Lets Talk Salary! v3

ju146
post Mar 3 2011, 02:16 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Mar 3 2011, 12:38 PM)
@ju146
I think that is only applicable to offshore workers in the OnG. Normal office related ones are kinda stressful otherwise they wont give u such high pay.
My another friend working in Petronas, with starting pay of RM3.5k, damn relax, the only bad is , she got to wake up early because of jam. Damn envy them.

Ya, both my brother and uncle work offshore.
kelvin_tan
post Mar 3 2011, 03:58 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

Petronas is currently offering RM4k for fresh grads (management trainee).

No need to envy la. We are in different job line smile.gif your pay isnt bad what. We always crave for more. But actually ours isn't the lowest. Ours is actually above average
ju146
post Mar 3 2011, 04:22 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Mar 3 2011, 03:58 PM)
Petronas is currently offering RM4k for fresh grads (management trainee).

No need to envy la. We are in different job line smile.gif your pay isnt bad what. We always crave for more. But actually ours isn't the lowest. Ours is actually above average
indeed, among my house mates and friend, i am getting the highest luu.... but off course can get higher if you dont mind bored job. One of my fren got OCBC call centre job, 3.2k. end up reject also.. haha
debbieyss
post Mar 3 2011, 05:07 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

I think a big problem we all facing now is that cost living is rising faster than our increment. I don't know what to say as if we are facing higer of cost living, company is facing higher of manufacturing costs.

Perhaps we all have to do part time jobs, plus well invest our money for better or worse.

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Mar 3 2011, 05:08 PM
notok
post Mar 3 2011, 05:37 PM

297 posts

3.3k for a .net programmer with 2 years experiences. is it too low or average ?
kelvin_tan
post Mar 3 2011, 06:04 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@ju146
hahaha in ur current company, just learn as much as possible smile.gif Very good exposure in my opinion. Pay for fresh grad is not bad also.
cherylds
post Mar 3 2011, 06:31 PM

78 posts

Job Title : Global Helpdesk Analyst
Time spent in company : 1yr 6 months
Industry : Computer based testing
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Level 1 Helpdesk
Experience before joining : fresh grad > field support
Salary : RM 3.6K
Benefits : Medical, Dental, Optical
Education Level: Bach. Degree in Business Information System

Am I underpaid ? Cost of living is escalating so fast =.=
kelvin_tan
post Mar 3 2011, 07:33 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@cherylds
that isnt bad at all for the 3.6k part for 1.5 years working exp.. the benefits is not bad as well..
dark_evilz
post Mar 3 2011, 07:42 PM

241 posts

rm3.6k for 1. years experience is not bad at all..

me, only rm3.2k basic, in SAP line, working in a bluechip-listed GLC company..
hahaha...quite depress when thinking on our standard of living especially in KL...
Jurlique
post Mar 3 2011, 10:31 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

So, whose fault was it for our skyhigh cost of living?

I tell u, Malaysia's salary will never improve compare to Singapore.

Even properties are expensive in KL and I dunno how u guys gonna buy a good double-storey or condo, a good car (unless u prefer proton for the next 10 yrs) + and save enough money for marriage in the few years down the road.

Even marriage nowadays need at least RM50K.

Unless u prefer to cook at home, no yamca with frens, use the same old Nokia phone for the next 5 years etc.

Maybe u guys have different views on the above but tat's my point of view regarding the future in Malaysia.
debbieyss
post Mar 3 2011, 11:04 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Mar 3 2011, 10:31 PM)
So, whose fault was it for our skyhigh cost of living?

I tell u, Malaysia's salary will never improve compare to Singapore.

Even properties are expensive in KL and I dunno how u guys gonna buy a good double-storey or condo, a good car (unless u prefer proton for the next 10 yrs) + and save enough money for marriage in the few years down the road.

Even marriage nowadays need at least RM50K.

Unless u prefer to cook at home, no yamca with frens, use the same old Nokia phone for the next 5 years etc.

Maybe u guys have different views on the above but tat's my point of view regarding the future in Malaysia.
Super agreed with what you say.

Somehow I really feel helpless, being so tired in working day and night, part time jobs etc... Almost no life already.. cry.gif
lock_82
post Mar 3 2011, 11:19 PM

535 posts

[quote=ju146,Mar 3 2011, 11:29 AM]
Stressful, tight schedule, long working hours, big resposibility, heavy burden.... no life.....

Sometimes want to go crazy, breakdown, want to cry but cant stop because its very competitive. Once u stop peforming, there are at least 3 candidates waiting to fill up your position....

The trick done by employer is pay you not very high but not very low.... u r so stuck, no other company can offer you significant better salary... so u dont dare to jump ship.... very stuck.

[/quote]

Are u sure it is stressful? my uncle and my elder brother are working in OnG industry, and they seems quite happy, work 2 weeks, subsequent 2weeks will be their holiday. Isn't that nice?

[/quote]

Those are off-shore jobs.. generally more relaxing as they can't afford to stress folks who is working on fields... as the consequences can be dire..

also, if you join O&G like 10-20 yrs back.. you should be millionairres like my bosses... on the other hand.. junior engineers like me.. are stuck... low pay.. high workload.. to cover up the high pay seniors..

Added on March 3, 2011, 11:22 pm[quote=lock_82,Mar 3 2011, 11:19 PM]
Are u sure it is stressful? my uncle and my elder brother are working in OnG industry, and they seems quite happy, work 2 weeks, subsequent 2weeks will be their holiday. Isn't that nice?

[/quote]

Those are off-shore jobs.. generally more relaxing as they can't afford to stress folks who is working on fields... as the consequences can be dire..

also, if you join O&G like 10-20 yrs back.. you should be millionairres like my bosses... on the other hand.. junior engineers like me.. are stuck... low pay.. high workload.. to cover up the high pay seniors..

[/quote]

Also my company is paying only 4% increment.. and it is one of the biggest O&G company in the world... not the one goes by name Shell... just imagine how sshit i felt...

This post has been edited by lock_82: Mar 3 2011, 11:22 PM
cherylds
post Mar 4 2011, 12:40 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Mar 3 2011, 08:33 PM)
@cherylds
that isnt bad at all for the 3.6k part for 1.5 years working exp.. the benefits is not bad as well..
errr... my mistake i have 3.5 years of working experience tongue.gif
underpaid rite ??? hehhehe ,, can't demand much, my line is Service Desk

dark_evilz : now u earn 3.2K... few years down the road ur pay will be triple rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by cherylds: Mar 4 2011, 12:43 AM
sungami
post Mar 4 2011, 12:40 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(johnrck99 @ Mar 3 2011 @ 09:38 PM )
QUOTE(sungami @ Mar 2 2011 @  11:44 PM)

Job Description : Oil and gas consultancy
Years spent in company : 4years+
Company : MNC
Industry : Oil and Gas
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining : Fresh grad
Education Level : Degree
Current Salary : RM 9.7k (Bonus included)
Benefits: Medical/Dental RM2K
Annual leave carry forward and/or sell-off
Working hours : Mon-Fri (Flexi-Hours)

Bravo! Pandai!
What is your basic salary before considering the bonus?
Upstream/downstream?
What is your role?

I think u r very good.
Well, basic before bonus is about RM7.1k but since my bonus is not insignificant, its better reflected if I put the equivalent salary after bonus.

I actually design upstream facilities and its an office based job but occasionally I do get to go offshore/site depending on the oppurtunity.

The job can be very taxing to the brain at times and the learning curve is super steep but once you are competant enough, you'll survive.

cherylds
post Mar 4 2011, 12:49 AM

78 posts

Everything is rising but not salary..... when thinking of future to get a property , Im guessing working elsewhere and save up is the solution for middle income earners like me ...

weekeng911
post Mar 4 2011, 12:51 AM

36 posts

smart people are the one who gain exp everywer and utilise thier skills.
dumb people are graduates that earn chicken feet every month and do the same old thing for the rest of lives.

marlick25
post Mar 4 2011, 12:52 AM

440 posts

QUOTE(weekeng911 @ Mar 4 2011, 12:51 AM)
smart people are the one who gain exp everywer and utilise thier skills.
dumb people are graduates that earn chicken feet every month and do the same old thing for the rest of lives.
we have to the same damn thing because we dont really have choices........
hitokai
post Mar 4 2011, 01:19 AM

350 posts

hurm ... i guess finance and business studies are not quite the much sought after job in O&G since not much reply on those related post ... anyway ... im a business admin student ( finish my degree this year ) trying my luck into those O&G company ... does O&G companies post higher standard and pay? FYI im currently holding a job with >5k pay ( studying part time ) just wondering if i could get a higher quality if life with O&G ... or all the big buck are going to the techies ONLY? non technical personnel or sales personnel are not getting good pay? and how do you define good pay? im 22 atm with at least 7k pay ( 2 working experience ) shud i stick to my current job or there a better road ahead ... tq yo ... ^^ hope i dun post in the wrong section ...

Sethmaster
post Mar 4 2011, 04:00 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(marlick25 @ Mar 4 2011, 12:52 AM)
we have to the same damn thing because we dont really have choices........
Lol, I want to shoot you but I will let the resident dreamer do the shooting

sufficient to say you are very wrong about that

Jurlique
post Mar 4 2011, 09:02 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(Sethmaster @ Mar 4 2011, 04:00 AM)
Lol, I want to shoot you but I will let the resident dreamer do the shooting

sufficient to say you are very wrong about that
You mean by doing own business?
If you are a doctor, you have no other choices but only to heal ppl..

130 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 >Top

0.0279sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:53 AM