125 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Stock Market V40, Do you believe in October Myth?

htt
post Sep 18 2009, 11:31 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 18 2009, 10:37 PM)
wow this thread is not jalan for the past 2 hrs laugh.gif

looks like everyone has balik kampong, syiok nia, me still have half day more to go on tomorrow, grrrr!

by the way, dow is getting nearer to 10,000!
Tomorrow got business meh? hmm.gif
jasontoh
post Sep 18 2009, 11:45 PM

8,447 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 18 2009, 10:37 PM)
wow this thread is not jalan for the past 2 hrs laugh.gif

looks like everyone has balik kampong, syiok nia, me still have half day more to go on tomorrow, grrrr!

by the way, dow is getting nearer to 10,000!
You are not working Mon-Fri, 9-5 jobs? Saturday half day really boring and I don't like it at all.
TSdebbieyss
post Sep 19 2009, 12:48 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

something to share:

"Economic Crash in October 2009?" by CEO of Economicclock.com, Enzio von Pfeil

Finally well posted... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Sep 19 2009, 12:53 AM
danmooncake
post Sep 19 2009, 12:48 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,125 posts

Everybody already took off for Raya long weekend? biggrin.gif

No Raya holidays for me.. still working Mon night and Tues night because US phone calls keep coming.
US market don't close until November, which I will get 2 days as substitute for their holidays. smile.gif

Added on September 19, 2009, 12:51 am
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 19 2009, 12:48 AM)
something to share:

"Economic Crash in October 2009?" by CEO of Economicclock.com, Enzio von Pfeil

Strange.. but can't view that video? blink.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Sep 19 2009, 12:51 AM
TSdebbieyss
post Sep 19 2009, 12:52 AM

4,458 posts

Don't know how to post Youtube Link.

Just paste the URL only lah..
danmooncake
post Sep 19 2009, 01:01 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 19 2009, 12:52 AM)
Don't know how to post Youtube Link.

Just paste the URL only lah..
Got it.. I can view it now.

Yeah.. I'm hoping for October crash! Please !!! Let it crash!!! drool.gif

Dow is going to 10000, and nearing 10000, the time bomb will explode! tongue.gif
mazda626
post Sep 19 2009, 03:00 AM

2,335 posts

Yahoo....BCTTECH 0130 register paper profit 6.05%......ngeh ngeh ngeh 3 green out of 9 holding.... rclxms.gif
teehk_tee
post Sep 19 2009, 04:39 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

i think this post is at an awkward time.

British economy's not doing any good at all. terrible fiscal position right now.
zamans98
post Sep 19 2009, 05:02 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Sep 19 2009, 04:39 AM)
i think this post is at an awkward time.

British economy's not doing any good at all. terrible fiscal position right now.
UK economy? Its world-wide. Still don't understand why stock market keep raising. Economy world-wide still not recovering. Its fictitious that almost everywhere is year high. Enjoy the fun while its last. shakehead.gif
danmooncake
post Sep 19 2009, 06:08 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Sep 19 2009, 05:02 AM)
UK economy? Its world-wide. Still don't understand why stock market keep raising. Economy world-wide still not recovering. Its fictitious that almost everywhere is year high. Enjoy the fun while its last.  shakehead.gif
The needs for those fund managers to perform caused the major run up. The least invested fund managers will lose their jobs if they don't have any of their client money invested, therefore they gotta to buy something no matter what.

I won't be surprise if the US Dow reach 10K first before the next leg down. Most of those companies are trading way ahead of their current projected earnings for next quarter and if there is any slight negative news or revised guidance, we will see a major sell off.

Let's ride this train for now and be ready to jump off the moment you see the tracks ending. nod.gif

cherroy
post Sep 19 2009, 11:20 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 19 2009, 06:08 AM)
The needs for those fund managers to perform caused the major run up.  The least invested fund managers will lose their jobs if they don't have any of their client money invested, therefore they gotta to buy something no matter what. 

I won't be surprise if the US Dow reach 10K first before the next leg down. Most of those companies are trading way ahead of their current projected earnings for next quarter and if there is any slight negative news or revised guidance, we will see a major sell off.

Let's ride this train for now and be ready to jump off the moment you see the tracks ending.  nod.gif
Yup, it is one of the reason why stock market has been up, up and up. Fund managers scrumble to buy.

Even me also scrumble to find stock to buy for reinvestment purpose (div received lately), because any extra cash we received now, either we put

1) FD - interest rate super low.
2) Spend it - er... most people don't dare to spend too much now, want to save for rainy day. It takes time for the old habit back.
3) Invest - to make more money as well as to counter for future rainy day or inflation issue.

One will not opt for (3) if one see economy and stock market will be heading to recession and crash, but now most people see recovery (just matter how strong is the recovery) while people view worse crash has over. So until some major chance in term of economy fundamental or recovery like some major bank failure etc, it is difficult to see market sell off in big way like last year.

Slight negative won't lead to major sell-off. Investors still can live with that as long as company still making ok profit, mainly because there is no way out of the cash as mentioned above, interest rate is almost zero across the world.
Having said that correction is imminent now. There are a lot of tired stocks out there, as we seen even US market continue to green everyday, stocks in Asia seems not follow suit already.

Watch the month to month export, and manufacturing sales figure, as long as it shows trend up, market still on bullishness of recovery. We cannot have major sell off with market bullishness, as those bullisness sentiment will 'buy on dip' which why whenever we see US stock going down, buyer come out already.

Sell off or crash only happen when people fear and pesimistic about the future.

YOY is not a good measurement now because of distortion of benchmark, to watch the recovery, we need month to month improvement which is currently happening.

TSdebbieyss
post Sep 19 2009, 02:33 PM

4,458 posts

Still, do you think Economic will crash in October?

Or will it crash by this year end?

My personal point of view, it won't.
瘟神
post Sep 19 2009, 03:40 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 19 2009, 02:33 PM)
Still, do you think Economic will crash in October?

Or will it crash by this year end?

My personal point of view, it won't.
IMO, crash won't come, but welcome the real correction, maybe 5-10%? blush.gif
TSdebbieyss
post Sep 19 2009, 03:46 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(瘟神 @ Sep 19 2009, 03:40 PM)
IMO, crash won't come, but welcome the real correction, maybe 5-10%?  blush.gif
That would be great...

So...how much would CI be after 5-10%?
瘟神
post Sep 19 2009, 03:50 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 19 2009, 03:46 PM)
That would be great...

So...how much would CI be after 5-10%?
ops.. sorry, i mean DJIA, S&P, Nasdaq. Don't know for our CI, cause it seems not to follow other markets movement. smile.gif
marco_ooi
post Sep 19 2009, 05:37 PM

20 posts

dont expect market collapse in near terms. market will usually go up when analyst say down. remember, dont believe to stupid analyst. go with ur opinion always
teehk_tee
post Sep 19 2009, 07:37 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

agree with cherroy. it'll only fall if and only when everyone is pessimistic about the future.

gotta maintain cautiousness. if a fall happens i'd believe the US followed by europe will be the first to fall again rather than asian markets.

time to invest in defensives imo.

everyone's been calling this a recovery but i've been looking at it and all i see is a cost-reduction recovery. Just like how there is cost-push or demand-pull inflation, this is a cost-based recovery and never a demand-based recovery. risky stuff to go bullish on.

This post has been edited by teehk_tee: Sep 19 2009, 07:45 PM
coffeelover1975
post Sep 19 2009, 09:14 PM

35 posts

IF, you have:
130k : stocks
140k: Fixed deposit
40k : cash in hand
at this moment, would you want to increase your stock holdings?
Or keep the fixed deposit & cash for future in case of crash?
TSdebbieyss
post Sep 19 2009, 09:16 PM

4,458 posts

I will put the 140K for dividend stocks.
coffeelover1975
post Sep 19 2009, 09:23 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 19 2009, 09:16 PM)
I will put the 140K for dividend stocks.
oh....this case you believe that market would go higher from this point.
Though the probability is there, most dividend stocks are already off its lows and almost near its peak of pre-crisis.

125 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:34 PM