5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

◙PROTON PERSONA◙ V6, our pride n joy

2fast2furious
post Oct 29 2009, 03:09 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(onlyforthecars @ Oct 29 2009, 02:29 PM)
Alright. However, just want to know how long does a typical proton battery last?  And how much will a new battery cost me (just to check to ensure SC don't overcharge me)? 

Thank you very much guys.
Battery lifespan is very subjective and differs from every car brands out there. Different car brands have different designs which effects the battery lifespan. But normally is 1 year plus to 3 years if lucky. Some damn lucky fellas might even reach 4 years.

It differs from each drivers as well. Like for example, if the driver does a lot of start and stop / short trips. The alternator does not have enough time to charge the battery in such short time. If the car is fitted with aftermarket parts hooked onto the existing electrical grid, more power is consumed in which in return, well... u get the picture right?!

For battery check and replacement, do not go to SC. They will slaughter you while u are still breathing. Just go to the tyre shops / battery shops in ur area and have a look around for the pricing. Dry cell or wet cell. Your pick. Both more less the same in terms of life span. Dry cell is maintainence free, the later is not.

Cost wise.... you are looking in the range of 140 to 200 depending on brand and type eg. wet or dry cell. Happy shopping!!!!!

icon_rolleyes.gif
2fast2furious
post Oct 29 2009, 04:14 PM

32 posts

But how come his meter color is amber? Mine red wor....

And some more, anyone here knows if B line stock player got aux input at the back of the player? I would like to hook up my mp3 player etc......

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Oct 29 2009, 04:15 PM
2fast2furious
post Nov 4 2009, 08:38 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(rckh @ Nov 3 2009, 09:17 PM)
Well,I suppose many Persona owners are just as unhappy as you. But what can beggars do.They can't be choosy. If I have the $, I would have opted for something less problematic (please bear in mind there is no such thing as the "perfect ride"). Furthermore, if I know the problems existed thru' this thread and still buy this ride, I would be a greater sucker than this ride that sucks.

Anyway, I hope anyone who gives feedback could indicate exactly the the age of their rides. At least, for those without those problems can be fore-warned.

The reason I participate in this forum is first & foremost to know more about my ride & solving the problems that come with it. But like I have mentioned before, I knew the above mentioned existed but still I bought it. Reason is it is the only ride I like & that can suit my budget. At least you grasp the most  fundamental point that you only get what you pay

Cheers.             (try not to make this thread so repetitive & depressing)
P.S.  Wonder if that Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir guy reads all this?  Who is willing to be the first disgruntled Persona to bash their ride in front of this guy in protest? Anyone?
Yes. Nicely written. Hope others understand also. Anyways, like u said, its all about the budget. Like me, i would go for a much better car, much better house, life etc etc.... Was targeting Civic, Accord, City and a used 3 series BMW. Test driven them....love em. But no.....why? Budget. I knew about the problems that comes with Persona. Yet i am ready to face it. Well, at least its 10 times way better than my Ex 2006 model MyVi auto in terms of interior plastic fittings and QC, suspension etc etc.... Some more less same priced. WTF.

Added on November 4, 2009, 8:42 ambtw, how does one solve the problem of the fuel lid touching / scratching the car body when fully opened?

I find it annoying and figured if anyone modded anything to it to stop it from touching the body.

I did my DIY by cutting and adding a piece of soft rubber wedged in between and secured by cable ties so as to limit its opening.

Anyone else?

AND

How to solve the rubber squeaking sound at the door seals? Because it squeaks when the car moves up and down the car park ramps. I did it by spraying WD40 and it solved it but only temporarily. Tried it armor oil too but it too also temporary only.

Anyone else?

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Nov 4 2009, 08:44 AM
2fast2furious
post Nov 4 2009, 11:16 AM

32 posts

We have seen a lot of Campro engines having Bolt on Turbo. I noticed most of the Bolt On Turbo (BOT) is on earlier Campro engines and Campro CPS engines.

So what about Campro IAFM engines?
2fast2furious
post Nov 5 2009, 04:38 PM

32 posts

EON Bank can full loan.

Approval time was 2 days for me. Interest rate is 3.7%. Got my car on the 4th day.
2fast2furious
post Nov 5 2009, 04:53 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Nov 5 2009, 04:39 PM)
wow....but i m just graduated ..working for few mths only....
Oh like that susah a bit. Since u dun have any salary slip etc to "show" that you can maintain paying installments for the car... Unless put under parents name then its different story.

Added on November 5, 2009, 4:54 pm
QUOTE(ReAcTiVo @ Nov 5 2009, 04:47 PM)
wow.. so fast..
Yea true story. hahaha... Was surprised myself. My previous car a Perodua MyVi 1.3 automatic (black) took 8 months waiting period..... WTF...

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Nov 5 2009, 04:54 PM
2fast2furious
post Nov 5 2009, 05:12 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Nov 5 2009, 04:59 PM)
got 5 mths salary slips  i think but all inside my car....all gone together with my car.. - _-'
blink.gif What happened to you car?
2fast2furious
post Nov 6 2009, 03:55 PM

32 posts

I just realised that my master brake pump in my persona is from 1.3L version? WTH? I forgot to snap a photo of it. Later i upload...

It has a sticker stuck to it stating 1.3L
2fast2furious
post Nov 6 2009, 04:22 PM

32 posts

wait later after work i take a picture of it to show u all......
2fast2furious
post Nov 7 2009, 09:47 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Nov 6 2009, 03:55 PM)
I just realised that my master brake pump in my persona is from 1.3L version? WTH?  I forgot to snap a photo of it. Later i upload...

It has a sticker stuck to it stating 1.3L
As promised... here it is....

Confirmed B and M line uses 1.3L brake master pump version?!

Added on November 7, 2009, 9:51 amBtw, any of u guys here face the sound of the rear somewhere there got sound when going up the ramp sideways??

Everytime i hear the sound "tak tak tak" kinda like "stretching" when going up the ramp sideways eg. going up to ur house.

Mine is B-Line. The sound is more constant it has been days no rain and no washing of the car. I suspect the stabilizer bar links....

Anyone?

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Nov 7 2009, 09:51 AM
2fast2furious
post Nov 14 2009, 12:23 AM

32 posts

Ok question.

I guess many hv read that the earlier CAMPRO engines are prone to crankshaft breakage if the driver loves the high rpm range frequently.

How about the CAMPRO nowadays on both the CPS and the IAFM engines? Any known similar occurrences?

ANOTHER THING...

I thought B Line Persona do not have the AUX Input at the player? I saw mine having it...see photo of my player below:

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Nov 14 2009, 10:03 AM
2fast2furious
post Nov 18 2009, 08:32 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 18 2009, 07:54 AM)
If metal i just worry the heat transfer will concentrate on the rubber hose instead. Also worry it might damage the other part rubbing the hose.

I'm thinking those used on top of the engine bay to insulate noise might be good but no idea where to get them. They are soft so pretty easy to shape.

The manual knob if your car still under warranty can make a claim. I plan to keep the stock even if i swap the knob, and no it has no leather parts, only hard plastic & steering type plastic.

------------------

Question:

Anybody notice the fuel meter will drop much faster in when 1/4 point compared to half tank etc?
Yes fuel meter does drop faster when at 1/4 point. Dunno why....idiot meter.

And the hoses contacting with other parts in the engine.... yeah.. i wonder why Proton didnt hv a better design / routes for it. Trust me, all these rubbing contributes to faster wear and tear that means possible failures to affected parts in near future. For example, my friend's first batch GEN2 suddenly stalled at the traffic light. Towed to the workshop and discovered that a hose (i forgot what was it) was rubbing against the firewall / chassis that it got "rubbed" and eventually punctured causing leaks and finally stalled the engine. It was later replaced and at the same time, heavily insulated and moved slightly away by means of cable tie to prevent / lessen the chance of future occurrences. It was said by the mechanic that its quite common to happen shakehead.gif .

See like my engine breather hose connecting the cam and the air intake hose... the bottom part of the hose near the intake area is touching with a plastic socket. The hose has been cut quite deeply (no puncture yet). And my mileage that time of discovery was just about 2k i think...

I had mine wrapped with insulflex secured with cable tie. Another part rubbing is the fuel line going into the fuel rail. That hard plastic hose is rubbing against the (if i remember correctly) the master brake vacuum rubber hose. I bet there are other hoses rubbing against each other... I have not really inspected them...

Oh for those who wonders, you need to dismantle the engine plastic cover to see. And i left mine off because i think it looks sexier to expose all the mechanical stuffs under it... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Nov 18 2009, 08:37 AM
2fast2furious
post Nov 18 2009, 11:03 AM

32 posts

Dashboard blister? Wow... how could that happen? I wonder why some car manufactures nowadays use spray painting method on the dashboard instead of just soft pad it like how its used to be in the older days.

Okay if say those soft padding is costly and want to cut cost, at least design a dashboard something like MyVi's dashboard (full plastic) and without paint works. It is more lasting and less worry of scratching the surface / blisters etc etc etc...

I see New Vios also like this... crap.

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Nov 18 2009, 11:04 AM
2fast2furious
post Nov 18 2009, 04:32 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Nov 18 2009, 04:22 PM)
hi all.. my dad is waiting for his H-line bluberry tea persona which he will get in two month..

my dad already sent the old car (iswara 1.3) to check for puspakom and approved.. waiting for new car now..

can i know what voucher or package do the salesman give normally? buying from proton centre near pasar besar seremban (SA - sulaiman).. this dude kinda a bit clumsy.. like never sell a car before.. ask him also lotsa thing he dint know, need to check brochure many time..

my dad really wanna buy it after testdrive, the salesman didnt even mention anything (such as petrol voucher, service voucher or tint voucher).. just explaining and calculate on loan and tell bout what to do for the exchange program..

and please suggest a good tint brand (good but not so expensive)..

*what is the price for a spoiler for persona.. kinda look a bit weird without a spoiler..
Simple... go to another sales outlet. That is what i did. Spoiler? I thought your dad is ordering H-Line? M and H lines have spoilers already.
2fast2furious
post Nov 20 2009, 10:15 AM

32 posts

How to solve the rear speaker board from making noise? Somehow after a long 500KM + / - road trip journey yesterday, it rattles when i close the door and also during my subs pounding.

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Nov 20 2009, 10:15 AM
2fast2furious
post Nov 23 2009, 12:39 PM

32 posts

I like the side mirror. Gonna buy and install it when it comes out. Hate the front bumper...

btw, why my about 4650KM mileage Persona auto engine having "tak tak tak" sound? Don't tell me its the IAFM problem?
2fast2furious
post Nov 23 2009, 02:18 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(zarreta @ Nov 23 2009, 01:05 PM)
haha..it's definitely IAFM problem..go to sc..ask for a new one.
damn it... so any idea why it goes "tak tak tak"? honestly, i dont feel any difference in driving... How to hint them?
2fast2furious
post Nov 25 2009, 03:22 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(zarreta @ Nov 25 2009, 02:43 PM)
anyone use this for your persona?

here the official website: http://www.mygreenoil.com/home.html
Nah... i never believe in these kinda stuffs. Just the real original proven stuffs for me.
2fast2furious
post Nov 30 2009, 08:42 AM

32 posts

btw, my dashboard starting to make noise already. damn it. will SC rectify such complains?
2fast2furious
post Nov 30 2009, 02:49 PM

32 posts

btw, anyone heard of any success stories of BOT (bolt on turbo) on IAFM Campro engines?

I am talking about "light pressure turbo" no need high hp etc etc. Just a better drive. More torque and virtually no lag.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0852sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:02 AM