130 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread!, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!

thken
post Jan 4 2010, 02:13 AM

keep walking
938 posts

QUOTE(StarNet @ Jan 3 2010, 02:45 PM)
i dun think so... there's alot of vios out there running on 17" ... if u are more concern about power i think 16" would be a better choice... 17 inch mainly u loose power on pickups i think... but if u take light weight rims it'll be better...

but dun worry... with vios's lightweight body... the pickup is still there compared to New honda city which i sat on my fren's ... has a sluggish pickup on 16 inch
shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
vios2002
post Jan 4 2010, 08:23 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(kazami @ Jan 3 2010, 10:29 PM)
yeah... fast...
fly by wire controller? SAFC? emanage?
not both lah... somethings like the pivot unit can boots the throttle controller things...
like when apply 50%gas it will open about max close to 98% ...this thing dont create extra horse power.

just to cheat the throttle control unit.

QUOTE(padisawah @ Jan 4 2010, 12:54 AM)
yeah! confirmed by xbalance already...hehe
anyway the owner using throttle controller thingy which can make the surge. as vios auto in stock already can feel the sudden surge if step the throttle pedal suddenly, if install the controller plus a manual vios, that explains the huge sudden boost
not really sudden boost, this thing just like when u step the gas paddle at Max still get the same function....

dont waste money, now days FC is more important.
TStravis_ckf
post Jan 4 2010, 08:53 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

QUOTE(thken @ Jan 4 2010, 02:13 AM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
What u soo suprised off? Ths vios body is indeed light at 1050-1100kg, unlike the new city at 1150kg. That explains it has good FC and spirited drive.
tklee87
post Jan 4 2010, 09:02 AM

hey, anybody install door visor? after install got Wind sound? cos dont know why i install the TRD type one, the wind sound is loud after 80~90km/h.
vios2002
post Jan 4 2010, 09:03 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jan 4 2010, 08:53 AM)
What u soo suprised off? Ths vios body is indeed light at 1050-1100kg, unlike the new city at 1150kg. That explains it has good FC and spirited drive.
yes i agree with you, that also depend on you which model u take like J manual spec say 1020kg after mod now weight less then 1000kg... FC improve and respond better..
igor_is300
post Jan 4 2010, 10:37 AM

Cheesy & Corny
2,728 posts

QUOTE(padisawah @ Jan 4 2010, 12:54 AM)
yeah! confirmed by xbalance already...hehe
anyway the owner using throttle controller thingy which can make the surge. as vios auto in stock already can feel the sudden surge if step the throttle pedal suddenly, if install the controller plus a manual vios, that explains the huge sudden boost
Pivot throttle controller ? tongue.gif

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Jan 4 2010, 08:23 AM)
not both lah... somethings like the pivot unit can boots the throttle controller things...
like when apply 50%gas it will open about max close to 98% ...this thing dont create extra horse power.

just to cheat the throttle control unit.
not really sudden boost, this thing just like when u step the gas paddle at Max still get the same function....

dont waste money, now days FC is more important.
It depends. I treated my vios as a reliable workhorse, therefore I will never trash my car inside the track although most of my friends persuaded me to do so. Sometimes I needed the spirited drive, thus I upgraded the wheels and suspension and nothing more. Some people they modified their car as if they wanted to enter a racing competition but in the end they only use the car for 'daily to and fro'. Vios is designed to be an economical car, nothing more or less. It's their choice, lol, but it's good for automotive business tongue.gif . As for me, I rather buy another car for weekend/track drive. Probably a toyota mr-s or lotus elise should be good. smile.gif

This post has been edited by igor_is300: Jan 4 2010, 10:38 AM
vios2002
post Jan 4 2010, 11:31 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Jan 4 2010, 10:37 AM)
Pivot throttle controller ? tongue.gif
It depends. I treated my vios as a reliable workhorse, therefore I will never trash my car inside the track although most of my friends persuaded me to do so. Sometimes I needed the spirited drive, thus I upgraded the wheels and suspension and nothing more. Some people they modified their car as if they wanted to enter a racing competition but in the end they only use the car for 'daily to and fro'. Vios is designed to be an economical car, nothing more or less. It's their choice, lol, but it's good for automotive business tongue.gif . As for me, I rather buy another car for weekend/track drive. Probably a toyota mr-s or lotus elise should be good. smile.gif
wah weekend car... so good ...i like to go track for weekend drive but i try to skip track day budget is high even so like 3 hour in sepang... tire, brake pad, clutch...alot of money to waste...

last time got join a friend play offroad buggy really fun ... learn alot

hope later mid of the year my uncle is getting his F430...will ask a week ride...haha
michael9413
post Jan 4 2010, 12:06 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Jan 3 2010, 05:25 PM)
wow...void the suspension.. lol..do they cost alot?

Added on January 3, 2010, 5:26 pmTRd spec has the same engine as the  other spec sad.gif
well suspension is on the things related to it sure it cost you around RM1000 if you wanna calculate alll but actually it does not affect ur car warranty much as toyota is known of its good lower arm design "Che Kiok" so nothing to 1orry about it...

remember handling of a car still depends on the owner preference... some say normal old Vios is good enough but some still prefer to lower it somemore to get more handling...

as for the tires 16" and 17" tires will not give you a huge different from pricing, but if you fit 17" to it, the FC surely will not good compare to 16" and so on for 15" also... but for that 185/60 R15 or when you change to 195/55 R15 u may get cheaper tire RM250 (good ones) compare to RM300++ for 16" and 17" also...
what is your priorities? Handling or Comfort or Look nice only??? ur choice...

Handling
u need a set of lower spring & sport absorber(depends ur lower height preference), with good 17" rim & tires

Comfort
with improved handling you need to stick back to 15" but 60 series is too thick, change to 195/55 R15 Michelin PP2, Yokohama S Drives, BS RE001 or any harder side wall tire... then change the shock to gas type or harder type... retain the spring if you wan or change to lowered spring (slightly lower will do)...

Look only u can install wat ever u want... smile.gif
*gentle reminder of the wheel offset and please make sure it does not scratch the fender and the front lower arm when you turn ur steering... and Malaysia is full of bumps and humps,once u lower the car sure u will have to suffer more...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jan 4 2010, 12:08 PM
xenothrix
post Jan 4 2010, 06:43 PM

RB26DETT
1,394 posts

i just went to Toyota SC. Showed them my exhausted tire that is with the car from day 1, which is about 1 year ago, they said they will charge me for alignment but will replace the tires for me for free.
after i come home only i realize, why I am charged if seems they admit it's part of the problem.

any1 encountering vios J with goodyear GT3 exhausted after 1 year? it's only at front wheels edge. heard they r going to change it to GT5 or some xx5.
alienfighter
post Jan 4 2010, 08:34 PM

503 posts

please include me in the lists....

proud owner of vios 1.5 E white....

thumbup.gif
vios2002
post Jan 5 2010, 09:08 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(xenothrix @ Jan 4 2010, 06:43 PM)
i just went to Toyota SC. Showed them my exhausted tire that is with the car from day 1, which is about 1 year ago, they said they will charge me for alignment but will replace the tires for me for free.
after i come home only i realize, why I am charged if seems they admit it's part of the problem.

any1 encountering vios J with goodyear GT3 exhausted after 1 year? it's only at front wheels edge. heard they r going to change it to GT5 or some xx5.
i came across this issue too ... im not using GY GT3, change after got the car... a friend of mine say i like to push corner in and out that cause my outer tread wear out faster ...there is a stage a change my wheel camber to -2 and toe is 5 ... the outside wear have reduce but other new issue came in... very hard to drive in a strait line it is easy pull from left and right...

now im learning how to drive at a lower speed to prolong my tire...

i found in another forum there is a guy facing uneven wear for his rear tire, after checking with SC they say it was torsion beam suspension arm that cause this issue.
michael9413
post Jan 5 2010, 12:15 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yes it is the torsion beam problem... smile.gif u can ask them (SC) more on this problem...
iluvena
post Jan 5 2010, 12:37 PM

425 posts

my gf vios banged from behind and get it fixed at toyota Shah Alam SC.
now the bumper a bit "jatuh" already (after 2 months) eventhough when we pick the car it likes new, no gap whatsoever. (now got gap between bumper and bonet)

is this normal? or should we claim under warranty? can they fix them back?
michael9413
post Jan 5 2010, 01:24 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

u should go and ask them why this happen... they should give you a new bumper BTW...
iluvena
post Jan 5 2010, 01:25 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Jan 5 2010, 01:24 PM)
u should go and ask them why this happen... they should give you a new bumper BTW...
oh.. its a new bumper.. and they "ketuk" at the spare tyre compartment also.
hmmmm...

michael9413
post Jan 5 2010, 01:27 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

double check those compartment see if it is properly done or not... for the bumper if there is crack mark on the bumper new paint that means it is an old bumper....
iluvena
post Jan 5 2010, 01:34 PM

425 posts

okay thanks. will check later.. smile.gif
Tainted
post Jan 6 2010, 03:19 AM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

Just wanna ask Old Vios Owner, what are the common probs on the old vios?

Overall, how is it?
michael9413
post Jan 6 2010, 09:10 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

for me no problem maybe it is not properly tested in harsh harsh usage... smile.gif
Jun '05 - around 87k now...
u have to look at the rear absorber for leaking only thats it... others if the car is in good condition or not bring it over a stretch of bumpy road then you will know if there is any funny sound in the cabin and from the wheels or mounting
xenothrix
post Jan 6 2010, 11:31 AM

RB26DETT
1,394 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Jan 5 2010, 09:08 AM)
i came across this issue too ... im not using GY GT3, change after got the car... a friend of mine say i like to push corner in and out that cause my outer tread wear out faster ...there is a stage a change my wheel camber to -2 and toe is 5 ... the outside wear have reduce but other new issue came in... very hard to drive in a strait line it is easy pull from left and right...

now im learning how to drive at a lower speed to prolong my tire...

i found in another forum there is a guy facing uneven wear for his rear tire, after checking with SC they say it was torsion beam suspension arm that cause this issue.
my wear pattern is only at 2 edge of both front wheels. at first i thought i didnt fill up the air properly n therefore hv this kind of issue. but after checking with SC, they quickly give a conclusion that can change for me without charge for the tyres and only charge alignment which makes me feel kinda weird. i hv been asking SC to adjust suspension noise at almost every service appointment. when they mention tightened screws, noise problem get better and then eventually will return after a period of time.
like u said, another possibility is i take corner too fast. but in terms of speed, unless vios j is so imbalanced, dont think the tyre wear out so fast as the fastest i take corner is 60km/h, which is only at smooth curves. but i do hard brake at times, but i feel the wear out pattern is strange.

another phenomemon i still fail to convince SC to check for me is my front part of the car vibrate when breaking from 80/100km/h to 60km/h. the vibrate only happens at range of 65-60km/h and none at braking after or below. now i m hoping changing to new tyres will solve this, or mayb not.. waiting for the sign to bcome more obvious n consistent.

130 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:59 PM