post Nov 9 2014, 12:04 PM

8,739 posts

Master can tell more experience
DrLimYG
post Nov 10 2014, 03:38 PM

112 posts

Need some advice here, my budget around 5k for complete 5.1 system with receiver, at first targeted yamaha ns-555 whole set plus AVR677 & NS-SW300 sub, ll be setup for condo living room size of 10ft x 25ft, so wall to wall listening distance is around 8-9ft, then I went CMY to ask for their pro advice, the guru there recommended me to get the new Mission M-Cubed 5.1 system (launched a month ago in UK). The set comes with 5 compact satellites speakers plus one sub, priced 3.9k+.

My question is, is the yamaha floorstanding speakers package overkill for small condo living room? CMY said yamaha need high volume to bring out the potential...

Is Mission M-cubed a better option for my case?
dirtrun
post Nov 10 2014, 04:50 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(DrLimYG @ Nov 10 2014, 03:38 PM)
Need some advice here, my budget around 5k for complete 5.1 system with receiver, at first targeted yamaha ns-555 whole set plus AVR677 & NS-SW300 sub, ll be setup for condo living room size of 10ft x 25ft, so wall to wall listening distance is around 8-9ft, then I went CMY to ask for their pro advice, the guru there recommended me to get the new Mission M-Cubed 5.1 system (launched a month ago in UK). The set comes with 5 compact satellites speakers plus one sub, priced 3.9k+.

My question is, is the yamaha floorstanding speakers package overkill for small condo living room? CMY said yamaha need high volume to bring out the potential...

Sounds like the Missions are satt/sub combos ala BOSE - I haven't personally heard them but l tink its safe to say that it shld be better than Hose uhm sorry Bose..

But seriously a good sat system is very good, if you don't play too loud - its almost invisible . I have heard the Energy Take satts n they are really good.. for its footprint.. PLUS your significant other will love them..

But if its me, I d look for a budget avr n an efficient floorstander - start 2 channel first [ n use up all de 5k for tis] n when u can - then add ctr n/or surr ; sub..

D

DrLimYG
post Nov 10 2014, 05:49 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Nov 10 2014, 04:50 PM)

Sounds like the Missions are satt/sub combos ala BOSE - I haven't personally heard them but l tink its safe to say that it shld be better than Hose uhm sorry Bose..

But seriously a good sat system is very good, if you don't play too loud - its almost invisible . I have heard the Energy Take satts n they are really good.. for its footprint.. PLUS your significant other will love them..

But if its me, I d look for a budget avr n an efficient floorstander - start 2 channel first [ n use up all de 5k for tis] n when u can - then add ctr n/or surr ; sub..

D
Your proposal sounds good to me, poisonous though. sweat.gif appreciated your inputs very much! notworthy.gif I have yet to make an appointment for the CMY audition on Mission 5.1 M-cubed as they need 1 day in advance to set it up with Denon amp. laugh.gif

ktek
post Nov 10 2014, 09:37 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(DrLimYG @ Nov 10 2014, 03:38 PM)

your space is a bit tight for floor standing but still workable because my room size is same as yours. now im using a pair of mordaunt-short MS502 floor standing spkr in front channel.
dont worry, it perform well in low-mid volume. the best part is high volume because of the solid 1-piece base structure can blast loud like cinema.

M-cube looks very alike to Creative "cambridge soundworks" or Altec Lansing 221 type of PC speaker, which unable to produce full range vocal.
i guess they wont distort at high volume movie, but the "musical performance" is not up to par to compare with yamaha NS555. because needing subwoofer to cover the midbass

i got same suggestion with dirtrun! play 2channel, sure u will satisfy for very long time before slowly upgrade to others. because in reality usage the rear surround spkr wont make sound as much as the front pair no matter u play music or movie.

a very good front channel combined with careful setup /reflection tuning is enough to produce excellence wide sound stage and very focused centre imaging ~floating voice in the middle~ thumbup.gif that will impress a lot of beginners who will think u got invisible speaker hiding but actually none

This post has been edited by ktek: Nov 10 2014, 09:56 PM
Mov_freak
post Nov 10 2014, 09:42 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(DrLimYG @ Nov 10 2014, 05:49 PM)
Your proposal sounds good to me, poisonous though.  sweat.gif appreciated your inputs very much!  notworthy.gif I have yet to make an appointment for the CMY audition on Mission 5.1 M-cubed as they need 1 day in advance to set it up with Denon amp.  laugh.gif
Or even a 3.0 setup for now. Have you considered this?

X-LS Encore
dirtrun
post Nov 11 2014, 09:17 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(DrLimYG @ Nov 10 2014, 05:49 PM)
Your proposal sounds good to me, poisonous though.  sweat.gif appreciated your inputs very much!  notworthy.gif I have yet to make an appointment for the CMY audition on Mission 5.1 M-cubed as they need 1 day in advance to set it up with Denon amp.  laugh.gif

De mistake most newbies make is tat they tink tat this purchase is the one and only , theyll make.. Unfortunately to say, if you have been in tis hobby as long as I hv, no matter how strong your resolve, there'll come a time when you will upgrade - sometimes its not an upgrade per se but something has konked and while you may think you'll go sideways in replacements , the fact of the matter is , you tend to go up..
I have noticed that the only people who dont upgrade - usually lose interest [ for some reason or another ] and let the hobby die..

Take my advice - go 2 channel wif de best spkr you can afford [ look pre-owned to maximise budget ] + electronics [IMO, is not that important] , if you wanna xtend usage look for ones with pre-outs cos more often than not, you'll fiddle wif more power and you wont need to waste money by upgrdng your electronics, then - just get pwr amps n you are gud for anthr few years..

D
DrLimYG
post Nov 11 2014, 10:55 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 10 2014, 09:37 PM)
a very good front channel combined with careful setup /reflection tuning is enough to produce excellence wide sound stage and very focused centre imaging ~floating voice in the middle~ thumbup.gif that will impress a lot of beginners who will think u got invisible speaker hiding but actually none
QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 10 2014, 09:42 PM)
Or even a 3.0 setup for now. Have you considered this?
QUOTE(dirtrun @ Nov 11 2014, 09:17 AM)

Take my advice - go 2 channel wif de best spkr you can afford [ look pre-owned to maximise budget ] + electronics [IMO, is not that important] , if you wanna xtend usage look for ones with pre-outs cos more often than not, you'll fiddle wif more power and you wont need to waste money by upgrdng your electronics, then - just get pwr amps n you are gud for anthr few years..
Thanks ALL for your kind advice! notworthy.gif I shd have made it more specific earlier, I need the 5.1 system mainly for HT in the new living room, another 2-channel setup for music would be use in another room. sweat.gif apologize for the confusion notworthy.gif
fkinmeng
post Nov 11 2014, 11:57 AM

6,373 posts

not sure if it's the right place to ask this, i have a Yamaha MCR-840, it's without subwoofer.

which subwoofer should i add in? preferably if it doesn't cost me a bomb.
ktek
post Nov 11 2014, 12:11 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Nov 11 2014, 11:57 AM)
not sure if it's the right place to ask this, i have a Yamaha MCR-840, it's without subwoofer.

which subwoofer should i add in? preferably if it doesn't cost me a bomb.
big room? small room?
dirtrun
post Nov 11 2014, 12:29 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(DrLimYG @ Nov 11 2014, 10:55 AM)
Thanks ALL for your kind advice!  notworthy.gif I shd have made it more specific earlier, I need the 5.1 system mainly for HT in the new living room, another 2-channel setup for music would be use in another room.  sweat.gif apologize for the confusion  notworthy.gif
Advice still stands .. best idea to curb 'uprgditis' - buy de best u can afford n work up..

But if die die must get 5.1 - I'd go wif a cheap american [JBL/Infinity] 5 channel set n get a rythmik sub [best for value 'trawler'].. not de best sounding [for music] but darn good for HT..

D
ktek
post Nov 11 2014, 12:48 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

Thanks ALL for your kind advice!  notworthy.gif I shd have made it more specific earlier, I need the 5.1 system mainly for HT in the new living room, another 2-channel setup for music would be use in another room.  sweat.gif apologize for the confusion  notworthy.gif

you're welcome. lets listen to the m-cube set and see how good can it compete with yamaha set
fkinmeng
post Nov 11 2014, 01:06 PM

6,373 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 11 2014, 12:11 PM)
big room? small room?
living room. blush.gif

don't need super nice, decent is good enough.
raif
post Nov 11 2014, 01:55 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Nov 11 2014, 01:06 PM)
living room.  blush.gif

I was looking for a sub below 1k, so I got myself a YST-SW215 (8") Yamaha subwoofer. It's decent enough for me in a living room (terrace house). Dunno about your budget though...

This post has been edited by raif: Nov 11 2014, 02:07 PM
ktek
post Nov 11 2014, 01:55 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

living room.  blush.gif

u can shop for 8" enough for general usage

This post has been edited by ktek: Nov 11 2014, 01:55 PM
Mov_freak
post Nov 11 2014, 02:08 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Happy Hunting!!! laugh.gif
DrLimYG
post Nov 12 2014, 11:49 AM

112 posts

living room.  blush.gif

Below is the screenshot fr yammie 2014 brochure, u can compare the frequency response and also the size of it..

The prices of model ard 1k range from the legendary shop are:

8" YST-SW215 RM750 (this one **without power amp)
10" YST-SW315 RM1.1k

8" NS-SW200 RM890 (using Twisted Flare Port But **without the Bass Action Selector for music or movie)
10" NS-SW300 RM1.1K (using Twisted Flare Port)
10" NS-SW500 RM1.29K

Yea, happy hunting! (dunno who hunt who though laugh.gif )

This post has been edited by DrLimYG: Nov 12 2014, 12:06 PM
dirtrun
post Nov 12 2014, 12:28 PM

3,136 posts

If u can strtch ur budget a bit [ considering de top of de Yammy range is 1.3k ] .. Do consider de budget Rythmik - I tink I saw it for ard 2k at HiFi4Sale [ or contact HTkaki..]

D
Mov_freak
post Nov 12 2014, 03:17 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(DrLimYG @ Nov 12 2014, 11:49 AM)
Below is the screenshot fr yammie 2014 brochure, u can compare the frequency response and also the size of it..

The prices of model ard 1k range from the legendary shop are:

8" YST-SW215 RM750 (this one **without power amp)
10" YST-SW315 RM1.1k

8" NS-SW200 RM890  (using Twisted Flare Port But **without the Bass Action Selector for music or movie)
10" NS-SW300 RM1.1K (using Twisted Flare Port)
10" NS-SW500 RM1.29K

Yea, happy hunting! (dunno who hunt who though laugh.gif )
Just putting my Two Sen into this...

My experience with Yamaha Subwoofer has not been great. (not very lasting)

I agree with dirtrun, the sifu of Subwoofer is HTKaki

You should also consider SVS sub...
raif
post Nov 12 2014, 03:25 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 12 2014, 03:17 PM)
Just putting my Two Sen into this...

My experience with Yamaha Subwoofer has not been great. (not very lasting)

I agree with dirtrun, the sifu of Subwoofer is HTKaki

You should also consider SVS sub...
I guess I know which sub I will look into if my yamaha sw-215 is rosak tongue.gif

This post has been edited by raif: Nov 12 2014, 03:26 PM

125 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0373sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:28 PM