5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

◙PROTON PERSONA◙ V6, our pride n joy

2fast2furious
post Dec 1 2009, 03:43 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Molotov Cocktail @ Dec 1 2009, 01:02 PM)
hi all persona owner especially the iafm, how to dismantle the engine cover? i couldnt open it, tried with normal screwdriver, i want to see if there are hoses rubbing each other
Use "cross" screwdriver. So easy to open laa... brows.gif

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Dec 1 2009, 03:43 PM
2fast2furious
post Dec 2 2009, 11:44 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Nov 30 2009, 02:49 PM)
btw, anyone heard of any success stories of BOT (bolt on turbo) on IAFM Campro engines?

I am talking about "light pressure turbo" no need high hp etc etc. Just a better drive. More torque and virtually no lag.
anyone? blink.gif
2fast2furious
post Dec 3 2009, 09:00 AM

32 posts

anyone had their IAFM replaced due to the noise / faulty?

do you get any recurrences / 2nd round faulty again?

because mine made that famous "tak tak tak" sound at 4k plus mileage and it was confirmed by SC the IAFM is faulty. It took less than 5 minutes visit to the SC because they said its too common.

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Dec 3 2009, 09:01 AM
2fast2furious
post Dec 7 2009, 01:26 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(zarreta @ Dec 7 2009, 11:07 AM)
fuh..finally..i get my IAFM replaced!  sweat.gif
the engine is smooth now..feel like new car..again..hehe  biggrin.gif

but now..got new problem..both my fog lamps cracked already  unsure.gif
i don't want to think much of it right now..as long as water can't get through the fog lamps..then..it should be okay  sweat.gif
Btw, any idea how much is the unit of IAFM costs? And how long will the replacement IAFM unit last before it konked again? My current mileage is 5k plus. My IAFM made noises when it was just 4k mileage. Damn it... waiting for the warranty claim replacement unit to arrive.

2fast2furious
post Dec 8 2009, 11:20 AM

32 posts

I emailed to Proton and copy paste for you all to see.

QAR**18 - IAFM & right hand front wheel problems..

Dear Sir,

Can you kindly explain to me the following:-

1. IAFM defect / failure producing "tak tak tak tak" sound
2. Right hand front wheel noise ("tak" / knocking sound when turning while driving on uneven road)

For item no.1 please explain to me why on earth can it fail at such short time? Since i am currently on the waiting list to have mine replaced under warranty, how long will it last? Another lousy 5k mileage? Besides having the annoying "tak tak tak" sounding like a diesel car or a car with around 15 years old and above, what else would it effect? Higher fuel consumption?

For item no.2, i had this problem the first day i got the car and checked about 3 times by your service center and seemed like there was no solutions to it. Apparently, your mechanics could not detect / find where the sound comes from and was told to continue driving it till perhaps it got louder then have it checked again. Why is this?

Mind you, these two problems are very widely discussed and complained in forums and in the general public. And since my car is brand new having such nonsense problems is really a pain in the ass. What is Proton going to do about it?

My details are:

Name:
Mr. ****

Vehicle:
Proton Persona 1.6 (A)

Reg. No.:
QAR**18

Year and registration date:
2009 / 4th September 2009

Contact No.:
0128828***

I thank you for your attention and look forward to your early response
2fast2furious
post Dec 9 2009, 10:32 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(alt3ch @ Dec 8 2009, 09:22 PM)
i wish to go screw them also, but i worry about is. what i worry about is. if after i screw them, the player only will be back after 3 months. Btw, will complain on some problem whn they install back the player. So at  the moment, dont wish to argue too much with them 1st. else later i sendiri susah...

Added on December 8, 2009, 9:32 pm

Please update us the answer, thanks. Btw, I am QAR also. May i know which service centre you going? how about the attitude of the SC? Currently i going to the SC at Jalan Tun Jugah, not a very nice service from them. as i have few problem with my ride which i wish to complain if going to SC to have my player back, but may change my plan if the SC u go service is better. i hear the one at batu kawa road is quite nice, any idea?

1. Rear speaker board. coming out "tuk tuk" sound when over a bump or swing a corner. Just try to push with my finger, the sound came out also.
2. The aircond ratling sound, after loong told me is the adjuster problem. i push it hardly yesterday, at the moment the sound gone.
3. both of my from door panel start to have rattling sound again. (DIY before, solve only for 3 days)
4. the "metal klunking" sound.

Btw, i am not complaining about the ride. but just to claim while i can, dont wish to service at SC on 20k km. Pay more for lousy service. vmad.gif

Added on December 8, 2009, 9:34 pm

do you mind sharing with me, which brand of wax u using?   rclxms.gif  it was so damn hot & sexy! brows.gif
Ok. Just waiting for their replies. I wonder if they would reply or not. For regular / normal servicing i go to Voon Brothers @ Jln Laksamana Cheng Ho. Authorized Proton service centre. I prefer that SC because i can have a close look at my car being serviced rather than being required to be seated and wait while the car is being serviced. That way i can monitor them if you know what i mean. Another thing is that, they open on Saturday afternoon till 6pm which is perfect for me as i am working so the time suits me perfectly. They also have more choices of engine oils. I use Helix HX7 semi synthetic light oil.

But for warranty claims, they will advice me to go to Platinum Proton SC @ Jln Tun Jugah. I am waiting in queue for the IAFM replacement warranty.
the batu kawa SC i am not so sure...have not tried them eventhough its the closest SC to my house!

The rear speaker board can come loose especially when u always travel through rough roads OR long distances for long periods of time. The other day i drove to Sri Aman and back, my rear speaker board came loose. It was because of the two plastic clips. Push it hard to have it clipped back tightly. I think i might be looking for a better clip (tighter / stronger ones) to replace it. Mind you, the rear board is held ONLY by those two plastic clips. If end of the day fed up, mb can try find a nice looking aluminum screw and screw the darn board tightly.... even better.

Added on December 9, 2009, 10:35 am
QUOTE(ralf @ Dec 8 2009, 10:13 PM)
PerSona confirm tarak CPS at this moment..

I think embedded player having problem..link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jFCpU56kCdE

Added on December 8, 2009, 10:15 pm

Duragloss product.. www.duragloss.com.my Contact Mr.Liew ..he's a good seller and also detailing fan.

Added on December 8, 2009, 10:27 pm

Brother,

Your harsh words in this message by showing your frustration and anger doesn't benefit both party..My SagaBLM IAFM failed too..but already have it replaced.
I appreciate that you send an email to them to get their attention on the said issue but i don't think they can provide immediate resolution or urgent fix..hmm. I would said it is either manufacturing defect or R&D screw up big time..

Cool down..teh tarik ais satu. just my 2 cents.
Yea frustration is there. Nvm... since its already emailed to them, just waiting for their replies. But still, these problems i had with my Persona so far (current mileage is 5.7k) is far far minor and less than my ex 3 years old MyVi which started to have big problems even before 1k service.

Yes, i know.... why complain when buying a cheap local car... Better buy expensive cars right? I know i know.... what to do... Anyway, need to complain so that things improve.

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Dec 9 2009, 10:38 AM
2fast2furious
post Dec 9 2009, 04:06 PM

32 posts

[quote=terminatorkun,Dec 9 2009, 03:50 PM]
[quote=2fast2furious,Dec 9 2009, 10:32 AM]
Ok. Just waiting for their replies. I wonder if they would reply or not. For regular / normal servicing i go to Voon Brothers @ Jln Laksamana Cheng Ho. Authorized Proton service centre. I prefer that SC because i can have a close look at my car being serviced rather than being required to be seated and wait while the car is being serviced. That way i can monitor them if you know what i mean. Another thing is that, they open on Saturday afternoon till 6pm which is perfect for me as i am working so the time suits me perfectly. They also have more choices of engine oils. I use Helix HX7 semi synthetic light oil.

But for warranty claims, they will advice me to go to Platinum Proton SC @ Jln Tun Jugah. I am waiting in queue for the IAFM replacement warranty.
the batu kawa SC i am not so sure...have not tried them eventhough its the closest SC to my house!

The rear speaker board can come loose especially when u always travel through rough roads OR long distances for long periods of time. The other day i drove to Sri Aman and back, my rear speaker board came loose. It was because of the two plastic clips. Push it hard to have it clipped back tightly. I think i might be looking for a better clip (tighter / stronger ones) to replace it. Mind you, the rear board is held ONLY by those two plastic clips. If end of the day fed up, mb can try find a nice looking aluminum screw and screw the darn board tightly.... even better.

Hello bro...so which one better service centre voon brothers or proton sc jln tun jugah...this saturday want to service my car la but feel tired if service at proton jln tun jugah...i need to wait 2 hours for them finish service my car even i come 8 am.... mad.gif mad.gif

Another question can i bring my own engine oil if service at voon brothers...

ok tq biggrin.gif

[/quote]

If you are just doing servicing then go to Voon Brothers. Very short time spent there honestly speaking. I agree with you on the waiting time at Jln Tun Jugah SC. I waited more less the same amount of time just to have my rear board and front windscreen sun visors checked (was distorted and discolored the day i got the car...so claim warranty).

Just make sure they do not overfill. Because they keep arguing with me that new Proton cars needing full 4L of engine oil which is just plain blardy bullshit.

About the choice of bringing your own engine oil? I am not so sure about that. Maybe you could drop by and ask them about it.

2fast2furious
post Dec 9 2009, 05:11 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Dec 9 2009, 04:09 PM)
just monitor them closely not to fill in whole bottle of engine oil which is 4litres....its overfill...and will cause seals to weaken and heavier acceleration/FC.....overfilled is not good but lesser then max is ok
You said it right! biggrin.gif
2fast2furious
post Dec 11 2009, 08:53 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(alt3ch @ Dec 10 2009, 07:07 PM)
hmm...for regular servicing, i also went to voon brother. just same as you, for the warranty claim will go for jalan tun jugah. Btw, SC allow us to take a close look. that day while he take off my cd player, i was chating with the mechanic. I hear batu kawa service better & somemore if not mistaken it was open for sunday. After this will give it a try.

for the rear speaker board, if the board loose should be sound like 'nyek nyek' rite? my beside that sound also got 'kok kok' sound. any idea what will be that?

Added on December 10, 2009, 7:13 pm
minor service i prefer voon brother since my dad very familiar with the taukeh....somemore cheaper, no stupid extra charge on stupid extra item...jalan tun jugah, dont dare comment as hvnt service at there...no experience. 2 hours there, u can slow slow have ur kopi & roti lo... biggrin.gif btw, let me know if any SC allow you to bring you own motor oil. thanks in advance.

Added on December 10, 2009, 7:18 pmbefore this, i guess someone mention that the reverse sensor device is placed at the spare tyre there. that day, my ride happen to have kok kok sound from rear, i thought it was the reverse device, but open up the back. i didnt see any reverse sensor device, where they place it?
No idea where the reverse sensor ecu is placed. Cannot even find the beeper at the back. As for the "kok kok" sound from the speaker panel board, u just need to really push the clip hard into its socket. U will hear ticking sound indicating the clip is going deeper into the socket tightening it. Mine had the same exact sound when it got too loose after a long distance travel.

Btw, while STILL waiting for my IAFM warranty replacement, the noise from it is really getting louder and louder as time goes by. Sigh....

Another thing, i really need to know why my Persona B line brakes are really squishy and the braking performance is REALLY bad. Air in the system? Shitty brake pads? Or is it because of the 1.3L master brake pump?

Please advise before i go to SC to have it checked.
2fast2furious
post Dec 11 2009, 10:06 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Dec 11 2009, 09:36 AM)
for reverse sensor i think its embedded with the speakers or maybe hidden under the car/roof......as for the speaker board panel, i do not experience any "kok,kok" sound with the ownership of 2year plus...maybe u can try using double sided tape to prevent the board from moving forward again...stick the tape at the front panel.....i guess it will solve the sound....

brakes are like that....try changing to better brake pads/performance brake pads...im using IMP Forumla 600'c....so far it bites well and no worries going up/down genting....it takes longer time to fade......original brake pads are sucks....
Oic. Which version of Persona is yours? B, M, H?
2fast2furious
post Dec 11 2009, 10:35 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(zarreta @ Dec 11 2009, 10:23 AM)
my fuel consumption is getting better after replace the IAFM!  rclxms.gif
U serious? Interesting.......
2fast2furious
post Dec 12 2009, 10:10 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Dec 12 2009, 09:23 AM)
ECU located at the back? most car their ECU is in the front passenger side...
He is referring to the reverse sensor device / ecu. Not the engine ecu or automatic transmission tcu.

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Dec 12 2009, 10:11 AM
2fast2furious
post Dec 13 2009, 12:31 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(jack111 @ Dec 12 2009, 09:49 PM)
engine knocking for proton persona....anyone face this problem....?
its more of like "rattle" kinda sound especially when u do pickup from stand still a little harder rite (low rpm)? Yea mine too. Just a little. I think should not worry about it too much. I believe its just because of the engine tuning being a LITTLE too advanced timing.

It happens especially on a hot hot day....night time usually will not happen.

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Dec 13 2009, 12:31 AM
2fast2furious
post Dec 14 2009, 09:28 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Dec 8 2009, 11:20 AM)
I emailed to Proton and copy paste for you all to see.

QAR**18 - IAFM & right hand front wheel problems..
Dear Sir,

Can you kindly explain to me the following:-

1.    IAFM defect / failure producing "tak tak tak tak" sound
2.    Right hand front wheel noise ("tak" / knocking sound when turning while driving on uneven road)

For item no.1 please explain to me why on earth can it fail at such short time? Since i am currently on the waiting list to have mine replaced under warranty, how long will it last? Another lousy 5k mileage? Besides having the annoying "tak tak tak" sounding like a diesel car or a car with around 15 years old and above, what else would it effect? Higher fuel consumption?

For item no.2, i had this problem the first day i got the car and checked about 3 times by your service center and seemed like there was no solutions to it. Apparently, your mechanics could not detect / find where the sound comes from and was told to continue driving it till perhaps it got louder then have it checked again. Why is this?

Mind you, these two problems are very widely discussed and complained in forums and in the general public. And since my car is brand new having such nonsense problems is really a pain in the ass. What is Proton going to do about it?

My details are:

Name:     
Mr. ****

Vehicle:   
Proton Persona 1.6 (A)

Reg. No.: 
QAR**18

Year and registration date:
2009 / 4th September 2009

Contact No.:
0128828***

I thank you for your attention and look forward to your early response
Referring to my previous post about me emailing a complain email to Proton. Their representative goes by the name that i will not reveal called me minutes ago. He said that the IAFM modules on all Campros are based on previous batch which they found is faulty. As such, they have replaced the IAFM with an improved model and those who had problems with it and claiming for a new warranty replacement will be getting it. According to him and current information that he got, he said that the current supplier noted the problems. And asking about if there is any re-occurrences after 1st round replacement, so far so good. I gathered from him that the new improved model still have that sound BUT....BUT BARELY AUDIBLE. Anyways, that sounds fine to me as long as it does not sound like a grass cutter machine under my hood which i have currently.

As for the knocking sound during turning, he suggested that to go to another SC (where i claimed my IAFM) to have it checked and he will follow up on this matter closely.

Nice customer service so far. Hopefully to get things moving and rectified.

2fast2furious
post Dec 14 2009, 11:50 AM

32 posts

yea i thought they will for sure ignore my email...

chteh0721: maybe too many dudes emailed them to complain already. Inbox full...ahahahah....
2fast2furious
post Dec 16 2009, 03:53 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(NSX_MY @ Dec 16 2009, 10:13 AM)
i wonder can the satria neo meter fit into persona meter or not, anyone can clarify this? comparing from the picture, they looks like identical design and same metering except satria is in blue.

Satria Neo instrument meter panel

Persona instrument meter panel
honestly speaking, neo's meter looks far better. IMHO. any idea how much it costs?

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Dec 16 2009, 03:53 PM
2fast2furious
post Dec 23 2009, 11:35 AM

32 posts

anyway, any idea why does the persona's butt looked much higher than gen2's butt?

Its pretty eye sore seeing it "tongek" like that.... i was thinking of buying and fitting low springs for the rear so that it looks even with the front.
2fast2furious
post Dec 24 2009, 11:15 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(terminatorkun @ Dec 23 2009, 01:29 PM)
Persona hv bontot tongek..... doh.gif  doh.gif

Gen2 fitted with CPS engine.....feel the power of cps engine........ brows.gif  brows.gif
yeala the bontot is quite tongek actually. i was trying to observe why.... whether its because of higher rear suspension or because of the extended boot which is slanted upwards.... cuz in gen2, butt is shorter eventhough slanted upwards but not noticeable however, persona with extended boot length, its noticeable....

any ideas?
2fast2furious
post Dec 24 2009, 02:01 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(beemc @ Dec 24 2009, 12:37 PM)
hey guys, i went for my 10000km service today...it cost me about rm200 in total...>.<... and the most stupid thing that they charged me in the receipt is the MAGNETRAP... actually they recommended me this magnetrap thingy on my 1000km service, but i rejected it since i dun think this product will help much in the oil filtration... but this time, they jz install it in my car without my notice and charge me for it...it cost around rm60~ before they service my car, they only inform me that they will change the usual stuff and use semi-synthetic oil...>.<... feel like kena con~
You could have just screw them and ask them to take out that stupid useless magnetrap. AND deduct it from ur bill. If i were you, i would do that.
2fast2furious
post Dec 28 2009, 08:48 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(beemc @ Dec 27 2009, 06:33 PM)
normal service (change engine oil+oil filter) also took them 1hr30mins to finish...
More less 20 minutes for mine... tongue.gif

Was serviced at the SC agent / authorized SC.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.2763sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:40 PM