Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR
Mov_freak
May 27 2010, 01:08 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(ediaikau @ May 27 2010, 09:46 AM) how do i get my 465 to display dts-tru hd/dolby hd whenever it decodes? every time i play blu-ray with dolby/dts hd it only shows pro-logic2. any sifu here can help? What Blu-Ray player are you using. If it is a Panasonic, on the Blu Ray Player setup, you have to switch OFF Secondary Audio.
Mov_freak
Jul 4 2010, 09:31 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
Hi Guys
I'm selling off my Yamaha RX-V663. it is one year plus old and is in MINT condition.
The reason I selling it off is because I'm getting another amp.
Please drop me a PM if you are interested.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you very much to all the people who had PMed me.
I have since sold me RX-V663
Thank you for your queries
Take care
This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Aug 15 2010, 07:27 PM
Mov_freak
Aug 10 2010, 11:19 AM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
I know this is a bit old skool I've just put in the RX-V1900 during the weekend. (Upgraded from my RX-V663) It is SWEET!
Mov_freak
Jan 13 2013, 08:23 AM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(Bliz @ Jan 13 2013, 12:06 AM) Wow so cheap, mind sharing where? The V673 seems like a very good buy, which speaker around 4k to pair with this?  The Monitor Audio Silver 2 is way below your budget The Monitor Audio Silver 6 is just over your budget I'm using an older model Silver 6 with my RX-V1900........ Beautiful...........
Mov_freak
Jan 13 2013, 09:24 AM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(Bliz @ Jan 13 2013, 08:57 AM) Looking for a complete 5.1 speaker, maybe q acoustic q2000i is a good choice?  So sorry, I don't have any experience with Q Acoustic... So cannot even begin to advice....
Mov_freak
May 28 2013, 10:56 AM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(pakleh @ May 11 2013, 11:05 AM) guys, which one is worth of pennies in terms of quality and performance between RX A2010 and RX A1020..?? the difference only just RM300.... Any recommendation and suggestion? I believe the A2010 has more wattage (what speakers are you using, the bigger your speaker, more wattage is require[rule of thumb]) The 1020 have the 4K pass thru and Airplay feature (allows you to use your Android or iPhone as remote) Hope this help
Mov_freak
Jul 15 2013, 06:05 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(th8 @ Jul 15 2013, 02:42 PM) Dear sifus, I have yammie rx-430 and connected an active sub (just bought used unit yesterday). During stereo playback there is a bass from the sub. My question is this normal? I thought the sub only gives out LFE (the .1 signal) during 5.1 movie only. Maybe I have to change some setting? Appreciate the sharing! Cheers, TH. Have you tried manually switch you Yamaha amp to Stereo mode?... Not sure if this is available on the RX-430, or switch to pure direct mode? Hope this helps This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jul 15 2013, 06:06 PM
Mov_freak
Jul 16 2013, 11:53 AM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(th8 @ Jul 16 2013, 11:17 AM) Hi Mov & ktek, I meddled with the speaker settings last night and managed to get the sub to play only during 5.1 movie. I changed the LFE mode to 'SWFR' instead of 'BOTH'. I changed the main + center speaker to 'Large'. It seems like changing from 'Small' to 'Large' and vice-versa does affect the sound...maybe I'm using a bookshelf type?! (note: funny I have owned this unit like 7-8yrs now and only now had the change to understand those speakers setting inside) I'm now using OFC rca cable (those use for ICE installation) and wondering if these type will cause my system to "kaput" or not?  Cheers! Erm... what brand of speakers are you using and how many ohm are they? (Should be stated on a label and the back of the speakers)
Mov_freak
Jul 16 2013, 12:58 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(th8 @ Jul 16 2013, 12:20 PM) Hi Mov, I'm using tannoy mercury @ 8ohms, 6" woofer (8ohms at amp setting). Using them mostly for music but with movie once in a while. I guess with this small driver would not give much difference. Cheers! At 8 ohm, you should be fine Enjoy
Mov_freak
Aug 21 2013, 06:23 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(kyosho @ Aug 21 2013, 06:06 PM) can anyone please help to share with me where can I find BD-940 around KL/PJ? Have you tried Acoustique Systems Lot 1.12, 1st Floor Amcorp Mall, 18, Persiaran Barat Off Jalan Timur Mr Lim 012 3393738
Mov_freak
Jan 28 2014, 10:21 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 28 2014, 10:13 PM) Any shop that does shipping to sarawak for yamaha avr, particularly v475? hope anyone could provide assistance  hard to get avr in sarawak, only have onkyo, denon and pioneer from senq.. and overprice even factor in shipping. Have you tried Mr CN Lim Acoustique Systems, Amcorp Mall No. 18,Lot 112, 1st Floor, Persiaran Barat, Off Jalan Timur, 46050, Petaling Jaya, Selangor HP: 012 3393738 Hope this helps
Mov_freak
Jan 28 2014, 11:05 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 28 2014, 10:27 PM) ok thanks, will call him up tomorrow  planned to buy from lazada, but temporary out of stock >< rm1449, but free shipping to sarawak. the shipping would cost rm100 at least. Talk to Mr Lim. He is a very nice guy.
Mov_freak
Mar 31 2014, 04:17 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(syarehim_cmy @ Mar 31 2014, 12:37 PM) what is the best center channel speaker for yamaha rx 675? i used jbl venue series for center. not enough bass i think.  Erm... What is your budget?
Mov_freak
Apr 1 2014, 09:46 AM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(syarehim_cmy @ Apr 1 2014, 09:05 AM) next year upprgade may be.. what type of center speaker for 2K and below...?  Well, with that kinda budget, you are actually spoil for choice... Please audition the following Mission MX1Mission MX2Monitor Audio Silver CenterThey have very "different" sound signature. It really boils down to what kinda sound you are into. I have used both these type of speakers on my Yamaha amp and they both produce "good" (very subjective) sound. You can audition the Missions at CMY and the Monitor Audio at Acostique System (Amcorp Mall) Hope this helps
Mov_freak
Apr 8 2014, 11:38 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(cuoret @ Apr 8 2014, 05:29 PM) Anybody here use this Yamaha NS-B160 surround speaker? How do u guys mount this on the wall? Any recommendation for the wall mount bracket that can fit to this particular speaker? thanks.. [attachmentid=3922214][attachmentid=3922215] The Brackets are on the speaker, above the speaker cable jack. Think hanging a clock... You need to buy screws that will fit the bracket screw holes.
Mov_freak
Apr 9 2014, 11:52 AM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(cuoret @ Apr 9 2014, 10:18 AM) Thanks guys... is it ok for surround speaker to mount directly on the wall behind seating position n facing the opposite wall (TV)? Or is it a must to mount with an angle as shown in image below? [attachmentid=3923079] If this is the situation, anybody know where to buy adjustable side clamp wall mount bracket such as this one, other than jalan pasar? I've been there but couldnt find one.. [attachmentid=3923084] Theory is, if you have hang it at listening height, you are fine. If you are willing to get bracket to tilt the speakers, that is fine as well. Please note though, new speaker brackets tend to want to you permanently screw your speaker to the bracket... which is something I am not willing to do... Acoustique Systems in Amcorp mall has all sort of affordable speaker brackets. This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 9 2014, 11:53 AM
Mov_freak
May 7 2014, 02:25 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(alkt @ May 6 2014, 02:06 AM) thanks ktek for the reply. anyways i bought a marantz. now yamaha just sit in the store room as spare  Wah... which Yamaha do you have sitting in your store room as backup? You know moisture can cause damage to the amp right. You might as well donated it for a worth cause (eg. people who cannot afford good stuff) so it does not spoil...
Mov_freak
May 8 2014, 01:09 AM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(alkt @ May 8 2014, 01:06 AM) quite an old amp which doesn't have HDMI ports  Ah... makes a good Integrated Amp then...
Mov_freak
May 24 2014, 05:58 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(williamng @ May 24 2014, 05:08 PM) where to buy yamaha bluetooth or wifi device to connect yamaha amp?? A simple logitech bluetooth point would do
Mov_freak
May 28 2014, 11:06 PM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
QUOTE(zephyryj @ May 28 2014, 11:29 AM) Anyone here using Yamaha Aventage Series AVR ?? My friend does, the 1020 (based on my recommendation). A M A Z I N G ! ! !