guys, help me check out what boot are those or where can i get ones that look the same.
http://us.levi.com/product/index.jsp?produ...3146854.3691995
point to the 3rd piccha, the middle one x)
Shoes for (real) men
Jul 25 2010, 03:51 PM
103 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: KL |
guys, help me check out what boot are those or where can i get ones that look the same.
http://us.levi.com/product/index.jsp?produ...3146854.3691995 point to the 3rd piccha, the middle one x) |
Jul 25 2010, 07:56 PM
996 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: City of Angkorek |
![]() |
Jul 25 2010, 10:16 PM
3,802 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: City of Anggerik |
I cannot stand the tassels.
Jul 25 2010, 11:34 PM
1,192 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
I especially love the tassels
Jul 25 2010, 11:44 PM
572 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Jul 26 2010, 12:48 AM
25 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Looks like Ralph Lauren purple label tassel loafers to me. I think EG makes them for Rl though.
BTW, has anyone seen Tom Ford shoes? I just saw them in Harrods yesterday and they looked really great. The leather is well antiqued and the shape of the shoe was very unique - traditionally shaped with very slim soles. The downside - they retail for £900. I wonder who makes them. P.S. - I realise some of you attach a thin rubber layer on your shoes. Doesn't that defeat the purpose (besides aesthetic) of wearing goodyear welted leather soled shoes since it reduces the ability for your feet to breathe? |
Jul 26 2010, 08:25 AM
is another over priced & over hyped designer.
Jul 26 2010, 03:55 PM
68 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Jul 26 2010, 04:03 PM
448 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
I just got my suede brogues half-soled in Continental rubber. Not perfect but it helps prevent the squashed rat juice on the road from seeping in. Something you just have to do around here IMHO.
Jul 26 2010, 05:12 PM
What wasn't perfect about it?
I was there yesterday to have them redo the heels of my Church's. Added on July 26, 2010, 6:25 pm QUOTE(BonVivant @ Jul 26 2010, 12:48 AM) Looks like Ralph Lauren purple label tassel loafers to me. I think EG makes them for Rl though. BV, the soles of a shoe are impervious to moisture. If they weren't, your socks would get wet if the outsole is wet. But they don't, and your socks remain dry even after extensive walking on wet roads because there is no moisture transfer from the outsole to the insole (and vice versa). This whole "soles which breathe" story is just another marketing nonsense spread by shoemakers in the effort to get you to avoid topying your shoes. They make a lot of money re-soling old ones -- something they would do less of if customers topied their shoes.BTW, has anyone seen Tom Ford shoes? I just saw them in Harrods yesterday and they looked really great. The leather is well antiqued and the shape of the shoe was very unique - traditionally shaped with very slim soles. The downside - they retail for £900. I wonder who makes them. P.S. - I realise some of you attach a thin rubber layer on your shoes. Doesn't that defeat the purpose (besides aesthetic) of wearing goodyear welted leather soled shoes since it reduces the ability for your feet to breathe? This post has been edited by kotmj: Jul 26 2010, 06:25 PM |
Jul 27 2010, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 26 2010, 05:12 PM) What wasn't perfect about it? Went to Thomas Chan in BSC that does bespoke shoes. I am considering having him copy my aging pair of Poulsen Skones in an Oxblood wholecut. I was there yesterday to have them redo the heels of my Church's. Added on July 26, 2010, 6:25 pm BV, the soles of a shoe are impervious to moisture. If they weren't, your socks would get wet if the outsole is wet. But they don't, and your socks remain dry even after extensive walking on wet roads because there is no moisture transfer from the outsole to the insole (and vice versa). This whole "soles which breathe" story is just another marketing nonsense spread by shoemakers in the effort to get you to avoid topying your shoes. They make a lot of money re-soling old ones -- something they would do less of if customers topied their shoes. The lady didn't understand what "goodyear welt" means .I also enquired about the lasts & fittings. The sales lady seem flustered and suggested I call the designer directly The estimated costs are RM$700 and takes approximately a month to complete. I will call him and make enquiries on the above issues . Hopefully this can be a potential source on well constructed reasonably priced shoes without the ensuing Cantonese exchanges!! |
Jul 27 2010, 12:15 PM
448 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Not perfect in the sense that the shoes (Loake) should have been ready-to-run out of the box instead of having to pay for add-ons.
As for the workmanship if that's what you're referring to, it was absolutely good! In fact I've sent in another pair of Loakes for fitment, this time their thinner, more flexible sole. |
Jul 27 2010, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(beau @ Jul 27 2010, 12:09 PM) Went to Thomas Chan in BSC that does bespoke shoes. I am considering having him copy my aging pair of Poulsen Skones in an Oxblood wholecut. Sorry to deflate your enthusiasm beau, but I don't think you should expect bespoke at that venue! They probably already have their lasts in the usual sizes, and bespoke here probably means you get to chose your materials and design. How did their finished products look like? You did inspect them, didn't you?The lady didn't understand what "goodyear welt" means .I also enquired about the lasts & fittings. The sales lady seem flustered and suggested I call the designer directly The estimated costs are RM$700 and takes approximately a month to complete. I will call him and make enquiries on the above issues . Hopefully this can be a potential source on well constructed reasonably priced shoes without the ensuing Cantonese exchanges!! |
Jul 27 2010, 07:26 PM
103 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: KL |
Jul 28 2010, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 27 2010, 12:41 PM) Sorry to deflate your enthusiasm beau, but I don't think you should expect bespoke at that venue! They probably already have their lasts in the usual sizes, and bespoke here probably means you get to chose your materials and design. How did their finished products look like? You did inspect them, didn't you? There was no opportunity to inspect the finished product as the sales lady kept showing me the RTW products in an attempt to deflect my questions . I'll provide an update after I've had an opportunity to speak to the designer.I'm not expecting much in the way bespoke shoes are made here. There were 2 places I am aware off that made shoes , "Classic" along Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman and one in Komplex Dang Wangi near ALT. I accompanied a friend to Classic some years back . The measurements consisted of tracing his feet on a paper pattern. There were no measurements of the instep, arch etc. No fitting was given before the shoe was "closed" ( finished ) The end result was not very inspiring either. The shoes look fine from a distance but were a tad rough rough the edges. Oh well -hope springs eternal!! |
Jul 29 2010, 12:36 PM
68 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Jul 29 2010, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 27 2010, 12:41 PM) Sorry to deflate your enthusiasm beau, but I don't think you should expect bespoke at that venue! They probably already have their lasts in the usual sizes, and bespoke here probably means you get to chose your materials and design. How did their finished products look like? You did inspect them, didn't you? Further to my last posting , I spoke to Thomas Chan. The conversation was pleasant & he seems to know his stuff. a big change after encountering the sales person at one of his outlets.1. The price of RM$700 is for the machine made rubber soled variety. The fully handmade bespoke version will cost approximately RM$2,000 & will take 2 to 3 months. It's still faster & cheaper than the Lobbs or other European Bespoke shoes that will take a minimum of 9 months to a year for the first fitting. At STG400 , it will be the same price point as a entry level RTW Lobbs or EG or the custom grade Church's purchased in London. 2. The shoe can be made with goodyear welting as well as insoles to cater for any deficiencies with one's feet. 3. He will make a last of the feet & have 2 fittings before the shoe is closed. 4. The downside is the leather available. He can only provide Italian leather which is thiner than the English variety He said he will have to make the shoe personally as the sifu who is experienced in making these types of shoes has just retired.He seems to know about the double stitching that is a feature of Lobbs. He suggested having a double layer of leather if the client requests for thicker leather Food for thought but I will probably explore the other 2 outlets I spoke about before deciding on whether to pursue the bespoke path a la Malaysian. |
Jul 29 2010, 01:35 PM
1,793 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: UC Berkeley |
is timberland any good?
Jul 29 2010, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(beau @ Jul 29 2010, 01:15 PM) Further to my last posting , I spoke to Thomas Chan. The conversation was pleasant & he seems to know his stuff. a big change after encountering the sales person at one of his outlets. Wow, I think lanatir is now glued to this thread and awaiting your first commission before he springs in himself. So very interesting. RM2k is not exaggerated at all if it is what I imagine it to be.1. The price of RM$700 is for the machine made rubber soled variety. The fully handmade bespoke version will cost approximately RM$2,000 & will take 2 to 3 months. It's still faster & cheaper than the Lobbs or other European Bespoke shoes that will take a minimum of 9 months to a year for the first fitting. At STG400 , it will be the same price point as a entry level RTW Lobbs or EG or the custom grade Church's purchased in London. 2. The shoe can be made with goodyear welting as well as insoles to cater for any deficiencies with one's feet. 3. He will make a last of the feet & have 2 fittings before the shoe is closed. 4. The downside is the leather available. He can only provide Italian leather which is thiner than the English variety He said he will have to make the shoe personally as the sifu who is experienced in making these types of shoes has just retired.He seems to know about the double stitching that is a feature of Lobbs. He suggested having a double layer of leather if the client requests for thicker leather Food for thought but I will probably explore the other 2 outlets I spoke about before deciding on whether to pursue the bespoke path a la Malaysian. |
Jul 29 2010, 02:07 PM
374 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Kuantan |
| Change to: | 0.0265sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:32 AM |