103 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

- (( ** House of Miniature Schnauzers V9 ** )) -, Welcome to our cosy little home!

louisfjh
post Oct 1 2009, 03:57 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(gavin_lee @ Oct 1 2009, 02:06 AM)
Hi everyone, glad to join a big family here. I love MS very much, got a new MS recently. Well, bout 1 month ad, i hav question to ask all experienced MS owner here. Glad for provide me guidance. Let me intro my little FUrkid 1st;

A male black and silver, name 'sam' and 12 week ad. He quite behave (i guess), pee poo at spot i arranged (newspaper) but sometime missed oh, is that normal one? Any action i need to take futher if repeat again. (scold o punish)

Other than pee poo matter, he bite hand when play wit him or when pet him. Is that only temporary? I ad giv toy everytime bite my hand, and scold him.

Other than 2 problem above, he quite behave, knew sit command, sit waitin food, follow ppl around and calm when brushin and cleaning him on table (but stil struggle when blow dry after bath). So i want to ask all experienced owner here, because of puppy stage he so behaved? he will be more naughty when grow older?.. i'm so scare his behavior change when grow older.. sorry if i'm wrong, correct me..

Yet, i want ask all here bout the price for MS ?.. i bought little 'sam' at Rm2450, yet the owner said from champ line.. Am i be water fish ad?.. but is alright if really, haha.. cz i really love 'sam' the 1st time i saw him.. his eyes looking at me jus feelin want to take him home, doesnt matter the price..
congrat thumbup.gif
the ear cut edy when u bough??
have micro chip??
nice & cute ^^

Added on October 1, 2009, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(kerrie @ Oct 1 2009, 02:52 AM)

Added on October 1, 2009, 2:55 am
Sam is very cute!! 2k plus? a lil bit expensive to me, but maybe champion line is dat expensive lar. u got birth cert for sam? Sam is quite smart from da way u describe him. Next time if he pee on da newspaper, give him treats as to reward him. Let him noe dat he did da right thing. Its normal for him to bite (if not too hard) coz their teeth is growing. If bite too hard, u have to scold him lor. Let him noe dat it is wrong.
it is champion line???
& mayb cut ear edy so will b more expensive...

Added on October 1, 2009, 4:01 pm
QUOTE(jason86 @ Oct 1 2009, 01:29 PM)
congrate v9 smile.gif

sad news...one of our forumer's ms being stolen by passer by at her house yesterday .. she is from klang, if u happen to know any missing ms around, do drop me pm smile.gif hope we can help her  get back her ms soon smile.gif
omg...really sad sad.gif
y u still look happie wif the funny face = =
how her ms been stole? or go out lost edy?

QUOTE(gavin_lee @ Oct 1 2009, 02:06 AM)
Hi everyone, glad to join a big family here. I love MS very much, got a new MS recently. Well, bout 1 month ad, i hav question to ask all experienced MS owner here. Glad for provide me guidance. Let me intro my little FUrkid 1st;

A male black and silver, name 'sam' and 12 week ad. He quite behave (i guess), pee poo at spot i arranged (newspaper) but sometime missed oh, is that normal one? Any action i need to take futher if repeat again. (scold o punish)

Other than pee poo matter, he bite hand when play wit him or when pet him. Is that only temporary? I ad giv toy everytime bite my hand, and scold him.

Other than 2 problem above, he quite behave, knew sit command, sit waitin food, follow ppl around and calm when brushin and cleaning him on table (but stil struggle when blow dry after bath). So i want to ask all experienced owner here, because of puppy stage he so behaved? he will be more naughty when grow older?.. i'm so scare his behavior change when grow older.. sorry if i'm wrong, correct me..

Yet, i want ask all here bout the price for MS ?.. i bought little 'sam' at Rm2450, yet the owner said from champ line.. Am i be water fish ad?.. but is alright if really, haha.. cz i really love 'sam' the 1st time i saw him.. his eyes looking at me jus feelin want to take him home, doesnt matter the price..
his ear cut until so short...
mine very long... blink.gif

This post has been edited by louisfjh: Oct 1 2009, 04:01 PM
Rayne
post Oct 1 2009, 04:25 PM

24 posts

Hi all, sorry for not replying sooner...typing with one hand a bit tiring. laugh.gif Congrats on version 9, and it's good to see many more new owners of this beloved breed smile.gif
purple115
post Oct 1 2009, 05:12 PM

51 posts

hi all, is my ms which been stolen/taken by ppl..
sad sad sad..
Tinie
post Oct 1 2009, 07:04 PM

QUOTE(aragonlee @ Oct 1 2009, 03:47 PM)
i cant send back to hometown coz my parents don know and don like to rear dogs...
really? if i let u help me kenji only can ar?  laugh.gif
kenji is ms ah?? kenji will bite things de ma..coz i rent room only o..i got furnish at living room de o..if spoil o..my rental scold de o
aragonlee
post Oct 1 2009, 10:08 PM

QUOTE(Tinie @ Oct 1 2009, 08:04 PM)
kenji is ms ah?? kenji will bite things de ma..coz i rent room only o..i got furnish at living room de o..if spoil o..my rental scold de o
hi i ady pm u. check ur mailbox yea
gavin_lee
post Oct 1 2009, 11:27 PM

QUOTE(louisfjh @ Oct 1 2009, 03:57 PM)
congrat thumbup.gif
the ear cut edy when u bough??
have micro chip??
nice & cute ^^

Added on October 1, 2009, 3:58 pm

it is champion line???
& mayb cut ear edy so will b more expensive...

omg...really sad sad.gif
y u still look happie wif the funny face = =
how her ms been stole? or go out lost edy?

his ear cut until so short...
mine very long... blink.gif
Ya, cut ad when i bought. mirco chip ya, as the seller scan to proved me. Bout champline, no idea as the MKA cert not yet receive. Yet, really dont know wha all tis champ line bout, as sam quite expensive compare others ms i saw before. then ask any expert here can comment regards.

ya, so short i also feel it. but the seller say later grow older will turn balance and nicer

Added on October 2, 2009, 12:40 am
QUOTE(kerrie @ Oct 1 2009, 02:10 PM)
my gawd! whose's ms?? such a sad sad news...passerby stole her ms ar?
??i dont really know how to use the quote and reply features..so bluur.. Anyway thank ur sharing 1st and compliment on sam. Ya, 2k plus quite expensive compare other MS i survey. No idea bout wha this champ thing mean bout, so ask any expert can comment regards. but doesnt matter, jus curious to know in details.

Cert birth, ya..MKA cert but i havent receive.. i jus bought sam 1 month ago. Bout sam smart, not really hmm.gif . Maybe i not clarify clearly, a nightmare from the 1st day sam home. Spend 1 week more to train him peepoo at newspaper. Other than peepoo, as soon as possible to train all ground work sit command (esp wait food) and grooming like cleaning ear, brushing hair and cut nails especially. he sure struggle at 1st growl me and bite hand too. But i insist then sooner and sonner he adapt to it. But till now he still challenge me when i blow dry after wash mouth and shower. Any suggestion?

Regard peepoo, recently he missed quite often, make me so worry (flash back the nightmare), so ask u all any guidance. Ya, i will try positive reinforment by reward him. hopely work..

Bout teeth prob, when he will stop mouthing ? at 6 month age?..any suggestion on toy o bitting material usefull ?

Added on October 2, 2009, 12:42 am
??i dont really know how to use the quote and reply features..so bluur.. Anyway thank ur sharing 1st and compliment on sam. Ya, 2k plus quite expensive compare other MS i survey. No idea bout wha this champ thing mean bout, so ask any expert can comment regards. but doesnt matter, jus curious to know in details.

Cert birth, ya..MKA cert but i havent receive.. i jus bought sam 1 month ago. Bout sam smart, not really hmm.gif . Maybe i not clarify clearly, a nightmare from the 1st day sam home. Spend 1 week more to train him peepoo at newspaper. Other than peepoo, as soon as possible to train all ground work sit command (esp wait food) and grooming like cleaning ear, brushing hair and cut nails especially. he sure struggle at 1st growl me and bite hand too. But i insist then sooner and sonner he adapt to it. But till now he still challenge me when i blow dry after wash mouth and shower. Any suggestion?

Regard peepoo, recently he missed quite often, make me so worry (flash back the nightmare), so ask u all any guidance. Ya, i will try positive reinforment by reward him. hopely work..

Bout teeth prob, when he will stop mouthing ? at 6 month age?..any suggestion on toy o bitting material usefull ?

Added on October 2, 2009, 12:43 am

This post has been edited by gavin_lee: Oct 2 2009, 12:43 AM
louisfjh
post Oct 2 2009, 12:45 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(gavin_lee @ Oct 1 2009, 11:27 PM)
Ya, cut ad when i bought. mirco chip ya, as the seller scan to proved me. Bout champline, no idea as the MKA cert not yet receive. Yet, really dont know wha all tis champ line bout, as sam quite expensive compare others ms i saw before. then ask any expert here can comment regards.

ya, so short i also feel it. but the seller say later grow older will turn balance and nicer
icic.. but i fel shorter nicer mah...
mine too long edy... smile.gif
adreina
post Oct 2 2009, 12:46 AM

149 posts

I wanted to buy MS for sometimes. Buy I don't know which breeder is good. Prefer Homebreed.

My cousin's gf got a MS from a breeder in Penang... but the puppy a lot of problem... So i need to be more careful on this....

I try search in the Garage Sales in LYN... but seems that cant find those thread that MS for sales...

Anyone here got good recommended???? Don't 1 so expensive.... no need MKA ..
gavin_lee
post Oct 2 2009, 12:48 AM

Rayne
post Oct 2 2009, 01:48 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(gavin_lee @ Oct 2 2009, 12:48 AM)

Hi Gavin,

When the seller tells you that the pup is from a champion line, it means that the pup comes from parent(s) who are champions in confirmation shows (either one of the parents is a champion or both). Confirmation shows are like beauty pageants for dogs, where they have judges looking for dogs who best represent the ideal breed specifications of the dog (structure, poise, temperament, gait, etc). Which is why the price is often jacked up really high, especially from petshops. Although a pup may come from a champion line, the pup may or may not be a potential show dog in the future. It all boils down to genes and luck (for the owner I guess). But it all doesn't really matter much if you're planning to keep Sam as a pet...most of us keep our pups as pets too. Show dogs are really high maintenance smile.gif

Sam's MKA cert is basically a paper showing his lineage. It's a family tree of him and where he comes from (father, mother, grandparents, etc etc). You usually won't get it so soon...it takes a few months before you will get it. I only got Scottie's when he was about 5-6 months old smile.gif

Potty training needs a lot of consistence...it's not only one week of training. You have to constantly show your pup that he is doing good when he does his business at the right place, coz puppies tend to forget very easily smile.gif I can't exactly remember how long I took to get Scottie to remember to do his business at the right place...probably 1-2 months, maybe more. Even then, I sometimes get accidents, so it's all consistence I guess smile.gif

Puppies are very playful so it's very normal to see all those biting and playing. Growling and biting at you MIGHT be his way of playing, but nonetheless if you feel he's not behaving correctly, be firm and consistent with him and he should get the message. They should always know we're the pack leaders, but I'm not saying that we should punish them unnecessarily though. Correction must be at the right timing to get the message across effectively. Training is never ending....there'll always be something for them to learn smile.gif

If you feel mouthing is not for you, don't encourage your pup by letting him bite your hand or even anything that belongs to you. There are many toys and chews in the market...find something that your pup likes. Observe what kind of stuff he likes to chew on, and get a suitable toy with that kind of texture. Scottie loves soft toys, so I give him some old bears to play with...smile.gif

Hope that helps you a little...sorry for the long-winded 'answer'. I'm no expert, but these are some things I've been through before, so just sharing my experiences smile.gif

This post has been edited by Rayne: Oct 2 2009, 01:57 AM
kerrie
post Oct 2 2009, 02:14 AM

then bebe ler? who is goin to take care of him??

oh yah..i noe some illegal workers in ipoh they catch stray dogs to eat wan..to them, its a normal thing. But i reali can't imagine dat there will be some heartless b****d dat will eat dogs lor. It is such a cruel act dun u think?

Added on October 2, 2009, 2:15 am
QUOTE(purple115 @ Oct 1 2009, 05:12 PM)
hi all, is my ms which been stolen/taken by ppl..
sad sad sad..
anyone saw dat happen???

This post has been edited by kerrie: Oct 2 2009, 02:15 AM
aragonlee
post Oct 2 2009, 06:55 PM

QUOTE(kerrie @ Oct 2 2009, 03:14 AM)
then bebe ler? who is goin to take care of him??

oh yah..i noe some illegal workers in ipoh they catch stray dogs to eat wan..to them, its a normal thing. But i reali can't imagine dat there will be some heartless b****d dat will eat dogs lor. It is such a cruel act dun u think?

I still finding any good and kind hearted frens can take care of bebe...
gavin_lee
post Oct 3 2009, 01:17 AM

QUOTE(Rayne @ Oct 2 2009, 01:48 AM)
Hi Gavin,

When the seller tells you that the pup is from a champion line, it means that the pup comes from parent(s) who are champions in confirmation shows (either one of the parents is a champion or both). Confirmation shows are like beauty pageants for dogs, where they have judges looking for dogs who best represent the ideal breed specifications of the dog (structure, poise, temperament, gait, etc). Which is why the price is often jacked up really high, especially from petshops. Although a pup may come from a champion line, the pup may or may not be a potential show dog in the future. It all boils down to genes and luck (for the owner I guess). But it all doesn't really matter much if you're planning to keep Sam as a pet...most of us keep our pups as pets too. Show dogs are really high maintenance smile.gif

Sam's MKA cert is basically a paper showing his lineage. It's a family tree of him and where he comes from (father, mother, grandparents, etc etc). You usually won't get it so soon...it takes a few months before you will get it. I only got Scottie's when he was about 5-6 months old smile.gif

Potty training needs a lot of consistence...it's not only one week of training. You have to constantly show your pup that he is doing good when he does his business at the right place, coz puppies tend to forget very easily smile.gif I can't exactly remember how long I took to get Scottie to remember to do his business at the right place...probably 1-2 months, maybe more. Even then, I sometimes get accidents, so it's all consistence I guess smile.gif

Puppies are very playful so it's very normal to see all those biting and playing. Growling and biting at you MIGHT be his way of playing, but nonetheless if you feel he's not behaving correctly, be firm and consistent with him and he should get the message. They should always know we're the pack leaders, but I'm not saying that we should punish them unnecessarily though. Correction must be at the right timing to get the message across effectively. Training is never ending....there'll always be something for them to learn smile.gif

If you feel mouthing is not for you, don't encourage your pup by letting him bite your hand or even anything that belongs to you. There are many toys and chews in the market...find something that your pup likes. Observe what kind of stuff he likes to chew on, and get a suitable toy with that kind of texture. Scottie loves soft toys, so I give him some old bears to play with...smile.gif

Hope that helps you a little...sorry for the long-winded 'answer'. I'm no expert, but these are some things I've been through before, so just sharing my experiences smile.gif
Rayne, thank so much for ur sharing smile.gif appreciated. Yea, i jus keep Sam as a home pet, so those champ thing really doesnt matters. Jus curious (after paying such price). As i remember, the seller said Sam mother side was a very famous champline, yet for father side or under confirmations shows or not, hmm.gif no idea cz dint mention (gotta ask him next time, probably on Sam 3rd vac, cz i live far from the petshop). Yea, i kinda excited 1st time saw Sam (doesnt care so much ad the price offer o those champ mean), moreover no idea at all bout the champline (what ever the seller said i only agreed with him) no point ask in details or to convince it's true.

I see, the MKA cert need wait so long. But i wanna to ask the MKA cert i receive later can prove Sam whether is really champline onot? show all lineage from both mom and dad as u mentioned..

Yea, no worry rayne. I ad done some research work regard training dog. From surf net till book, but all only read theoretically (cant really apply in real circumstance sometimes). Sam peepoo matters till now i guess alright (only missed pee) but i cant really judge future (cz heard lot of ppl said male like pee every where), kinda shadowin me. Yup, ur suggest bout consistent was rite. No more holiday for me after Sam arrived home, haha

Yea, i read before regard pack leader problem but i dont really feel sam behaved to challenge me. The problem i faced was the mouthing, everytime i approach him to hug or pet or play (he used mouth bite), is that the sign of dominant ? or jus playful.. Any playing ways can share wit me?

Yea, today i ad bought a toy for him (hard one, a bone type) but dunno can last longer onot. But do u know when puppy stop mouthing? When scottie stop that, u stil remember, haha ?

Amazing, MS breed really clever, sam know sit command earlier, so today i told him sit as usual, then i walk away (normally he will move whenever i walk away) but tis time he remain sit there. Then i walk away for a distance only call him, he run to me (impress me).. then i try few time, WORK ..i guess he know the stay command (but the wording i said not stay but sit lol, haha). hopely he stil able to perform tmr, haha. Do u know how to do 'down' and 'hand' ?.. i got try based on the book instruction, not really work.. u hav any tips sharing? sumore u enroll scottie to puppy or obedience classes before? Now i thinking bout that, not necessary rite?

Anyway thank ur sharing rayne

Rayne
post Oct 3 2009, 02:23 PM

24 posts

Well, if the seller is a reputable breeder, they would actually welcome questions as it will show that you are interested in learning more about the breed instead of just buying a dog smile.gif No worries on asking many questions. If the seller gets irritated after answering questions, I don't think he is a reputable breeder.

Yes, the MKA cert will show that he's from a champion line...the father and /or mother will have the words like Mal. Ch. (or other countries' initials if they have won in other shows) in front of their names. If I'm not mistaken, the cert will show up to about 3-4 generations, maybe more...

I don't really know to what extent is Sam's mouthing coz I haven't seen him playing before, but if you don't want him to mouth at all, discourage the mouthing since puppyhood. Once it becomes a habit, it'll be very hard to correct when he's grown up. Scottie never does bite my hand to play, even when he was a pup. I guess I'm very lucky in that extent smile.gif

Playing ways? Umm...I guess you can move the toy about to make him more interested in the toy. Or throw it a certain distance to get him to chase after it.

If you want to teach him those obedience commands, it's best to do it properly smile.gif After Sam sits, tell him 'Stay' with your palm in front of his face (like a stop hand signal) and walk away. What you're doing nw (asking him to stay and calling him to you after that) is called a Recall exercise. It's good to hear that he's learning very fast, so practise a little with him everyday to get him to remember. But if he forgets, it's okay coz he's still small...just train with him for about 5 mins at a time, not too long or he'll get bored of training.

When I taught Scottie 'Down', I put him in a Sit position and with a treat on my hand, lower the treat down in front of his face and encourage him to go down. He follows the treat to a down position...the minute he goes down all the way, give the treat immediately and praise a lot smile.gif 'Hand' (or 'Paw' when I teach Scottie) took me longer. I just hold his paw like I'm shaking his hand and tell him the command while praising him. Do it enough times over a period (I can't remember how long though tongue.gif) and the next time I told him 'Paw', he lifts his hand to shake. When he does that, I praise him a lot and gave him a treat.

Of course, those might not be the only way to teach your pup those tricks...that's only how I taught Scottie smile.gif I have a book called '101 Dog Tricks' by Kyra Sundance..I think it's very cool coz it teaches you how to teach the trick step by step with photos. I managed to teach Scottie a few tricks from that book (haven't got time to teach so much lately tongue.gif) Try and get that one if you're interested in teaching tricks. Yes, I did send Scottie for obedience classes. I think everybody should at least send their dog for basic obedience classes...not only will you be learning how to train your pup, you'll get to socialise them too. Plus, you get more hands-on learning coz your trainer will let you know if you're doing things correctly or not. But, I have to say there is a difference between teaching tricks and obedience. Tricks are stuff like 'Hand', 'Beg', those stuff. Obedience is more to walking your dog the right way (Heeling), Sit, Down, Stays (Sit, Stand and Down), Recall, and the most important of all, how to control and manage your dog while they're outside.

If you're interested, there are many places in KL who hold these obedience classes. Places like Puppy.com.my, MKA, PetnYou, Pet Safari in Ikano Center. Be sure to have Sam get all his puppy vaccinations first before sending him to obedience classes though. Hope that helps!

This post has been edited by Rayne: Oct 4 2009, 01:25 AM
aragonlee
post Oct 4 2009, 01:43 PM

Anyone here willing to take care of Bebe? smile.gif he is a good, smart and obedient dog ( shitzhu mix). you will sure like him when u stay around with him.
feverkidz
post Oct 4 2009, 02:46 PM

How much does it costs for sending them to obedience classes?is it expensive?
Rayne
post Oct 4 2009, 03:37 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(feverkidz @ Oct 4 2009, 02:46 PM)
How much does it costs for sending them to obedience classes?is it expensive?
It depends on where are you sending your pup to. For me, it's worth it to send Scottie for classes as I can see quite an improvement in him after training. Plus, he gets to socialize and make friends with more dogs at the training grounds. It's also very interesting (for me at least) to be able to teach Scottie and observe how quickly or slowly he picks up a command and adjusting to make him understand the command..in short, I quite enjoy training wink.gif

I have only inquired at a few of these places, but it was quite some time ago, so they might have revised their fee structure since. Call the centre up or visit their website to know more about their fees. smile.gif

Puppy.com.my - website here. Last time I sent Scottie for Novice class, it's RM250 for 10 lessons, 1 hour each lesson. Training days are only on Sunday. They have 2 training grounds: 1 in Taman Desa and 1 in Ampang.

MKA - website here. They have their training grounds in Central Park near 1 Utama. Fees are RM100 for 10 lessons, but you have to register to be a member to join (RM80 registration fees). Training days are only on Sunday.

Pet Safari at Ikano Power Centre - website here. Their training place is at the petstore itself. Last I inquired, it was about RM300 plus for 10 lessons. They have many slots for training though, if I remember correctly almost 7 days a week, but they have different intake times so call them up to find more details.

PetnYou - website here. I have not inquired about this place, but I have a few friends who have enrolled their furkids for training there and are doing quite well. Contact them for more details on their classes and training grounds if you're interested.

I'm sure there are more obedience classes held in KL but these are the few that I know of that you could get a head start in inquiring about training your pup smile.gif All these schools have very good trainers and the syllabus are about the same, so choose the one that you feel most comfortable with (people and financial-wise) smile.gif Hope this helps!

Winnie_sia87
post Oct 4 2009, 06:36 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(fernando torres @ Sep 30 2009, 10:25 PM)
I am thinking to spay bobo .
how much is it?
Hands and paw at Aman Suria - RM 230
howard2U
post Oct 4 2009, 10:11 PM

Anyone having hard time to travel with a MS in a car? Even for a short distance?

My MS keeps on jumping here and there, make me so difficult to concentrate. + the dashboard and panel will be scratched. She knows how to sit and stay when she is in the house but not in the car. Anyone?
Rayne
post Oct 4 2009, 11:01 PM

24 posts

I personally have not experienced that with Scottie...when he's still a pup, I would sometimes take him out for drives and he would sit at the passenger seat quietly. Funny thing was, he knows when we've reached home...he would jump on my lap once the car's parked tongue.gif

I have seen some dog harnesses that you can purchase to buckle (like seat belts) to the car seats, but I don't know if they're sold here in Malaysia. Or you can get a car seat cover for dogs...they go on the back seats so that your pup wouldn't dirty the car seats. Maybe it could minimize scratches too?

103 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 09:11 PM