103 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

- (( ** House of Miniature Schnauzers V9 ** )) -, Welcome to our cosy little home!

karie88
post Oct 4 2009, 11:10 PM

another ms lover here from ipoh??
jason86
post Oct 5 2009, 11:49 AM

LẽTORO GROOMING
1,447 posts

wow...recently..alot cropped ear ms here.... welcome welcome....
yikhoe
post Oct 5 2009, 02:48 PM

63 posts

i got a small little problem here...

My MS HIRO is 8 weeks old now, which means 2 months. When he sees food, he goes really anxious as if not eaten a few days. Is there a way to stop this?? It is hard for me to do training as he will just jump, push and scratch when he smells food.

All i manage to do is to get him to sit. During playtime, he will suddenly go into the kitchen and wait, come out, bark a few times to lure me to kitchen. (there's where the food is).

Issit too young for training?
Rayne
post Oct 5 2009, 04:51 PM

24 posts

Hi yikhoe,

It's never too early to start training, although when we start them at such a young age we need to be very patient and never expect too much as they are still growing and learning smile.gif

Before you feed your pup, don't give him excitable signals like asking him if he wants to eat, etc. Just go over and put the food in the bowl. Wait until he has stopped jumping before feeding. You can try to tell him to sit, but if he doesn't listen just wait until he gets tired. This will probably take a long time since he's excitable, but we have to be firm. Once he stops jumping, doesn't matter if he's standing or sitting, then you give him the food. Do this enough times during meal times and he will understand that he needs to be calm before he gets his food.

Once he gets the idea that he has to be calm (don't rush into this so fast though), get him to sit and wait before he gets his food.Slowly you can put the bowl at his feet and only allow him to eat when you give the release command (like 'OK' or 'Good Boy'). I did this with Scottie from when he's about 2 months old too smile.gif He has learnt that he will only get food if he sits quietly and wait. Hope that helps you in getting your pup to be calm smile.gif

EDIT: If he does the luring thing, ignore him. Only give treats or food on YOUR terms and time. When you do give him, let him earn the treat by asking him to do tricks (if so far he has learnt sit, get him to sit before you give him the treat. Later on, when he has mastered more commands, ask him to do one or two before giving). If you indulge him in this habit, he'll keep doing it whenever he wants to, and he would think that you are his follower instead of his pack leader.

This post has been edited by Rayne: Oct 5 2009, 04:54 PM
gavin_lee
post Oct 5 2009, 06:28 PM

QUOTE(Rayne @ Oct 3 2009, 02:23 PM)

Well, if the seller is a reputable breeder, they would actually welcome questions as it will show that you are interested in learning more about the breed instead of just buying a dog smile.gif No worries on asking many questions. If the seller gets irritated after answering questions, I don't think he is a reputable breeder.

Yes, the MKA cert will show that he's from a champion line...the father and /or mother will have the words like Mal. Ch. (or other countries' initials if they have won in other shows) in front of their names. If I'm not mistaken, the cert will show up to about 3-4 generations, maybe more...

I don't really know to what extent is Sam's mouthing coz I haven't seen him playing before, but if you don't want him to mouth at all, discourage the mouthing since puppyhood. Once it becomes a habit, it'll be very hard to correct when he's grown up. Scottie never does bite my hand to play, even when he was a pup. I guess I'm very lucky in that extent smile.gif

Playing ways? Umm...I guess you can move the toy about to make him more interested in the toy. Or throw it a certain distance to get him to chase after it.

If you want to teach him those obedience commands, it's best to do it properly smile.gif After Sam sits, tell him 'Stay' with your palm in front of his face (like a stop hand signal) and walk away. What you're doing nw (asking him to stay and calling him to you after that) is called a Recall exercise. It's good to hear that he's learning very fast, so practise a little with him everyday to get him to remember. But if he forgets, it's okay coz he's still small...just train with him for about 5 mins at a time, not too long or he'll get bored of training.

When I taught Scottie 'Down', I put him in a Sit position and with a treat on my hand, lower the treat down in front of his face and encourage him to go down. He follows the treat to a down position...the minute he goes down all the way, give the treat immediately and praise a lot smile.gif 'Hand' (or 'Paw' when I teach Scottie) took me longer. I just hold his paw like I'm shaking his hand and tell him the command while praising him. Do it enough times over a period (I can't remember how long though tongue.gif) and the next time I told him 'Paw', he lifts his hand to shake. When he does that, I praise him a lot and gave him a treat.

Of course, those might not be the only way to teach your pup those tricks...that's only how I taught Scottie smile.gif I have a book called '101 Dog Tricks' by Kyra Sundance..I think it's very cool coz it teaches you how to teach the trick step by step with photos. I managed to teach Scottie a few tricks from that book (haven't got time to teach so much lately tongue.gif) Try and get that one if you're interested in teaching tricks. Yes, I did send Scottie for obedience classes. I think everybody should at least send their dog for basic obedience classes...not only will you be learning how to train your pup, you'll get to socialise them too. Plus, you get more hands-on learning coz your trainer will let  you know if you're doing things correctly or not. But, I have to say there is a difference between teaching tricks and obedience. Tricks are stuff like 'Hand', 'Beg', those stuff. Obedience is more to walking your dog the right way (Heeling), Sit, Down, Stays (Sit, Stand and Down), Recall, and the most important of all, how to control and manage your dog while they're outside.

If you're interested, there are many places in KL who hold these obedience classes. Places like Puppy.com.my, MKA, PetnYou, Pet Safari in Ikano Center. Be sure to have Sam get all his puppy vaccinations first before sending him to obedience classes though. Hope that helps!
Hey, ray.. sorry for late replyin.. regard sam background details, i ad ask the seller whether both parent champ and in confirmation shows.. the seller said only Sam mom side was champ and under confirmation show but on the father side normal schnauzer with MKA cert.. so in ur opinion Sam not really categorize under champline and the price offered consider expensive? hmm.gif

Bout mouthing, Sam really like bite hand everytime approach him (touch his head, body or while play). Quite annoying aldo i scold everytime Sam bite, he will stop but the next time do it again. (now me sore throat, no more sound to scold ad, haha).. maybe he stil young, playful..hope sooner alright

Gosh!! thumbup.gif Ms breed amazing. Sam able to do the hand and stay command only 2 day. U remember that day i reply u said so excited cz Sam know stay command aldo the word i used was sit. Then the next day, i teach hand (repeated do before meal), Sam able to perform after few repeat. Yet, at the same time i able to do something new ( put the treat/kibble at floor in front Sam sight without my word he cant eat it)..haha, Sam will sit quietly lookin the treat patiently then only i said okay he will rush eat it. haha, is this consider trick hmm.gif ... but unfortnate i cant train Sam to do 'Down' command, he jus wont lay down, even sometime he afraid i train him down command, he wil look blur and forgot sit as well and move away.

Nevertheless, i not so pro in doing all command (able to perform but not in proper ways)Like u said do stay command with hand signal stop him.haha..bout the book u mention '101 Dog Tricks'.. how much u bought?..yet, do u know the ways train him to catch the ball then take back to u? Scottie knew tha? Sam wil catch ball when i throw but not take it back to me lo (He will take back to his bed and chew), haha. and any trick simple and easy can share wit me? thank a lot 1st.

Summore today i realize Sam fur look changing color, all the under (interior) fur seem grow brownish color out. Then now his fur 3/4 black and 1/4 brownish. I call bc the seller, he told me that sam puppy fur will change color at 3 or 4 month and second time again at 7 or 8 month and tis one is final one and the actual color of his entire life. He recommend me to buy a powder to maintain black pigmentation (forgot the name, but goin buy tis weekend as sam go for 3rd vac). Yet, he told me not to exposure sam to sun, cz will harm black fur cause brownish oso. So i dont think can enroll sam to any obedience class to avoid sun. So i can only enrol sam for indoor training at ikano but tht quite expensive and far from my place.

Today i try cut myself Sam fur (only head), make his used to the scissors (if not later older hard to do it, struggle and cant stay calm).. but weird his look now, haha.. i'm not a pro groomer..here a pic after cut, send u see

Rayne
post Oct 5 2009, 08:51 PM

24 posts

Champion line means it can be either father or mother is a champ, or both. So if Sam's mother is a Mal. Ch. then yes, he is considered from a champion line. I don't really know what is the market price for Min. Schnauzers these days, but champion line pups are usually sold at higher prices because of the father or mother's 'fame'. Yet, the puppy's potential to be a show dog in the future can never be guaranteed. huh.gif But whether he's show potential or not, you've already bought Sam and he's part of your family now...I guess it's not a big issue on whether he is expensive or not, since you've already got him. wink.gif

What you're doing with Sam now (giving him a release command before he can eat) is also a trick. Actually, whatever you can teach him to do, is considered trick training...there are no specific names or commands that you have to use. The names that we use only makes it easier to recognise. However, if you plan to do obedience training, there are some specific exercises to do, and stuff like Stay and Come are part of those. Your trainer will let you know about that when you attend those classes.

The '101 Dog Tricks' book I got from Kinokuniya. It costs about RM66, but there are lots of other trick books that you can get. This is just one that I got and liked, so have a look around to find which ones you like best smile.gif Yes, Scottie knows how to fetch the ball for me, but I have not tried this outside. He only does it quite consistently at home. I can't say I've trained him to do that though...what I do is I would throw the ball and then he would go get it. Once he holds the ball, I call him to come back to me. When he comes back, I praise him like mad and sometimes give him a treat. After a while, he sort of does it most of the time tongue.gif When he doesn't, I go over to him and make him hold the toy to come to where I was sitting and tell him the command 'Bring' (or you can use 'Fetch').

I have not heard of Min. Schnauzer coats changing colour or its black pigmentation becoming less from being exposed to the sun. Sounds very far fetched to me. Scottie is already 2+ years old, and I can safely say that his markings have been the same through out. His colour has faded a little from the darker colours of his puppyhood because of grooming with electric clippers. When we groom with electric clippers (as most groomers do), it takes away the undercoat which is supposed to be harsher, and causing the dog's coat colour to lighten a little. The 'proper' way to groom the Min. Schnauzer is to hand strip it, but that procedure is very expensive and very time consuming. Plus, it's mostly done for confirmation shows. Since Scottie is only a pet dog, I just send him for clipper sessions with the groomers. From what I've read about the breed so far, I have not seen anything that says exposure to sun will cause change of color in the dog's coat, or that puppy coats will change color. Perhaps it's best to do some reading on our own to clarify what some people are saying. Get a book on the breed to know about it's specifications and characteristics. I'm not saying that we shouldn't listen to what other people are saying, but sometimes a little checking needs to be done to make sure what we are following is correct and not blindly following other's advice.
louisfjh
post Oct 5 2009, 10:38 PM

257 posts

Rayne
post Oct 6 2009, 12:58 AM

24 posts

Aww...they look so cute posing from the sofa biggrin.gif
kerrie
post Oct 6 2009, 02:28 AM

QUOTE(karie88 @ Oct 4 2009, 11:10 PM)
here!
jason86
post Oct 6 2009, 09:25 AM

LẽTORO GROOMING
1,447 posts

QUOTE(yikhoe @ Oct 5 2009, 02:48 PM)
i got a small little problem here...

My MS HIRO is 8 weeks old now, which means 2 months. When he sees food, he goes really anxious as if not eaten a few days. Is there a way to stop this?? It is hard for me to do training as he will just jump, push and scratch when he smells food.

All i manage to do is to get him to sit. During playtime, he will suddenly go into the kitchen and wait, come out, bark a few times to lure me to kitchen. (there's where the food is).

Issit too young for training?
hi yikhoe~ u can try to put ping pong ball in the bowl...this can actually slow down the speed ..smile.gif
limgp1976
post Oct 6 2009, 10:27 AM

109 posts

Wah .. so cute .....
feverkidz
post Oct 6 2009, 10:58 AM

QUOTE(karie88 @ Oct 4 2009, 11:10 PM)
near ipoh...at kampar currently tongue.gif

awww...so jealous your dollar and sexy so pandai to pose drool.gif
my phoebe dont like to look at the camera even when i call her name...
make me so hard to capture pictures of her de rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by feverkidz: Oct 6 2009, 11:01 AM
limgp1976
post Oct 6 2009, 10:53 PM

109 posts

Any new gathering coming soon ?
TSiluv2zzz
post Oct 7 2009, 12:34 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

rayne, i just spot scottie with glasses... so cute!!

regarding gathering.. when u guys want it?
Rayne
post Oct 7 2009, 11:32 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Oct 7 2009, 12:34 AM)
rayne, i just spot scottie with glasses... so cute!!

regarding gathering.. when u guys want it?
Haha...thank you, thank you tongue.gif

Speaking of gatherings, yeah it has been quite some time ady since I've been to a gathering. After I broke my arm, it's like time suspended or something...tongue.gif
karie88
post Oct 7 2009, 10:30 PM

QUOTE(kerrie @ Oct 6 2009, 02:28 AM)
here!
reali...curently in ipoh??ipoh whr?

Added on October 7, 2009, 10:31 pm
QUOTE(feverkidz @ Oct 6 2009, 10:58 AM)
near ipoh...at kampar currently  tongue.gif

awww...so jealous your dollar and sexy so pandai to pose  drool.gif
my phoebe dont like to look at the camera even when i call her name...
make me so hard to capture pictures of her de  rclxub.gif
kampar...=.=''

This post has been edited by karie88: Oct 7 2009, 10:31 PM
limgp1976
post Oct 8 2009, 12:41 AM

109 posts

When ?

Any gathering ?
feverkidz
post Oct 8 2009, 11:27 AM

kampar...=.=''

[/quote]

what wo... sad.gif
kampar go ipoh very near only mah
i always also drive to ipoh de la tongue.gif
asa
post Oct 8 2009, 01:04 PM

lol version 9 here smile.gif

aragonlee:bebe pee/poo at indoor or outdoor? and those sembayang thingy on floor bebe will 'play' it o not?

This post has been edited by asa: Oct 8 2009, 01:06 PM
limgp1976
post Oct 8 2009, 03:39 PM

109 posts

[quote=feverkidz,Oct 8 2009, 11:27 AM]

kampar...=.=''

[/quote]

what wo... sad.gif
kampar go ipoh very near only mah
i always also drive to ipoh de la tongue.gif