vouchers to make payment. even smarter except I mostly buy my things at JJ, so parkson not gd for me as they don't have supermarket dept This post has been edited by alexwsk: Dec 9 2009, 09:44 AM |
Dec 9 2009, 09:57 AM
132 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(winner @ Dec 9 2009, 09:13 AM) It is a brilliant idea as we can "lock in" the 15% cash back first. I have been thinking about this since last month but I have not taken any action yet. Guess what, I am going to buy vouchers from Parkson, hoping to get 15% rebate + bonuslink points when purchasing the vouchers + bonuslink points again when presenting the vouchers to make payment. I was think of buying Parkson's voucher as well b4 i bought jusco voucher, but not much groceries in Parkson for me to spend. Jusco vouchers I mainly reserve for milk powder and diapers. Some banks will give you other pre-approved cards. It is better if you call MBB to check the status and cancel the card, otherwise the service tax could be imposed. |
Dec 9 2009, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Dec 9 2009, 09:57 AM) I was think of buying Parkson's voucher as well b4 i bought jusco voucher, but not much groceries in Parkson for me to spend. Jusco vouchers I mainly reserve for milk powder and diapers. hehe, guess what, i just bought 4 cans of Frisolac Gold and a pack of Mamy Poko using the jusco vouchers yesterday |
Dec 9 2009, 02:16 PM
2,374 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Subang / PJ |
Hmm.. just checking out on www.globaleshop.com... , I have register myself there but the website did not provide me any address..
Anyone mind to en light me how to purchase thingy from amazon ? |
Dec 9 2009, 04:14 PM
9,301 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(lgs @ Dec 9 2009, 02:16 PM) Hmm.. just checking out on www.globaleshop.com... , I have register myself there but the website did not provide me any address.. If you only want to buy some books, CDs, DVDs or Blu-rays, then you can just place an order on their website and they can ship the items directly to your designated address. For all other items such as electronics, cosmetics etc., you will need globaleshop, vPost or Globeshop service as Amazon.com cannot ship these items outside United States.Anyone mind to en light me how to purchase thingy from amazon ? |
Dec 9 2009, 09:23 PM
1,748 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pearl Of the Orient |
Amex Gold CC will have a separate bill? I checked my online statement, looks like it is not bundled together in my other MBB CCs.
Dec 9 2009, 09:40 PM
2,221 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Dec 9 2009, 10:08 PM
1,748 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pearl Of the Orient |
Dec 9 2009, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(mustang @ Dec 9 2009, 10:08 PM) most likely not, unless you've ticked the option to receive the paper statement for RM5 each monthyou will be able to see your statement online however, i did received my paper statements at no extra cost |
Dec 9 2009, 10:44 PM
1,488 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(winner @ Dec 9 2009, 09:13 AM) It is a brilliant idea as we can "lock in" the 15% cash back first. I have been thinking about this since last month but I have not taken any action yet. Guess what, I am going to buy vouchers from Parkson, hoping to get 15% rebate + bonuslink points when purchasing the vouchers + bonuslink points again when presenting the vouchers to make payment. We can buy the Parkson vouchers by credit card? Some banks will give you other pre-approved cards. It is better if you call MBB to check the status and cancel the card, otherwise the service tax could be imposed. |
Dec 9 2009, 10:52 PM
Dec 10 2009, 01:36 AM
9,301 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE CIMB Group Says RM50 Service Tax On Credit Card Little Disappointing KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 8 (Bernama) -- CIMB Group says it has some reservation about the government's plan to put a RM50 service tax on credit card. "We have some reservation because obviously we were hoping that the tax is not necessary because at the end of the day, the idea is to reduce the cash holdings and increase plastic and other forms of payments," its group chief executive Datuk Seri Nazir Razak said. "This is something that we are little bit disappointed but of course, we have to comply," he told reporters here after a signing ceremony today for a RM50 million term loan facility from CIMB Bank Bhd and UBS AG to JCY HDD Technology Sdn Bhd. To promote prudent spending, the government has proposed a RM50 service tax a year on each principal credit card and charge card and a RM25 service tax a year on each supplementary card effective January 1 next year. Asked if it is possible for CIMB Bank to absorb the services tax, Nazir said "it is just a matter of economics." The bank is hoping to achieve 1.2 million credit card holders by end of the year from the current 1.1 million customers. Malaysian Rating Corporation Bhd (MARC) recently said that the service tax is unlikely to have an impact on the overall transaction value of cardholders over the medium term. Cardholders are more likely to cancel extra cards to minimise their tax burden since the tax is proposed to be levied annually on a per card basis, it said. MARC also believed that the proposed tax will result in an aversion to applying for multiple cards on the part of new applicants and thus the growth rate of issued credit card will lose momentum from the compounded annual growth rate of 13.2 per cent recorded over 2004-2008. As for card issuers, currently comprising 21 banks and three non-bank financial institutions, this tax will have mixed effects depending on their existing market share and brand positioning, it added. |
Dec 10 2009, 05:25 AM
4,522 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Dec 10 2009, 09:33 AM
| Change to: | 0.0353sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:42 AM |